Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th July 2019, 15:46   #3521  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,040
Hmm so installed R46 32+64bit in a vm, only per user installation. 32 first then 64. But only the 32bit version seems to work. (I also restarted the pc)
See here: https://i.imgur.com/QFUOxBu.png

What can I do to "debug" this further?

EDIT
vs 32 has no vsvfw.dll?
https://i.imgur.com/2m1WwyT.png

Re-install of VS64 didn't help.
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth
VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database || https://github.com/avisynth-repository

Last edited by ChaosKing; 7th July 2019 at 16:00.
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2019, 17:17   #3522  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 947
I uninstalled Vapoursynth and Python completely.
Then installed Python 3.7.1 followed by Vapoursynth 64-R46
Worked fine
Then I upgraded Python to 3.7.3
This way you get to select per user or all users mode
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2019, 14:44   #3523  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosKing View Post
Hmm so installed R46 32+64bit in a vm, only per user installation. 32 first then 64. But only the 32bit version seems to work. (I also restarted the pc)
See here: https://i.imgur.com/QFUOxBu.png

What can I do to "debug" this further?

EDIT
vs 32 has no vsvfw.dll?
https://i.imgur.com/2m1WwyT.png

Re-install of VS64 didn't help.
I tested this in a clean VM and vsvfw.dll is installed properly.

Loading the module also worked fine in both cases. I have no idea what you're doing wrong.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2019, 15:13   #3524  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,035
Import notice regarding installs:

PYTHON FROM THE MS STORE DOES NOT WORK

Installing the Python module with the "--user" option in pip ALSO DOES NOT WORK (for example if you want to have VapourSynth in multiple Python environments)

I think I'll finally look into the possibility of (optionally) installing python.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2019, 08:37   #3525  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,630
Because of the "not installed for all users" problem, I uninstalled Python, reinstalled 3.7.3 for all users and then updated VS to R46 (64-bit). Now when I try to import a function, I just get an error "Python exception: No module named 'resamplehq'". In registry, the Python path seems ok and also all my .py files are in their usual location, in C:\Program Files\Python37\Lib\site-packages\vapoursynth.

EDIT: Looks like it's missing the __init__.py file from that Python directory?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...

Last edited by Boulder; 9th July 2019 at 08:45.
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2019, 13:01   #3526  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
I tested this in a clean VM and vsvfw.dll is installed properly.

Loading the module also worked fine in both cases. I have no idea what you're doing wrong.
I tested it again. Fresh installation in a VM with windows Pro 1903 x64 (created by the MediaCreationTool1903.exe tool from ms)

Vapoursynth 32 didn't work after installing it as a per user installation.

See video here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/a2humc9d4l...32err.mp4?dl=0

(watch with 1.5x speed ;-))
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth
VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database || https://github.com/avisynth-repository
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2019, 14:29   #3527  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosKing View Post
I tested it again. Fresh installation in a VM with windows Pro 1903 x64 (created by the MediaCreationTool1903.exe tool from ms)

Vapoursynth 32 didn't work after installing it as a per user installation.

See video here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/a2humc9d4l...32err.mp4?dl=0

(watch with 1.5x speed ;-))
I tried exactly the same thing on win10 1903 x64 home and it worked. I did install all updates first but that's the only thing that's possibly different.

Can you verify that you have the vs2019 (or possibly 2017) installed? Not having it could make it fail to load I guess.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2019, 15:44   #3528  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,040
Yep that was it. After installing vcredist x86 2019 (14.21.xxx) it worked.

EDIT0:
And the runtimes are not shown in this installer bcs they can't be installed with user, rights!?



EDIT1
And I think there is a python installer bug or maybe I'm understanding it wrong. Vapoursynth detects it as a "per user installation" and not "for everyone".


EDIT2:
OK I can click on "Install for all users" in customize installation. So python launcher and python are two seperate things I guess!?
The thing is, on my PC it shows always the "for all users" option by default.

