Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th September 2008, 16:59   #181  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Neuron2: Would you keep it still though, even if it completely bombs on 2-pass? There's still HUGE benefit for transcoding to an intermediary formats or for 1-pass CRF in x264.

I still would love to have a GPU accelerated decoder that can work for 1-pass CRF.


Edit: Any chance I could get my hands on that dll?
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.

Last edited by Sagekilla; 17th September 2008 at 17:05.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 17:21   #182  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Let me try it with 1-pass CRF and if it's OK I'll let you have it.
Guest is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 17:24   #183  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Thanks! Greatly appreciate it.


Edit: neuron2, the behavior you describe effectively makes AVCSource() non-deterministic when it's called multiple times, correct?
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 17:24   #184  |  Link
Quark.Fusion
Registered User
 
Quark.Fusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 177
I think you can do two pass with that behaviour if you restart program before second pass.
Quark.Fusion is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 17:59   #185  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quark.Fusion View Post
I think you can do two pass with that behaviour if you restart program before second pass.
Please pay attention. You cannot even queue the job in MeGUI.
Guest is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 18:01   #186  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
x264 1-pass CRF encode works fine. I got 60 fps encode rate for 640x480 material. I don't normally do encodes, so I don't know if that is good.

I'll give it out this evening.
Guest is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 18:24   #187  |  Link
crypto
@DVBPortal
 
crypto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 434
@neuron
Thanks for the update. I can't wait to check it out. Single instance should be ok for me.
crypto is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 18:39   #188  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
thx neuron, that's great news these days 2pass encoding is anyways slowly dieing
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 19:25   #189  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
thx neuron, that's great news these days 2pass encoding is anyways slowly dieing
uhhh no, plenty of people still use 2pass, it'll never die.
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 19:31   #190  |  Link
Quark.Fusion
Registered User
 
Quark.Fusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Please pay attention. You cannot even queue the job in MeGUI.
Sorry, I'm using console, so just don't understand why it may fail in it (and I don't have build to test). Hope you will fix bug.
Quark.Fusion is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 19:40   #191  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
OK, I see. Sorry for my confusion. I'll try a 2-pass with x264 CLI tonight and let you know what happens.
Guest is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 20:02   #192  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
@kemuri-_9: That may be true, but crf is a very attractive alternative if you want a slightly faster encode (especially with prefiltering, or transcoding HD content) with consistent quality across the whole encode. Both are valid for what they're best in (2-pass for specific size, crf for specific quality).
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 17th September 2008, 20:12   #193  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Guys, please take 2-pass argument elsewhere.
Guest is offline  
Old 18th September 2008, 02:49   #194  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Validated for x264 CLI one pass only:

http://neuron2.net/misc/DGAVCDecodeNV.zip

DO NOT post bug reports about this not working with MeGUI, etc.

This version will expire on 9-30-08. I hope to have a multi-instance version by then.

Last edited by Guest; 18th September 2008 at 02:53.
Guest is offline  
Old 18th September 2008, 03:13   #195  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeetttttttttttttttttt
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline  
Old 18th September 2008, 03:34   #196  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Oops, redownload to get the users manual.

Set deinterlace=true for PureVideo deinterlacing. I'll be curious to see comparisons to Yadif, etc. It looks good to me, but remember a) I haven't used the fancy decombers a lot, and b) I'm a geezer; my eyes don't work good.

Last edited by Guest; 18th September 2008 at 03:38.
Guest is offline  
Old 18th September 2008, 04:20   #197  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,538
First of all, I want to personaly thank you for all your hard work. When I place the dll file into my avisynth plugin directory and load MeGUI avisynth script creator I get the following error message:



Now before you jump to conclusions, no I'm not trying to encode using the .dll. I'm not trying to create a script using the dll, though it appears that the dll file is automatically loaded.
rack04 is offline  
Old 18th September 2008, 12:55   #198  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
http://neuron2.net/misc/NV.zip

Zip password is gpudecode

Put nvcuvid.dll somewhere in your DLL search path. System32 is good.

Preliminary tests indicate little significant speedup versus software decoding. Let's see what some other people achieve.

This is intended for testing with X264 CLI one-pass only. Do not put it in your Avisynth plugins directory. Do not try to use it with any GUI. Posts reporting issues with that will be ignored.
Guest is offline  
Old 18th September 2008, 13:23   #199  |  Link
Audionut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,272
Thanks. Your efforts are appreciated.
Audionut is offline  
Old 18th September 2008, 14:03   #200  |  Link
Snake91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
System:
Windows XP SP3
nvidia 8800GT 1GB
ForceWare 177.98
Q6600 2.8Ghz

Playing speed: 43-60 fps (min-max), I tested on BD streams (Jumper and Transformers)
CPU usage: 4%

But when I try to save the project I get the usual cpu utilization (about 25% on only 1 core) and decoding speed

Thanks for your work
Snake91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.