Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th December 2008, 14:24   #761  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
that's why i said a direct implementation would rock (that wouldn't be DXVA) it would give GPU supported editing possibilities via Dshow
you can't get the frames via DXVA only direct via Ncuvid
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline  
Old 4th December 2008, 14:31   #762  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
that's why i said a direct implementation would rock (that wouldn't be DXVA) it would give GPU supported editing possibilities via Dshow
you can't get the frames via DXVA only direct via Ncuvid
yeah OK, I meant "GPU accelerated" not "DXVA" then

Last edited by leeperry; 4th December 2008 at 14:33.
leeperry is offline  
Old 4th December 2008, 14:36   #763  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
It's worth thinking about, I suppose.
Guest is offline  
Old 4th December 2008, 14:41   #764  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
@leeperry
the era of "GPU acceleration" is over we are in the era of complete Bitstream Video Decoding on consumer PC systems now, as long as you only work via Ncuvid there is practically 0 cpu utilization
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 4th December 2008 at 14:45.
CruNcher is offline  
Old 4th December 2008, 16:45   #765  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
It's worth thinking about, I suppose.
well that would finally be true "no b/s" GPU decoding

no more NV12 only/VMR9 only/"no ffdshow PP for you coz you've been a naughty boy"

plus CoreAVC would be pointless, as most ppl who are using it at this point don't wanna go DXVA because it's L4.1/NV12 only

I'd be happy to register for it, and many ppl too(especially on AVS/HCFR)
leeperry is offline  
Old 4th December 2008, 17:01   #766  |  Link
vucloutr
Registered User
 
vucloutr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 64
Hi, I got a problem with DGAVCDecNV.
Actually I wanted to compare the decoding quality of DGAVCDecNV to DGAVCDec.
Thereby I stunbled onto something I didn't expect.

With AvsP I just loaded the appropiate .dll and used AVCsource().

from "Die Welle" Blu-ray
DGAVCDec .............. DGAVCDecNV .............. DGAVCDecNV "reverted"


from "Hellboy" Blu-ray
DGAVCDec .............. DGAVCDecNV .............. DGAVCDecNV "reverted"


DGAVCDec seems to be correct, the actual picture of the frame decoded with DGAVCDecNV is slighty offset and stretched.
I had the impression as if it was decoded to 1920x1088 and then cut at the bottom to 1920x1080.
To "revert" that I added 8 lines at the bottom of the frame (->1920x1088) and resized it back to 1920x1080
et voilą the result was the same as the frame DGAVCDec decoded.

Setup:
DGAVCDec 1.0.6, DGAVCDecNV 1.0.6, Windows Server 2008 x64, 8800GTS512 180.48whql driver.
It's the same with DGAVCIndexNV, also 1.0.8 and DGVC1Dec/IndexNV.
I know of another user (Vista x64, 8800GT 512MB, 177.35) with the same problem.

Prolly a Nvidia bug?

if needed: "Die Welle" 20MB .m2ts sample created with DGSplit. (P4$5VV0RD: --- )

Last edited by vucloutr; 5th December 2008 at 20:28.
vucloutr is offline  
Old 4th December 2008, 18:49   #767  |  Link
marc99
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
well that would finally be true "no b/s" GPU decoding

no more NV12 only/VMR9 only/"no ffdshow PP for you coz you've been a naughty boy"

plus CoreAVC would be pointless, as most ppl who are using it at this point don't wanna go DXVA because it's L4.1/NV12 only

I'd be happy to register for it, and many ppl too(especially on AVS/HCFR)
Now NVidia decoder support L5 level (13 reference frames in 1080p).
__________________
Windows 7 RC 64bit, NVidia GF8600GT 190.38

Last edited by marc99; 4th December 2008 at 22:15.
marc99 is offline  
Old 5th December 2008, 14:53   #768  |  Link
litkaj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by vucloutr View Post
To "revert" that I added 8 lines at the bottom of the frame (->1920x1088) and resized it back to 1920x1080
et voilą the result was the same as the frame DGAVCDec decoded.
If you've resized then that's not going to be the same output as DGAVCDec. Same resolution, yes, same output, no.

I was going to buy this to support the author (even though most of the stuff I encode is MPEG2 1080i -> H.264 720p), but the lack of a demo and this glitch has me worried that for the occasional encode where I do want to use it, that I won't be able to. Can anyone else verify that this bug exists?
litkaj is offline  
Old 5th December 2008, 15:14   #769  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Be patient, please. I fix bugs when they are reported but I've just finished fixing some stuff on DGAVCDec. Now I can work on this.
Guest is offline  
Old 5th December 2008, 15:38   #770  |  Link
litkaj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Be patient, please. I fix bugs when they are reported but I've just finished fixing some stuff on DGAVCDec. Now I can work on this.
So you've duplicated it then? If so, that was my only concern.

