Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th October 2016, 00:21   #39681  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,056
i don't use kodi.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2016, 02:02   #39682  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 842
Hi!

I had this annoyance I've been wondering for months why my ctrl+R shortcut doesn't work. I only just figured out that it's madVR's fault... I see that it's not a new thing, but I never used it so I didn't make the inference that madVR is stealing it. And it's single modifier shortcut, which makes it worse, because it's far more likely to be used by the player.

So I think it's a very bad idea that the reset statistics option doesn't have a visual feedback. I think it should display a message just like almost all the other options do. (Actually I can't think of any other hotkey function that has no visual sign.)
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2016, 02:39   #39683  |  Link
neno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post

This works for the x64 versions of mpc-hc and potplayer.

Now BlueSkyFRC doesn't work anymore. SVP works fine instead.
So what is the matter with BlueSkyFRC? Did you meet an issue I mentioned in #39634 and #39639?
neno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2016, 04:21   #39684  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
So what would you suggest for upscaling to 4K?

Chroma: NNEDI3
Image: Jinc +LL +AR +SR4

Atm I use:

Chroma: SuperXBR 100, AR, SR1
Image Doubling: SuperXBR AB25
Image: Jinc AR
Chroma at Jinc SR4 as well
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2016, 06:01   #39685  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Large upscaling with Jinc introduces quite some amount of aliasing, which is not the case with NNEDI3. SuperRes can be used to fight its artificial look.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2016, 08:26   #39686  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by neno View Post
So what is the matter with BlueSkyFRC? Did you meet an issue I mentioned in #39634 and #39639?
Hi Neno. I didn’t meet these issues yet.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2016, 16:48   #39687  |  Link
markanini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
SMPTE 170M is not the same as SMPTE-C, I think. madVR at least treats them differently. That also explains why madVR is using the BT.709 3dlut.
I'm confused about this. Technically 170M and SMPTE-C are identical?

Apparently they differece in black level: http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...7&postcount=18
MadVR output uses the same black level though.

Last edited by markanini; 10th October 2016 at 17:13.
markanini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2016, 17:14   #39688  |  Link
BatKnight
Registered User
 
BatKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 160
1080p to 2160p

I have been reading your opinions on scalers and have tried some combinations myself.
Since I don't understand some of the technical terms for scaling like Jinc or NEDDI3, I don't know if I am choosing the best combination for my goal.

My main goal is to watch 1080p videos at 3840x2160@23Hz.
My CPU is an Intel i5-750 with a GTX 660 with 2GB vram

My current choice is Bicubic75 AR for both chroma and image upscaling. No image doubling.
Upscaling refinement: Enhance detail 1.0
Image enhancements: 1.0 sharpen edges, 1.0 enhance detail, activated anti-bloating 100% and activated AR filter

CPU queue size 8 and GPU size 6. Windowed/Fullscreen mode both 4 frames presented in advance.
I am using D3D9 fullscreen overlay (seems to be the one providing less rendering ms)

These are giving me about 29ms at the rendering stats after the nvidia card automatically downclocks to a power saving move. It show 13ms when at the highest clock.

My question to you is, considering a 1920x1080 upscale to 3840x2160 of 4:2:0 videos:
1- how high do you think the rendering stats can go without dropped frames?
2- If I have room for improvement, which is more important PQ-wise, the image upscaling or the chroma upscaling? Why isn't there a luma upscaling choice, other than doubling?
3- In terms of image enhancements and upscaling refinements, I've noticed that some don't cost any ms, but others are quite expensive. Are there any that you might considered a must?

Sorry for the long post. Would love to read your insights on this.

Thanks
Nuno
__________________
Win 10 x64, Geforce GTX 1060, TV Sony KD-55X8509C HDMI, ASUS Xonar D2X, Core i5 750, 10GB DDR3, Creative Labs Gigaworks S750 7.1
MPC Home-Cinema
madVR
LAV Filters
BatKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2016, 19:45   #39689  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by BatKnight View Post
I have been reading your opinions on scalers and have tried some combinations myself.
Since I don't understand some of the technical terms for scaling like Jinc or NEDDI3, I don't know if I am choosing the best combination for my goal.

