Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd January 2009, 04:24   #1061  |  Link
cyberbeing
Broadband Junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkalwaitis View Post
Can I have the link to Avisynth 2.6 please.
If you are talking about the incomplete/unstable Avisynth 2.6 pre-alpha Wilbert built back in 2006, it can be found in this thread:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=114643

For something more recent, and possibly more broken, you would have to build it yourself from source.
cyberbeing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2009, 04:29   #1062  |  Link
thetoof
Sleepy overworked fellow
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maple syrup's homeland
Posts: 933
What I understood is that the frames will be analysed 4 times (running 4 mvxxx in parallel), which is the big advantage of the mt branch of mvtools (1 multithreaded analysis used for 1 multithreaded call of mvdegrain). Anyone correct me if I'm wrong.
oh, and just to be sure you got that, setmtmode(mode=2, thread=whatever works best for you) should be used for mvt.
__________________
AnimeIVTC() - v2.00
-http://boinc.berkeley.edu/-
Let all geeks use their incredibly powerful comps for the greater good (no, no, it won't slow your filtering/encoding :p)
thetoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2009, 06:01   #1063  |  Link
halsboss
likes to tinker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: girt by sea
Posts: 635
OK, that got me. The Wiki explanation/pictures http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/MT_sup...etMTMode.28.29 shows consecutive frames getting farmed off to independent threads - which seems to imply (especially with 4 threads) that anything which relies on consecutive or near consecutive frame comparisons won't be getting what it thinks it is ? It'll get every 4th frame if you have threads=4, by the looks.

This further explanation of the SetMTmode (especially mode 2) http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/MT_modes_explained shows the separate threads processing separate frames ... which did nothing to dispel my fear on the effects on MV stuff.

Still confused on whether setMTmode plays nicely with the MV stuff (I'd like to stick with Fizick's gear rather than the "multi" stuff)
halsboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2009, 06:20   #1064  |  Link
thetoof
Sleepy overworked fellow
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maple syrup's homeland
Posts: 933
Other way to explain, mvdegrain2 example:

Code:
Thread 1 : process frame 330 - analyse frame 328,329,330,331,332 / process frame 334 - analyse frame 332,333,334,335,336

Thread 2 : request frame 331 - analyse frame 329,330,331,332,333 / process frame 335 - analyse frame 333,334,335,336,337

Thread 3 : request frame 332 - analyse frame 330,331,332,333,334 / process frame 336 - analyse frame 334,335,336,337,338

Thread 4 : request frame 333 - analyse frame 331,332,333,334,335 / process frame 337 - analyse frame 335,336,337,338,339

Return frame 330 (t1) + 331 (t2) + 332 (t3) + 333 (t4) and so forth
(and of course when I say frame x, it means "motion vectors from requested frame to frame x")

At least, that's what I think it does. (Logical assumption)
Therefore, it works "normally" except that the analysis is done in each threads (the same calculations can be done multiple times in different threads)

Is that clearer?
__________________
AnimeIVTC() - v2.00
-http://boinc.berkeley.edu/-
Let all geeks use their incredibly powerful comps for the greater good (no, no, it won't slow your filtering/encoding :p)
thetoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2009, 09:38   #1065  |  Link
halsboss
likes to tinker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: girt by sea
Posts: 635
Thankyou. Trawling back through pages, I noticed http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...92#post1108192 where posts 832-837 and thereabouts refer to mvtools, where example scripts are shown.
halsboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2009, 18:11   #1066  |  Link
rkalwaitis
Robert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 407
Cyberbeing, this was all the information that was given to me about it.

2.6 from pbmtp on HCFR. Is this the incomplete and unstable one built by Wilbert?

Ill use search next time and try using the incomplete and problematic programs before asking someone for the link to the ones that worked.

Thanks
rkalwaitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 19:13   #1067  |  Link
rkalwaitis
Robert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 407
Is it Necessary to put SetMT Mode twice in this script? One more time above the MCTemporalDenoise line?

Ive noticed that many people use set mode multiple times for various dlls. I do understand that different dlls react differently to varous setmodes or may not even work.

