Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th January 2009, 20:35   #7741  |  Link
rebkell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73ChargerFan View Post
Yup, funny.

By convention,
command > log.txt
should work with any console command line application. For some reason, eac3to prints 80 backspace characters at the beginning of each line. Wierd.
That's how he keeps the status line on the console in the same position, he writes 80 characters, then backspaces them out before he writes the next update line.
rebkell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2009, 22:02   #7742  |  Link
Jaja1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0mag!c View Post
I really don't like that the second pass is needed to eliminate clipping.
Try to run eac3to while keeping dialnorm. Perhaps that prevents the clipping.
Jaja1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2009, 22:19   #7743  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaja1 View Post
Try to run eac3to while keeping dialnorm. Perhaps that prevents the clipping.
Hmm. So, are you saying that the normal procedure of removing dialog normalization causes/can cause the track to become damaged? (as in: parts of audio being cut off, above a certain threshold). That would not be good.

Here's to hoping I misunderstood.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2009, 22:28   #7744  |  Link
n0mag!c
use 'r'
 
n0mag!c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebkell View Post
That's how he keeps the status line on the console in the same position, he writes 80 characters, then backspaces them out before he writes the next update line.
Common practice is to output "CR" (carriage return) character (0Dh) for that purpose. But in this case only 79 characters in line can be used to return back. But there is no need for returning back at help screen.

Last edited by n0mag!c; 9th January 2009 at 22:47.
n0mag!c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2009, 22:31   #7745  |  Link
n0mag!c
use 'r'
 
n0mag!c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaja1 View Post
Try to run eac3to while keeping dialnorm. Perhaps that prevents the clipping.
It makes no difference. I provided a sample, you can try for yourself.
n0mag!c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 01:23   #7746  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaja1 View Post
Try to run eac3to while keeping dialnorm. Perhaps that prevents the clipping.
Not at all. DialNorm is a field in header not used in this process.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 03:14   #7747  |  Link
weedenbc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Quick question - I'm trying to convert an m2ts files with a TrueHD audio track using eac3to. It keeps failing with error message "This audio conversion is not supported."

I thought the libav that shipped with eac3to was supposed to handle TrueHD? I also have Arcsoft TMT installed but that doesn't seem to be helping.

----
Brian
weedenbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 03:33   #7748  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
Helps to post the command you're trying.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 03:42   #7749  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by weedenbc View Post
Quick question - I'm trying to convert an m2ts files with a TrueHD audio track using eac3to. It keeps failing with error message "This audio conversion is not supported."

I thought the libav that shipped with eac3to was supposed to handle TrueHD? I also have Arcsoft TMT installed but that doesn't seem to be helping.
Two likely causes:

1) Wrong track number (you selected a video track, instead of audio, for instance).

2) Unrecognized extension for the audio output file.

So, show us what ya tried to do.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 13:20   #7750  |  Link
weedenbc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Yeah, you see it helps if I put a .mkv on the end of the second parameter telling eac3to where to write the video stream to.

Sorry
weedenbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 20:53   #7751  |  Link
bmnot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 215
Can anyone confirm that Nero Directshow AAC Decoder filter produce the same output as neroAacDec from NeroDigitalAudio.zip?
bmnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 22:42   #7752  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmnot View Post
Can anyone confirm that Nero Directshow AAC Decoder filter produce the same output as neroAacDec from NeroDigitalAudio.zip?
The (1) DirectShow decoder output 24 bits but (2) NeroAacDec only 16 bits.

Using a unique test file, the differences between the (1) downsampled to 16 bits and (2) are only in the last significant bit (-90.31 dB).
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 23:08   #7753  |  Link
Greif
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 227
Since NeroAAcEnc now encodes 7.1, does eac3to support creating 7.1 channel AAC from DTS-HD/TrueHD/EAC3?
Greif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 02:25   #7754  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
I am working with a BD that is several TV episodes. When I use -check it seems to only check one episode. Is this intentional? What if there is an error somewhere else in the rip?
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 04:08   #7755  |  Link
magic144
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 386
Just been looking into some AC3 time-stretching using ffmpeg/sox/aften for the decode/stretch/encode steps (basically to shorten a movie's AC3 soundtrack by 160ms).

Just wondering if there are any hidden problems in using this toolchain/workflow.
I notice that the output .ac3 has the dialnorm gone (according to eac3to), presumably because when ffmpeg transforms the input .ac3 to multichannel .wav, it gets 'lost' (discarded?).

