Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th January 2014, 21:22   #21981  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Yey! Thanks for being persistent with your feedback. Your settings file and comments finally helped me reproduce the problem.
Don't leave me hangin', I'm gonna need an explanation of what the problem was. I may not be as proficient as yourself but I am a programmer too.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 21:28   #21982  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
The changelog already explains it: The slowdown was caused by asking D3D9 to allocate *shared* surfaces for DXVA processing. Sharing is necessary to make OpenCL perform well (with AMD and Intel GPUs, NVidia on the other hand doesn't like sharing at all). But it seems that using shared surfaces slows down DXVA decoding/processing a lot under specific circumstances. Which doesn't make much sense to me. But that's the way it seems to be. I'm not sure if this only affects Intel or not. Could be an Intel only problem.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 21:38   #21983  |  Link
ThurstonX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 58
Sorry for the noob question, but I read about the number of frames presented in advance being increased to 8 (from 4?) for exclusive mode. I'm looking at the "exclusive mode settings" tab and "how many video frames shall be presented in advance" is set to "4". Saw that on 0.87.1; this is with 0.87.2. GPU queue size is set to "8". Am I looking in the wrong place? Do I need to reset the settings? Normally I just unzip the new version, overwriting without question.

I didn't do nearly the extensive testing as others, but for my usual use on a Radeon HD 6670 (and less used 5670), I didn't notice any performance hit. My default settings have deband on (default setting), Smooth motion FRC on (only if there would be motion judder without it...), and Jinc 3 + AR from chroma and image upscaling. Pretty sure "trade quality for performance" is default (3 checked).

nnedi @ 32 neurons was OK if I used lesser scaling (I left deband and Smooth motion on). OpenCL error diffusion proved a little much, though I didn't try disabling debanding and Smooth motion, or going really low with upscaling. I'll likely stick with what I normally use, unless I find time to do some serious testing.

I used a 23p SD (probably recorded from DVR using S-Vid to Hauppauge; lo-fi style ;-) file and a 1280x544 23p DVD encode. I have some copy free MPEGs from Comcast (so, interlaced), but haven't checked those yet.

core i5, 8 GB RAM, always software decoding. 1920x1080 60 Hz LG LED TV.
ThurstonX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 21:38   #21984  |  Link
truexfan81
Registered User
 
truexfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
because you are an amd user right?
nope nvidia gtx650
truexfan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 21:42   #21985  |  Link
za222
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13
Nice! v0.87.2 also has fixed the green/white/black screen issues with deinterlacing for me!
Force Film / Force Video / Auto now all work perfectly, again!
za222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 21:51   #21986  |  Link
TheShadowRunner
Registered User
 
TheShadowRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 399
madshi, I'm uncertain if it's still expected at this point with 0.87.2 but I'm still getting a blackscreen with all videos with barebone settings (using nvidia 332.21).
__________________
XP SP3 / Geforce 8500 / Zoom Player
TheShadowRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 21:52   #21987  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by truexfan81 View Post
nope nvidia gtx650
You're probably using CUVID not DXVA2 for decoding then which is why you don't see it.
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 21:57   #21988  |  Link
truexfan81
Registered User
 
truexfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
You're probably using CUVID not DXVA2 for decoding then which is why you don't see it.
nope, i have LAV using dxva2cb (copy back)
truexfan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 21:57   #21989  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,833
You would only see it with native DXVA2. Any other decode modes look just like software decoding to the renderer, which is part of their beauty.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 22:03   #21990  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThurstonX View Post
Sorry for the noob question, but I read about the number of frames presented in advance being increased to 8 (from 4?) for exclusive mode. I'm looking at the "exclusive mode settings" tab and "how many video frames shall be presented in advance" is set to "4". Saw that on 0.87.1; this is with 0.87.2. GPU queue size is set to "8". Am I looking in the wrong place?
I've just changed the *default* settings. Those are the settings that are used when you start madVR the first time. Changing the default settings only affects new madVR users. Or it affects you if you manually reset madVR to default settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by za222 View Post
Nice! v0.87.2 also has fixed the green/white/black screen issues with deinterlacing for me!
Force Film / Force Video / Auto now all work perfectly, again!
Good to hear!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheShadowRunner View Post
madshi, I'm uncertain if it's still expected at this point with 0.87.2 but I'm still getting a blackscreen with all videos with barebone settings (using nvidia 332.21).
That is certainly not expected. My best guess would be that you still have one of the OpenCL options active. Make sure that you:

(1) ... have all options in "image doubling" turned off.
(2) ... have chroma upsampling set to anything but NNEDI3.
(3) ... have the "trade quality..." option "use random dithering..." *enabled*/checked.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 22:07   #21991  |  Link
James Freeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 919
Madshi, Thank you very much for 87.2.

A quick question,
When I switch to Film Mode (29.97 interlaced video), detected ivtc cadence is 3:2 (24fps), isn't smooth motion should automatically disable itself with 72Hz refresh rate?
Its currently does not (maybe an old bug).

Can you please elaborate about the debanding mechanism and how it does its magic (in simple terms)?
I also see the Custom debanding left from the beta builds which is great (including the arrow controls).

