Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th July 2015, 20:11   #32281  |  Link
XRyche
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
No sir/mama. I either get a brownish image or no image at all. Also it takes about 2 to 5 seconds for the image to initialize in windowed mode, even without Nnedi3. I'm not using delay playback either.

Update: I used Nnedi3 32 neurons luma and chroma doubling and if I wait about 20 to 30 seconds I get a brownish tinted image. When I try to take a .jpg screenshot with MPC-HC's F5 the screenshot appears normal. I guess I wasn't waiting long enough. But 20 to 30 seconds seems like an inordinately long time, doesn't it?

Further update: It seems the long wait time happens with super-xbr as well. The image is okay but its a long wait for the screen to show an image. I actually drop over 500 frames before I get an image on screen. Although the wait time for an image is almost instantaneous with EVR Custom.

Edit: The excessive wait times were all in FS or FSE.
__________________
Intel i5 3470, EVGA GTX 1050Ti SC ACX 2.0, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, 16 GB 1600 mhz DDR3 RAM

Last edited by XRyche; 30th July 2015 at 22:35.
XRyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 20:40   #32282  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
That sounds like a driver bug. As usually, OpenCL seems to be more broken than the rest.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 20:50   #32283  |  Link
XRyche
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
That sounds like a driver bug. As usually, OpenCL seems to be more broken than the rest.
I'm going to try and do a complete clean install of the driver and see if that helps.
__________________
Intel i5 3470, EVGA GTX 1050Ti SC ACX 2.0, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, 16 GB 1600 mhz DDR3 RAM
XRyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 21:08   #32284  |  Link
BloodySword
Registered User
 
BloodySword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 70
For me, madVR works just fine in MPC-BE on Windows 10, upgraded in-place from Windows 8.1 Pro 54. Well, partially. As soon as I switch to full screen, the player starts to react slowly. When I resize the window of the player, it is really really slow and stuttery. I updated madVR to the latest version 0.88.21 and still no luck, but the video is played back smooth now and there is no video stutter anymore, but the UI of the player is still acting very very slow... Also moving random windows of random applications around is stuttery and has micro glitches...

I may try the exclusive full screen mode instead and see if that makes any difference.

Edit: Exclusive mode does not make ANY difference.

Edit2: As long as I don't go into fullscreen mode, everything is like it was on Windows 8.1 Pro 64. After closing MPC-BE when I was in fullscreen mode, it goes back to normal.

Edit3: The same phenomena CAN occur when opening another video while MPC-BE is still open.

Edit4: It's ShadowPlay! When active, it screws up madVR! When I disable it, then it's not a problem anymore. Everything is then solved... But it would be nice if this problem would be investigated and fixed if possible and if it is a problem on madVR side.

Edit5: Oddly enough: Problem is gone. When I activate ShadowPlay again, the problems does not occur anymore. Seems that there was something hanging from the upgrade procedure to Windows 10.

Edit6: Sorry it came back. Disabling ShadowPlay solved the problem again.

Machine:
ASUS X99-E WS
GeForce GTX Titan X 12 GByte with NEC MultiSync EA244WMi over DisplayPort
32 GByte Kingston ValueRAM reg ECC DDR-2133 (Micron Chips)
Intel Xeon E5-2637v3
Intel 750 Series PCIe NVMe SSD 400 GByte
Hitachi DeskStar 4TB 7200 RPM HDD
Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
MPC-BE x64 1.4.5 beta (build 501) with madVR 0.88.21 x64 renderer.

Last edited by BloodySword; 30th July 2015 at 23:03.
BloodySword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 22:33   #32285  |  Link
XRyche
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by XRyche View Post
I'm going to try and do a complete clean install of the driver and see if that helps.
No, a clean install using Display Driver Uninstaller (in Safe Mode) didn't change a thing.
__________________
Intel i5 3470, EVGA GTX 1050Ti SC ACX 2.0, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, 16 GB 1600 mhz DDR3 RAM

Last edited by XRyche; 30th July 2015 at 22:37.
XRyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 22:40   #32286  |  Link
a11599
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Nobody I know of uses D3D11 DXVA.
Kodi was upgraded for full-DX11 decoding and rendering just recently.
a11599 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:06   #32287  |  Link
XRyche
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by XRyche View Post
No sir/mama. I either get a brownish image or no image at all. Also it takes about 2 to 5 seconds for the image to initialize in windowed mode, even without Nnedi3. I'm not using delay playback either.

Update: I used Nnedi3 32 neurons luma and chroma doubling and if I wait about 20 to 30 seconds I get a brownish tinted image. When I try to take a .jpg screenshot with MPC-HC's F5 the screenshot appears normal. I guess I wasn't waiting long enough. But 20 to 30 seconds seems like an inordinately long time, doesn't it?

Further update: It seems the long wait time happens with super-xbr as well. The image is okay but its a long wait for the screen to show an image. I actually drop over 500 frames before I get an image on screen. Although the wait time for an image is almost instantaneous with EVR Custom.

Edit: The excessive wait times were all in FS or FSE.
I also notice when playing 1080p (my display is 1080p) there is no wait times at all. This is going from Windowed player to FS and/or FSE. So I guess the excessive wait times are only when upscaling.
__________________
Intel i5 3470, EVGA GTX 1050Ti SC ACX 2.0, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, 16 GB 1600 mhz DDR3 RAM
XRyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:11   #32288  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
You may already guessed it, but I'm extremely sad that I can't use NNEDI3 anymore, since I watch videos on my gaming system which profits by new drivers.
I'm really missing madshi's deband filter in MPDN...
Didn't you say 353.49 Hotfix drivers work fine?