Do I have to put setmode for each filter used even if both of them may be a setmode2 dll?

SetMTMode(2,0)
AVISource("C:\Users\baba\Desktop\VTS_01_1.avi", audio=false)
#deinterlace
Converttoyv12()
#resize
#denoise
Import("C:\Users\baba\Desktop\MCTemporalDenoise\Deblock_QED.avs")
Import("C:\Users\baba\Desktop\MCTemporalDenoise\LSFmod.v1.3.avsi")
Import("C:\Users\baba\Desktop\MCTemporalDenoise\MCTemporalDenoise.v1.1.24.avsi")


MCTemporalDenoise(settings="medium", gpu=false)
rkalwaitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 19:32   #1068  |  Link
jeffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 943
http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/MT_modes_explained
http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/MT_support_page
jeffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 19:33   #1069  |  Link
jeffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkalwaitis View Post
Do I have to put setmode for each filter used even if both of them may be a setmode2 dll?
No, it is valid until another SetMTMode call.
jeffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 02:59   #1070  |  Link
halsboss
likes to tinker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: girt by sea
Posts: 635
They say use mode=5 as the 1st line before the avisource or whatever and then another setmtmode, say 2, after that.
halsboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 21:17   #1071  |  Link
rkalwaitis
Robert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 407
Ill Try that halsboss. I tried taking my source and doing my resize and deinterlacing to a lossless avi. I used lagarith. Set the avi to YV12 and added the audio stream I wanted. Ran it through VirtualDub. 35-40fps. Then I run the avi as script again through Virtualdub with only my cleanup (ex MCTemporalDenoise()). Gives me another boost of about 1.2-1.5fps, which takes hours off of an encode. So the first 30-45min pass to lossless is a good trade off and saves me time. I never would of thought about it until I noticed different resizers caused significant slowdowns on encoding. Bicubic seems to be the fastest. Lazsco seems slower.

but ill try mode 5 ont tope and then mode 2 above my denoiser.

Thanks
rkalwaitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 22:30   #1072  |  Link
halsboss
likes to tinker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: girt by sea
Posts: 635
OK. You could try mode=2 just after your avisource if there's other things you do before your denoiser...
halsboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 12:15   #1073  |  Link
Alexandros
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Is there any way to speedup this simple script using MT?

avisource("Source1.avi",false)
Lanczos4Resize(720,340).Addborders(0,70,0,70)
AssumeFPS(23.976,false)

MT works on 2.5.8?
thanks!

Last edited by Alexandros; 28th January 2009 at 12:20.
Alexandros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 14:45   #1074  |  Link
thetoof
Sleepy overworked fellow
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maple syrup's homeland
Posts: 933
http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/MT_support_page

Ctrl + F resize

The latest MT build is based on 2.5.7
__________________
AnimeIVTC() - v2.00
-http://boinc.berkeley.edu/-
Let all geeks use their incredibly powerful comps for the greater good (no, no, it won't slow your filtering/encoding :p)
thetoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 14:49   #1075  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexandros View Post
MT works on 2.5.8?
nope

and I've PM'ed the OP, he never got back to me....so we'll have to wait for someone else to update it I guess
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 19:47   #1076  |  Link
buletti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
I think there are many people which are hesitating to switch to 2.5.8 because there is no multithreading enabled avisynth.dll available. I guess the MT.dll of version 0.7 might still work for 2.5.8 but the patched avisynth.dll is missing...
buletti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2009, 03:42   #1077  |  Link
halsboss
likes to tinker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: girt by sea
Posts: 635
It's a show-stopper for me. The elapsed-time savings benefits of setMTmode with it's multi-threading are just way way way too good to forego.
halsboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2009, 17:04   #1078  |  Link
ikarad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 546
I would like to known if Decomb (inverse telecine) can be multithread with avisynth-mT?
ikarad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2009, 08:22   #1079  |  Link
halsboss
likes to tinker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: girt by sea
Posts: 635
3 months later and it's still a show-stopper. Anyone know tsp's position ?
halsboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2009, 09:35   #1080  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,718
You might want to try SEt's v2.5.8 MT build: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=144852&page=2
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.