My main goal is to watch 1080p videos at 3840x2160@23Hz.
My CPU is an Intel i5-750 with a GTX 660 with 2GB vram

My current choice is Bicubic75 AR for both chroma and image upscaling. No image doubling.
Upscaling refinement: Enhance detail 1.0
Image enhancements: 1.0 sharpen edges, 1.0 enhance detail, activated anti-bloating 100% and activated AR filter

CPU queue size 8 and GPU size 6. Windowed/Fullscreen mode both 4 frames presented in advance.
I am using D3D9 fullscreen overlay (seems to be the one providing less rendering ms)

These are giving me about 29ms at the rendering stats after the nvidia card automatically downclocks to a power saving move. It show 13ms when at the highest clock.

My question to you is, considering a 1920x1080 upscale to 3840x2160 of 4:2:0 videos:
1- how high do you think the rendering stats can go without dropped frames?
2- If I have room for improvement, which is more important PQ-wise, the image upscaling or the chroma upscaling? Why isn't there a luma upscaling choice, other than doubling?
3- In terms of image enhancements and upscaling refinements, I've noticed that some don't cost any ms, but others are quite expensive. Are there any that you might considered a must?

Sorry for the long post. Would love to read your insights on this.

Thanks
Nuno
Try the guide in my signature. I'm sure you could use some form of image doubling. Downgrade chroma upscaling to Catmull-Rom and try super-xbr image doubling.

1 - 35-37 ms for 23.976 content.
2 - Image upscaling/Image doubling are most important. Chroma upscaling is not that important. Image upscaling includes both luma and chroma scaled together.
3 - SuperRes is widely regarded as the best upscaling refinement.

Try super-xbr100 + AR image doubling with SuperRes 3, ordered dithering, artifact removal - debanding.

If that is too expensive, try Jinc + AR image upscaling.

If that is too expensive, try Lanczos3 + AR image upscaling.

Last edited by Warner306; 10th October 2016 at 19:57.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2016, 21:46   #39690  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,753
If you just want to know what madVR's options mean you can look at the post in my signature as well. I also cover how high the rendering time can go in the third post (more advanced topics).
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2016, 18:41   #39691  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by neno View Post
So what is the matter with BlueSkyFRC?
Switching madVR to DX11 solves crashes with upscaling in FSE mode with my AMD RX 480 card. But then, blueskyFRC stops working because the stuttering/judder is back. SVP does work though. I read on a forum that blueSkyFRC does not support DX11, but this is not true.

I had contact with Bluesky and they told me

“BlueskyFRC write NV12 data in buffer allocated by the madVR.
The version of DirectX is unrelated in this process.”

Somehow the madVR connection BlueskyFRC is broken.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2016, 20:27   #39692  |  Link
har3inger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 139
A shot in the dark here, but have you tried enabling 1 frame per vsync under D3D11 rendering?
har3inger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2016, 22:31   #39693  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 422
Can anyone point me at something if my present queue never fills up when displaying fullscreen at 2560x1440 (1080p sources)? Render times are under control but the present queue is always empty and frames get dropped. madVR 0.90.24, GTX 980, Windows 10x64, GeForce Drivers 373.06, MPC-HC x64 1.7.10.252
Happens with both D3D11 and D3D9. I use smooth motion on a 59.94Hz refresh rate monitor.

Last edited by ashlar42; 11th October 2016 at 22:38.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2016, 22:40   #39694  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by har3inger View Post
A shot in the dark here, but have you tried enabling 1 frame per vsync under D3D11 rendering?

