Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th January 2016, 00:04   #35261  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 613
Still no luck on 3D (Win10 64-Bit, nVidia 660Ti):
- Installed LAV latest nightly (but still need to copy the DLL to the Windows Directory) - setting reset
- Reset madVR to default (but turned off Exclusive Mode)
- Uninstalled the nVidia 3D Play & 3D Player App
- Rebooted and did the nVidia 3D Setup just fine.
- Refresh rating changing is OFF in MC

When I:
- Turn on 3D in Win 10 panel the TV / Glasses go into 3D
- Play MKV 3D and will get SBS output if using D3D9
- Play MKV 3D and will get MC Crashing if using D3D11

Some info in the Ctrl+J OSD would really help!

Thanks
Nathan
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 00:14   #35262  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,063
yes. and i guess you already tried to reinstall the driver with 3d vision correct?

we have the same GPU. so either your TV isn't telling the nvidia driver it can do frame packing or windows 10 didn't notice.

try only the TV without the monitor and try a different HDMI connector on your TV.

if i interpret this correctly: http://www.cyberlink.com/support/pro...&prodVerId=930

the way powerdvd Row-interleaved works has nothing to do how madVR/windows 3D works. so ignore it.

your TV lists all types of 3d: S/S, T/B, C/B, F/S
so it should be compatible.

the OS should be using F/S using the HDMI 1.4 spec.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 00:18   #35263  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,362
I've got a 680. Wondering if our GPU's don't work with this method of 3D?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 00:29   #35264  |  Link
Nullack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
On my AMD you can only play frame packed 3D in 1080p.
Not sure about other GPUs.
Its also a display matter. Your talking six figure professional projectors to do 4K 3D. Consumer stuff in 4K, AFAIK it all drops to full HD for 3D mode, mine included and mine is a very recent high end UHD 65" display.
Nullack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 00:41   #35265  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,063
of cause it is 1080p the HDMI spec can't do more.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 00:45   #35266  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,362
madshi, I sent you a debug log in PM. Rest of the message is as follows:

I have NO idea if this log will help at all. My setup:

Windows 10 x64
nVidia GTX 680 latest nVidia driver installed
MPC-HC 1.7.10.x86
LAV nightly from 1/12/16 (today)
madVR 0.90.1

MakeMKV 1.9.8 ripped 3D blu-ray.

Panasonic 65" plasma
Pio Elite SC65 receiver

No problems with 3D blurays in PowerDVD 15. I've been letting madVR enable 3D in Windows but it doesn't seem to matter either way. Getting 2D output no matter what I try.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 00:53   #35267  |  Link
Balthazar2k4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Here, There, & Everywhere
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nullack View Post
Its also a display matter. Your talking six figure professional projectors to do 4K 3D. Consumer stuff in 4K, AFAIK it all drops to full HD for 3D mode, mine included and mine is a very recent high end UHD 65" display.
True 4K 3D does not exist in the consumer space. I suspect it will be years before it does given the relatively tepid reception HD 3D has received over the years.
Balthazar2k4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 01:06   #35268  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 613
FYI - I also tried the Intel HD3000 iGPU on the same box as my 660ti. Same sort of result with a SBS imaged but interestingly the TV then allowed me to manually select it as a SBS image and I got 3D (but half res). When I'm on the 660ti it seems to be sending Frame Packed but with a SBS image as the TV only offers to turn 3D on or off when receiving this signal

Last edited by jmone; 13th January 2016 at 01:26.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 01:58   #35269  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,287
About my problem. I read this page http://www.cyberlink.com/support/pro...&prodVerId=930
So i have TV with Theory of 3D - Row-interleaved, Type of 3D - Polarized 3D, Glasses - Polarized glasses. So - my TV is don't HDMI 1.4 3D type, but it's support frame packed 3D.

Question to madshi - do you plannet support such TV ??

As i know - many(or all) LG TV use Polarized glasses.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 02:33   #35270  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,063
Row-interleaved is a display mode not a HDMI 1.4 frame packed 3D delivery mode.

your TV supports the same types of 3D delivery as all other and newer LG sceens.

65EG960V specs= http://www.lg.com/uk/tvs/lg-65EG960V
your specs= http://www.lg.com/uk/tvs/lg-47LM620T-3d-tv

the 3d specs are identical.

the cyberlink BD 3D advisor is telling me my TV doesn't support 3D so just ignore cyberlink.

frame packed is a HDMI 1.4 only feature and it isn't Row-interleaved.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 02:46   #35271  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,287
But - how PowerDVD/TMT can output 3D in window ?? For this i don't need enable 3D on TV. Open 3D BD in PowerDVD/TMT and look in 3D . I think it's a frame packing 3D.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 03:21   #35272  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,287
Something interest - in instruction for LG TV is writing:
1280x720p - 59.94 Hz / 50 Hz - support Frame Packing.
1920x1080p - 24 Hz / 30 Hz - support Frame Packing.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 03:26   #35273  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 436
Any chance of moving the madVR/LAV 3D discussion to a separate thread? Four pages today and it seems like there are still many outstanding questions.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 04:12   #35274  |  Link
Nullack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 188
Ok fellow Nvidia/Windows users some points if like me your having crashes/problems with MVC 3D that arent madVR issues, like Nvidia driver crashes in their DLL

A new hotfix driver is out. Im not yet into regression testing it, that will come later today. Here it is:

https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answ...tail/a_id/3832

Also anyone on Windows 10 specifically, in MS's new managed service release model there is a new windows build pushed out beyond windows insiders. MS dont say whats changed / fixed in this new build. I'm gunna use both the new driver and this new update as my baseline for the next regression test.

