Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th February 2018, 00:42   #48901  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 698
I'm getting vert stuttery playback on this the 1080p and 720p versions of this file with MADVR, looking at these stats does anyone have a clue why, not having issues with any other of my collection at present. Its better with NGU sharp off and set to lanczos for image upscale but still very stuttery.

General
Format : Matroska
Format version : Version 4 / Version 2
File size : 3.94 GiB
Duration : 2 h 4 min
Overall bit rate : 4 517 kb/s
Movie name : XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Encoded date : UTC 2018-02-06 08:36:28
Writing application : mkvmerge v20.0.0 ('I Am The Sun') 64-bit
Writing library : libebml v1.3.5 + libmatroska v1.4.8
Cover : Yes
Attachments : small_cover_land.jpg / cover.jpg / cover_land.jpg / small_cover.jpg

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L3.1
Format settings : 2 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC : No
Format settings, RefFrames : 2 frames
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 2 h 4 min
Bit rate : 4 131 kb/s
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 688 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 1.85:1
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 23.976 (23976/1000) FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.196
Stream size : 3.60 GiB (91%)
Title : XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No
Color range : Limited
Color primaries : BT.709
Transfer characteristics : BT.709
Matrix coefficients : BT.709

Audio
ID : 2
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : A_AC3
Duration : 2 h 4 min
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 384 kb/s
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 31.250 FPS (1536 SPF)
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 343 MiB (9%)
Title : Txxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Language : English
Service kind : Complete Main
Default : Yes
Forced : No

Text
ID : 3
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Duration : 1 h 57 min
Bit rate : 56 b/s
Count of elements : 1759
Stream size : 48.3 KiB (0%)
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No

Last edited by mclingo; 8th February 2018 at 23:58.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 00:43   #48902  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
You're entering the refresh rates that you allow madVR to switch to. Smooth Motion works on higher frame rates so if you're running say 60Hz it will activate on that to blend frames and smooth transitions at the expense of motion resolution.
So if I was to enter 2160p 23, 24, 25, 29, 30, 50 and 60 into Madvr then I would effectively be allowing my display to do all the work, is that correct?

As my TV is a basic 60hz native panel, how would you suggest I set up the frame rates in MadVR?
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 00:48   #48903  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,026
You would be allowing madVR to change to any refresh rate that suitably matched your content. 'switch to matching display mode' makes that obvious.
So you either automatically switch to the closest refresh rate to match the frame rate of your content or you keep it at 60Hz and enable Smooth Motion, choose whatever you prefer.
For me motion resolution is king, I'll deal with some jankiness while panning watching animated content.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 01:08   #48904  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
You would be allowing madVR to change to any refresh rate that suitably matched your content. 'switch to matching display mode' makes that obvious.
So you either automatically switch to the closest refresh rate to match the frame rate of your content or you keep it at 60Hz and enable Smooth Motion, choose whatever you prefer.
For me motion resolution is king, I'll deal with some jankiness while panning watching animated content.
Yeah, I think I can put up with some minor pulldown motion rather than having everything blended.

So entering all the available frame rates and turning off smoothing should give me what I'm looking for you reckon?

Thanks for your help
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 01:12   #48905  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,026
Keep Smooth Motion on, it only enables it when it can use it anyway. If you're running at 24Hz for example there's not enough screen refreshing to generate new frames so madVR disables it.
Should be what you're looking for.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 01:21   #48906  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Keep Smooth Motion on, it only enables it when it can use it anyway. If you're running at 24Hz for example there's not enough screen refreshing to generate new frames so madVR disables it.
Should be what you're looking for.
Of course, that makes sense. Thanks again
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 06:09   #48907  |  Link
jeanlee20xx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 6
I hope it can add 2d to SBS function,thank you!!!!

Last edited by jeanlee20xx; 8th February 2018 at 06:12.
jeanlee20xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 11:46   #48908  |  Link
Snap
Member
 
Snap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
Anyone know of a player that can capture screenshots with the HDR data preserved? From some searching it seems there's JPEG-HDR and RGBE PNG for formats but not sure what the limitations might be.

Edit: I should clarify I'm asking here since I'm currently using MadVR as my preferred renderer for such content and wondering if anything was compatible.

Last edited by Snap; 8th February 2018 at 12:33.
Snap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 12:32   #48909  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH in the U.S.A.
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
I'm getting vert stuttery playback on this the 1080p and 720p versions of this file with MADVR, looking at these stats does anyone have a clue why, not having issues with any other of my collection at present. Its better with NGU sharp off and set to lanczos for image upscale but still very stuttery.
MediaInfo isn't always correct. What's the madVR OSD say the frame rate is? I get symptoms like this when a video is really 29.97, despite what MediaInfo reports. Seems to happen mostly with converted TV shows.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 17:46   #48910  |  Link
Bozotheclown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 12
@mclingo

You nasty pirate

Quote:

