Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd October 2008, 16:24   #1201  |  Link
elguaxo
Registered User
 
elguaxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 260
techouse, could you post a sample? TIA.
elguaxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2008, 16:25   #1202  |  Link
stanjr
Linux Encoder
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 78
With the x264 r996, I can't get mplayer (r27682) to compile due to libx264.c not knowing what b_bidir_me and b_bframe_rdo are. I tried changing them to i_bidir_me and i_bframe_rdo within libx264.c like with the issue before, but that doesn't work either. What should I make them to get it to compile?
stanjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2008, 16:32   #1203  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
b_bidir_me and b_bframe_brdo paramters were removed from x264. bime is automatically enabled at subme => 5 and b-rdo at subme => 7 I believe.

You need to remove the bime and b-rdo params from mplayer that it's inputting to x264.
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2008, 16:59   #1204  |  Link
stanjr
Linux Encoder
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 78
Cool, completely removing them worked!
stanjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2008, 17:21   #1205  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by techouse View Post
Casino Royale; encode's bitrate is 9500 kbps
Subme9 is 5.26% slower on my PC than Subme8.
and what settings was that compared on, as the other settings often do determine the fps speed change for a single specific setting
i.e. subme 8->9 on --me dia and subme 8->9 on --me tesa will likely not have the same percentage-based speed loss.
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2008, 17:29   #1206  |  Link
techouse
Strictly Rhythm
 
techouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by elguaxo View Post
techouse, could you post a sample? TIA.
http://sets.djslo-forum.com/mp3/memi/shark/

(Strange link, I know...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kemuri-_9 View Post
and what settings was that compared on, as the other settings often do determine the fps speed change for a single specific setting
i.e. subme 8->9 on --me dia and subme 8->9 on --me tesa will likely not have the same percentage-based speed loss.
aq-strength 0.8
psy-rd 0.8:0.8
trellis 2
level 4.1
ref 5
bframes 16
merange 32
me umh
__________________

Last edited by techouse; 2nd October 2008 at 17:33.
techouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2008, 23:11   #1207  |  Link
skystrife
Registered User
 
skystrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 176
x264.997.modified.exe - Alternate Download

Patches used:

x264_hrd_pulldown.09_interlace.diff

gcc 3.4.5 fprofiled build with -march=pentium2.
skystrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2008, 00:23   #1208  |  Link
Rodger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Viersen, Germany
Posts: 270
Hi guys,

sorry for answering so late. Been busy updating/upgrading my system. I wanted a new motherboard. Not because of the problem..but to get better performance out of what I already have and man I didnīt get disappointed.
Asus P5Q really shows it to Asus P5B-E. At lower voltage already 150Mhz more core speed and not yet done.
However...just got it all back together, started Megui the update came...PERFECTLY Stable at 3600Mhz here.
Rodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2008, 00:25   #1209  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,349
Quote:
However...just got it all back together, started Megui the update came...PERFECTLY Stable at 3600Mhz here.
Only Prime95 will tell you truth about stability
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2008, 00:30   #1210  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,047
Or try Linpack 64-bit, it stresses more than Prime95; temps get about 4-5 degress higher with it than "wimpy" Prime95
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2008, 00:45   #1211  |  Link
Rodger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Viersen, Germany
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Only Prime95 will tell you truth about stability
I tell you both...WAY OVERRATED. Itīs a good start. But still I realize very often, that playing 3D-Games or doing video-encodes for hours is a different Kind of stress testing which will in some cases proof you wrong.
Well...as I said...the 3600Mhz is kinda out of the box
Before with tricks and stuff 3430Mhz was a dead end for me with the old board. Now on the P45-board the E8400 finally gets to life
Weel see...the max Vcore will be 1,28V...thats definitive!
And the Ram is only at stock-setting more performance is to gain here to.

