Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th June 2003, 17:30   #41  |  Link
zedude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: france
Posts: 26
@ karl :
i registered the new keys but these keys override any further settings in audience, true ? (in fact, if i register complexity at 80 and ask for 70 in audience , producer will still encode at 80 ? )that's what i realized.
so i might guess i have to delete keys in registry ?


@ nah :
<UseThread> markup will also be deleted from rmfactory in next release. About avi ( now avs too ) input , give me please some ideas on how to improve it : i can't read in users mind , neither can they in mine ( i 'really' should write some docs )
__________________
pardon my frenglish...
zedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 17:32   #42  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally posted by zedude
[B]so i might guess i have to delete keys in registry ?
Don't do that
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 17:36   #43  |  Link
DaWolf
RV9 Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada, Quebec, Rimouski
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally posted by zedude
so i might guess i have to delete keys in registry ?
Indeed.

A nicer, simpler way is to have a reg-file for the different settings. That way you can switch from one to the other simply by clicking on the appropriate reg-file.

Ruud
__________________
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move."
DaWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 19:23   #44  |  Link
RadicalEd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 987
Quote:
Originally posted by Sirber
What's the point in decompressing RMVB?
psnr :\ and compare/subtract scripts in avisynth.
Also people always ask on amv.org how to convert RM to something else and I think I remember karl saying that EO uses a crappy renderer or something to decode, but that's what I've always used and recommended because it's like the only thing that works.
RadicalEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 20:50   #45  |  Link
karl_lillevold
Moderator
 
karl_lillevold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,584
PSNR calculations can sometimes be very inaccurate. For instance, we have a built-in filter that removes potential capture noise along the edge of the video. Even though the resulting compressed video looks better than the original for those areas, it will significantly degrade a PSNR number, which just looks at pixel for pixel differences. I have no idea how a program like EO video will affect PSNR when it saves RM files as AVI files. By using the proper audience settings it is possible to disable this noisyEdgeFilter though, and there are also some other settings which can be used, but I will leave it as an exercise for the reader to check the producer documentation for these options. Even then there could be problems with rate control and dropped frames. So it is possible to get accurate numbers, but a little complex.
__________________
This information is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, grants no rights, and reflects my personal opinion.
karl_lillevold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 20:54   #46  |  Link
karl_lillevold
Moderator
 
karl_lillevold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,584
Quote:
Originally posted by zedude
@ karl :
i registered the new keys but these keys override any further settings in audience, true ? (in fact, if i register complexity at 80 and ask for 70 in audience , producer will still encode at 80 ? )that's what i realized.
so i might guess i have to delete keys in registry ?
Actually, since you are using an audience file, it would be best to not touch the registry. You should place these options in the audience (or job) file.

The registry settings are meant to enable this mode in the old GUI Helix Producer and other tools which have not (yet) included the ability to set this mode in the audience file

Or it is nice for those that always want to use encoderComplexity=80, and not have to worry about remembering to enable this in whichever tool they use. And then it would be bad if your tool decided to delete these keys. They are meant to always over-ride whichever setting would otherwise have been chosen.
__________________
This information is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, grants no rights, and reflects my personal opinion.
karl_lillevold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 21:30   #47  |  Link
zedude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: france
Posts: 26
yes karl, i deleted the keys in registry and now i can choose complexity for each encoding
__________________
pardon my frenglish...
zedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2003, 00:19   #48  |  Link
BigPapaSmurf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 1
Some results with the EHQ-mode:

1 pass, quality 85, 132Kbps sound.