General
Unique ID : 337065577336944238514229442149036010690 (0xFD9478074F51753B6B4A41DCBD532CC2)
Complete name : E:\Darkest.Hour.2017.720p.WEB-DL.DD5.1.H264-FGT\Darkest.Hour.2017.720p.WEB-DL.DD5.1.H264-FGT.mkv
Format : Matroska
Format version : Version 4 / Version 2
File size : 3.94 GiB
Duration : 2 h 4 min
Overall bit rate : 4 517 kb/s
Movie name : The.Darkest.Hour.2017.720p.WEB-DL.DD5.1.H264-FGT
Encoded date : UTC 2018-02-06 08:36:28
Writing application : mkvmerge v20.0.0 ('I Am The Sun') 64-bit
Writing library : libebml v1.3.5 + libmatroska v1.4.8
Cover : Yes
Attachments : small_cover_land.jpg / cover.jpg / cover_land.jpg / small_cover.jpg
Bozotheclown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 23:59   #48911  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkauff View Post
MediaInfo isn't always correct. What's the madVR OSD say the frame rate is? I get symptoms like this when a video is really 29.97, despite what MediaInfo reports. Seems to happen mostly with converted TV shows.
thats what I thought initially but it plays fine at 23.976 using the EVR renderer.

Madvr clocks it as 23.976
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2018, 00:20   #48912  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 698
3D

My system is now fully stable for 3D, no more messing around with batch files, dropping into 1080p etc etc, no dropped frames, just perfect playback. I mentioned this before and i'm hoping MADSHI will get chance to look at it at some point. MADVR refresh rate switching for 3D is broken, at least for AMD cards so i've switched to using it in my player instead, MPC / KODI DS. Now all my 3D movies, start, skip and stop correctly and smoothly with no loss of HDMI and no machine crashes.

If you are a bg 3D fan and your're not a gamer I would certainly recommend and AMD card over Nvidia, the caveat being the AMD cards tend to have less processing ability so you are slightly limited to what MADVR goodies you can throw at it.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2018, 23:12   #48913  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 214
Here for asking what I think is a noob question

Using madvr on files on my PC I have no dropped frames.

But with dvd discs I've a lot of them, continuously increasing as the movie goes on. Why this? There is something wrong I'm doing?
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2018, 00:51   #48914  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,026
Look at your OSD.. look at your loads
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2018, 03:03   #48915  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Look at your OSD.. look at your loads
Sorry, what I've to look at exactly?
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2018, 03:44   #48916  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,026
Post screenshot of your OSD. Check CPU and GPU loads make sure nothing is ~80+%
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2018, 09:33   #48917  |  Link
stefanelli73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
3D

My system is now fully stable for 3D, no more messing around with batch files, dropping into 1080p etc etc, no dropped frames, just perfect playback. I mentioned this before and i'm hoping MADSHI will get chance to look at it at some point. MADVR refresh rate switching for 3D is broken, at least for AMD cards so i've switched to using it in my player instead, MPC / KODI DS. Now all my 3D movies, start, skip and stop correctly and smoothly with no loss of HDMI and no machine crashes.

If you are a bg 3D fan and your're not a gamer I would certainly recommend and AMD card over Nvidia, the caveat being the AMD cards tend to have less processing ability so you are slightly limited to what MADVR goodies you can throw at it.
Hello, could you kindly tell me what you did exactly to have a stable 3d without dropped frames? I have an AMD RX480
stefanelli73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2018, 14:00   #48918  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanelli73 View Post
Hello, could you kindly tell me what you did exactly to have a stable 3d without dropped frames? I have an AMD RX480
yeah sure.

Firsty if you press control J what do the first two lines say, it should say something like:

display 23,97598hz
composition rate 23,976
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2018, 14:37   #48919  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by steakhutzeee View Post
Using madvr on files on my PC I have no dropped frames but with dvd discs I've a lot of them, continuously increasing as the movie goes on.
I also have something weird happening with DVDs and madVR, while playing SD MPEG2 TS files always work just fine. I have posted screens of the OSD showing an issue but nobody noticed/had any answere unfortunately: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...13#post1832113

Try pausing/unpausing your DVD playback a few times, or seeking a few seconds back. When I do that it usually stops dropping frames. I have no explanation for this.
__________________
HTPC: W10 1803, E7400, 1050 Ti, DVB-C, Denon 2310, Panasonic GT60 | Desktop: W10 1809, 4690K, HD 7870, Dell U2713HM | MediaPortal 1/MPC-HC, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2018, 15:44   #48920  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Post screenshot of your OSD. Check CPU and GPU loads make sure nothing is ~80+%
Here is my osd, cpu is ok, don't know how to check gpu load.

[SPOILER]

[/SPOILER]

Tried to pause/unpause like @el Filou suggested but nothing changed.

Don't know why but with dvd I can't select a specific point of the playback in the seekbar. I can skip to next/previous chapter tho. I use mpc be and with vlc I can instead. This is off topic I think but maybe you know why this happens.

Thanks!
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM

Last edited by steakhutzeee; 10th February 2018 at 15:50.
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.