Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th July 2016, 23:26   #38481  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xello View Post
Yes I thought that was odd when i looked at the spec sheet, as this is a gsync monitor so it supports all refresh rates from 1 to max (165 in this monitor's case).
Actually G-SYNCs minimum refresh is 30Hz, if your FPS drops below that it internally switches to something similar to ordinary VSYNC.
Most screens even have a higher minimum refresh above that due to panel requirements, typically in the 40Hz range somewhere.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 23:37   #38482  |  Link
Xello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Actually G-SYNCs minimum refresh is 30Hz, if your FPS drops below that it internally switches to something similar to ordinary VSYNC.
Most screens even have a higher minimum refresh above that due to panel requirements, typically in the 40Hz range somewhere.
Gotcha, MadVR is reporting correctly though right?

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...4/asus24hz.png
Xello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 23:43   #38483  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Actually G-SYNCs minimum refresh is 30Hz, if your FPS drops below that it internally switches to something similar to ordinary VSYNC.
Most screens even have a higher minimum refresh above that due to panel requirements, typically in the 40Hz range somewhere.
Actually that isn't how it works. The module in the monitor starts duplicating frames internally in a predictive manner, so it starts duplicating when the frame rate drops below something a bit above 30 so it almost never has to use the V-sync like mode, unless the frame rate fluctuates in a way it wasn't expecting. All G-sync displays I have seen have a min refresh rate of 30Hz but the Freesync displays often use something higher (35-47).

The G-sync refresh rates have nothing to do with what modes the monitor will accept however, that is still up to the EDID info like always.

My XB270HU has a 24Hz mode over displayport, so madVR will happily switch to 2560x1440p23, but it has the same min G-sync rate of 30Hz.

Personally I suggest setting your monitor to 165Hz and using smooth motion, no messing with things and having the monitor changing modes, the blended frames will not be onscreen long.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xello View Post
Gotcha, MadVR is reporting correctly though right?

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...4/asus24hz.png
Odd, my list of refresh rates looks similar to yours (only missing the 165Hz option) but madVR will happily switch to 2560x1440p23. I am running Win10 pro x64.

madVR is reporting correctly, I assume the monitor is duplicating the frames internally.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 4th July 2016 at 23:49.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2016, 23:46   #38484  |  Link
Xello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Sigh..................

I was setting the display modes....................

Of my old display...................................

Just..............

Working fine now.

BTW that smooth motion suggestion made me vomit :P But I see your logic so might as well see what it looks like.
edit: doesn't look bad actually, I thought it was gonna cause the soap opera effect

Last edited by Xello; 4th July 2016 at 23:58.
Xello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2016, 01:23   #38485  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xello View Post
Sigh..................

I was setting the display modes....................

Of my old display...................................

Just..............

Working fine now.

BTW that smooth motion suggestion made me vomit :P But I see your logic so might as well see what it looks like.
edit: doesn't look bad actually, I thought it was gonna cause the soap opera effect
MadVR's smooth motion is not frame interpolation, it works very well on high refresh rate displays without changing the frame rate of the source. It is nothing like all the new motion interpolation modes on TVs or SVP, etc.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2016, 01:50   #38486  |  Link
Magik Mark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 576
Why is it madvr reports my display refresh rates as 23.970 and my source filter (LAV) reports it as 23.976? Is there a way to correct this?
__________________
Aora Master - Intel i9 - RTX 2060 - DDR4 24GB Predator - LG OLED C9 - Yamaha A3030 - Windows 10 x64 - Kodi with DSplayer - Lav - MadVR
Magik Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2016, 02:29   #38487  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,058
a custom resolution can change that. but if you are aiming at 23.976 than you are just wasting your time.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2016, 07:07   #38488  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magik Mark View Post
Why is it madvr reports my display refresh rates as 23.970 and my source filter (LAV) reports it as 23.976? Is there a way to correct this?
I have never been able to tune an Nvidia GPU to exactly 23.97602, or even that close.. the steps when creating a custom resolution were about 0.004 Hz, if I remember correctly.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2016, 12:18   #38489  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
I'll get my hands on a GTX 1070 and an AMD RX480 at the end of the week. I'll compare their madvr performance against each other an will post the results here.

Anyone got some wishes or suggestions you'd like me to test?

