Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th June 2008, 22:23   #61  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
Okay, so it IS my network. Let me see if I can find a gigabit card for my laptop.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008, 10:39   #62  |  Link
Shinigami-Sama
Solaris: burnt by the Sun
 
Shinigami-Sama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: /etc/default/moo
Posts: 1,923
actually
cold the fake AVI file be passed off to a http server? I don't see why not
you could easily have a script pass it off to a lossless encoder
though I guess that might not work for some applications...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjust View Post
interlacing and telecining should have been but a memory long ago.. unfortunately still just another bizarre weapon in the industries war on image quality.
Shinigami-Sama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008, 12:04   #63  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,168
People need to consider the data being virtualized here is big, really big. A RGB24 1920x1080 24fps progressive stream is 149,299,200 bytes per second. Even a YV12 (4:2:0) 720x480 60i is still 15,552,000 bytes per second. This is 24% more than the theoretical maximum transfer of a 100Mb/s ethernet (probably more than twice the practical throughput). These numbers are even a small chunk out of a 800MHz FSB memory channel at around 6,400,000,000 bytes per second.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008, 17:58   #64  |  Link
joe48
AVFS Developer
 
joe48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Portland OR US
Posts: 48
Lossless compression in AVFS is not a solution to network bandwidth problems. AVFS would need to preprocess (compress) all frames to figure out file layout and indexing. It would make more sense to skip AVFS and losslessly encode to a real AVI file.

Serving over a network is still useful when the CPU overhead of the script and encoder are limiting throughput below what the network can handle.
joe48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008, 19:29   #65  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
Yeah, this is making more and more sense. Looks like I have a nice project to work on over the summer! I just need to setup a decent gigabit network, and look at my filter chain to see if I can change the bottleneck to be the avs, not my network.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2008, 20:26   #66  |  Link
Zarxrax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,169
I've found a very strange bug. I have a folder full of a few hundred avisynth scripts, and all of them contain the line
AssumeFPS("ntsc_double")
I was going through mounting each one, one at a time, and i noticed that some of them would mount fine, but when i tried to mount others, it would crash. On these that failed to mount, I discovered that I could get them to mount by simply removing the AssumeFPS line. That's really strange though, since all of my scripts have that line, and some of them work. I've determined that it is this specific line that it causing it to crash though, in many of my scripts.
Zarxrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2008, 07:53   #67  |  Link
joe48
AVFS Developer
 
joe48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Portland OR US
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarxrax View Post
I've found a very strange bug. I have a folder full of a few hundred avisynth scripts, and all of them contain the line
AssumeFPS("ntsc_double")
If you can get me a sample exhibiting the problem I can look at it. Send me a PM.
joe48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2008, 17:48   #68  |  Link
morsa
the dumbest
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Malvinas
Posts: 494
Could something simillar to "FireHose" from Cinelerra be modified for our uses?
morsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2008, 18:13   #69  |  Link
Quark.Fusion
Registered User
 
Quark.Fusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 177
About compression on network: did someone tried open share over compressed vpn link?
Quark.Fusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2008, 18:32   #70  |  Link
Quark.Fusion
Registered User
 
Quark.Fusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 177
Also about networking with avisynth: avisynth already have networking functionality with TcpServer(), will it work with mounted file?

What about adding multithreaded Lagarith compression for networking to AVFS? For user this can look like adding two variables to avs file with port number and compression method (like in TcpServer), on other side user will mount special file, that will re-create avi file in virtual filesystem (like using TcpSource). Of course all functionality already here (you can just mount TcpSource() avs file), but it is with ugly code (i was read that somewhere) and without lagarith compression.
Quark.Fusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2008, 21:50   #71  |  Link
joe48
AVFS Developer
 
joe48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Portland OR US
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe48 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarxrax View Post
I've found a very strange bug. I have a folder full of a few hundred avisynth scripts, and all of them contain the line
AssumeFPS("ntsc_double")
If you can get me a sample exhibiting the problem I can look at it. Send me a PM.
The bug Zarxrax found is a divide-by-zero with clips that are less than 1 second long. I will have the fix in the next release.
joe48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2008, 21:58   #72  |  Link
joe48
AVFS Developer
 
joe48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Portland OR US
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quark.Fusion View Post
What about adding multithreaded Lagarith compression for networking to AVFS? For user this can look like adding two variables to avs file with port number and compression method (like in TcpServer), on other side user will mount special file, that will
TcpSource and AVFS should interoperate fine.

I am not very familiar with TcpSource. It should not be necessary to know the compressed size of each frame in advance, so lossless compression could be implemented...
joe48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2008, 02:02   #73  |  Link
tally3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
TGA sequences would be really useful!
http://www.organicbit.com/closecombat/formats/tga.html
tally3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2008, 06:46   #74  |  Link
thommyfilm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
hello! sounds like very good work. one (maybe dumb) question: you say you would add output file format options. would it be possible to show an mpeg4 h264 file on the filesystem instead of a avi file? this should happen without reencoding. the input files are already mp4 h264 files.
thommyfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2008, 10:01   #75  |  Link
krieger2005
Registered User
 
krieger2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 377
You can't do it without reencoding. Every change, which you made with an avisynth-script to your video must be reencoded. This is a simple Law:
-> No change -> No Reencoding -> You don't need to use avisynth
-> change (in anyway) -> need reencoding
krieger2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2008, 10:08   #76  |  Link
mikeytown2
Resize Abuser
 
mikeytown2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 623
@thommyfilm, thats what MeGUI is for
mikeytown2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2008, 18:34   #77  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
Uh, guys, I think he is asking if support for a "fake" mp4 front could be added in addition to the "fake" avi front. I don't know why this could be, as everything supports avi, while mp4 is much more limited.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2008, 00:33   #78  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,168
Also would programs that accept MP4 containers handle uncompressed video and audio data. I suspect not.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2008, 21:22   #79  |  Link
joe48
AVFS Developer
 
joe48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Portland OR US
Posts: 48
Working on some optimizations...

There may be some performance changes when AVFS is used with the latest PFM Audit Package (build 048). I changed the caching in the file system driver to use 256k blocks instead of 48k. I did not test this against AVFS, probably should have...

I have some optimizations in the works for Pismo File Mount that will improve AVFS performance. Mainly there will be buffering improvements to eliminate extra data copying. It will be a while before I get this out, probably January.

Joe L.
joe48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2008, 22:59   #80  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
Great!! I look forward to the next release!

Thanks for your hard work joe48.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.