Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th August 2018, 16:50   #52121  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 637
so you are getting washed out colours but your TV is definitely switching to HDR mode, are you sure?

Press contrl+J when playing a movie and post a screen shot of your OSD
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2018, 16:54   #52122  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
The extra punch with HDR highlights in that build was causing artifacts and a loss of detail, so it was toned down considerably. It was maybe too much image pumping.
Hmm. I know most of the audience on AVS are projector owners, so they may have different requirements to people that own high nits/brightness HDR capable TV sets that prefer to let Madvr handle the tone mapping.

I have been and will continue to follow the AVS thread (lurker), but, I may end up keeping madVRhdrTestFinalColor4.zip
__________________
Strix GeForce GTX 1080 OC 8GB (411.63) , Win 10 x64 (1803), Quad Core @ 4.4ghz, Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung SUHD UE55KS8000, YAMAHA NSF51 speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 16th August 2018 at 16:56.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2018, 16:55   #52123  |  Link
Bl4ze87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
so you are getting washed out colours but your TV is definitely switching to HDR mode, are you sure?

Press contrl+J when playing a movie and post a screen shot of your OSD
https://imgur.com/a/55yp6UA

Used the life of pi hdr sample

I'm "sure" only because in the top right corner shows up the "HDR" box, but color are not hdr like
Bl4ze87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2018, 17:00   #52124  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bl4ze87 View Post
With color gamut you men the color depth in radeon sw or there's an option in madvr?
Sorry i m a bit noob
Here's the stat while playing a 4k hdr sample
https://imgur.com/a/55yp6UA
What does the TV information say while playing this file? Does it also report HDR?

It looks like an HDR source, although it has an odd mastering peak (1200 nits) and framerate (24 fps).

I assume you tried other files?

Try setting chroma upscaling to something besides DXVA. This is hardware scaling and could be interfering somehow.

You could check if there is anything unusual in the file by downloading MediaInfo and looking at the file contents (right click -> MediaInfo -> Text View). There is a link to the MediaInfo utility at the end of this post and a sample to show what a proper HDR source should report. It might be missing MaxCLL and MaxFALL if these values are set to 0,0, but that is not uncommon.

There is a calibration section in madVR. This only applies to SDR content, but you can try setting it to BT.2020 in off chance it fixes the colors. The code is probably unrelated, but I don't know what else would be producing the wrong colors. Improper tone mapping due to incorrect or missing metadata would be the most likely cause.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2018, 17:03   #52125  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bl4ze87 View Post
https://imgur.com/a/55yp6UA

Used the life of pi hdr sample

I'm "sure" only because in the top right corner shows up the "HDR" box, but color are not hdr like
Try some other content. HDR demo material is often mastered with incorrect metadata.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2018, 17:25   #52126  |  Link
Bl4ze87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
What does the TV information say while playing this file? Does it also report HDR?

It looks like an HDR source, although it has an odd mastering peak (1200 nits) and framerate (24 fps).

I assume you tried other files?

Try setting chroma upscaling to something besides DXVA. This is hardware scaling and could be interfering somehow.

You could check if there is anything unusual in the file by downloading MediaInfo and looking at the file contents (right click -> MediaInfo -> Text View). There is a link to the MediaInfo utility at the end of this post and a sample to show what a proper HDR source should report. It might be missing MaxCLL and MaxFALL if these values are set to 0,0, but that is not uncommon.

There is a calibration section in madVR. This only applies to SDR content, but you can try setting it to BT.2020 in off chance it fixes the colors. The code is probably unrelated, but I don't know what else would be producing the wrong colors. Improper tone mapping due to incorrect or missing metadata would be the most likely cause.
The tv info also show 2160p HDR.
Yes, i ve tried lot of different file, that image was only the last one i ve used.
Chroma upscaling is NGU for all the profiles.
Mediainfo looks good
Last but not the least, yes i've tried different option in calibration, but always without change.
During all my attempt i ve also changed lot of hdmi cable, used a dp->hdmi, but always the same result

edit : https://imgur.com/a/Qb8llBh
This is a couple day old..

