Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th October 2018, 00:39   #53081  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 905
ah right, so if you set your panel to 10 bit it will dither an 8 bit movie to 10 bit?
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 5700 19.11.3 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:ON / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 00:46   #53082  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
Nothing seems to fix the colour sat issue unless I turn off DIRECT3D11 or calibrate for BT2020, so no change there, I could setup a profile to turn this off though I guess but as calibrating for BT2020 just works i'll live with that.
I thought this color saturation problem was solved? Don't you remember this post: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...00#post1854000
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 00:49   #53083  |  Link
nussman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 212
Sure, why not? But even with true 10bit panels dithering to 8bit (by madVR) is not a big deal.
nussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 00:53   #53084  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I thought this color saturation problem was solvedL]
It was mate, it came back when I installed win 10 1809, no amount of driver reinstalls fixed it this time.

its no big deal, its defeatable with calibration, would just be nice to know whats going on here. as its defo my PC as I've ruled out both my TV and AVR by bypassing them / using different units.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 5700 19.11.3 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:ON / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 01:05   #53085  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
I'm not sure if I'm supposed to take you seriously, mclingo. You didn't mention what gamut your display was set to. Is the calibration issue at your display or somewhere else? You can't just post bug reports for days on end.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 03:18   #53086  |  Link
blaubart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
More HDR testing, this time GTX1070 to a Sams. HDR TV - the opening Scene of the Chess HDR Sample shows what only HDR can do - high detailed dark grey architecture behind a blazing bright person. I saw that at different HDR performances and it was impressive. Now through madVR set to "passthrough HDR to display" ("send Metadata.." on/off has no influence) most of the architecture vanishing in the dark. Tried "tone map HDR using pixel shaders", different nits, curves - background remains black-ish.

Next streaming the file to the TV - yeah! Everything there.
After lots of madVR on/off options I found the > properties > PC/TV levels. Set to 16-235 yeah! But - any non-HDR video needs here 0-255 for correct black/white clipping - tested, I swear..

What's more, the 16-235 also pulls up the white clipping to the right value. I already wondered before about too blooming HDR-madVR. If nobody finds here what I'm talking about I would be anyway happy about an option "16-235 only playing HDR". Thank you.

I will try now to attach a picture and if I succeed it will NOT show how it really looks like in TV. It is only a bad non-HDR photo but you might see a bit better what I mean.
Thank you ryrynz for host advice!


Last edited by blaubart; 10th October 2018 at 04:43.
blaubart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 04:06   #53087  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,228
Host the image some place else it'll take days to get approved here, not that I think it will help any.. I haven't seen anyone else with your issue.

Last edited by ryrynz; 10th October 2018 at 04:39.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 05:09   #53088  |  Link
blaubart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
Hmm maybe it is a per video issue? Some HDR samples better here at 0-255. I found this (sorry German) thread saying they are all different some 400, 1000, 4000 nits, each one needs other presets..?
blaubart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 06:13   #53089  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,971
nits have nothing to do with the levels.
if the file is not broken levels are straight forward.

your screen shows a totally different blue on the madVR option screen which doesn't make sense because the level shouldn't have an effect on this.

16-235 is only correct for broken files and and a full range GPU set up with an end device expecting limited range.
Quote:
Die Industrie verspricht uns für die Zukunft dynamische HDR-Verfahren, die die Helligkeitskurve bei jedem Bild an das Wiedergabegerät anpassen. Diese Verfahren heißen Dolby Vision oder HDR10+.
HDR+ or "dolby vision"* are not trying to match the end device they just have meta data per "frame" instead per movie. so this will not make the matching easier. it's better for compression and support even higher not really sane brightness. the end device is always tone mapping to there there capability with or with out HDR10+

* dolby vision can be static meta data.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 11:06   #53090  |  Link
blaubart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
your screen shows a totally different blue on the madVR option screen
Different blue: only because in one photo the option screen was hilight (selected/oben) in the other not. Win10 Hi Contrast theme self made, sorry for the trouble.

The file is not broken: take some "HDR10 Calibration Patterns" play > HCFR\03. Near black&white\01. Near Black\Combined\
-> 01. Near Black combined 3sec.mp4

0-255 - the half sample (0-10%) I see nearly nothing then at ~ 16% I can read the letters.
16-235 - even 2% appears as it should be. Maybe madVR is a bit broken?

Last edited by blaubart; 10th October 2018 at 11:16.
blaubart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 11:27   #53091  |  Link
mkver
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 183
I think there is something wrong with cropping in case upstream signalled cropping parameters in case of native DXVA2 decoding: Here is a sample file with 80 pixels of black bars at the top and at the bottom and a white rectangle in the middle which is a square when viewed with the right (i.e. non-anamorphic) aspect ratio. If I play this with DXVA2 native in MPC-BE, the pin info is as it should be:
Code:
- Connection media type:

Video: dxva 1280x720 (16:7) 25fps

AM_MEDIA_TYPE: 
majortype: MEDIATYPE_Video {73646976-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
subtype: MEDIASUBTYPE_NV12 {3231564E-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
formattype: FORMAT_VideoInfo2 {F72A76A0-EB0A-11D0-ACE4-0000C0CC16BA}
bFixedSizeSamples: 1
bTemporalCompression: 0
lSampleSize: 1382400
cbFormat: 112

