Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th January 2018, 13:52   #1261  |  Link
jones1913
random user
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: #Neuland
Posts: 94
Just uploaded a new release with a mini change (already since last summer on my harddisk).

Code:
- audio source plugins are grayed out in combo box if source files are unsupported
- update qaac.exe, opusenc.exe, ffmpeg.exe (audio encoder only build)
Last release from me, I recently migrated to Linux on my main PC.

Unfortunately I haven't found an equivalent audio encoding gui for Linux yet...
__________________
BeHappy Audio Transcoder > <Doom9 forum> <Gleitz forum> <GitHub>
MP4.tool GUI for MP4Box & L-SMASH muxer > https://www.mediafire.com/folder/3i6y6cbkyhblm/MP4.tool
jones1913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 21:59   #1262  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,351
Thanks jones1913.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2018, 21:31   #1263  |  Link
Richard1485
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 216
I'm encoding 5.1 for DVD and would like to check my settings.


  1. Does it matter that my source file W64, which I'm loading with RaWavSource() is little endian and that the output is set to big? I guess that it doesn't and that the conversion occurs internally, but the fact that the byte-order is given as an option makes me wonder.
  2. Do I have to change anything when encoding for BD?
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2018, 22:52   #1264  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,351
Standard DTS (for DVD and BD) are Big-Endian, but for multichannel CD Audio must be Little-Endian, for that there are the options.

BTW use a recent dialog with the 3 most usefull options:
(replace the e_FFdcaenc.ext in extensions folder)

EDIT: replaced e_FFdcaenc.ext, see next posts
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: 7z e_FFdcaenc.7z (12.6 KB, 31 views)
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 22nd February 2018 at 12:29. Reason: replacing e_FFdcaenc.ext
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2018, 23:44   #1265  |  Link
Richard1485
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 216
Thanks! If the same settings work for BD and DVD, then I suppose that DTS-HD cores are always BD complaint.

To get a DTS track to work with MuxMan without its throwing an error, I've found that I have to use 1509.75kb/s with ffdcaenc (when using eac3to's stdout as well). When viewed with LeeAudBi, the transmission bitrate shows correctly as 1536kb/s, and the primary frame byte-size is correct too.

EDIT: The track that is produced by BeHappy using the settings above is accepted by MuxMan with no problems.

Last edited by Richard1485; 21st February 2018 at 18:28.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2018, 11:43   #1266  |  Link
Richard1485
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 216
The full-DTS option presented by BeHappy produces a file that is accepted by MuxMan, but the half-DTS option does not.

Quote:
DTS frame size not DVD compatible
Perhaps this is because BeHappy sets -b 755.5. If I use the command-line,...

Code:
eac3to.exe input.w64 stdout.wav -down16 | ffdcaenc.exe -i - -o output.dts -l -b 754.5
...the result is accepted by MuxMan.

Quote:
Accepted audio output.dts
Is one value right and the other wrong, or is it more complicated than that? I think it's desirable for BeHappy to present a half-DTS option that's accepted by MuxMan.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2018, 12:34   #1267  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,351
You are right, is a bug in e_FFdcaenc.ext than put 755.5 instead the correct value 754.5.

Replaced e_FFdcaenc.ext in previous post.
The files in extensions folder can be edited (with Notepad for example) to correct any bug or make user option.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2018, 15:32   #1268  |  Link
Richard1485
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Replaced e_FFdcaenc.ext in previous post.
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
The files in extensions folder can be edited (with Notepad for example) to correct any bug or make user option.
I guess I should have thought of that before.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 20:25   #1269  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 512
tebasuna51, could you please upload the updated file e_FFdcaenc.ext? Thank you.
__________________
By law and justice!

Flea Market
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2018, 23:47   #1270  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Replaced e_FFdcaenc.ext in previous post.
Is already uploaded.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2018, 00:00   #1271  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 512
Thanks!
__________________
By law and justice!

Flea Market
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2018, 21:07   #1272  |  Link
Richard1485
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 216
I often convert 16-bit multichannel audio to W64, edit it, and then re-encode. When the edited file exits BeHappy, it reads as 24-bit. If I convert it (before or after exporting) to 16-bit, do I lose anything? I guess that it's just padded and that the padding is subsequently stripped, but I'd like to make sure. (I've been meaning to ask this for a while and never got round to it. )
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2018, 23:27   #1273  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,351
What kind of edit and recode to what format?

Some AviSynth functions need convert 16 bit int to 32 bit float and some encoders don't accept 32 bit float and need a conversion to 24 bit int.
Downconvert manually to 16 bit lose some precission.

For instance, in your command line:

eac3to.exe input.w64 stdout.wav -down16 | ffdcaenc.exe -i - -o output.dts -l -b 754.5

the -down16 is not recommended and lose precission, ffdcaenc can work with 24 bits source.
Take in mind than any encoder convert input to float to work internally.
Better 24 bit -> 32 bit float than 16 bit -> 32 bit float.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2018, 23:52   #1274  |  Link
Richard1485
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Downconvert manually to 16 bit lose some precission.
Ah, okay. That fits with what I've just been reading.

Quote:
For instance, in your command line:

eac3to.exe input.w64 stdout.wav -down16 | ffdcaenc.exe -i - -o output.dts -l -b 754.5

the -down16 is not recommended and lose precission, ffdcaenc can work with 24 bits source.
I put that in only because I thought that stdout required 16-bit, not the encoder, but if that's not true, I can take it out.

Quote:
Take in mind than any encoder convert input to float to work internally.
Better 24 bit -> 32 bit float than 16 bit -> 32 bit float.
Got it!
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2018, 12:10   #1275  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard1485 View Post
I put that in only because I thought that stdout required 16-bit, not the encoder, but if that's not true, I can take it out.
Some encoder can't support wav files greater 4 GB and, maybe, we need reduce size downsampling 24 -> 16 bits.

But ffdcaenc with -l parameter support wav files >4GB.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2018, 13:36   #1276  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,378
Check documentations for mentioning the W64 format (WAV with 64-bit chunk size fields). If supported, prefer it.
__________________

German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2018, 14:59   #1277  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,351
ffdcaenc can't support w64.

BTW, talking about BeHappy only, the user don't need care about this, always the best format is selected for the encoder used.

You can see in extensions\e_ENCODER.ext, for instance for ffmpeg:
<HeaderType>1</HeaderType>
and BeHappy output W64 header (1) because ffmpeg support W64.

For ffdcaenc use the default header WAV (0) but add the parameter -l to accept wav files > 4GB.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2018, 17:24   #1278  |  Link
Richard1485
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 216
Yeah, I use W64 where possible. And it's good to know this about BeHappy:

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
BTW, talking about BeHappy only, the user don't need care about this, always the best format is selected for the encoder used.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
behappy

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.