Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th April 2015, 02:19   #28861  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
Works great with the MPC-HC test build, thanks!
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 03:10   #28862  |  Link
noee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 530
Okay, gurus, riddle me this. So I cranked up our favorite test videos for the newest 64-bit chain (LAV->MPC-HC->madVR). First up in the rotation is the opening scene in Revenge of the Sith, camera pans vertically from the starfield to the star destroyer, then the the pan transitions horizontally following the destroyer....blah, blah, blah. On the 32-bit chain, the pan down has a little bit of jumping, very small but noticeable, until the pan goes right and it's totally smooth (I use smooth motion ON). 64-bit, the vertical pan is dead smooth, just like the horizontal pan. Playback is 23.976fps on 60Hz tv and 1080->1080.

I don't see anything in the recent changelog to indicate changes to smoothmotion, etc. Went back to 32-bit just to check our eyes and the vertical jumping is back....

This just Win7Ult on a very old AMD platform (Athlon/HD6570 and the only Windows platform I have left) with old AMD drivers (13.12).

Anyone else notice this?

btw, great update madshi, thx.
__________________
Win7Ult || RX560/4G || Ryzen 5
noee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 03:32   #28863  |  Link
andybkma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by sexus View Post
x64 build, wow, wonder if it does anything for kodi playback , since kodi is still 32bit as of yet, hmmm....as well thanks for the playback short freeze fix, looks like ryrynz needs to update his playback package for potplayer now since we officially have everything to finally advance to x64 playback . lav filters x64 , check , av splitter x64 , check , ffdshow x64 , check , potplayer x64 , check , xysubfilter x64, check ,
Maybe you have everything you need but I would still need a Zoom Player 64 build, a Reclock 64 build and an Avisynth 64 build. But yes, getting closer but I doubt I will ever see all this...

madshi, thanks for fixing the playbook freeze bug in 87.20, so far so good :-)

Last edited by andybkma; 13th April 2015 at 03:38.
andybkma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 03:41   #28864  |  Link
Teapsalm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Keep getting a black screen and I'm not sure why. Using the test build.

edit: Realized I needed to edit internal filters. Works perfectly with the test build.

Last edited by Teapsalm; 13th April 2015 at 03:49. Reason: Found fix
Teapsalm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 04:09   #28865  |  Link
Jtacdf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 49
nnedi3 with AMD crossfire

Hi Madshi,

madvr x64 with mpc hc causes nnedi3 to produce the artifact as below if the pc system is in crossfire mode.
Works fine if I manually disable it in CCC Crossfire settings. But not with a specific 3d application settings setting to disabled crossfire.
32bit works without issue as well.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vdhalt2rno...52%5D.jpg?dl=0
__________________
Core i7 4790K@4.6Ghz - Asus Maximus VII Formula - AMD R9 290X 4GB Crossfire - Windows 10 Pro x64
Jtacdf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 05:33   #28866  |  Link
James Freeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 919
x64 madvr:
It seems that there is a problem with Device detection in the Devices tab.
The device is there but it is greyed out.
Also, the 3dLut can't be disabled via ctrl+Shift+3 or the menu itself when the device is greyed out.

Everybody that are involved, thank you so much for MPC-HC, LAV-filter and MadVR.
__________________
System: i7 3770K, GTX660, Win7 64bit, Panasonic ST60, Dell U2410.
James Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 07:29   #28867  |  Link
omarank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Thanks madshi for the 64 bit build. It works perfectly with the test build of MPC-HC 64 provided by kasper93.

If we had a 64 bit version of ReClock too, we would completely get rid of 32 bit players.
omarank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 08:53   #28868  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by omarank View Post
Thanks madshi for the 64 bit build. It works perfectly with the test build of MPC-HC 64 provided by kasper93.

If we had a 64 bit version of ReClock too, we would completely get rid of 32 bit players.
What sort of issues do you experience when not using ReClock? Why not just stop using it?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 09:16   #28869  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
What sort of issues do you experience when not using ReClock? Why not just stop using it?
IMHO reclock is essential with the people with "24" multiple refresh rates (24hz,48hz,72hz etc.) So a x64 build of reclock will be very well welcomed.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 09:35   #28870  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by kasper93 View Post
Seems to work fine. Test build for all folks before it gets to nightly https://www.dropbox.com/s/lrmrdd2e3s..._madVR.7z?dl=1
Awesome - thanks for the ultra-quick fix!

FWIW, I might still try to work around the problem within madVR, too, but the solution you just implemented is the cleanest possible approach, so it's good to have in any case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by noee View Post
Okay, gurus, riddle me this. So I cranked up our favorite test videos for the newest 64-bit chain (LAV->MPC-HC->madVR). First up in the rotation is the opening scene in Revenge of the Sith, camera pans vertically from the starfield to the star destroyer, then the the pan transitions horizontally following the destroyer....blah, blah, blah. On the 32-bit chain, the pan down has a little bit of jumping, very small but noticeable, until the pan goes right and it's totally smooth (I use smooth motion ON). 64-bit, the vertical pan is dead smooth, just like the horizontal pan. Playback is 23.976fps on 60Hz tv and 1080->1080.