VIDEOINFOHEADER:
rcSource: (0,80)-(1280,640)
rcTarget: (0,80)-(1280,640)
dwBitRate: 0
dwBitErrorRate: 0
AvgTimePerFrame: 400000 (25.000 fps)

VIDEOINFOHEADER2:
dwInterlaceFlags: 0x00000081
dwCopyProtectFlags: 0x00000000
dwPictAspectRatioX: 16
dwPictAspectRatioY: 7
dwControlFlags: 0x0000a581
- VideoChromaSubsampling: 5
- NominalRange          : 2 (16-235)
- VideoTransferMatrix   : 1 (BT.709)
- VideoLighting         : 0
- VideoPrimaries        : 0
- VideoTransferFunction : 0
dwReserved2: 0x00000000
It says that the rectangle with upper left at (0,80) and lower right at (1280,640) should be displayed with an aspect ratio of 16:7 (i.e. non-anamorphically). And with DXVA2 disabled, madVR does this (regardless of the setting of "automatically detect hard coded black bars"). But with DXVA2 enabled, it displays the rectangle with upper left (0,0) and lower right (1280,560) with an aspect ratio of 16:7. EVR and EVR-CP are able to crop in DXVA2 mode (if the crop values don't respect the subsampling, they might be off by 1 though), but if madVR can't, wouldn't it be better to use the following falback algorithm instead of the currently used one: 1. Calculate the pixel aspect ratio. 2. Display the whole, uncropped movie with this pixel aspect ratio.
mkver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 11:31   #53092  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,228
@blaubart
No issues here, if madVR had a bug like this I think it would've been found long before now, maybe your screen has different level settings depending on content if that's even possible? That's the only thing I can think of.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 11:41   #53093  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I'm not sure if I'm supposed to take you seriously, mclingo. You didn't mention what gamut your display was set to. Is the calibration issue at your display or somewhere else? You can't just post bug reports for days on end.

You appear to have misremembered the conversation, I told you I didnt have any BT2020 vs BT709 settings, I only had WIDE and NORMAL settings for gamut and I told you I had it set to WIDE only for HDR.

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...07#post1854007
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 5700 19.11.3 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:ON / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 11:44   #53094  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
@blaubart
No issues here, if madVR had a bug like this I think it would've been found long before now, maybe your screen has different level settings depending on content if that's even possible? That's the only thing I can think of.
Of course it's possible on every TV that allow you to manually force level settings or there are content presets like on Panasonics. I get proper levels output chain even if driver is set to output limited studio levels while MadVr outputs PC levels. (I suspect there are some precission losses in that case)

Last edited by mytbyte; 10th October 2018 at 11:50.
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 11:49   #53095  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,228
Wasn't sure if any TVs did that, although I knew it would be possible, just not encountered it.

blaubart if you set your GPU output to limited levels and madVR to 0-255 does it fix your issue and display properly for each content type?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 13:02   #53096  |  Link
j82k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 146
@madshi
would it be possible to allow negative values for the "custom levels" setting, basically to cause some minor black crush??

The reason why I want to do that is that on quite a few UHD movies what should be black is just a hair above black.

Just to give you an example, every fade to black and also the credits of the UHD version of Red Sparrow shows RGB values like 1,0,1 or 1,1,1 or 0,1,0.
On my Oled in a pitch-dark room I can see this as a faint black glow.

When using limited range in madVR I can just set the custom levels to something like 15.5 to 235 but I would rather keep the whole chain in full RGB.
j82k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 14:14   #53097  |  Link
blaubart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
blaubart if you set your GPU output to limited levels and madVR to 0-255 does it fix your issue and display properly for each content type?
Thank you guys for giving me some hope. Again testing the different Nvidia outputs. There is
RGB -> 8 bpc - limited/full
YCbCr 420, 422 and 444 - (limited grayed out)

420 - 8, 12 bpc
422 - 8, 10, 12 bpc
444 - 8 bpc

Ok only if I set to RGB output and then open the TV's picture menu the option "HDMI Black Level - Normal/Low" is switchable. "Normal" means 16-235 and the complete desktop now washed out. Nvidia output limited/full has no more effect cause TV's input is limited.

But now indeed madVR playing HDR "0-255" has correct black levels! But sorry I don't wanna live with a castrated TV forced to 16-235 8-Bit ! Would you?

Last edited by blaubart; 10th October 2018 at 14:32.
blaubart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 18:03   #53098  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 228
On a Samsung - what you are using - "Normal" is not 16-235. Low is. Normal is 0-255.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1909 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5 PotPlayer
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 18:38   #53099  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 160
I can sort of confirm what blaubart is saying here. I have an LG C8 OLED connected to my HTPC, and I must set Black Level to High in my TVs menu or else the image is way too dark in dark scenes. This is with SDR content too. Doesn't matter is I use VLC or Media Player Classic Home Cinema(MPC-HC). So it can't be a MadVr problem I think.
__________________
My HTPC : i7 6900K @ 4.2 | nVidia GTX 1080Ti | TV : Samsung 75Q9FN QLED
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 18:50   #53100  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 905
on my LG EF950 OLED my chain is as follows - AMD GFX 4:4:4 FULL RGB 8 bit - MADVR 0-255 - TV "HIGH" - pretty sure this is correct.

Should be the same for HDR and SDR content.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 5700 19.11.3 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:ON / MADVR 10bit

Last edited by mclingo; 10th October 2018 at 18:54.
mclingo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.