Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th July 2008, 04:45   #21  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth View Post
3 was chosen for DXVA or other HW compatible presets.
Unrestricted presets have more refs, expecially the anime one.
Isn't the limit 4, not 3, for 1080p 4.1?
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 04:49   #22  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
dunno i threw a random number (3, but it could have been 4 as well) coz i lost the presets and i didnt remember if it was 3 or 4... or whatever. my memory is really short lately...

edit: the limit depends on the DPB size.

Last edited by Sharktooth; 24th July 2008 at 16:00.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 06:07   #23  |  Link
smackbadger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5
Shouldn't PSP be under PortableDevice, since PSP=PlayStation Portable right?
smackbadger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 11:37   #24  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by saint-francis View Post
I'm one of those people. I often (about once a week or so) use the HQ insane profile.
what is the real gain to use a such preset ?
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 11:41   #25  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth View Post
not recommended means the encoder can do much better with 2 passes but... if you need really FAST encoding an have bitrate limits, you can ignore the 'Not recommended'.
I think it would be a good idea including this as a note in the first post. It's better have all the relevant info there, and this question will arise more often... After a few thread pages the people will only look at the first post, nothing more...
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 11:55   #26  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
yes, i added the info.

@smackbadger: yes, was already there... i just pasted the wrong name.

Last edited by Sharktooth; 24th July 2008 at 12:01.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 12:22   #27  |  Link
canTsTop
Registered User
 
canTsTop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 120
what is difference between DXVA and PS3-Xbox360 presets? isn't this the same thing?
canTsTop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 12:50   #28  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
buffers.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 13:40   #29  |  Link
check
phjbdpcrjlj2sb3h
 
check's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 1,692
Why not combine the 'portable devices' and 'standalone' categories into a 'hardware players' or similar category? The split between them is a little arbitrary.
check is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 14:12   #30  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
could be an idea. but id like to keep them separated.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 15:14   #31  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
EDIT: moved to the first post.

Last edited by Sharktooth; 24th July 2008 at 17:19.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 15:53   #32  |  Link
kurt
sidekick
 
kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: old Europe
Posts: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth View Post
dunno i threw a random number (3, but it could have been 4 as well) coz i lost the presets and i didnt remember if it was 3 or 4... or whatever. my memory is really short lately...

edit: the limit depends on the resolution.
jap, it's 4 for 1920x1088, look here....

btw: thanks for all your efforts, these presets are much appreciated!

btw2: when driving with Popcorn Hour, I should stick with Standalone-PS3-Xbox360, right?
__________________
greets, kurt.
Pioneer PDP-427 XA | Popcorn Hour NMT C-200 | Sony STR-DB 840 QS | Canton Ergo 91 DC
kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 15:55   #33  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
i left 4 refs for HD even if some old DXVA video cards/drivers do not support 4. for the same reason i thought to take out b-pyramid but i didnt.

btw2: dunno... but if you find any info about the exact playback capabilities i can make a preset...

Last edited by Sharktooth; 24th July 2008 at 16:04.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 16:17   #34  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
what is the real gain to use a such preset ?
Using crf I have consistently noticed a 3-7 % reduction in size as compared to using a profile like HQ Slow. Using HQ Insane it only takes about 4-6 hours for me to encode the average DVD (depending on the .avs). I don't use such settings on HD content. I did once and it took over 24 hours.
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 16:19   #35  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
what is the real gain to use a such preset ?
Almost none, really. It's just for the ppl that want to "squeeze even the last drop of juice from the fruit", no matter how much time it takes.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 16:29   #36  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Presets updated. If you have V50 please download V51.

Last edited by Sharktooth; 24th July 2008 at 16:31.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 16:53   #37  |  Link
TheRyuu
warpsharpened
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 788
Quote:
All anime/toons of all presets groups have Psy-RDO DISABLED and a higher deblocking filter values.
I think anime should have 0:0 deblocking and toon 1:1 but that's just me. Good anime has detail you know.

The same can be said about possibly using psyRDO in anime to keep fine details (possibly gradients, or gradfun gradients, or even some noise).

Edit: Why is no-dct-decimate on with anime/toon. Shouldn't that be off?

Last edited by TheRyuu; 24th July 2008 at 16:57.
TheRyuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 16:57   #38  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
1,1 is the same as the old AE presets. no one ever complained. 0,0 and 1,1 difference is almost unnoticeable.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 17:16   #39  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
another update. V52. Re-download. Now it's all in the first post.

Last edited by Sharktooth; 24th July 2008 at 17:20.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2008, 18:15   #40  |  Link
kurt
sidekick
 
kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: old Europe
Posts: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth View Post
i left 3 refs for HD since some old DXVA video cards do not support 4.

btw2: dunno... but if you find any info about the exact playback capabilities i can make a preset...
PCH uses the same Sigma Chip as PS3 (8635) but is limited in RAM of course. I'll try to find out the max settings... lately I was driving with this commandline very well (720p encodes though):

Code:
--pass 2 --bitrate 4500 --stats ".stats" --level 4.1 --ref 3 --mixed-refs --bframes 3 --b-rdo --bime --weightb 
--direct auto --nf --subme 6 --trellis 1 --partitions p8x8,b8x8,i4x4,i8x8 --8x8dct --ipratio 1.1 --pbratio 1.1 
--vbv-bufsize 9000 --vbv-maxrate 24000 --qcomp 0.5 --me umh --merange 12 --threads auto 
--thread-input --progress --no-psnr --no-ssim --output "output" "input"
any hints what to change (for maxing out)?
__________________
greets, kurt.
Pioneer PDP-427 XA | Popcorn Hour NMT C-200 | Sony STR-DB 840 QS | Canton Ergo 91 DC
kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
megui, x264 presets

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.