---

Clip 1: 1162 frames, 25fps, 448x336 (Bright, medium motion, clean);

Complexity 65: 1957Kbps, 10.9MB, ~1799Kbps video (.478 b/p)
Complexity 80: 1558Kbps, 8.68MB, ~1406Kbps video (.374 b/p)

---

Clip 2: 1446 frames, 25fps (Bright, high motion, noisy at times);

448x336 complexity 65: 3139Kbps, 21.8MB, ~2965Kbps video (.788 b/p)
448x336 complexity 80: 2603Kbps, 18MB, ~2436Kbps video (.647 b/p)

512x384 complexity 65: 3846Kbps, 26.7MB, ~3662Kbps video (.745 b/p)
512x384 complexity 80: 3161Kbps, 21.8MB, ~2987Kbps video (.608 b/p)

---

Oh, and hi ppl!
BigPapaSmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2003, 01:02   #49  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Welcome to the world of Real Video
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2003, 04:18   #50  |  Link
wing1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 280
MaxStartupLatency=60 makes my day I am seeing the most quality increase using this option.
wing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2003, 12:32   #51  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Does it increase the "time to encode"?
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2003, 13:58   #52  |  Link
uaco72
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by BigPapaSmurf
Some results with the EHQ-mode:

1 pass, quality 85, 132Kbps sound.

...
How can you encode with a prefixed quality percentage?
uaco72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2003, 17:02   #53  |  Link
31 Flavas
RV10 Nerd
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 247
You have to ehit the .rpad or the .rpjf. Change the encoding type to vbrquality I believe. Also change the quality to what ever you want.

Code:
<encodingType type="string">vbrBitrate</encodingType>
<quality type="uint">95</quality>
31 Flavas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2003, 17:13   #54  |  Link
karl_lillevold
Moderator
 
karl_lillevold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,584
hmm, perhaps you meant
Code:
<encodingType type="string">vbrQuality</encodingType>
<quality type="uint">85</quality>
vbrQuality instead of vbrBitrate. Note that the <maxBitrate type="uint">99999999</maxBitrate> has an effect when vbrQuality is used, so if you want a very high quality, make sure to set maxBitrate high enough.

Also note that RV9's quality levels are very different from other codecs, so for instance RV9 at 85 is not the same as 85 for any other codec.

@BigPapaSmurf: hilsen til Norge fra Seattle! Those bitrate reductions are similar to what I have seen.
__________________
This information is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, grants no rights, and reflects my personal opinion.
karl_lillevold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2003, 03:03   #55  |  Link
karl_lillevold
Moderator
 
karl_lillevold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,584
what's next for EHQ

Right now I am looking into speeding up 1st pass to faster than default (complexity 50), while 2nd pass runs at normal complexity 80 speed. I am not sure it will be complete for Producer 9.2 - we shall see, but in any case a temporary build can always be made available from helixcommunity.
__________________
This information is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, grants no rights, and reflects my personal opinion.
karl_lillevold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2003, 03:11   #56  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Great news Thanks Karl

1-pass is usualy for live capture, while 2-pass is for file2file encoding. What if I set Complexity higher than 80? Will I get better results?
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2003, 03:16   #57  |  Link
karl_lillevold
Moderator
 
karl_lillevold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,584
better quality for complexity > 80? No, (not yet).

(just in case there was a misunderstanding: what I meant was that for 2-pass encoding, I am trying to make the 1st out of the two passes run much faster than the 2nd pass)
__________________
This information is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, grants no rights, and reflects my personal opinion.
karl_lillevold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2003, 14:46   #58  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Ha!

I was misunderstanding .
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2003, 14:50   #59  |  Link
wing1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 280
@sirber

no it does not increase encoding time.

I am using 1-pass encoding all the time with RV9, and I found that it is good enough already. Filesize wise, it is perfectly acceptable with 1-pass encoding
wing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2003, 15:06   #60  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally posted by wing1
@sirber

no it does not increase encoding time.

I am using 1-pass encoding all the time with RV9, and I found that it is good enough already. Filesize wise, it is perfectly acceptable with 1-pass encoding
On low-motion scene (anime):

CBR: 300kbps
VBR: 30kbps

On high-motion scene (anime):

CBR: 300kbps
VBR: 800kbps

Same output filesize

2-pass VBR is the best, it's long, but the overal quality is better IMO.

[edit]

I'd like to use max startup latency in Helix GUI...
__________________
Detritus Software

Last edited by Sirber; 13th June 2003 at 15:08.
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.