Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd July 2011, 19:18   #8841  |  Link
Wile-E-Coyote
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Oh well, attachments to this forum sometimes take weeks to be approved. You better upload them somewhere else...
There you go
Wile-E-Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 19:21   #8842  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wile-E-Coyote View Post
The copy-protect fail has nothing to do with macrovision-fail. For some reason something (MPC? Directshow? Windows?) believes you are about to rip the DVD you're trying to watch on your hardware. Using a software that gets rid of copy-protections solved this issue for me (can't say more than that here I'm affraid).

As for the blank screen, I've never had this issue so I can't really tell.

Here's the filters I use to play DVDs in MPC-HC with madVR.

LAVSplitter (prefer)
LAV Audio Decoder (prefer)
NVidia Video Decoder (default merit)
ffdshow Audio Processor (prefer)

You can replace NVidia Video Decoder with ddfshow, it works too. I use NVidia's for hardware acceleration, but if LAV Cuvid worked with DVDs I'd be using that.

@madshi : I'll be testing 0.68 and report back if the gree screen problem is still present
How are you getting NVIDIA video decoder to appear in the external filters list? I mean the only one I know of is the ancient PureVideo one which was an application to install.
Good observation though...the macrovision error doesn't happen anymore

Last edited by JarrettH; 23rd July 2011 at 19:38.
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 19:35   #8843  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wile-E-Coyote View Post
Ok, I can see one small bug that creeped in, but I somehow doubt that it causes this problem. Anyway, let's give it a try. Here's a special build:

http://madshi.net/madVR69test.zip

Does that fix the problem? If not, try deactivate the option "delay playback start until render queue is full". Does that help?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 19:36   #8844  |  Link
Wile-E-Coyote
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by JarrettH View Post
How are you getting NVIDIA video decoder to appear in the external filters list? I mean the only one I know of is the ancient PureVideo one which was an application to install.
Well yeah that's the one, I installed the application and added the filter to my external filter list.
Wile-E-Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 19:39   #8845  |  Link
Wile-E-Coyote
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Ok, I can see one small bug that creeped in, but I somehow doubt that it causes this problem. Anyway, let's give it a try. Here's a special build:

http://madshi.net/madVR69test.zip

Does that fix the problem? If not, try deactivate the option "delay playback start until render queue is full". Does that help?
Installing 0.69 didn't help, but ticking off "delay playback start until render queue is full" did. Should've tinkered a bit before screaming for help
Wile-E-Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 20:48   #8846  |  Link
kostik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 130
Thanks Madshi for your response. But still what is the need in internal decoder if we use ffdshow or other decoders :\ I am confused .
kostik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 20:53   #8847  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by kostik View Post
Thanks Madshi for your response. But still what is the need in internal decoder if we use ffdshow or other decoders :\ I am confused .
I second that
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 20:55   #8848  |  Link
fairchild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by kostik View Post
Thanks Madshi for your response. But still what is the need in internal decoder if we use ffdshow or other decoders :\ I am confused .
It's for something up-and-coming he has with the renderer which he is not ready to talk about. If you feel like using the decoders to test you can. One of the NOW benefits you get from using his internal decoder is that it will properly decode 10-bit 4:4:4 x264 clips. (I get artifacts with ffdshow) It's not that common yet, but I verified that with the internal libav codec I can play a demo 10-bit 4:4:4 x264 clip glitch free. The example clip I'm referring to is:

BBB444p10.mkv

from http://x264.nl/developers/Dark_Shikari/
__________________
MPC-HC/MPC-BE, Lav Filters, MadVR
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600, Video: AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 -> TCL S405 55", Audio: Audio-Technica M50S

Last edited by fairchild; 23rd July 2011 at 21:00.
fairchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 21:14   #8849  |  Link
ForceX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 150
madVR is giving black screen if color/gamma correction is enabled with RGB32 video input.
ForceX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 21:52   #8850  |  Link
cyberbeing
Broadband Junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,859
Fixed Bug: The subtitle sample I gave you is now fixed in 0.69.

Old Bug: The frozen black screen when using the refresh rate changer and the internal decoders still exists in 0.69.
http://www.mediafire.com/?c5oud6irdlgoxcg

New Bug: Black screen with RGB32 output from FFDShow
http://www.mediafire.com/?lgw6yrkwe0mvjy6

Other: madVR [benchmark] is still 0.67.

