Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th May 2013, 14:53   #1  |  Link
realghostvids
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
MPC-HC Dynamic Range Compressor?

The video scaling and all that jazz looks great in MPC-HC with madVR, certainly better than VLC to my eyes. But I've been wondering if MPC has a dynamic range compressor like VLC does:



Is there anything like this in MPC-HC or an additional filter I could add that would give me settings like that? I would use it all the time in VLC and am now finding the sound to be a bit lacking in MPC.

I'm just using headphones on my computer, not piping the sound through an AV receiver or anything.
realghostvids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2013, 15:02   #2  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,998
MPC-HC has a volume normalization option that performs DRC.
In the Windows 7/8 sound settings you can find a sound enhancement option called "Loadness Equalization" that also does DRC.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2013, 15:10   #3  |  Link
karamancho
black stain
 
karamancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 47
there's also an real time dynamic range compression Direct Show filter called DeDynamic which can be found here under audio tools.

After registering the .ax (the instructions are in the readme file) you need to add DeDynamic filter to MPC-HCs external filters and set it to prefer.
karamancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2013, 15:39   #4  |  Link
realghostvids
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by karamancho View Post
there's also an real time dynamic range compression Direct Show filter called DeDynamic which can be found here under audio tools.

After registering the .ax (the instructions are in the readme file) you need to add DeDynamic filter to MPC-HCs external filters and set it to prefer.
Thank you, this works great!
realghostvids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2013, 21:30   #5  |  Link
bugmen0t
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: _Lies|Greed|Misery_
Posts: 114
Is there also some sort of software loudness control (free or paid) similar to Dolby Volume, DTS Neural Loudness Control, SRS TruVolume, Audyssey Dynamic Volume, THX Loudness Plus, etc?
bugmen0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2013, 19:28   #6  |  Link
kopija
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 34
I am wondering whether these tools also work in bitstreaming scenarios?
kopija is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2013, 18:16   #7  |  Link
cafevincent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by karamancho View Post
there's also an real time dynamic range compression Direct Show filter called DeDynamic which can be found here under audio tools.

After registering the .ax (the instructions are in the readme file) you need to add DeDynamic filter to MPC-HCs external filters and set it to prefer.
I can't get this to work. It doesn't appear in the external filters (at least not as DeDynamic). Browsing for dedynami.ax just closes the window, it won't appear in the list.

Last edited by cafevincent; 6th August 2013 at 18:21. Reason: typo
cafevincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2013, 20:28   #8  |  Link
karamancho
black stain
 
karamancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by karamancho View Post
After registering the .ax (the instructions are in the readme file)
are you sure you did this step (properly)? you might need admin rights to do so.
karamancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2013, 11:24   #9  |  Link
cafevincent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by karamancho View Post
are you sure you did this step (properly)? you might need admin rights to do so.
yes. didn't register without admin.
cafevincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2013, 15:36   #10  |  Link
karamancho
black stain
 
karamancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 47
works fine here:



make sure you don't delete the dedynamic folder after registring the .ax



besides that I have no idea what could be the problem
karamancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2013, 18:44   #11  |  Link
cafevincent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by karamancho View Post
works fine here:



make sure you don't delete the dedynamic folder after registring the .ax



besides that I have no idea what could be the problem
sounds like I would figure it out if I would sober up once in a while so thanks I guess
cafevincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2013, 17:31   #12  |  Link
realghostvids
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Just an update here, because I also had the DeDynamic filter conk out on me. I don't know why it stopped working but it just suddenly refused to show up in the filter list when videos were playing.

I found a replacement though that has way more features and options: DC-DSP Filter.
realghostvids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2013, 23:04   #13  |  Link
yahyoh
Registered User
 
yahyoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
use ac3filter

http://www.ac3filter.net/

yahyoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2014, 07:56   #14  |  Link
James Freeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 919
BUMP

DeDynamic works excellent, but it does not have enough control.

Anyone knows about a good VST loader?
__________________
System: i7 3770K, GTX660, Win7 64bit, Panasonic ST60, Dell U2410.
James Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2014, 08:41   #15  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,969
I don't know about a VST loader but ffdshow can load Winamp DSPs. I use ffdshow and RockSteady. It's aimed at normalising music, but works quite well for compressing soundtrack audio. I use ffdshow's Mixer filter to downmix to stereo before the Winamp filter so I don't know how well it'd work for multi channel audio (or if it does).

Edit: The ffdshow Winamp filter has a checkbox to allow multi channel audio processing. Checked, RockSteady showed "6" as the number of channels when I tested some 5.1ch audio without downmixing it to stereo first, and it appeared to be working normally.

There's a Winamp version of LoudMax. It gives you nothing but a single volume fader but seems to work well and sounds quite good. I've only briefly played with it.

Neither of the above are compressors as such. They increase the level of the quiet bits rather than reduce the loud parts but the end result is basically the same.

Last edited by hello_hello; 3rd February 2014 at 08:59.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2014, 08:59   #16  |  Link
James Freeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 919
I've tried the ffdshow winamp plugin loader and then a VST loader.
It froze.

I still want to use LAV Audio Filter with external VST loader.
__________________
System: i7 3770K, GTX660, Win7 64bit, Panasonic ST60, Dell U2410.
James Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2014, 09:27   #17  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,969
Are you talking about ffdshow with a winamp plugin freezing on it's own? I'm not sure why that'd happen. It's always worked for me.
Which vst loader are you referring to? I've never used one.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2014, 10:47   #18  |  Link
James Freeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 919
Best Winamp VST loader
It works perfectly in Winamp & AIMP.

I use a professional compressor VST plugin to compress music/audiobooks for night listening, especially classical music.

It'd be nice too see a VST loader or a built in compressor in LAV Audio Filter.
__________________
System: i7 3770K, GTX660, Win7 64bit, Panasonic ST60, Dell U2410.
James Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2017, 01:55   #19  |  Link
andwan0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
doom9 files website seems down?
anyone else know where else I can download DeDynamic plugin?

I found the exe, but it's just an command line exe...
andwan0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2017, 03:09   #20  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by andwan0 View Post
doom9 files website seems down?
anyone else know where else I can download DeDynamic plugin?
AFAIK DeDynamic is a DirectShow filter, not a Winamp plugin.
Anyway:

https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...=1#post2489876
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.