Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th March 2019, 21:59   #23421  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 44
Danke nevcairiel for all the great work you do.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2019, 09:43   #23422  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,835
LAV Filters 0.74.1
Code:
LAV Video
- Fixed: VP9 video could produce wrong timestamps, resulting in a black screen or other playback disruptions
- Fixed: Decoding VP9 from a non-keyframe (ie. after a seek, or badly cut file) would not always recover properly once a keyframe was encountered
Download: Installer (both x86/x64) -- Zips: 32-bit & 64-bit

If you haven't seen the 0.74 release notes yet, you can find them here

Just a few quick fixes for VP9 decoding on top of 0.74.

As always, please report issues, specifically regressions, in as much detail as possible with a sample file if applicable.

Have fun!
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2019, 17:59   #23423  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
LAV Filters 0.74
Code:
- Changed: Improved support for additional UtVideo subtypes
Hi!

I guess UT Video T2 RGB video is not among what ffmpeg supports, because LAV only produces a black screen.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2019, 18:38   #23424  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,835
I don't have any experience with UtVideo. I just pass it to ffmpeg. I suggest to try the ffmpeg commandline to see if it supports such videos.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2019, 19:26   #23425  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I don't have any experience with UtVideo. I just pass it to ffmpeg. I suggest to try the ffmpeg commandline to see if it supports such videos.
Well, it gave an error for the same file: "Error while decoding stream #0:0: Invalid data found when processing input" repeated many times.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2019, 23:18   #23426  |  Link
GCRaistlin
Registered User
 
GCRaistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 262
LAV Video seems to report the active hardware accelerator incorrectly.
The test system has dual graphics: AMD Radeon HD 6620G (integrated) and AMD Radeon HD 6750M (discrete). I renamed mpc-hc64.exe to ~mpc-hc64.exe (or else the video driver doesn't allow to use the discrete graphics for MPC-HC), set it to use the discrete graphics in Radeon Additional Settings applet, launched it - LAV Video decoder (0.74.1, tried internal 0.74.0, too) says: "Active Hardware Accelerator AMD Radeon 6620G" (while Switchable Graphics Application Monitor reports that ~mpc-hc64.exe is using the "High Performance" (discrete) GPU). If I set MPC-HC64 to use the integrate graphics LAV Video decoder reports the same. That is, switching between adapters doesn't affect what LAV Video is reporting.
Then I installed FurMark. By default, it uses the discrete graphics, shows 14 fps with it and reports: "AMD Radeon 6600M and 6700M Series". If it forced to use the integrated graphics it shows 2 fps and reports: "AMD Radeon 6620G". That is, it's really been switched and correctly reports what GPU is currently being used.
__________________
Magically yours
Raistlin
GCRaistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 02:03   #23427  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,835
With which hardware decoder mode is that?
Generally LAV will ask the D3D device it uses for decoding during startup about its name, and then store that name somewhere. If its being switched out behind its back, then it won't catch that (and since its cosmetic only, also not really care).
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 02:40   #23428  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,967
you are not supposed to rename anything to use a different GPU there are other ways that should work.

like display-> Graphics settings -> browse -> add mpc-hc and now you can manipulate windows to use a different GPU for that program.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 02:46   #23429  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,013
To clarify: the setting that huhn refers to is found in the Windows settings app, and exists since Windows 10 1803.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 08:22   #23430  |  Link
GCRaistlin
Registered User
 
GCRaistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
With which hardware decoder mode is that?
Generally LAV will ask the D3D device it uses for decoding during startup about its name, and then store that name somewhere. If its being switched out behind its back, then it won't catch that (and since its cosmetic only, also not really care).
It's with dxva (copy-back). The D3D device wasn't definitely being switched out behind LAV's back as I first set MPC-HC to use the discrete graphics and only then launched MPC-HC. As for cosmetic only I don't completely agree with you as this info (if it is correct) could help to diagnose performance issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
the setting that huhn refers to ... exists since Windows 10 1803.
The OS being used is Windows 8.1 x64.
__________________
Magically yours
Raistlin
GCRaistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 11:51   #23431  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCRaistlin View Post
It's with dxva (copy-back). The D3D device wasn't definitely being switched out behind LAV's back as I first set MPC-HC to use the discrete graphics and only then launched MPC-HC. As for cosmetic only I don't completely agree with you as this info (if it is correct) could help to diagnose performance issues.
I didn't mean that you changed it, but possibly Windows or the driver does. I literally create the device and right after ask about its name. So either its really using the integrated graphics for decoding, or its lying to me somewhere.

I don't suppose you have any way to check which device is actually doing the decoding, based on hardware usage etc, instead of just trusting the tool that says it should be the dedicated?
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 14:32   #23432  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,412
Is there any reason why LAV decoder can't read MOV headers for color flagging (including new tags for master display information: https://patchwork.ffmpeg.org/patch/6409/) and pass it to madVR (like it does for h265)?
This would allow to play eg ProRes, DNxHR etc. HDR files to HDR TV.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 16:30   #23433  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,835
Of course, the reason is that the decoder doesn't get access to the container file. It can only read the video stream itself, anything else would require manual handling of some sort.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 17:33   #23434  |  Link
GCRaistlin
Registered User
 
GCRaistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 262
nevcairiel
Switching the GPU for an app is, for some unknown reason, often a hack thing in AMD systems, with all that renamings of exe's. So I was hoping to get another proof from LAV that all is working in the right way. The fact is that I can't see any difference in madVR's performance when MPC-HC set to use the integrated GPU or the discrete GPU. The conclusion is either 6620G and 6750M have the equal possibilities in video processing made by madVR or MPC-HC ignores the GPU setting and always uses the integrated graphics, though the driver reports the reverse.
__________________
Magically yours
Raistlin
GCRaistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 17:57   #23435  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 547
Configure DXVA Checker the same way as MPC-HC, then do a decode benchmark while monitoring your integrated and discrete GPU. If the iGPU is used for decoding you should see some GPU load on it even in pure decode mode.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 20:59   #23436  |  Link
GCRaistlin
Registered User
 
GCRaistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 262
Should I look at GPU Engine Usage? How to do a decode benchmark?
__________________
Magically yours
Raistlin
GCRaistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2019, 21:55   #23437  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 547
Install DXVA Checker: http://bluesky23.yukishigure.com/en/DXVAChecker.html
go to DS/MF Decoder ==> Check Decoders ==> Select media file ==> click the arrow next to LAV Decoder ==> Decode Performance ==> DXVA2.
For usage monitoring you can use GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2019, 10:35   #23438  |  Link
GCRaistlin
Registered User
 
GCRaistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 262
Is it normal that I have "Unsupported" under "LAV Video Decoder" on DS/MF Decoder tab?
__________________
Magically yours
Raistlin
GCRaistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2019, 11:38   #23439  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Of course, the reason is that the decoder doesn't get access to the container file. It can only read the video stream itself, anything else would require manual handling of some sort.
Ok, so this info has to be inside stream headers, not container.
In case of ProRes and DNxHR it's (except master display info). They have private headers flagging inside as well.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2019, 11:40   #23440  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCRaistlin View Post
Is it normal that I have "Unsupported" under "LAV Video Decoder" on DS/MF Decoder tab?
Yes. I'm not sure what it tries to read there, but it works regardless.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.