Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th March 2020, 18:43   #14921  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by chompy View Post
...Is then an easy way to know the config used in the original DTS-HD 7.1 track to use it again in the new edited track?
Of course, with your sample (image 2) :
eac3to.exe sample.dtshd -logdts
Quote:
+ DTS-Core
- frameSize 2012
- DTS-ES +
- channelNo 5
- lfe 1
- channelDescr 5.1
- samplingRate 48000
- bitDepth 24
- bitrate 1509000
- samplesPerFrame 512
- copyHistory 1
+ DTS-HD
- fullSize 116
- headerSize 32
- refClockCode 1/48000
- frameDurationCode 1
- activeMasks [1], [[1]]
+ Asset [0]
- fullSize 84
- headerSize 14
- corePackets Core
- extSubStrPackets XLL
- bitResolution 24
- maxSampleRate 48000
- totalNumChannels 8
- activeSpeakers C L R Ls Rs LFE Lsr Rsr ($4f)
DTS Master Audio, 7.1 (strange setup) channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS-ES, 5.1 channels, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
Other samples (image 1 and 3):
- activeSpeakers C L R Ls Rs LFE Lw Rw ($40f)
- activeSpeakers C L R LFE Lsr Rsr Lss Rss ($84b)
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2020, 19:16   #14922  |  Link
chompy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Of course, with your sample (image 2) :
eac3to.exe sample.dtshd -logdts
Great, lots of thanks again!!
chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2020, 16:47   #14923  |  Link
DMD
Registered User
 
DMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
The Static, only one file without need *.dll's
Thank you
DMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2020, 17:05   #14924  |  Link
DMD
Registered User
 
DMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 201
Good morning
I apologize for my question, as far as the EAC3 Encoder is concerned, bitrate values higher than 640 Kb / s are not expected?
Thank you

DMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2020, 17:59   #14925  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMD View Post
Good morning
I apologize for my question, as far as the EAC3 Encoder is concerned, bitrate values higher than 640 Kb / s are not expected?
Surely that's a limitation (design flaw) in the GUI
(btw, could you please name it?).

Besides, just like .dca (DTS "coherent acoustics"), the .eac3 compression has no predefined set of "allowed bitrates".
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2020, 20:27   #14926  |  Link
DMD
Registered User
 
DMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
Surely that's a limitation (design flaw) in the GUI
(btw, could you please name it?).

Besides, just like .dca (DTS "coherent acoustics"), the .eac3 compression has no predefined set of "allowed bitrates".
I tried to force the settings, manually entering the value of 1509 kb/s.
The procedure started regularly with the set bit-rate value.
The only limitation that the maximum number of channels that can be managed is 6, the initial test track is 8ch (7.1).
I don't know how it is possible to manage 8 ch tracks.




Last edited by DMD; 25th March 2020 at 20:32.
DMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2020, 20:41   #14927  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,639
I had a go this morning trying to generate an 8 channel EAC3 encode using an 8 channel PCM source. I also obtained a 6 channel EAC3 elementary stream.
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2020, 21:22   #14928  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,639
As a bit of an addition...

I also created a 6 channel EAC3 encode at 1536 Kbps using one of my DTS audio CD's as a source. And I have to say that the playback results are very good indeed.
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2020, 22:41   #14929  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
Surely that's a limitation (design flaw) in the GUI
(btw, could you please name it?).
The GUI is UsEac3to, and yes is a GUI limit, I can't understand for what we can need more than 640 Kb/s for lossy 5.1
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2020, 08:35   #14930  |  Link
DMD
Registered User
 
DMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 201
If it were possible to manage 8 channels, it would be fantastic.
DMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2020, 09:32   #14931  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,085
The reason why ffmpeg won't encode E-AC3 with >6 channels is not really obvious to me. And I am obviously wrong with my guessed reason...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2020, 10:40   #14932  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
The reason why ffmpeg won't encode E-AC3 with >6 channels is not really obvious to me. And I am obviously wrong with my guessed reason...
Noone has spent time making it, and noone seems interested in doing so unless someone is willing to pay for it?

Thats as logical a reason as for anything. People usually work on one of two things: Stuff they have a personal interest for, or stuff other people pay them for.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2020, 11:00   #14933  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,810
In my opinion 7.1 don't offer a better 2D surround than 5.1, I think is a commercial placebo, then for me is ok the ffmpeg behaviour.

Other question is Atmos 3D surround.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2020, 17:07   #14934  |  Link
justnobody
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4
ffmpeg will not support eac3 7.1 encode, just forget it and go


my question: is it possible to cut the end of the file using eac3to? like cut 10s, we can cut the beginning with simple -10000ms but..

anyway for cutting like this ffmpeg is pretty handy, eac3to doesn't come with this function i guess

Last edited by justnobody; 24th April 2020 at 20:40.
justnobody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2020, 10:42   #14935  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by justnobody View Post
is it possible to cut the end of the file using eac3to?
Not sure for eac3to, but I use mkvtoolnix to losslessly cut any audio file. Just mux it to MKA, and use the Split After specific timestamps feature (in the Output tab) to split it where you want. Then, you can extract the part you need from the MKA segment with gMKVExtractGUI.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2020, 11:48   #14936  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,331
Quote:
Not sure for eac3to, but I use mkvtoolnix to losslessly cut any audio file.
Except the FLAC format.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2020, 12:05   #14937  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by justnobody View Post
my question: is it possible to cut the end of the file using eac3to? like cut 10s, we can cut the beginning with simple -10000ms but..
I think only if you specify the length with -edit. E.g. if the file is 1h30m long and you want to cut the last 10 seconds:
Code:
eac3to "input.eac3" "output.eac3" "-edit=1:29:50,-10000ms"
(Or maybe make the "-10000" to e.g. "-11000ms" to have some reserve for rounding/alignments.)
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2020, 12:28   #14938  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,810
If you know the movie length, for instance 1:50:40.000 you can cut the 10 last seconds with:

-edit=1:50:30.000,-10000ms

EDIT: to slow to make the test
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2020, 15:45   #14939  |  Link
richardpl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by justnobody View Post
ffmpeg will not support eac3 7.1 encode, just forget it and go
It will, just pay.
richardpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2020, 23:32   #14940  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardpl View Post
It will, just pay.
People will pay IF:

1) the price of the new encoder is lower than the price of the "official"/certified encoders

&&

2) the price of the new encoder is declared publicly;
I mean, no "send me an email and I'll tell you how much it will cost",
alright
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.