While I was experimenting with some settings in madVR I also disabled and enabled blueskyFRC a few times. Suddenly blueskyFRC worked. I have changed the settings back and it still works. I don’t know why.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2016, 22:53   #39695  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Can anyone point me at something if my present queue never fills up when displaying fullscreen at 2560x1440 (1080p sources)? Render times are under control but the present queue is always empty and frames get dropped. madVR 0.90.24, GTX 980, Windows 10x64, GeForce Drivers 373.06, MPC-HC x64 1.7.10.252
Happens with both D3D11 and D3D9. I use smooth motion on a 59.94Hz refresh rate monitor.
make a screen of the OSD please.

it doesn't really matter but 60p should a little little bit better than 59p with smoothmotion.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2016, 02:30   #39696  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
make a screen of the OSD please.

it doesn't really matter but 60p should a little little bit better than 59p with smoothmotion.
The same happens with Exclusive Mode. I used Windowed for ease of screen taking (if there's a way of grabbing it with Exclusive I didn't find it quickly).

What's strange are Max Stats. In Average Stats those high values never appear but as soon as I go fullscreen the Max Stats jump to these incredibly high values.


Last edited by ashlar42; 12th October 2016 at 02:35.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2016, 02:42   #39697  |  Link
robl45
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 157
quick question, why does madvr display composition rate of 24hz when display is 23.976 when playing with mpc-be/HC but shows composition rate of 23.976 when display is 23.976 in Jriver media center?
robl45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2016, 09:16   #39698  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
The same happens with Exclusive Mode. I used Windowed for ease of screen taking (if there's a way of grabbing it with Exclusive I didn't find it quickly).
it is maybe possible to take FSE screens with things like fraps.
but ignore this windowed is fine for now.

Quote:
What's strange are Max Stats. In Average Stats those high values never appear but as soon as I go fullscreen the Max Stats jump to these incredibly high values.

http://i68.tinypic.com/2nbais5.jpg
are you using a 3D LUT?
try control+shift+3 and see if it makes a huge difference.

have a look at the CPU usages even the subtitles are not buffered.

and you haven't changed the nvidia "manage 3D settings" right?
Quote:
Originally Posted by robl45 View Post
quick question, why does madvr display composition rate of 24hz when display is 23.976 when playing with mpc-be/HC but shows composition rate of 23.976 when display is 23.976 in Jriver media center?
the composition rate is the refresh rate windows is using for the desktop.

24hz with a 23p source is pretty much save.
this type of error happens a lot with windows 7
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2016, 12:13   #39699  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
are you using a 3D LUT?
try control+shift+3 and see if it makes a huge difference.

have a look at the CPU usages even the subtitles are not buffered.

and you haven't changed the nvidia "manage 3D settings" right?
No, I'm not using 3D LUT. CTRL+SHIFT+3 didn't make an ounce of a difference.
Nvidia 3D settings are at default values for MPC-HC (both x86 and x64 versions, all at "use global settings").

Now, while checking CPU usage (which stays quite low, I'm on an i74770K, decoding with DXVA copyback h.264 content), I discovered an even stranger (to me, at least) thing. As you can see if the task manager window sits on top of MPC-HC window the present queue fills up normally. This happens even if I switch the focus to MPC-HC and away from task manager (which remains on top because I've activated the relevant function). As soon as I close task manager, present queue empties.

ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2016, 12:26   #39700  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 422
I'm currently investigating f.lux, as it might be the reason this is happening. I've been using it for a very long time and in the past it didn't give me problems. But in July I updated to Windows 10 and later Anniversary... not using often fullscreen on my desktop PC (I usually watch movies from HTPC) I might not have noticed this before.

Activating f.lux "Safe Mode" seems to solve the problem. As it doesn't significantly impair f.lux performance or functionality, all should be good. In case it could help madshi understand, Safe Mode in f.lux does the following (per their FAQ):

1. It disables our layered window for compatibility with some older machines. 2. It disables all polling we normally do to ensure that we're the active color profile.

Last edited by ashlar42; 12th October 2016 at 12:40.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.