Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th October 2019, 06:04   #821  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by dngnt View Post
I've been using this feature quite a lot. I would suggest that when using
"Export -> BDN xml/png" --> Export all
instead of presenting Desktop as default export directory, to use the current location of the idx/sub or sup file ?
That would be a big time saver.
Thanks for your great job!
@dngnt: thx for the info
I've tried to fix it here: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...leEditBeta.zip
Does that work for you?

Last edited by Nikse555; 18th October 2019 at 17:09. Reason: Add original quote
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2019, 22:13   #822  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
I have the same problem as Verminaard.

But, after some testing, I think I found something. The tool may have an issue when text for hearing impaired are BOTH italic AND in double lines. I created a little .srt file (attachment) that should explain.

Thx for the info - latest beta updated: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...leEditBeta.zip
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2019, 10:47   #823  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Hi Nikse,

When I load the test srt (which I uploaded) in your latest beta, the issue of adding double dashes is fixed, indeed. But it still adds a dash to the first line?
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2019, 11:41   #824  |  Link
Zetti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 212
Thanks for new release:
https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...ses/tag/3.5.11
Zetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2019, 15:05   #825  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 233
@von Suppé: SE prefers dialog dashes for both lines... but please do post examples if you find bugs

@Zetti: you're welcome, seems to be a nice and stable release!

Also, if you have transport streams (.ts) files with teletext, please do test latest beta version (use File -> Open.. and choose .ts file): https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...leEditBeta.zip
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2019, 19:03   #826  |  Link
dngnt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
@dngnt: thx for the info
I've tried to fix it here: https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...leEditBeta.zip
Does that work for you?
I've tried your latest Beta and your 3.5.11 version with the export --> png/xml .
it now offers "Desktop" for default for the output.
Still, I would prefer the current location of the .sup or idx/sub file ( which is on a separate hard disk, and a specific directory) for the default.
When I import from...and then do the OCR and then save... the current sub file location is by default.
With the export feature, one should expect the same behaviour .

Thanks a lot for your versatile tool!

Last edited by dngnt; 4th November 2019 at 11:17.
dngnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2019, 15:35   #827  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Build-up of SUP

Hi Nikse,

I am figuring out how to to deal with some issues I run into when using another subtitle tool, regarding SUP --> XML/PNG conversion and vice versa. In doing so, but also for just wanting to know this now, I ask myself, how are BD SUP files build up?
Since SubtitleEdit can export to BD SUP, I wonder if you can make some things clear.

As for graphics, of course I can export SUP to XML/PNG and take a look at the .png images. Doing this with an image-editor, it tells me that it's "2D" (only 1 layer) and of course it carries opacity-data.
Again, this is after SUP --> PNG/XML conversion. Are the pictures in SUP indeed stored as "2D" PNG (or uncompressed BMP32) or is there more to them?

Also (this would be ages ago) I read something about the picture's I/O timings being defined differently, using framenumbers & framerate instead of time-codes such as used in SRT. Never giving it more thought at the time, but now it's more topical for me.

I hope you can shed more light - for a newbie, as this is the first time I go more deeper into SUP.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2019, 12:26   #828  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 233
@von Suppé: Some nice info about bdsup is available here: http://blog.thescorpius.com/index.ph...btitle-format/
bdsup does not have frame number (it does have a "frame rate" but that is mostly not used), so it's time based like SRT.
Each image has a palette with 255 colors and each entry also has an "alpha" (lumianance) - much like an 8-bit png.
A bdsup entry can have multiple images (but mostly don't)
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2019, 12:50   #829  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Thanks for the info, Nikse. I'll go read.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.