Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd October 2006, 18:34   #41  |  Link
boombastic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ascoli Piceno-Italy
Posts: 279
i get this error using spresso:

TemporalSoften::YUV2 source must be multiple of 4

the script is:

SetMtMode(2)
mpeg2source("F:\1x02\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_1.d2v")
import("d:\Programmi\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\SeeSaw.avs")
import("d:\Programmi\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\mvbob.avs")
import("d:\Programmi\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\spresso.avs")
ColorMatrix(d2v="F:\1x02\VIDEO_TS\VTS_01_1.d2v")
Crop(8,80,-32,-80)
SeparateFields()
a=SelectEven().SPresso(limit=8, limitC=8, bias=100, biasC=100, RGmode=1, RGmodeC=17).SeeSaw(NRlimit=2, NRlimit2=2, Sstr=1.0, Slimit=7, Spower=2, Sdamplo=8, Szp=10, bias=1)
b=SelectOdd().SPresso(limit=8, limitC=8, bias=100, biasC=100, RGmode=1, RGmodeC=17).SeeSaw(NRlimit=2, NRlimit2=2, Sstr=1.0, Slimit=7, Spower=2, Sdamplo=8, Szp=10, bias=1)
weave()
#TomsMoComp(1,3,1)
mvbob()
LumaYV12(0,0.9)
boombastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2006, 23:20   #42  |  Link
kiwisrgreen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
I'm doing the 2-pass encode thing (anime) and the first pass was 307MB (without audio)
70% of that is 214.9MB
audio is 29.1 MBMB
so second pass should 244mb or so...
so I did that but it looked like it needs to be a little bigger like the original size?

filters used were:
ConvertToYV12()
ColorYUV(gain_u=9)
Tweak(cont=.98,bright=3)
Undot()
hqdn3d()
removegrain()
warpsharp(depth=30,blur=3,bump=65)

original anime raw (encoded by xvid already) is 250MB, fairly clean there is some noticeable noise during certain scenes, and sometimes it looks like compression noise.

the encoded video looks better than original but size is pretty much the same.
kiwisrgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2006, 22:52   #43  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Here's a Spresso code you can try.

Code:
SPresso(limit=2, limitC=13, bias=100, biasC=100, RGmode=17, RGmodeC=17)
You need the masktools.dll from this link.
masktools_alpha (2.0a30).

And removegrain.dll from this link.
RemoveGrain 1.0 Prerelease

Last edited by Jeremy Duncan; 12th December 2006 at 19:46.
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2006, 18:37   #44  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Didée,

The Chroma setting doesn't work.
The Luma setting works fine.

Setting the Luma Limit to 100 effectively blurs the picture, but setting the Chroma Limit to 100 does nothing.
I've run other tests that showed the Spresso is entirely dependant on the Luma Limit, Bias, and RGmode.

Here's the setting I made.
Code:
SPresso(limit=2, limitC=13, bias=100, biasC=100, RGmode=17, RGmodeC=17)
Also setting the Luma RGmode to 1 disables it, leaving a non-functional Spresso.
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2006, 10:36   #45  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,391
All of that is plain wrong.

Dunno what you did - perhaps you imported the old version instead of the new one ... ?

Loading some random content, and applying

Code:
Spresso(RGmode=1,RGmodeC=17,bias=100,biasC=100,limit=16,limitC=16)
the achieved effect was




In respect to "RGmode=1 does nothing" and "Chroma Modes do nothing", I'm seeing pretty much differences there .... so: everything works exactly as it should.

Fact is, that spatial denoising often isn't all that awfully effective for chroma noise. That's what I told you formerly, and that's why the initial SPresso script worked only on luma plane. But you cried for a chroma mode, and so you got it.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)

Last edited by Didée; 31st October 2006 at 10:47.
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2006, 18:35   #46  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Didée View Post
everything works exactly as it should.

Fact is, that spatial denoising often isn't all that awfully effective for chroma noise. That's what I told you formerly, and that's why the initial SPresso script worked only on luma plane. But you cried for a chroma mode, and so you got it.
Interesting.

Thanks for clearing that up Didée.
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2006, 02:06   #47  |  Link
koolcracker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 16
Do you actually have a TPresso? because that would be very helpful. Well, assuming that T stood for Temporal.
koolcracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2006, 11:51   #48  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,391
*Issue solved, post deleted*
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)

Last edited by Didée; 7th November 2006 at 09:17.
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2006, 19:10   #49  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Here's the Spresso setting I made.