Also nvidia wont be debugging my reports to them further until I can demonstrate I no longer have windows component store corruption. Im in the process of fixing it via DISM but so far DISM isnt playing nice with online sources of windows components. So you guys having problems, maybe have a look in an elevated admin command prompt with something like "sfc /scannow" to establish if your free of corruption. There is allot of middleware layers and OS layers to the stack and they said they wont look at it further till Ive fixed mine up.

Last edited by Nullack; 13th January 2016 at 04:15.
Nullack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 04:20   #35275  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,362
Hotfix driver changed absolutely nothing for me.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 04:43   #35276  |  Link
4h4h270
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
One interesting thing I notice is madvr told me my sony hmz-t2 edid verion is 1.3 which only use with hdmi 1.0-1.3c, but powerdvd shows it's hdmi 1.4 enabled 3D TV and works fine in 3D playback.
4h4h270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 05:11   #35277  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
Something interest - in instruction for LG TV is writing:
1280x720p - 59.94 Hz / 50 Hz - support Frame Packing.
1920x1080p - 24 Hz / 30 Hz - support Frame Packing.
yes my screen switches to 23p too yet another hdmi limitation.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 06:28   #35278  |  Link
MistahBonzai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 101
Originally Posted by MistahBonzai
Originally Posted by MistahBonzai View Post
To those running the v0.90 update with MPC-HC x64. Please check that the MadVR refinement settings (like sharpen and such) appear on the screen upon selection. Mine only display their effects after selecting OK and continuing with the video. Upon rechecking I see that this glitch also occurs in my MadVR x86. It seems to be connected to the v0.90 upgrade - at least this is when it first occured for me. MPC-BE/MadVR v0.90 works fine. If someone joins me here I'll provide specifics. As it is I'm running Win 7 64-bit/sp1, HD 7850 (15.7.1) and all the latest related plug-ins from the nightlies.


Update: 1/11/2016
Completely uninstalled madVR v0.90.1 (ran uninstall.bat, reset settings, deleted folder...) and installed madVR v0.89.19. With MPC-HC 1.7.10.56 (nightly) the issue is resolved. Updated to madVR v0.90.1 and the issue is back - MPC-BE works as expected in both cases. Downgraded to madVR v0.89.19 (copied new files over old ones after running uninstall.bat) and all is well. I'm stumped...

madshi says:
To make sure I got it right: The issue is that changing settings isn't visible on screen until you unpause the video, correct? Can you please create a debug log for me by doing this:

1) Pause the video.
2) Wait 20 seconds doing nothing (so that I know where to look in the debug log).
3) Change a setting so that madVR *should* change the image but doesn't.
4) Close the media player immediately.

Done: Link: http://www.mediafire.com/download/d6...adVR_log_3.zip
Fixed: madVR v0.90.2 resolved this issue - MadVR refinement settings are now displayed upon selection.

Last edited by MistahBonzai; 14th January 2016 at 00:32. Reason: Solution found
MistahBonzai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 09:16   #35279  |  Link
apgood
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
I don't have 3D options in OS display setup(Win10 x64 Ent). also enable in madVR don't help.

Maybe madVR's debug build or build with log can help ??
How many of the people that have LAV working correctly (and MadVR configured correctly) but not getting 3D are trying to run it on an enterprise version of Windows 10? Maybe in the enterprise version of Windows 3D functionality is not installed by default?
apgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 12:16   #35280  |  Link
omarank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
So I tested 3D output on an Optimus system and an AMD system. I found these issues:

1. When smooth motion is enabled, video freezes and audio continues (like others reported). Sometimes it makes the media player crash

2. If DXVA2 downscaling is selected and active, I get a black screen

3. With 10 bit FSE on AMD system, Exclusive Mode fails. 3D works properly though in D3D11 8 bit Fullscreen Windowed mode. The interesting thing is that the AMD GPU outputs 10 bit 3D as reported by my TV (AMD driver 13.12)

4. If 1080p23 mode is not listed in the display modes or that space is left empty, I get dropped frames and presentation glitches with jerky video. In this case, the refresh rate is about 60 Hz while the Composition is 29.97 Hz. So this explains the dropped frames. I am not sure whether 1080p60 should work for frame packed 3D or not

5. The 3D output which I get, when 1080p24 frame packed 3D works, looks like 2D. For the same video if I force madVR to output SBS and then let the TV handle SBS, the output looks like 3D with superimposed images. These are naked eye observations, as I didnít have 3D glasses when I was testing. In the former case, the TV did report that it received 10 bit 3D input (from the AMD system). Apparently, something is wrong here, as the similar output should be there for both the cases (frame packed and SBS). Maybe others can check this with 3D glasses
omarank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.