Status Update: It appears the MPC-HC internal subtitle renderer is what is causing the madVR render queue (upload queue as well in cases of high CPU load) to fluctuate and produces a high number of delayed frames using 1920x1080 @120hz. Anything you can do about that?

Last edited by cyberbeing; 23rd July 2011 at 22:35.
cyberbeing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 22:16   #8851  |  Link
Gleb Egorych
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 231
When I try to run Zoom Player 8 RC3 with madVR 0.69 as a video renderer ZP says there is an error in ntdll.dll. 0.67 is OK.
Gleb Egorych is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 22:24   #8852  |  Link
Luv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Surprise,surprise,Powerdvd h.264 (While coreavc 2.0 does not) and mpeg2 decoders do convert from 4:2.0 to 4:2:2 ! The wmp vc-1 decoder is fine.
Now,how do I get to use the embedded madvr decoders with Zoomplayer,please ?
Luv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 22:24   #8853  |  Link
alph@
Replicant
 
alph@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: strasbourg
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForceX View Post
madVR is giving black screen if color/gamma correction is enabled with RGB32 video input.
yes, me too, core avc rgb 32 out ffdshow rgb 32 black screen, solved by passing the output in yv12.

Last edited by alph@; 23rd July 2011 at 22:27.
alph@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 22:33   #8854  |  Link
Blight
Software Developer
 
Blight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 998
v0.69 bug report:
Instantly seeking after the graph is built (used by the 'automatically restore last media position on replay' function) causes a crash:
Code:
Access violation at address 77C52D37 in module 'ntdll.dll'. Read of address 05E23EB4.
Here's the MadVR debug log file:
http://t.inmatrix.com/madVRlog.zip

It doesn't happen 100% of the time. For example, it happens with (multiple) MP4 files split by the MPC MP4 splitter and FLV files split with either the LAV or MPC Splitters.
All contain H264 video, which is decoded by FFDShow (latest build).
However, no crashes when playing+seek a Matroska MKV file, split with LAV Splitter containing H264 video or AVI files with microsoft splitter and XVID video.

Switching the video renderer to EVR eliminates the crash.
__________________
Yaron Gur
Zoom Player . Lead Developer
Blight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 22:36   #8855  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wile-E-Coyote View Post
Bad news is : it won't read DVDs. I didn't touch anything on my filters settings, I uninstalled madVR 0.66, intalled 0.68, kept all settings to default and when trying to launch a DVD it is set to pause and can't be played. I reverted back to 0.66 and DVDs launch fine.
See that's my problem too!!! It goes straight to set to pause with a blank screen. (Your solution may have worked so far Wile.)
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 22:40   #8856  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
YESSSSSSSS went back to 0.66 and DVDs work

Seek bar does not work when put in full screen mode fyi

Using LAV Splitter, LAV Audio, and Microsoft DTV-DVD

Last edited by JarrettH; 23rd July 2011 at 22:45.
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 22:42   #8857  |  Link
Luv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Blight,since you are there,would you mind explaining me what I have to do to use madVR internal decoders (I have ZP 5.02)? Thanks.
Luv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 22:48   #8858  |  Link
italospain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luv View Post
Surprise,surprise,Powerdvd h.264 (While coreavc 2.0 does not) and mpeg2 decoders do convert from 4:2.0 to 4:2:2 ! The wmp vc-1 decoder is fine.
Now,how do I get to use the embedded madvr decoders with Zoomplayer,please ?
Set madVR as h264/mpeg2/vc1 decoder in smart play
italospain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 22:51   #8859  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
for the new version!

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
ffdshow RGB output levels are now automatically detected and handled properly
I've run a comparison between 0.67/0.69/HR in 0-255 RGB32/YV12: http://www.mediafire.com/?5zw7z5ra6gzs6px

<PS: It's 0.67, not 0.66!>

AFAIK HR speaks the truth, 0.67 is wrong in YV12(but OK in RGB32) and 0.69 is fubar

if you could also fix the levels/gamma in YV12, I'd greatly appreciate it....as I'm forced to use RGB32 atm to get the right colors when feeding PC levels content.

Last edited by leeperry; 23rd July 2011 at 23:39.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2011, 22:55   #8860  |  Link
Luv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by italospain View Post
Set madVR as h264/mpeg2/vc1 decoder in smart play
Thanks for your answer but I can't find them in the list plus the extension is ".mvr".What should I do from there ?
Luv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.