Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th December 2007, 10:24   #2201  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleH View Post
A little off-topic - something strange about Nero Audio Decoder 2 and Blu-ray Disc Dolby TrueHD audio tracks.

I built the following graph with graphedit:

File source (BD m2ts file) ---> Nero Splitter ---> Nero Audio Decoder 2 ---> Renderer.

The graph plays fine, but when I go to the Nero Audio Decoder 2 settings it reports that the bitrate is 640kbps (so I guess it basically gets the DD core).

Is this a mistake or is it really plays the DD core instead of TrueHD audio ?

Thanks.

Edit: I think the problem is even worse.

I took a look at two BD movies with Dolby TrueHD track using TSRemux and it recognized all of the audio streams, including the TrueHD track.

But in Nero splitter and Haali it only shows 4 audio tracks, where there are five actually, so this makes me think that the problem is the splitter.

Which splitter can recognize Dolby TrueHD tracks ?
I'm not sure, maybe the Sonic one. Anyway, that doesn't really belong into this thread. BTW, the Nero Audio Decoder doesn't like Blu-Ray TrueHD streams (because of the interweaved AC3 frames). So even if you found a splitter which exports TrueHD you can still not easily decode it with Nero. Except by using eac3to, of course.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 11:12   #2202  |  Link
Beastie Boy
Registered User
 
Beastie Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 353
Wow, this tool has evolved! Many thanks Madshi for your work on this. It is very much appreciated.

Since the latest update, is it still worth buying the Nero plugin? I have bought a copy of Nero 7 with the intention of adding the plugin, but it seems as though I needn't bother.
What is your recommendation?

Cheers, Beastie.
Beastie Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 11:18   #2203  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
You "need" nero/plugin if you care about best quality in e-ac3/ac3 decoding, because nero decoder is a reference one and gives max quality.

If not, the free ffmpeg decoder is almost mature and can be used instead. The choice is up to you, i think.

Last edited by nautilus7; 24th December 2007 at 11:20.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 11:21   #2204  |  Link
Beastie Boy
Registered User
 
Beastie Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 353
Thanks for the reply. Nero it is then as quality is the most important thing for me.

Cheers, Beastie.
Beastie Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 13:09   #2205  |  Link
TripleH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I'm not sure, maybe the Sonic one. Anyway, that doesn't really belong into this thread. BTW, the Nero Audio Decoder doesn't like Blu-Ray TrueHD streams (because of the interweaved AC3 frames). So even if you found a splitter which exports TrueHD you can still not easily decode it with Nero. Except by using eac3to, of course.
OK. I asked that question because I want to avoid from re-encoding the audio.

Is there any quality loss when going from HD Audio (Nero decoder for DDP/TrueHD and Sonic for DTS-HA MA) to FLAC ?

Thanks.
TripleH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 13:38   #2206  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleH View Post
OK. I asked that question because I want to avoid from re-encoding the audio.

Is there any quality loss when going from HD Audio (Nero decoder for DDP/TrueHD and Sonic for DTS-HA MA) to FLAC ?

Thanks.
You are a bit confused...
eac3to can do exactly what you need.

Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio are lossless formats. Flac is lossless too. So any conversion between these 3 formats is without quality loss.
Dolby E-AC3, AC3, DTS and DTS-HD High Resolution are lossy formats. Decode any of them and encode to a different format will result in quality loss.

But what eac3to does, is to minimize the quality loss by using proper decoders (freeware and not freeware) and various "modifications" so they output the best audio quality.

It seems that you 've never read the 1st post of this thread. Do it and i am sure your questions will disappear.

Last edited by nautilus7; 24th December 2007 at 13:40.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 15:36   #2207  |  Link
n_response
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
hello !

I have a "DTS-HD MA 7.1" audio track demux from blue ray dvd.

I want to convent to ac3

I already install nero 7.

but when I use these comaned line

It shows that:

Quote:

E:\AUDIO>eac3to 01.dtshd ac3.ac3 -640
DTS Hi-Res, 5.1 channels, 4:49:45, 24 bits, 1676kbit/s, 48khz
Decoding DTS-HD track to raw. Please wait...
Find sync word: 7ffe8001
Find sync extension: 3f
The file size of the raw file doesn't seem to fit.
The expected file size for 16 bit is 9.32 GB.
The expected file size for 24 bit is 13.98 GB.
The real file size is 4.38 GB.

And it was fiald!~~

Waiting for the question! And Marry Cristmas!~~
n_response is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 17:06   #2208  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
I asked you in the other thread about sonic..
You didn't answer if you have sonic decoders installed and if they are working fine.

Read the 1st post and stop telling that you have nero installed. Nero is not needed in your case.

