Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th March 2008, 19:36   #981  |  Link
~bT~
н∂-αиαтι
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 1,005
^ sorry, read my last post again. edited.
~bT~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 19:49   #982  |  Link
ajamils
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~bT~ View Post
^ the original could me like that. incorrect flags.

load the original mkv in mkvmerge gui and set the correct a/r. not sure if the mp4 can be remuxed manually with the correct a/r flag.
OK I'll try that. On a separate note, when I play the file in mpc it shows up in correct A/R so I guess, its during conversion that it messes up.

Last edited by ajamils; 20th March 2008 at 19:55.
ajamils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 20:08   #983  |  Link
~bT~
н∂-αиαтι
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 1,005
^ play it in mplayer, it may not be the same. i've had the same issue in the past.
~bT~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 20:18   #984  |  Link
ajamils
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~bT~ View Post
^ play it in mplayer, it may not be the same. i've had the same issue in the past.
MPC = Media Player Classic. I assume that mplayer you mean the regular media player ? If so, I'll try it out in the evening, when I get home.
ajamils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 20:43   #985  |  Link
~bT~
н∂-αиαтι
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 1,005
google mplayer or mpui or smplayer.
~bT~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 09:27   #986  |  Link
xaero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 23
hi! first off, this is an awesome tool! perfect for almost all my re-encoding needs!

but i've ran into some trouble... i was trying to re-encode some avi files to a psp compliant format.. so i added the avi file, selected psp profile, selected crop to psp profile.. and hit ok(it took quite a long time during "gathering information").. then i clicked start and it looked like it was encoding.. after 10 or so mins, it displayed "All jobs done" but there wasnt any output file..

this is my log :
Quote:

C:\>"C:\Documents and Settings\Xaero\Desktop\RipBot264v1.9.2\tools\bepipe\bepipe.exe" --script "import(^C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\job3\job3.avs^)" | "C:\Documents and Settings\Xaero\Desktop\RipBot264v1.9.2\Tools\enc_aacPlus\enc_aacPlus.exe" - "C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\audio.aac" --lc --cbr 131072

***************************************

BePipe by dimzon

***************************************

Script used:

# BEGIN

import("C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\job3\job3.avs")

# END





Scanning for Audio Stream...

ERROR: Can't find audio stream!

No accelerated IMDCT transform found

********************************************************************

* AACPlus v2 Encoder (using Winamp 5.2 enc_aacplus.dll)

* Source timestamp Mon May 15 17:24:26 2006

* Build May 15 2006, 17:24:35

********************************************************************

* NOTE! enc_aacplus.dll must be into executable directory

* get it from Winamp 5.2 plugins directory

* tested on Winamp 5.2 Release Feb 23 2006 Full (Not Pro) version)

********************************************************************

Input file must be WAV PCM!


C:\>"C:\Documents and Settings\Xaero\Desktop\RipBot264v1.9.2\tools\x264\x264.exe" "C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\job3\job3.avs" --pass 1 --bitrate 851 --stats "C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\job3\job3.stats" --level 3.0 --sar 1:1 --filter 0,0 --bframes 3 --direct auto --subme 2 --analyse none --me dia --threads auto --thread-input --progress --no-psnr --no-ssim --output "C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\video.264"

avis [error]: unsupported input format (DIB )

x264 [error]: could not open input file 'C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\job3\job3.avs'

No accelerated IMDCT transform found


C:\>"C:\Documents and Settings\Xaero\Desktop\RipBot264v1.9.2\tools\x264\x264.exe" "C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\job3\job3.avs" --pass 2 --bitrate 851 --stats "C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\job3\job3.stats" --level 3.0 --sar 1:1 --filter 0,0 --ref 2 --mixed-refs --bframes 3 --b-rdo --bime --weightb --direct auto --subme 6 --trellis 1 --analyse p8x8,b8x8,i4x4,p4x4 --me umh --threads auto --thread-input --progress --no-psnr --no-ssim --output "C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\video.264"

avis [error]: unsupported input format (DIB )

x264 [error]: could not open input file 'C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\job3\job3.avs'

No accelerated IMDCT transform found


C:\>"C:\Documents and Settings\Xaero\Desktop\RipBot264v1.9.2\tools\mp4box\mp4box.exe" -tmp "C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp" -add "C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\video.264" -fps 23.976 -add "C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\audio.aac" -mpeg4 -new "C:\Documents and Settings\Xaero\Desktop\<cencored>.mp4"