But thats clearly OT so...talk will have to be via PM.
Rodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2008, 03:40   #1212  |  Link
skystrife
Registered User
 
skystrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 176
x264.998.modified.exe - Alternate Download

Patches used:

x264_hrd_pulldown.09_interlace.diff

gcc 3.4.5 fprofiled build with -march=pentium2.
skystrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2008, 11:29   #1213  |  Link
techouse
Strictly Rhythm
 
techouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 166
x264_x86_r999_techouse
Code:
Source: x264 r999 GIT (git://git.videolan.org/x264.git)

Applied patches (current versions):

x264_hrd_pulldown.09_interlace.diff


Please check http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=130364 and http://git.videolan.org/gitweb.cgi?p=x264.git;a=shortlog for more info

Compiled by techouse on October 3rd 2008, 10:39:01 CEST with GCC-4.3.2 on Windows Vista Business SP-1 64-bit.

Commandline used: ./configure --extra-cflags="-march=core2 -pipe" && make fprofiled

Platform:   X86
System:     MINGW
asm:        yes
avis input: yes
mp4 output: yes
pthread:    yes
gtk:        no
debug:      no
gprof:      no
PIC:        no
shared:     no
visualize:  no
__________________
techouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2008, 12:00   #1214  |  Link
Audionut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,264
Revision 999

Quote:
List of changes from here. http://git.videolan.org/?p=x264.git;a=summary

*Fix minor memory leak accidentally added with the addition of b-adapt 2

*Resolve quality regression in r996
Accidentally removed the wrong line of code. I think this classifies as a "10l".
Thanks to techouse for initial bug report and skystrife for helping me find it.

*rm gtk, avc2avi.
I don't remember why I allowed a gui into the repository in the first place. There's nothing that makes this one special relative to all the other x264 guis.
avc2avi doesn't compile since we removed the bitstream reader. And avc doesn't belong in avi.
x264-999.rar


edit: no builds from me till about wed arvo aus time. Water pump shat itself and i won't get a replacement till tues. And i'm going away tues-wed.

Last edited by Audionut; 4th October 2008 at 11:25.
Audionut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2008, 00:54   #1215  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,349
Quote:
I tell you both...WAY OVERRATED. Itīs a good start. But still I realize very often, that playing 3D-Games or doing video-encodes for hours is a different Kind of stress testing which will in some cases proof you wrong.
I will not agree with you. Prime95 MT version crashes almost immidietely if cpu has too low voltage. x264 works always longer. Besides Prime95 MT always gives me alot higher temp than games or x264. I've never seen situation when Prime95 MT was stable but x264 or games would crash. (Let's focus on cpu only)
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2008, 06:17   #1216  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
I will not agree with you. Prime95 MT version crashes almost immidietely if cpu has too low voltage. x264 works always longer. Besides Prime95 MT always gives me alot higher temp than games or x264. I've never seen situation when Prime95 MT was stable but x264 or games would crash. (Let's focus on cpu only)
This is an interesting topic and highly relevant to many of us here on the doom9 forum who are in the pursuit of faster hardware to decrease our encoding time. Can we move it to the hardware forum? I would like to contribute but I don't want to bring this thread OT any more.
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2008, 16:06   #1217  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemuri-_9 View Post
Hmm.... I think i developed a small patch that relaxes the qpfile to be able to only specify certain frames of the video (i believe this was mentioned as a feature request somewhere)
http://kemuri9.net/dev/x264/x264_qpfile_relax.diff
(based on r889)
did you have still this patch somewhere please ?
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2008, 16:21   #1218  |  Link
MasterNobody
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
did you have still this patch somewhere please ?
It was commited in git
MasterNobody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2008, 16:37   #1219  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
yeah...I asked this because I can't access to the x264 git right now.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2008, 17:11   #1220  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 959
Can you not even access the web interface? Diff and on Pastebin
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.

Last edited by J_Darnley; 12th October 2008 at 17:14.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
h.264, x264, x264 builds, x264 patches, x264 unofficial builds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.