I read through close to 40 pages of this thread and hadn't seen anyone else complain of that issue. I was wondering if it was something that only affected a few people.
litkaj is offline  
Old 5th December 2008, 16:13   #771  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
No, I have not duplicated it. I am still investigating.

Initially, I opened the sample in DGAVCIndex and DGAVCIndexNV and did Save BMP. The two BMPs were binary exactly the same. Now I am checking the DGAVCDecode(NV) output...
Guest is offline  
Old 5th December 2008, 17:14   #772  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by vucloutr View Post
Hi, I got a problem with DGAVCDecNV.
Actually I wanted to compare the decoding quality of DGAVCDecNV to DGAVCDec.
Thereby I stumbled onto something I didn't expect.
Using DGAVCDec 1.0.7 and DGAVCDecNV 1.0.8, I am unable to duplicate your issue.

Test 1:
Open your sample stream in DGAVCIndex and then do Save BMP. Repeat with DGAVCIndexNV. The resulting BMPs are bitwise identical.

Test 2:
Serve the video via basic script using DGAVCDecode.dll to VirtualDub. Copy frame to clipboard and then save it using Paint. Repeat for DGAVCDecodeNV.dll. The resulting BMPs are bitwise identical.

Earlier versions of DGAVCDecNV did not handle cropping rectangles properly. Please retest with the version given above. Also, be sure to update the CUVID server and nvcuvid.dll with the ones in the zip file.

Last edited by Guest; 6th December 2008 at 00:49.
Guest is offline  
Old 5th December 2008, 17:16   #773  |  Link
Renzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Spotted a minor issue in the documentation - the parameter "Deinterlace" to AVCSource is no longer a bool but an int (in DGAVCDecodeNVManual.html).

Last edited by Renzz; 5th December 2008 at 17:19.
Renzz is offline  
Old 5th December 2008, 17:31   #774  |  Link
vucloutr
Registered User
 
vucloutr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 64
strange though.

here with DGAVCIndex 1.0.7 + DGAVCIndexNV 1.0.8

http://www.imagebam.com/image/a3983b20099687
vucloutr is offline  
Old 5th December 2008, 17:49   #775  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
I can't see the image because of my firewall. Can you say it in words? Also, how are you making the image? Is it from the same sample you uploaded? Did you try my two tests above?
Guest is offline  
Old 5th December 2008, 19:33   #776  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,526
I have noticed a discrepancy in the description of the detected audio streams from the audio demux and the audio section of the information panel.

The source file is "Hellboy 2" Blu-ray m2ts.

Notice in the audio demux listbox stream 1100 is labeled as "L+R" and in the audio section of the information panel it is labeled as "C+L+R+SL+SR 48 1536"





BTW, is it possible to give these appropriate names, i.e. DTS Master Audio, TrueHD?

Last edited by rack04; 5th December 2008 at 19:42.
rack04 is offline  
Old 5th December 2008, 20:04   #777  |  Link
vucloutr
Registered User
 
vucloutr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 64
Well, I just redownloaded dgavcdecnv108.zip and suddenly, magically everything is fine. (i've almost gone nuts at this point..)

So I just looked up the two different "dgavcdecnv108.zip" files.
You updated the nvcuvid.dll right? I had downloaded dgavcdecnv108.zip before you reuploaded it with the updated nvcuvid.dll.
Seemingly the bug was in the old nvcuvid.dll:

DGAVCIndexNV 1.0.8 to the left with new nvcuvid.dll, to the right with old nvcuvid.dll


dunno what to say finally.. hm..
problem solved, thanks anyway.

Last edited by vucloutr; 5th December 2008 at 20:16.
vucloutr is offline  
Old 5th December 2008, 20:24   #778  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
The source file is "Hellboy 2" Blu-ray m2ts.
May I please have a sample that will allow me to duplicate your issue?
Guest is offline  
Old 6th December 2008, 00:50   #779  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renzz View Post
Spotted a minor issue in the documentation - the parameter "Deinterlace" to AVCSource is no longer a bool but an int (in DGAVCDecodeNVManual.html).
Thanks. I'll fix it right now.
Guest is offline  
Old 6th December 2008, 03:16   #780  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
May I please have a sample that will allow me to duplicate your issue?
Is a 10 mb sample cut using dgsplit sufficient?

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=RVSRQ0VK

Last edited by rack04; 6th December 2008 at 03:30.
rack04 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.