Not sure if ffmpeg is ignoring the dialnorm in doing this conversion, or if it would be worth a preliminary .ac3->.ac3 pass with eac3to to remove dialnorm?? What do those in the know think? Would a preliminary pass (.ac3->.ac3) with eac3to have any other side-effects (don't know too much about bit-depth or any other factors - would anything else be adjusted?)

Cheers in advance,
m
magic144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 04:20   #7756  |  Link
DrNein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 145
I found that NeEacDec.dll (from a previous install or otherwise extracted) can be added to the DSFilter folder after installing Nero Micro (all options), thus resulting in Nero decode for eac3to and of course Nero Burning ROM while taking less space than installing only ShowTime (which is not much use anyway).
DrNein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 04:22   #7757  |  Link
DrNein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 145
magic144, I cannot imagine why it would be desirable to time-stretch a movie like that. More likely a delay/cut or edit is appropriate.
DrNein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 04:27   #7758  |  Link
rebkell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrNein View Post
magic144, I cannot imagine why it would be desirable to time-stretch a movie like that. More likely a delay/cut or edit is appropriate.
I was wondering what the purpose of stretching was myself, of course I'm only looking at it from my perspective, which usually involves dropped audio frames in my captures, which involves figuring out where it happens and adding in the right spots.
rebkell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 04:28   #7759  |  Link
magic144
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 386
@DrNein - I cannot imagine why a movie rip would be so broken in this way, but I've done this on 2 films now, where the audio is gradually seen to go ~160ms out of sync by the end of the feature

I do know that rips I've done with eac3to do not suffer from this issue :-)

anyway, it is certainly possible that there may be 1 or only a handful of distinct points at which the audio might jump in sync (I can't pinpoint them), but from experience, applying a linear progressive delay in this way makes the entire film totally watchable and whatever sync errors might exist throughout are significantly harder to perceive with this approach

I didn't invent this by the way - I found it here:-
http://www.nabble.com/How-to-time-st...d12474612.html

But disregarding the reasons, can anyone answer my specific tech. queries wrt dialnorm?!

Last edited by magic144; 11th January 2009 at 04:37.
magic144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 08:43   #7760  |  Link
sundansx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Madshi,
Small request: Next time you are in the code, could you make it so the progressnumbers feature prints the progress percentage on one line instead of printing a new line each time. As you likely know, you can do this by printf-ing a few backspace (\b) escape sequences.

also I saw this tonight for the first time (it looked like the whole process was aborted when this happened):
Quote:
eac3to v2.87
command line: eac3to.exe F:\VideoStore\DVD\Futurama_BendersGame_HD\FUTURAMA3_BENDERSGAME 1) 1: "F:\VideoStore\DVD\test\Futurama_BendersGame_HD\chapters.txt" 2: "F:\VideoStore\DVD\test\Futurama_BendersGame_HD\out.mkv" 4: "F:\VideoStore\DVD\test\Futurama_BendersGame_HD\out.dts" -arcsoft -core 7: "F:\VideoStore\DVD\test\Futurama_BendersGame_HD\subtitle.sup" -2pass
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 2 video tracks, 3 audio tracks, 6 subtitle tracks, 1:27:27
1: Chapters, 13 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: h264/AVC, 480p24 /1.001 (20:11)
4: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48khz)
5: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: DTS Express, English, 2.0 channels, 24 bits, 192kbps, 48khz
7: Subtitle (PGS), English
8: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
9: Subtitle (PGS), French
10: Subtitle (PGS), Chinese
11: Subtitle (PGS), English
12: Subtitle (PGS), English
Creating file "F:\VideoStore\DVD\test\Futurama_BendersGame_HD\chapters.txt"...
[v02] Extracting video track number 2...
[a04] Extracting audio track number 4...
[s07] Extracting subtitle track number 7...
[a04] Extracting DTS core...
[v02] Muxing video to Matroska...
[a04] Creating file "F:\VideoStore\DVD\test\Futurama_BendersGame_HD\out.dts"...
[s07] Creating file "F:\VideoStore\DVD\test\Futurama_BendersGame_HD\subtitle.sup"...
[a04] The last DTS frame is incomplete and thus gets skipped.
The temp file could not be interpreted correctly.
is this a bug or a bad disc?
thanks.

Last edited by sundansx; 11th January 2009 at 08:53.
sundansx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.