Last edited by Bl4ze87; 16th August 2018 at 18:02.
Bl4ze87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2018, 20:19   #52127  |  Link
foobar2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 17
madvr's being GPU-heavy is a bit crazy, like gaming but only requires memory

EVR CP usually eats up 50MB max of card's memory while madvr uses 100% and wants more, a lot more, so hungry
foobar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2018, 20:23   #52128  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,995
with default setting madVR uses about the same if not less than EVR-CP.

actually madVR doesn't really care much about Vram without NGU you are close to 2Gb with to 2-3.7 GB when using UHD.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2018, 05:08   #52129  |  Link
foobar2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
with default setting madVR uses about the same if not less than EVR-CP.

actually madVR doesn't really care much about Vram without NGU you are close to 2Gb with to 2-3.7 GB when using UHD.
I did enable the NGU (the famous NGU), no wonder it spends so much vram
foobar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 03:16   #52130  |  Link
strumf666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 92
With madVR you at least have options
strumf666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 06:06   #52131  |  Link
zaemon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 22
Really excited to see the new RTX GPU and evaluate what can be achieved with madVR. With a GTX 1080, I canít use a better scaler than Jinc for UHD to 4K upscaling.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.7.13 / LAV / GTX 1080 / Sony VPL-VW320ES
zaemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 07:49   #52132  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,878
Aye? surely it's your other settings like chroma, postprocessing, quality for perfomance options holding you back here... Someone else with a 1080 comment on this, 60fps content perhaps?

Last edited by ryrynz; 18th August 2018 at 07:55.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 08:33   #52133  |  Link
Zaoshi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 14
I have GTX 1070. For my 1080p content I use NGU Anti-Alias (high) < Bicubic150 LL AR (my monitor is only 1440p) + Remove Compression Artifacts High. Content is only 24 fps though.

Last edited by Zaoshi; 18th August 2018 at 08:38.
Zaoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 09:49   #52134  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 110
@ zaemon - I have a 1080 oc and have no problems with virtually any scaler for 4k material (with pre and post processing) for 23.976 material.

As ryrynz asked, if its 60fps, you will need to dial back on processing options.

What are your settings? Are you using supersampling?
__________________
Strix GeForce GTX 1080 OC 8GB (411.63) , Win 10 x64 (1803), Quad Core @ 4.4ghz, Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung SUHD UE55KS8000, YAMAHA NSF51 speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 18th August 2018 at 10:12.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 11:45   #52135  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
Are you using supersampling?
Can't do that with Jinc, just from whatever UHD res -> 4K.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 11:46   #52136  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Can't do that with Jinc, just from whatever UHD res -> 4K.
Ah I see - learnt something new.
__________________
Strix GeForce GTX 1080 OC 8GB (411.63) , Win 10 x64 (1803), Quad Core @ 4.4ghz, Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung SUHD UE55KS8000, YAMAHA NSF51 speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 12:00   #52137  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,878
It's a great upscaler though, if you can pick it (it's expensive performance wise) you really can't go wrong with it, It's my preferred scaler for any extra upscaling. Also it does a damn fine job as part of SSIM2D, but my lord is it expensive.
I only just manage to get away with using it on my 1060 6GB on Full HD content after NGU sharp has doubled it. I think by the time I have a 4K TV I'll have enough GPU power to do it justice.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 12:19   #52138  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 110
@ ryrynz - same here

NGU Sharp very high>Jinc when needed.
__________________
Strix GeForce GTX 1080 OC 8GB (411.63) , Win 10 x64 (1803), Quad Core @ 4.4ghz, Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung SUHD UE55KS8000, YAMAHA NSF51 speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 14:01   #52139  |  Link
Razoola
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 454
Only thing Im intrested in at the moment is what hardware decoding the RTX 2080 / 2080ti will have. Hopefully nvidia have given it totally up to date decoding ability.
Razoola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 14:40   #52140  |  Link
foobar2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 17
why high setting downscaling is much less "hard-on-your-gear" than high setting upscaling?
foobar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.