My priority will be upscaling 1080p to 4k...
Thanks for the offer!
1. It'd be nice to see the power consumption of these cards during playback. (You can get a cheap power consumption meter with LCD display (for about 10 euros) and plug it in its own socket and read/take a note the values during test.)
2. Regarding to the 1st point, it would be also nice that you can try out these kind of sources:
- 720p h.264
- 1080p h.264
- 1080p h.265
- 2060p h.264
- 2060p h.265

Thanks
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2016, 12:19   #38490  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magik Mark View Post
Why is it madvr reports my display refresh rates as 23.970 and my source filter (LAV) reports it as 23.976? Is there a way to correct this?
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
a custom resolution can change that. but if you are aiming at 23.976 than you are just wasting your time.
Or if you can't use close enough value then use 24p instead of 23p with madVR. (That's what I'm doing.)
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2016, 15:30   #38491  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Or if you can't use close enough value then use 24p instead of 23p with madVR. (That's what I'm doing.)
In your optimus system hdmi outputs by intel or nvidia?
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2016, 16:00   #38492  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
did some quick testing with my new amd rx480...


my first observations:

compared to my gtx970 I save about 3-6 ms through different tests with different settings.

rx480 gets a bit noisy when stressed with high settings

cant get 4K, HEVC, 10 Bit, HDR files running. Getting green screen. worked with gtx 970.

render ques are stable at 7-8/8 with copyback. Saw some quick jumps to 4-7/8 and back every 1-2 mins, but no dropped frames or glitches. Tested with crimson 6.2.2


Tomorrow I'll get my hands on a gtx1070. I will post the results of the complete test friday.
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2016, 17:12   #38493  |  Link
kanade
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Hey madshi, I'm not able to send the crash report via error dialog to you as I keep getting this error message:


I also didn't get bug report text file after closing the error dialog.
kanade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2016, 19:39   #38494  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
compared to my gtx970 I save about 3-6 ms through different tests with different settings.
Probably GCN's madVR performance is a bit higher than the average of most games (or you have to take very GCN friendly games for comparing)?
I'd say my R9 390 can also cope really well compared to my previous GTX 980 OC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
cant get 4K, HEVC, 10 Bit, HDR files running. Getting green screen. worked with gtx 970.
With DXVA2 (CB) or even with software decoding?
In both cases I'd say: outsh!
Polaris driver totally bugged?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
render ques are stable at 7-8/8 with copyback. Saw some quick jumps to 4-7/8 and back every 1-2 mins, but no dropped frames or glitches. Tested with crimson 6.2.2
Cool, thanks. I'm having those jumps very often with 1080p 60fps with Hawaii. Present queue with GTX 980 was totally stable (if driver didn't bug with clock adjustment for OpenCL...).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
Tomorrow I'll get my hands on a gtx1070. I will post the results of the complete test friday.
Really good that you are testing such stuff. Results for madVR are totally rare in the web.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2016, 19:58   #38495  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post

With DXVA2 (CB) or even with software decoding?(

Edit: hevc file is working with software decoding, but not working with dxva2 cb. If I choose software decoding I can play HEVC files. But HEVC with 4k and hdr info is too much for my cpu. Can't get it running without stuttering like hell. amds hevc decoder seems to be buggy. don't know if it is a softwarebug in crimson drivers or a hardware bug.
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set

Last edited by Sunset1982; 6th July 2016 at 00:21.
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2016, 00:25   #38496  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
amd rx480 vs good old 970 gtx

finished my comparison between the gtx970 and amd's rx480. tomorrow i will complete the comparison with the gtx 1070. For those who are interested in AMD's RX480, there you are...

MadVRComparison.xlsx


with the rx480 you get a performance gain of 9-57 % compared to the good old gtx 970. Power consumption is a up and down. In some scenarios the rx 480 needs more power, sometimes less.
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set

Last edited by Sunset1982; 6th July 2016 at 00:33.
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2016, 01:06   #38497  |  Link
ispano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
finished my comparison between the gtx970 and amd's rx480. tomorrow i will complete the comparison with the gtx 1070. For those who are interested in AMD's RX480, there you are...

MadVRComparison.xlsx


with the rx480 you get a performance gain of 9-57 % compared to the good old gtx 970. Power consumption is a up and down. In some scenarios the rx 480 needs more power, sometimes less.
Thx for the comparison. My RX480 arrives today and am especially happy with the fact it can do modest 4k upscaling with NNEDI3. Running an HTPC build off a GTX 285 at the moment .
ispano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2016, 08:47   #38498  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
Quote:
Thx for the comparison. My RX480 arrives today and am especially happy with the fact it can do modest 4k upscaling with NNEDI3.
It seems to be a good card for madvr. Especially for that price. But I would wait for a custom design, because of the fan, which is a bit noisy under heavy load.

I'm excited about the gtx1070. Will see how it performs today and if it worth the money in terms of madvr performance. Would be nice to have a bit of performance reserve for future madvr features and upscaling refinements, which (except for superres) I didn't use in my tests...
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2016, 12:22   #38499  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosCaco View Post
In your optimus system hdmi outputs by intel or nvidia?
Intel (that's my "problem" )

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
finished my comparison between the gtx970 and amd's rx480. tomorrow i will complete the comparison with the gtx 1070. For those who are interested in AMD's RX480, there you are...

MadVRComparison.xlsx
Thanks, but can you publish this/next one in an online form, e.g. on google docs? (It will be reserved for a long time, and I can't open it with Excel 2003 )
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2016, 12:43   #38500  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,058
try openoffice.

and what is this rubbish? not possible, no HDMI 2.0

of cause the 970 has HDMI 2.0...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.