Code:
SPresso(limit=2, limitC=2, bias=76, biasC=76, RGmode=4, RGmodeC=4)
I'm sorry for the mistake Didée.
Thank you for your time and patience, I appreciate all you've done.
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2006, 03:12   #50  |  Link
koolcracker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 16
So is that a no for a Temporal Pressdown?
koolcracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2006, 11:03   #51  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,391
Doing a temporal counterpart is very easy. Basically, just that "RemoveGrain(..)" has to be replaced with a temporal filter. That's all.

And that's where the questioning begins: what temporal filter to use? Clense? FluxSmoothT? TemporalSoften? TTempSmooth? MedianBlurT? There are so many ...
Also, the weighting/limiting could be extended, like always using a lower minimum plus some weighting on top of that ...

Many ways to blow up the function to fill three or four pages ...
... for something where the actual filtering is just one single line.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2006, 11:25   #52  |  Link
foxyshadis
Angel of Night
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tangled in the silks
Posts: 9,559
My first thought was
Soothe(last,TemporalSoften(...),40)
or perhaps vice versa... but who knows, that might not work at all. ;p
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2006, 11:40   #53  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,391
Well, you can do that ... like you can put mustard onto a cream cake.

Soothe reverts the work of [filter] in those places where the difference achieved by [filter] is temporally unstable.
Now, the difference achieved by a temporal filter is supposed to be temporally unstable, so ...

Soothe's corresponding counterpart for temporal filters would be done through spatial processing. (Like demonstrated e.g. in SafeTemporalSoften)
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2006, 05:46   #54  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Didée,

If you make a Tpresso, please include Chroma denoising, and since it would be used in realtime it would be nice if it was fast.

Thanks for your time in reading and considering this.

Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2007, 05:40   #55  |  Link
J-Wo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 213
Didee, just discovered this function after your mentioned of it to me in another thread. Great work! I tried it out at the default settings (limit=2, bias=25, rgmode=4) and the results were very promising. I did an OPV encode with 3 different bias settings and compared their compressibility to one without spresso. I also threw into the mix one that used removegrain(mode=5) instead of spresso. Here's what I found:

removegrain 5 --> 5.35% compression
bias 25 --> 4.82%
bias 26 --> 7.42%
bias 33 --> 8.12%

I then did a 2 pass encode with these same filters to see how much detail was preserved by the various filters. On my 42" LCD rear projection HDTV they all looked great! But to my surprise, I think the higher bias looked the best. I think that was because the higher compression allowed the encoder to do it's... you know, encoding magic better. The result wasn't too soft at all (your original post led me to believe that a bias=33 was a very strong setting).

P.S. I believe someone mentioned it before, but the best way to use this function is to save it in your Avisynth plugin file as SPresso.avsi. This way you never have to load the function with the Import() line in your scripts.

P.P.S. You should rename this thread to put Spresso in the title! It'll make searching for help easier

Last edited by J-Wo; 23rd January 2007 at 06:16.
J-Wo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2007, 12:53   #56  |  Link
foxyshadis
Angel of Night
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tangled in the silks
Posts: 9,559
But if he did that, people might actually find and start using his filters, and ask for help. So he just sneaks them into someone else's threads.

This is one of the few I can't seem to get much of a handle on, probably because it's hard to see the subtle differences that make a big difference to the encoder.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2007, 12:59   #57  |  Link
J-Wo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 213
Well for me I do a lot of DVD9->DVD5 compression using DVD-RB. And while most of my sources are clean film material, a little grain removal (that is barely detectable to the naked eye) will help with compression. So far I think this filter is great!
J-Wo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 00:55   #58  |  Link
AGKnotUser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Wo View Post
Well for me I do a lot of DVD9->DVD5 compression using DVD-RB. And while most of my sources are clean film material, a little grain removal (that is barely detectable to the naked eye) will help with compression. So far I think this filter is great!
Could you post your settings? I'm also using DVD-RB and want to use this filter for the same purpose.
AGKnotUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 18:16   #59  |  Link
Jeremy Duncan
Didée Fan
 
Jeremy Duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,079
Here's what I use;

Code:
Spresso(limit=8, limitC=4, bias=59, biasc=100, rgmode=17, rgmodec=17)
Jeremy Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 21:28   #60  |  Link
AGKnotUser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 162
Thank you for your suggestion.
AGKnotUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.