__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth
VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database || https://github.com/avisynth-repository

Last edited by ChaosKing; 9th July 2019 at 16:50.
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2019, 14:21   #3529  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Because of the "not installed for all users" problem, I uninstalled Python, reinstalled 3.7.3 for all users and then updated VS to R46 (64-bit). Now when I try to import a function, I just get an error "Python exception: No module named 'resamplehq'". In registry, the Python path seems ok and also all my .py files are in their usual location, in C:\Program Files\Python37\Lib\site-packages\vapoursynth.

EDIT: Looks like it's missing the __init__.py file from that Python directory?
Is there any way to make the 64-bit R46 installation work properly? R45 also seems to create a symlink to that Python directory and installs a .pyd file there as well. Installation of R46 didn't do either of those things.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2019, 14:46   #3530  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,040
It seems that r46 just copies the dll instead of linking it. A reinstall does not help? You could try the diagnose function in vsrepogui to see which plugin folder is used and if it shows any problems.
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth
VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database || https://github.com/avisynth-repository
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2019, 18:56   #3531  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosKing View Post
It seems that r46 just copies the dll instead of linking it. A reinstall does not help? You could try the diagnose function in vsrepogui to see which plugin folder is used and if it shows any problems.
I stopped linking because:
1. You need elevated privileges to create links
2. The Python bits are now installed as a normal package using pip and it doesn't really do links either
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2019, 18:58   #3532  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Is there any way to make the 64-bit R46 installation work properly? R45 also seems to create a symlink to that Python directory and installs a .pyd file there as well. Installation of R46 didn't do either of those things.
You should never have put things in the vapoursynth subdir. That was reserved for VS and nothing else. Make your own directory if you want to do things that way or simply let VSRepo stuff everything into the right place...
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2019, 20:32   #3533  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
You should never have put things in the vapoursynth subdir. That was reserved for VS and nothing else. Make your own directory if you want to do things that way or simply let VSRepo stuff everything into the right place...
I think that once it was required to put your .py files containing your own VS functions under site-packages to get them to autoload so you could just import them in your script. It has worked perfectly fine until R46, hence the confusion.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2019, 15:36   #3534  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,900
Anyone maintaining some build script for all the plugins for Linux (Debian based systems)?
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2019, 19:48   #3535  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,040
There was a ppa by djcj but it seem to be gone. See here (and sublinks) https://github.com/vapoursynth/vapoursynth/issues/455

EDIT his git repo: https://github.com/darealshinji/vapoursynth-plugins
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth
VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database || https://github.com/avisynth-repository
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2019, 05:10   #3536  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,900
@ChaosKing: I know about djcjs repository problem is it doesn't get updated any more (even the repository is 'archived'), I spoke with him and he's trying to make a 'build' script for all the filters, but I was wondering if somebody already did that and may be shared it with others.

---
For those interested in the issue: https://github.com/darealshinji/scri.../master/Hybrid (currently not 'finished' or 'well tested', but probably helpful)
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..

Last edited by Selur; 17th July 2019 at 19:45.
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2019, 04:50   #3537  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,900
Got an issue on Linux, regarding:all of them seem to be Windows only. Does anyone know how and if theses can be compiled on Linux?

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2019, 10:48   #3538  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Got an issue on Linux, regarding:all of them seem to be Windows only. Does anyone know how and if theses can be compiled on Linux?

Cu Selur
VSFilter will always be windows only due to how it's coded. Use Subtext which is included or any other libass based alternative (if there is one).
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2019, 19:15   #3539  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,900
okay, thanks for the info.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2019, 21:18   #3540  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,164
Is there a max speed limit set in vapoursynth? I'm testing out my new cpu with source filter like ffms2 on my dvd source, and the max speed I got is 1800 fps, while the same ffms2 in avisynth reaches 5200 fps.
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
speed, vaporware, vapoursynth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.