Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th September 2015, 21:27   #33281  |  Link
YGPMOLE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 29
automatic refresh rate change on exclusive mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Do you have the madVR display mode changer active? If so, which settings are you using? If not, then Direct3D itself decides which refresh rate to use in fullscreen exclusive mode.
The changer is not active, D3D9 is used (D3D11 not checket). With the previous version of madVR I never got problems, now with Windows 10 and the new build I got this issue.

Maybe important to say that the 23.976 fps (doubled with Avisynth in FFDShow to 47.952) remains stable and on the same memory bank even in fullscreen exclusive mode: it changes only with the 25fps (doubled to 50fps in the same way) to the 60Hz memory bank.

And now I discovered another little issue: some subtitle from .MKV tv series are displayed in the center of the screen (in the middle of the image, to be clear), when with the 89.2 build were correctly displayed at the bottom of it. It doesen't happend with the DVD or BD subtitles (it may depend from the type of subtitle used in the .MKV? But I got no problem with them before this "subtitles manager version"...).

Could this be helpful to find a solution?
__________________
Best Regards! Leo!
YGPMOLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2015, 23:10   #33282  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Damn, the stutter-after-pause is still not fixed and occurs no matter what I try. Its quite annoying having to:
- close the video file
- experience screen-flash refresh rate change from 23Hz to 60Hz (Desktop is @ 60Hz and video files are @ 23Hz)
- open the file again
- experience another screen-flash refresh rate from 60Hz to 23Hz
- find the right spot to continue watching your video file (although I learned to remember the time at which I closed the video file to get back to watching quicker).

Is this bug on the list of "To-be-fixed soon" list?


Also, will Chroma Upscaling SuperRes be updated to the same version as Upscaling Refinement SuperRes?
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809

Last edited by XMonarchY; 1st October 2015 at 05:36.
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2015, 23:20   #33283  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
Haven't got any logs but MadVR 0.89.5 is pretty unstable for me. About half of the time, MPC-HC doesn't exit properly when I close it, plus sometimes I'll open a video and the audio will play with no video. If I switch to EVR it plays fine. Hopefully I'm not the only one.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2015, 00:58   #33284  |  Link
baii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
Damn, the stutter-after-pause is still not fixed and occurs no matter what I try. Its quite annoying having to:
- close the video file
- experience screen-flash refresh rate change from 23Hz to 60Hz (Desktop is @ 60Hz and video files are @ 23Hz)
- open the file again
- experience another screen-flash refresh rate from 60Hz to 23Hz
- find the right spot to continue watching your video file (although I learned to remember the time at which I closed the video file to get back to watching quicker).

Is this bug on the list of "To-be-fixed soon" list?
Players have a option to remember playback location. I think some earlier build(like 8816ish) seems to don't have this problem(if what you describing is same as what I experiencing).

The problem I think it doesn't always happen 100% after pause, for me it happen more often in windows mode and only seem to occur if I pause it long enough.
Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

Last edited by baii; 1st October 2015 at 01:01.
baii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2015, 05:04   #33285  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Just to be safe: So you agree that playback should be alright as long as you play the movie from start to finish?
Yes, I agree.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Interesting. You don't have "notify media player about cropped black bars" activated, do you? If not, then I'm not sure where such a problem could come from. madVR does have to reconfigure the rendering algorithms if you use "crop black bars" when an AR change is detected, but that should not be visible, at least not if your queues are decently filled. If you get a chance to film this with a digicam, or some other way, I'd love to look into that.
Chroma upscaling is set to super-xbr and Image upscaling is set to Jinc3 AR; no profiles on either. The visual anomaly happens due to a large queue drop from the frame Cinemascope -> IMAX changes. Maybe the GPU can't adapt fast enough. The queue fills up about a second after the transition.

Would it be prudent to have a setting that alters the crop a handful of frames before having a relatively large increase in the resolution in the next scene? I increased the GPU/present queue sizes however it doesn't seem to make a difference in this case.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2015, 12:15   #33286  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
I could never notice a real performance advantage of one render path over the other, what was too much with D3D9 was also the case with 11 and vice versa.
There IS 1 exception: D3D9 old path (when you switch off the present frames in advance box) !! (I'm using it in FSE). It's about 40% faster then the rest!!! (I couldn't try overlay mode at all since it doesn't want to work for me).
Drawbacks (as madshi told us): no overlay mode and no NNEDI3 interop in this mode.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2015, 15:40   #33287  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Maybe according to reported render times. But that doesn't mean playback would be stable under extreme conditions while it wouldn't be with new path.
They both give very much the same GPU load reported by driver and it's never good to come in regions where you have almost no reserves left.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2015, 17:45   #33288  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Maybe according to reported render times. But that doesn't mean playback would be stable under extreme conditions while it wouldn't be with new path.
They both give very much the same GPU load reported by driver and it's never good to come in regions where you have almost no reserves left.
No, it's based on the gpu load! And the gap can be more than 100% as well!!! (It also applies to intel igpu!)
I'll give you exact numbers later, until then you can try it out for yourself
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2015, 18:30   #33289  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
There's no difference for me. On the right side, there is new windowed path and on the left side, it's old FSE mode:

It's the same with old windowed path.
My test case was 1080p60 -> WQHD with Jinc3 + SuperRes 2 passes + Adaptive Sharpen.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2015, 21:21   #33290  |  Link
Marnes
Registered User
 
Marnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 11
Is there anything in madvr about tearing that I'm possibly missing (which is to say I don't see anything in madvr's settings about vsync)? My config or something else apparently still isn't good because now I constantly get random tearing all the time despite every setting everywhere being set to use vsync. Potplayer is set to vsync, intel and nvidia (which sadly doesn't get used because yay laptop monitor wiring...) are set to vsync, etc. I used madvr a while ago on 7 and 8 and everything just worked, now on 10 with the latest madvr nothing at all just works...
Marnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2015, 21:34   #33291  |  Link
Marnes
Registered User
 
Marnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marnes View Post
Is there anything in madvr about tearing that I'm possibly missing (which is to say I don't see anything in madvr's settings about vsync)? My config or something else apparently still isn't good because now I constantly get random tearing all the time despite every setting everywhere being set to use vsync. Potplayer is set to vsync, intel and nvidia (which sadly doesn't get used because yay laptop monitor wiring...) are set to vsync, etc. I used madvr a while ago on 7 and 8 and everything just worked, now on 10 with the latest madvr nothing at all just works...
Why the heck does turning off "delay playback until render queue is full" seem to fix tearing... The way the option is described suggests it's a kind of render buffer exactly to prevent such things...
Marnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2015, 21:36   #33292  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
When you have tearing problems, it's likely not the fault of madVR.
Since Windows Vista, tearing shouldn't even be possible with GPU desktop composition, which can't be turned off anymore since Windows 8. So it's very likely a weird driver or configuration problem.
Maybe you have to use FSE.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 08:42   #33293  |  Link
ShadyCrab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Just want to report spontaneous tearing issues as well. Win 10, GTX 960, newest NVidia driver. DX11 presentation (present every V-Sync ticked), only occurs in Fullscreen Windowed. Also newest MPC-HC nightly build. Its always fixed by simply changing the window size. It can occur less often in the middle of playback, more often when resuming playback.

This might somehow be related to having a multi-monitor setup, both by HDMI at 1080p. There doesn't seem to be anything I can do to 100% prevent tearing except for Fullscreen Exclusive. This isn't something I remember occurring before the time of, say the Win 10 RTM launch.
ShadyCrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 15:21   #33294  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Yes, this is already known. Use FSE with D3D11 or use D3D9 instead (not a disadvantage at all without FSE).
It's most likely an NV driver bug with Windows 10.

Last edited by aufkrawall; 2nd October 2015 at 15:24.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 19:15   #33295  |  Link
panetesan2k6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Latveria
Posts: 29
I was giving a try to a 64bit setup of MPC-HC+MadVR+LAV filters. I have a 64bit OS, of course.

I downloaded and installed the 64bit version of MPC-HC and LAV filters (32bit version is installed too), and MadVR was already installed in the system.

Neither MadVR nor LAV filters show any distinctive info about being 32 or 64 bit during playback. I would think that 64bit MPC-HC will load 64 bit components, but... anyway to check this?
panetesan2k6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 19:30   #33296  |  Link
Telion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 78
No need to check, 64bit player just can't use 32bit filters and vice versa.
Telion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 19:31   #33297  |  Link
Kranium
I'm Confused
 
Kranium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 11
I upgraded to 89.5 and 0.66 LAV last night and was playing around with some options.

In animated content, I notice that if I use the SuperRes filter in Chroma Upscaling and use SuperRes in upscaling refinement; I get a bit of ringing and lines that are not smooth and are over sharpened. It doesn't get all that much better when I reduce the strength or increase the number of passes. Does this seem like normal behavior? I eventually settled on SuperRes in upscaling refinement and adaptive sharpen in the image enhancements section. Without adaptive sharpen, the lines seemed to fade in 480p > 1080p scaling. It gave me the best results to my eyes at least. All of this with NNEDI64 scaling and doubling.

I know there are a lot of other factors here, I was more curious if one SuperRes option is more useful than the other and if others here have experienced what I did when using both at the same time.
__________________
HTPC/NAS: i7-4770 - GTX970 - 16GB RAM - 512GB SSD RAID 0 - 16TB HDD - mITX
Kranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 20:45   #33298  |  Link
panetesan2k6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Latveria
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telion View Post
No need to check, 64bit player just can't use 32bit filters and vice versa.
Thanks
panetesan2k6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2015, 01:48   #33299  |  Link
6ari8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 43
When playing some files the OSD shows this:


When most of the time it shows:
Chroma>xxx
Image>xxx

Can some one explain why this happens?
6ari8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2015, 02:19   #33300  |  Link
seiyafan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 161
I was out of the loop with all the fancy new upscaling algos, has there been any noticeable improvement for 1080 to 1440? Last time when I compared Jinc with NNEDI3 I could hardly tell a difference.
seiyafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.