Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th November 2016, 15:46   #40021  |  Link
phm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Youtube now supposedly support HDR and this video is supposed to be HDR https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tO01J-M3g0U

I downloaded the 1440p and 4k versions and run it with madvr but the video is not detected as HDR.

Is the video not truly HDR or does youtube not provide the HDR video if you have an SDR screen?
phm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 15:51   #40022  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,494
Latest MPC-BE supports Youtube-HDR with madVR so I assume it is your player (MPC-HC/LAV?) that doesn't yet support passing the metadata to madVR. Also make sure you are actually downloading the HDR streams.

http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...postcount=4055
http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...&postcount=543

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 10th November 2016 at 15:53.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 15:56   #40023  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,837
LAV will learn to read that metadata soon, maybe on the weekend. But it works differently to typical HEVC HDR10 metadata, hence why it doesn't work out-of-the-box.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 17:10   #40024  |  Link
fhoech
Registered User
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by phm View Post
Youtube now supposedly support HDR and this video is supposed to be HDR https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tO01J-M3g0U

I downloaded the 1440p and 4k versions and run it with madvr but the video is not detected as HDR.
I can only talk about the 720p version (higher is not supported by the downloader I've uses), but the downloaded version of this specific video does not seem to have HDR metadata (resulting in a "flat" look).

Quote:
Originally Posted by phm View Post
Is the video not truly HDR or does youtube not provide the HDR video if you have an SDR screen?
This specific one seems to be true HDR apart from the missing metadata, but I've seen others [1] which seem to be delivered as already rendered to SDR (can't check on a HDR display because I don't have one).

[1] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9WrgRpOJr0I
__________________
DisplayCAL - Graphical front-end for Argyll CMS display calibration and characterization
fhoech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 17:14   #40025  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,412
For HDR upload to youtube you need as bare minimum- Rec.2020 flagging, but ideally use mkvmerge to add all detailed HDR metadata on container level and if you want to make it perfect you can also provide LUT for SDR version:

http://www.mysterybox.us/blog
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 17:16   #40026  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,494
@fhoech
The metadata is in the webm container for both of those videos but your player might not yet be suited to make use of it (as discussed above). You can use youtube-dl to download the HDR versions ("vp9.2" streams) and mkvinfo to confirm the HDR metadata is present. It's not a madVR issue.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 19:46   #40027  |  Link
VictorLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russia
Posts: 166
madshi
I have seen your post http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...10#post1785510 and remembered one simple question I wanted to ask you (I asked many people before - all answered: I don't know) about your great renderer (imho best for 23,976Hz films - never drop frames when set 47,952Hz - and in WinXP too): is there in settings of MadVR easy way to do the picture some less saturated (as EVR or even VMR7w shows)?
VictorLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 19:55   #40028  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,494
madVR settings->devices->[your display]->color & gamma->saturation

(Not that I think madvr saturation is different from EVR. Both should be neutral by default. You don't have any GPU driver "video enhancements" activated, do you?)

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 10th November 2016 at 19:59.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 21:16   #40029  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,978
go to device -> "your device" -> properties -> the display expects the following RGB output levels: set it so TV level(16-235) and you will get the same nearly for sure wrong and under saturated image as VMR
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 22:05   #40030  |  Link
VictorLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russia
Posts: 166
sneaker_ger, huhn
Thanks guys. That all desired settings (but for faster change them I want possibility to type digits from keyboard in fields directly and may be cusomize one click presets - there is many space in properties and color & gsmma tabs for that). Of course, sometimes 0-255 is better, sometimes 16-235 - depends on played video.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
You don't have any GPU driver "video enhancements" activated, do you?)
I always turned off any "video enhancements" even if they was turned on by manufacturer as default. So I don't like .NET and so AMD (was ATI) Control Panel I not even installed I turned off all "video enhancements" by watching key {} in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DEVICEMAP\VIDEO\Video0 and changing keys like this:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{A104160B-A34F-400E-AC50-C14942E8E718}\0000]
"TRDenoise"="0"
"DXVA_WMV"="0"
And reboot after changes.
Question about HDR: do all see trees "in fire" between green trees from 11 to 21 second in Samsung_HDR_Wonderland.ts http://demo-uhd3d.com/fiche.php?cat=uhd&id=153 especially if compare with EVR? I've never seen so saturated colors in nature so I think the truth between madVR and EVR - am I wrong?

Last edited by VictorLS; 10th November 2016 at 22:37.
VictorLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 22:26   #40031  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by VictorLS View Post
sneaker_ger, huhn
Thanks guys. That all desired settings (but for faster change them I want possibility to type digits from keyboard in fields directly and may be cusomize one click presets - there is many space in properties and color & gsmma tabs for that). Of course, sometimes 0-255 is better, sometimes 16-235 - depends on played video.
no if the file is correct created madVr knows the levels and will handle them correctly.

a file that is full range without full range flag is broken and nothing else.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 22:31   #40032  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
If a file is wrongly detected as full range when it should be using TV range, or if it's detected as TV range but it actually needs to be expanded twice, just use the hotkey Ctrl+Shift+Alt+I to adjust the source levels used by madVR.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 00:06   #40033  |  Link
sauma144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 89
I cross my fingers and hope this weekend will be THE weekend.
sauma144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 06:27   #40034  |  Link
VictorLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russia
Posts: 166
huhn, Ver Greeneyes
Thanks once more (it's a pity this forum havn't Thanks button).
And what about my question about HDR file?
sauma144
What did you mean? May be you are Formula1 fan as I am? I cross my fingers about Lewis Hamilton but not all in his hands due to broken engines across this season.
VictorLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 07:21   #40035  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,978
with the HDR problem please make a screen with the OSD(control+j).
this file has Bt 2020 colors and no display is able to display them and it is a HDR demo i wouldn't be shocked if the this file was created with wrong colors in mind but i haven't watch it.

edit: and madshi doesn't answer questions right now not until "THE" weekend. which is when it's done

Last edited by huhn; 11th November 2016 at 07:25.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 07:59   #40036  |  Link
VictorLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russia
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
with the HDR problem please make a screen with the OSD(control+j)
I'll do it after 14:00 GMT+3
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
edit: and madshi doesn't answer questions right now not until "THE" weekend. which is when it's done
I am novice in this thread so can you provide link what is waiting for THE weekend?
VictorLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 08:24   #40037  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,978
people are hyped about the new scaling algorithm "NG1".
which will be released "when it's done".

http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=39948
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 09:12   #40038  |  Link
Mistery 73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 31
hello folks, I need some advice you think is best to create a 3d lut with BT2020 BT 709 or use the mad in upscalink 1080p to 4K know that my projector does not have a gammut of BT2020 do you advise me to do?
thank you
Mistery 73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 09:19   #40039  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,978
what has upscaling to do with colorspaces?

if your devise doesn't have a gamut of BT 2020 (of cause it doesn't) a proper 3D LUT will take care of it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 12:14   #40040  |  Link
VictorLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russia
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
people are hyped about the new scaling algorithm "NG1".
Thanks. As I assume will be less aliasing with "NG1", don't it?
Promised screenshot Samsung_HDR_Wonderland.png (3,2MB) http://rgho.st/6YhK6hTpN
VictorLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.