Somebody needs to write a full comprehensive manual for MadVR with all its "hidden" functions.
__________________
System: i7 3770K, GTX660, Win7 64bit, Panasonic ST60, Dell U2410.
James Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 22:09   #21992  |  Link
djfred93
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 32
MadVR don't load with the latest version, it is stuck at opening the file and it crash on the setting window. The debug don't work either.

Log

My system : Intel Core i7@920, Ati Radeon HD 5770, Windows 8.1, MPC-HC 1.7.2
djfred93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 22:10   #21993  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
Dunno if this helps your nVidia investigations but with my GTS 250 using 331.82 drivers, I only get the blue and red chroma channels (no luma or green) when using NNEDI3 to double luma resolution. If I set chroma upscaling to NNEDI3 I only get green and luma (no red or blue).
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 22:12   #21994  |  Link
TheShadowRunner
Registered User
 
TheShadowRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 399
Quote:
That is certainly not expected. My best guess would be that you still have one of the OpenCL options active. Make sure that you:

(1) ... have all options in "image doubling" turned off.
(2) ... have chroma upsampling set to anything but NNEDI3.
(3) ... have the "trade quality..." option "use random dithering..." *enabled*/checked.
I'm sorry, but yes every setting is set as above :S
I made a log: http://videoff7.free.fr/madVR_log_black0872.zip
Thanks for your support.
__________________
XP SP3 / Geforce 8500 / Zoom Player
TheShadowRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 22:16   #21995  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post
When I switch to Film Mode (29.97 interlaced video), detected ivtc cadence is 3:2 (24fps), isn't smooth motion should automatically disable itself with 72Hz refresh rate?
Its currently does not (maybe an old bug).
This is probably an old bug. If you want it fixed, please enter it into the bug tracker (if it's not already there, I think I've seen something like that there already).

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post
Can you please elaborate about the debanding mechanism and how it does its magic (in simple terms)?
It replaces every pixel with an average of 4 surrounding pixels of random distance - but only if the surrounding pixels are near to the target pixel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djfred93 View Post
MadVR don't load with the latest version, it is stuck at opening the file and it crash on the setting window. The debug don't work either.
You probably just copied madVR.ax over? You need to replace all files, especially mvrSettings.dll.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonQ View Post
Dunno if this helps your nVidia investigations but with my GTS 250 using 331.82 drivers, I only get the blue and red chroma channels (no luma or green) when using NNEDI3 to double luma resolution. If I set chroma upscaling to NNEDI3 I only get green and luma (no red or blue).
I'm going to reproduce this myself.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 22:18   #21996  |  Link
Nachbar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 33
Thank you for fixing the previous problems I had everything that I used works like it used to before.

Maybe add in parenthesis next to dxva2 and nnedi3 in the scaling algorithms section that its for intel/amd ? Unless its a bug and its supposed to work for nvidia. Same with the image doubling section.
Nachbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 22:20   #21997  |  Link
Soukyuu
Registered User
 
Soukyuu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 169
Hmm... what would be some good material to compare chroma upscaling with? I just tried switching on a couple of anime episodes and there is barely any difference, even NN looks quite acceptable most of the time. What do I have to look out for? Image upscaling on the other hand is quite obvious. Basically, I'm trying to figure out why I'd even want NNEDI for chroma upscaling.

0.87.2 works fine here btw, minus the openCL, so at least no regressions.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE | 12GB DDR3 | nVidia 260GTX | Arch Linux / Windows 10 x64 Pro (w/ calling home shut up)
Soukyuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 22:21   #21998  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheShadowRunner View Post
I'm sorry, but yes every setting is set as above :S
I made a log: http://videoff7.free.fr/madVR_log_black0872.zip
Thanks for your support.
Ah yes. You've disabled "prerender several frames in advance" in the "exclusive mode settings". That for some reason doesn't work with v0.87.2. I'll look into that for v0.87.3. For now just re-activate the "prerender" option and you should be good to go.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 22:25   #21999  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nachbar View Post
Maybe add in parenthesis next to dxva2 and nnedi3 in the scaling algorithms section that its for intel/amd ? Unless its a bug and its supposed to work for nvidia. Same with the image doubling section.
It is supposed to work for NVidia, sooner or later.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soukyuu View Post
Hmm... what would be some good material to compare chroma upscaling with? I just tried switching on a couple of anime episodes and there is barely any difference, even NN looks quite acceptable most of the time. What do I have to look out for?
Best thing to check this with is content where there's lots of black and red. E.g. red fonts on black background. Or red numbers on an old alarm clock. Or some of the Battlestar Galactica scenes in the Cylon mothership.

Chroma upscaling is often not very important. I don't really recommend using NNEDI3 for chroma upscaling - unless your GPU doesn't have anything else to do, maybe.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2014, 22:25   #22000  |  Link
TheShadowRunner
Registered User
 
TheShadowRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Ah yes. You've disabled "prerender several frames in advance" in the "exclusive mode settings". That for some reason doesn't work with v0.87.2. I'll look into that for v0.87.3. For now just re-activate the "prerender" option and you should be good to go.
I just tried and that's not it either.
It has to do with the openCL stuff again as 0.87.2 behaves exactly like 0.87 here, black screen while audio is playing then always player crash on exit..
__________________
XP SP3 / Geforce 8500 / Zoom Player
TheShadowRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.