I see many people complaining about this D3D9 OpenCL interop thing, but I only see myself and 2 other people complaining to NVidia. Maybe they would listen if more people submitted this issue to them via their "Submit Bug" official Feedback/Support system instead of hoping they would read their reply on GeForce forums?

If there is enough demand, NVidia will budge!
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:17   #32289  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
Didn't you say 353.49 Hotfix drivers work fine?
I also said I want newest drivers for games.
In fall, there'll be lots of new games which profit by new drivers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
If there is enough demand, NVidia will budge!
You don't know Nvidia, it seems.

And it will never be "enough" people complaining, as madVR is a non-commercial 1 man project and probably even most of its users are hardly aware of NNEDI3 and how it looks different to other algorithms.

They may change it back, since it's on their bugtracker and madVR got popular for HTPC users, but I'd never bet on that.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:18   #32290  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I hope AMD releases next generation GPUs with HEVC DXVA, HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 soon.
AMD just finished releasing a new GPU series, and it has none of these features, so good luck waiting for that.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:21   #32291  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Fiji has HEVC 10 bit DXVA and next year's Arctic Island GPUs will have all the other features as well (up to 100% certain).
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:30   #32292  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Fiji has HEVC 10 bit DXVA
It does not, only 8-bit, which is unfortunately not very useful for commercial 4K content like UHD Blu-ray (and hopefully streamed 4K as well, as BT.2020 needs 10-bit to be good).
Not that 10-bit would be that ideal on AMD, as 10-bit isn't supported through DXVA-Native, but only Copy-Back, and AMD is notoriously bad at Copy-Back, especially considering you would want all the bandwidth to remain "free" for OpenCL-CopyBack with NNEDI3.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 30th July 2015 at 23:36.
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:39   #32293  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
It does not, only 8-bit, which is unfortunately not very useful for commercial 4K content like UHD Blu-ray (and hopefully streamed 4K as well, as BT.2020 needs 10-bit to be good).
Not that 10-bit would be that ideal on AMD, as 10-bit isn't supported through DXVA-Native, but only Copy-Back, and AMD is notoriously bad at Copy-Back, especially considering you would want all the bandwidth to remain "free" for OpenCL-CopyBack with NNEDI3.
shouldn't that be UHD anyway?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:40   #32294  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 422
Well... I was planning anyway to wait a while before upgrading to Windows 10, one reason more...

I have a generic (and probably stupid) questione regarding scaling. With 4k... scaling 1080p to 4k, why shouldn't Nearest Neighbour suffice? It's exactly double the size both horizontally and vertically. That way one should see the exact same pictures with the exact same size of a 1080p pixel (a 2x2 pixels matrix). Otherwise we try to add detail that is not in the original image... am I wrong?
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:44   #32295  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
It does not, only 8-bit, which is unfortunately not very useful for commercial 4K content like UHD Blu-ray (and hopefully streamed 4K as well, as BT.2020 needs 10-bit to be good).
Not that 10-bit would be that ideal on AMD, as 10-bit isn't supported through DXVA-Native, but only Copy-Back, and AMD is notoriously bad at Copy-Back, especially considering you would want all the bandwidth to remain "free" for OpenCL-CopyBack with NNEDI3.
Ah, yes, you're right:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/9390/t...ury-x-review/8
Another AMD fail *facepalm*. Well, still AI should have it, since I suspect Fiji is just a GCN HBM showcase.

But interesting regarding copyback.
I suppose many people have never been able to try NNEDI3 because the AMD driver sabotaged copyback performance (at least this was the case for me). OpenCL for realtime video-applications has totally failed imho. I really hope it won't be christmas until we have non-OpenCL NNEDI3 in madVR.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:45   #32296  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,062
Nearest Neighbour for x2 scaling is a viable choice.

in the end "all" source are scaled before they are pressed on a disc/encoded so scaling them with something other than Nearest Neighbour for x2 can be closer to the original.

no scaler is adding details they most of the time remove aliasing.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:46   #32297  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
Nearest Neighbour for x2 scaling is a viable choice.
I disagree, 720p looks terrifying with nn on WQHD.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:50   #32298  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Ah, yes, you're right:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/9390/t...ury-x-review/8
Another AMD fail *facepalm*. Well, still AI should have it, since I suspect Fiji is just a GCN HBM showcase.

But interesting regarding copyback.
I suppose many people have never been able to try NNEDI3 because the AMD driver sabotaged copyback performance (at least this was the case for me). OpenCL for realtime video-applications has totally failed imho. I really hope it won't be christmas until we have non-OpenCL NNEDI3 in madVR.
i can use nnedi3 with my old 6770 without problem so not sure what your problem is.

and the r9 270x is the most recommended card for madVR thanks to this very good nnedi3 performance.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:51   #32299  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
I disagree, 720p looks terrifying with nn on WQHD.
the same as a 720p TV.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 23:52   #32300  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
I have a generic (and probably stupid) questione regarding scaling. With 4k... scaling 1080p to 4k, why shouldn't Nearest Neighbour suffice? It's exactly double the size both horizontally and vertically. That way one should see the exact same pictures with the exact same size of a 1080p pixel (a 2x2 pixels matrix). Otherwise we try to add detail that is not in the original image... am I wrong?
That results in terrible aliasing. Basically you are wasting the entire potential of a 4K screen, might as well buy a 1080p screen then.

Good scaling algorithms will provide a much better image.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.