I don't see anything in the recent changelog to indicate changes to smoothmotion, etc. Went back to 32-bit just to check our eyes and the vertical jumping is back....

This just Win7Ult on a very old AMD platform (Athlon/HD6570 and the only Windows platform I have left) with old AMD drivers (13.12).

Anyone else notice this?
Interesting. Not sure why that would happen. Maybe the refresh rate estimation works somewhat more exact or faster in x64, but I'm not really sure why. For me things look smooth here on my PC in both 32bit and 64bit. Haven't tested that specific test video, though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jtacdf View Post
madvr x64 with mpc hc causes nnedi3 to produce the artifact as below if the pc system is in crossfire mode.
Works fine if I manually disable it in CCC Crossfire settings. But not with a specific 3d application settings setting to disabled crossfire.
32bit works without issue as well.
I don't think there's much I can do about that. There's nothing specific about crossfire that I do in madVR. Crossfire is expected to work automatically, or at least not to harm. That seems to fail in this case. I don't see how it could be madVR's fault. I fear this is probably an AMD driver bug. I'd recommend that you report it to AMD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post
x64 madvr:
It seems that there is a problem with Device detection in the Devices tab.
The device is there but it is greyed out.
Yes, I can reproduce that here.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 09:36   #28871  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
IMHO reclock is essential with the people with "24" multiple refresh rates (24hz,48hz,72hz etc.) So a x64 build of reclock will be very well welcomed.
you could use smooth motion?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 09:40   #28872  |  Link
cvrkuth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Error with x64 build

When I close file in player (PotPlayer 1.6.53104 64-bit) I get error with x64 build



EventID 1000
Faulting application name: PotPlayerMini64.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x54bdb246
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000085000e023f
Faulting process id: 0x624
Faulting application start time: 0x01d075ba2b3ad3df
Faulting application path: D:\DATA\y040644\totalcmd\PLUGINS\Daum\PotPlayer64\PotPlayerMini64.exe
Faulting module path: unknown
Report Id: 7d2530d4-e1ad-11e4-82b1-002215207e47
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
__________________
Intel Core i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz, RAM 32 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24),
Panasonic TX-P42G20E, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970, Win 10 Pro x64,
PotPlayer 1.7.16291 64-bit, madVR v0.92.17

Last edited by cvrkuth; 13th April 2015 at 11:07.
cvrkuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 10:04   #28873  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you could use smooth motion?
The difference between smooth motion on 60hz and without it on 72hz is huge, on 72hz the motion of the video looks very fluid and natural, unlike the smooth motion on 60hz which looks artificial + plus the extra load on the gpu

Last edited by Siso; 13th April 2015 at 10:08.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 10:10   #28874  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
The difference between smooth motion on 60hz and without it on 72hz is huge, on 72hz the motion of the video looks very fluid and natural, unlike the smooth motion on 60hz which looks artificial + plus the extra load on the gpu
you sure? i would call this a bug.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 10:29   #28875  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you sure? i would call this a bug.
The difference is quite obvious for me, and I don't like the extra load on the gpu, plus reclock makes the playback very smooth.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 10:32   #28876  |  Link
iSunrise
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you sure? i would call this a bug.
Smooth motion, like it is currently implemented, can't magically be the same as one having a multiple refresh of a movie's native framerate.

It comes close though, but depending on the type of source fps your content has and your target refresh, it still has some more or less visible negatives (which we also debated over in this thread).

It's exactly like madshi implemented it.
iSunrise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 11:17   #28877  |  Link
cvrkuth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
display modes switch

With x64 build I noticed that when playing 1080p24 (mkv, m2ts, ts .. full screen exclusive mode, default settings) my screen goes to 23hz.
__________________
Intel Core i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz, RAM 32 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24),
Panasonic TX-P42G20E, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970, Win 10 Pro x64,
PotPlayer 1.7.16291 64-bit, madVR v0.92.17
cvrkuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 11:32   #28878  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by cvrkuth View Post
With x64 build I noticed that when playing 1080p24 (mkv, m2ts, ts .. full screen exclusive mode, default settings) my screen goes to 23hz.
what display modes do you use and what operation system?

23 hz should be the right refreshrate for nearly 90% off all BD content. but if you haven't added this it should use this.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 11:53   #28879  |  Link
Qaq
AV heretic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
What sort of issues do you experience when not using ReClock? Why not just stop using it?
I live in PAL country and I need to slow TV caps down from 25 to native 24. And beside that I have dozen other reasons.
Qaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 12:26   #28880  |  Link
Jtacdf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

I don't think there's much I can do about that. There's nothing specific about crossfire that I do in madVR. Crossfire is expected to work automatically, or at least not to harm. That seems to fail in this case. I don't see how it could be madVR's fault. I fear this is probably an AMD driver bug. I'd recommend that you report it to AMD.

Thanks for the info madshi. I've reported the bug to AMD, but I'm not too optimistic about them resolving it. After all, they still have yet to fix the D3D9 <-> OpenCL interop issue.
__________________
Core i7 4790K@4.6Ghz - Asus Maximus VII Formula - AMD R9 290X 4GB Crossfire - Windows 10 Pro x64
Jtacdf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.