Cannot find H264 start code

Error importing C:\DOCUME~1\Xaero\LOCALS~1\Temp\RipBot264temp\video.264: BitStream Not Compliant
i dont understand any of this.. >.<

this is the file i was trying to encode :

Quote:
General #0
Complete name : C:\Documents and Settings\Xaero\Desktop\<cencored>.avi
Format : AVI
Format/Info : Audio Video Interleave
Format/Family : RIFF
File size : 171 MiB
PlayTime : 24mn 54s
Bit rate : 956 Kbps
Writing application : VirtualDubMod 1.5.10.2 (build 2542/release)
Writing library : VirtualDubMod build 2542/release

Video #0
Codec : XviD
Codec/Family : MPEG-4
Codec/Info : XviD project
Codec settings/Packe : Yes
Codec settings/BVOP : Yes
Codec settings/QPel : No
Codec settings/GMC : 0
Codec settings/Matri : Default
PlayTime : 24mn 54s
Bit rate : 751 Kbps
Width : 640 pixels
Height : 480 pixels
Aspect ratio : 4/3
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Resolution : 8 bits
Chroma : 4:2:0
Interlacement : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.102
Writing library : XviD0043C

Audio #0
Codec : MPEG-1 Audio layer 3
PlayTime : 24mn 54s
Bit rate : 192 Kbps
Bit rate mode : CBR
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Sampling rate : 48 KHz
Resolution : 16 bits
Video0 delay : 24ms
Writing library : LAME3.98a
Encoding settings : CBR
i tried re-encoding a similar file, avi but encoded with divx and it worked... the file above doesnt.. any help would be great.. thanks in advance!

Last edited by xaero; 21st March 2008 at 09:30.
xaero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 12:45   #987  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,362
Try to remux avi to mkv. Use mmg.exe in /tools/MKVToolnix
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 18:06   #988  |  Link
jibelin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 12
Ripbot Speed Question

Hey folks & Atak,

I'm somewhat new to Ripbot but have been reading searching and experimenting. Question about relative speed one should expect when encoding. It appears to be very slow on two-pass encoding. Here are my stats, please let me know if this is within expectation.

First pass of encoding average 5fps and takes about 5 hours for 1HR of video (see file details below).

Second pass is slower and takes more than double 12hrs, so total time is about 17hrs for 1hr of HD video.

Any help would be appreciated....
  • Ripbot 1.9.2 Ajax install
  • HD Console Profile
  • MKV container
  • AC3 audio copy
  • Planet Earth Pole to Pole m2ts file (~7.9gb)
  • Source file is 1920x1080p
  • using 2 pass 4096kbs

PC & OS
  • Windows XP Sp2
  • Asus P5WG2 Premium Motherboard
  • Intel P4 3.0ghz processor (socket 775)
  • 2GB RAM
  • 100gb Seagate SATA Hard Drive



Almost forgot, I love the interface and simplicity of Ripbot, and after reading and perusing the forum have gotten a lot of great tips, keep up the great work and thanks!

Last edited by jibelin; 21st March 2008 at 18:08.
jibelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 18:27   #989  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,362
Quote:
First pass of encoding average 5fps and takes about 5 hours for 1HR of video (see file details below).

Second pass is slower and takes more than double 12hrs, so total time is about 17hrs for 1hr of HD video.
It's normal. If I were you I would invest in new CPU for example Intel QuadCore.

Quote:
# Source file is 1920x1080p
# using 2 pass 4096kbs
4Mbps for 1080p is very low. I recommend 720p and 6Mbps
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 18:27   #990  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
nope, that speed sounds about right. Especially when you are dealing with HD material and a single core processor. If you want more speed, you need a faster processor.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 19:46   #991  |  Link
jibelin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
It's normal. If I were you I would invest in new CPU for example Intel QuadCore.



4Mbps for 1080p is very low. I recommend 720p and 6Mbps
Thanks Atak, very insightful, your comment about 720p, are you suggesting converting the video to a lower resolution? My intention is to play the files with the original resolution on HD media stream (in my case TVIX m6500) i was doing a number of experiments with best quality to size ratio. What's your thinking on that?

jibelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 20:51   #992  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,362
Quote:
Thanks Atak, very insightful, your comment about 720p, are you suggesting converting the video to a lower resolution?
Yes! Use lower resolution with higher bitrate.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2008, 00:30   #993  |  Link
survivant001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 449
@Atak_Snajpera

do you plan to add subtitle in the bluray format in your next release ? I have some movies with soft subs that I want to convert for the PS3. Don't want to hardsubs them.
survivant001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2008, 04:32   #994  |  Link
xaero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Try to remux avi to mkv. Use mmg.exe in /tools/MKVToolnix
ah! that worked! thanks
xaero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2008, 16:46   #995  |  Link
west
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
I am new to ripbot and have found it to be the only solution to the problem im having... i have an m2ts file from a bluray disc (1080p) that i am trying to convert to mpeg... wut i do i m2ts--->ripbot-->mkv---->mkv2vob... however when i queue up the 30 gig m2ts it goes into pass1 and starts to encode the file... however after a few min it says its done... however no mkv or log file.... am i doing something wrong... i tried this with a smaller (4g) ts file and got an mkv.... n e help would be appreciated

heres the log for the file i was trying to convert:
//
Stream Type: Transport [192]
Profile: High
Level: 4.1
Frame Size: 1920x1080
SAR: 1:1
Display Size: 1920x1080
Frame Rate: 23.976024 fps
Colorimetry: BT.709* [2]
Frame Structure: MBAFF
Frame Type: P
Coded Number: 3786
Playback Number: 3786
Frame Repeats: 0
Field Repeats: 0
Bitrate: 28.656
Bitrate (Avg): 23.557
Bitrate (Max): 47.469
Audio Stream: 1100: DTS C+L+R+SL+SR 48 1536
Audio Stream: 1101: AC3 3/2 384
Audio Stream: 1102: DTS C+L+R+SL+SR 48 768
Audio Stream: 1103: DTS C+L+R+SL+SR 48 768
Elapsed: 0:02:10
Remain: 1:54:44
FPS:
Info:

//
as you can see it just stop without any error reporting

Last edited by west; 22nd March 2008 at 20:13. Reason: found log
west is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2008, 18:03   #996  |  Link
Ajax_Undone
I dont care so should you
 
Ajax_Undone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In hell next to the boiling pit of Lava...
Posts: 989
Hey sorry about the links to the installer *somebody got wind of what I was planning to do with HD video share site* Well crap happens and now I need to by another domain and NOT plan to put up Video...

Anyhow The links will return on Mediafire later on today...
__________________
My Installer's ||
Ajax_Undone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2008, 22:38   #997  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,362
Quote:
I am new to ripbot and have found it to be the only solution to the problem im having... i have an m2ts file from a bluray disc (1080p) that i am trying to convert to mpeg... wut i do i m2ts--->ripbot-->mkv---->mkv2vob... however when i queue up the 30 gig m2ts it goes into pass1 and starts to encode the file... however after a few min it says its done... however no mkv or log file.... am i doing something wrong... i tried this with a smaller (4g) ts file and got an mkv.... n e help would be appreciated
Why do you convert mkv with mkv2vob??????? Use m2ts from bluray structure instead. (I assume you have PS3). Log file should be in /Logs Directory
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2008, 00:44   #998  |  Link
IYG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 99
If I rip from DVD, what is the bitrate should I set for profit 4.1?
BTW, I tried many times but I still didn't get a proper aspect ratio.
If I want to get it right, I must set resize to the right resolution.
IYG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2008, 00:48   #999  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,362
Quote:
If I rip from DVD, what is the bitrate should I set for profit 4.1?
25Mbps is max. Use CRF@22 instead of 2-pass.

Quote:
BTW, I tried many times but I still didn't get a proper aspect ratio.
If I want to get it right, I must set resize to the right resolution.
Crop, set SD size

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 23rd March 2008 at 00:52.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2008, 00:58   #1000  |  Link
Ryu77
Registered User
 
Ryu77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 246
Hello Atak, this may not be the most appropriate place to request this but since you are here the most I thought it wouldn't hurt.

I noticed you are the creator of that nice little "MediaInfo" application. Great work! As you are the Author of this, I thought maybe you could do the following...

As you know many people desire to "repack" mkv files into m2ts files that are compatible on the PS3 or stand alone Blu-ray players. To do this we need to "tag" them as level 4.1 for compatibility. However, as you know sometimes the video is encoded above the 4.1 boundaries. By simply "tagging" it as 4.1 doesn't enable it to play.

My point is, is it possible to create a little application that could scan a h264 file and identify what level it could be "tagged" as? Something that could scan through the video file and identify what encoding options have been enabled to identify it's true profile level... Is that possible?

This would save a lot of trouble when deciding if we need to simply remux a stream or if we actually need to re-encode it.
Ryu77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
264, 265, appletv, avchd, bluray, gui, iphone, ipod, ps3, psp, ripbot264, x264 2-pass, x264 gui, x264_64, x265, xbox360

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.