And you 're waiting for the answer. The question is been made by you.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 18:06   #2209  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by n_response View Post
Quote:
The file size of the raw file doesn't seem to fit.
Pleae update your eac3to version. That error message you've posted is from eac3to v1.x. We're already at v2.x now.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 18:14   #2210  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
eac3to v2.12 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

thanks to Ron/drmpeg for all his help

Code:
* video resolution, framerate and mode (progressive/interlaced) are displayed
* rewriting timestamps should now always write the correct framerate
* after a full EVO/VOB processing the number of video frames is shown
* EVO 16 bit and 24 bit LPCM demuxing supported now (need samples for 20 bit)
* (E-)AC3 bitstream can be delayed now (similar to delaycut)
* DTS bitstream can be delayed now (similar to delaycut)
* DTS-HD High-Res and Master Audio bitstream can be delayed now
* when demuxing bitstream audio tracks from EVO delay is automatically applied
* some little bugs fixed
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 18:29   #2211  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Pleae update your eac3to version. That error message you've posted is from eac3to v1.x. We're already at v2.x now.
Oh my God!!!

I couldn't imagine that!
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 18:31   #2212  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
eac3to v2.12 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

thanks to Ron/drmpeg for all his help

Code:
* video resolution, framerate and mode (progressive/interlaced) are displayed
* rewriting timestamps should now always write the correct framerate
* after a full EVO/VOB processing the number of video frames is shown
* EVO 16 bit and 24 bit LPCM demuxing supported now (need samples for 20 bit)
* (E-)AC3 bitstream can be delayed now (similar to delaycut)
* DTS bitstream can be delayed now (similar to delaycut)
* DTS-HD High-Res and Master Audio bitstream can be delayed now
* when demuxing bitstream audio tracks from EVO delay is automatically applied
* some little bugs fixed
Merry Cristmas and a happy new year to you too Madshi.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 19:08   #2213  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
looks great, thanks you two

does that mean that eac3to already delays those eac, dts etc. files now automatically (if needed), as with the all the others e.g. truehd, or do we have to do that manually, when taking it from a HD DVD source for example? (am asking because you wrote 'can do now' and not 'does automatically' or something like that)

edit: I dont know exactly what bitstream audios are, but I guess that are those eac3, dts track I was talking about, correct? so according to your update it can do/does both now, automatically if needed and manually, when we feed it with such a track?
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 20:04   #2214  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
I dont know exactly what bitstream audios are, but I guess that are those eac3, dts track I was talking about, correct? so according to your update it can do/does both now, automatically if needed and manually, when we feed it with such a track?
You 're right!
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 20:38   #2215  |  Link
rickardk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 259
Been remuxing HD DVDs all dayt today with not a single error using eac3to. Thanks again for this tool. You have done a fantastic job!
rickardk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 23:01   #2216  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
Merry Cristmas and a happy new year to you too Madshi.
Thanks. Same to you and all other Doom9 hotties!
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 23:06   #2217  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
does that mean that eac3to already delays those eac, dts etc. files now automatically (if needed), as with the all the others e.g. truehd, or do we have to do that manually, when taking it from a HD DVD source for example?
Basically eac3to can now apply any delay on any audio track. The only exception is if the source is TrueHD and if you want to keep the audio as TrueHD. That's the only situation where eac3to cannot apply a delay. But as soon as you recode TrueHD to anything else, again eac3to can apply a delay.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
am asking because you wrote 'can do now' and not 'does automatically' or something like that
If you feed eac3to EVO files you don't need to care about audio delays, anymore. (Except if you want to keep the TrueHD tracks as external TrueHD files).

Of course that's what I *hope*. It does need to be tested...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 23:07   #2218  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardk View Post
Been remuxing HD DVDs all dayt today with not a single error using eac3to. Thanks again for this tool. You have done a fantastic job!
Thank you. I'm glad it works fine for you. Once you're done with all your HD DVDs, could you please post a movie list here? Also have you had a chance to check whether the audio sync is always correct?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2007, 23:36   #2219  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
ive tested it with the pianist and bourne identity so far (only main track though). and both, dts-hd ma (pianist) and eac3 (bourne), were fine (though in both cases no delay had to be applied anyway)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2007, 00:03   #2220  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
If you feed eac3to EVO files you don't need to care about audio delays, anymore. (Except if you want to keep the TrueHD tracks as external TrueHD files).

Of course that's what I *hope*. It does need to be tested...
So lets say that audio track 1 (DTS) has a delay or 1001ms. If you demux that audio track, and want to mux it with the video track into an mkv container, you don't need to add the 1001ms delay because eac3to automatically applied it when it demuxed it?
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.