Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th July 2008, 02:21   #2001  |  Link
wakebrder
Registered User
 
wakebrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 212
Atak-

Any chance of Ripbot supporting Hi-res audio output in the future? ie:True-HD/DTS-MA

Thanks again!!
wakebrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 03:32   #2002  |  Link
8ternity
Registered User
 
8ternity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: At Home
Posts: 403
Hi Atak,

You never reply me about my troubleshooting.

Quote:
1.10.3 & 1.10.4 Troubleshooting when playing the AVCHD blu-ray conversion in ps3 and blu-ray players. Audio track, sounds goes on/off tested with 2 different blu-ray players, and 1 ps3.

Probably something wrong with the conversion?

Thanks.
i have try with 3 movies. 2 mkv and one from blu-ray ripp directly.
Now tested with 1.10.1 and size output not ok. total size 2GB no 4480.
__________________
PC; 7.5 on 7.9 (Windows Experience Rating) on the lower rating.
8ternity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 07:57   #2003  |  Link
fib0by
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 78
First-time user here.
I opened a large video file in RipBot and now it displays something like "please wait... gathering informations..."

It would be nice if RipBot could display a progress bar while it's waiting there.
fib0by is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 09:48   #2004  |  Link
topsham
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 58
Does anyone know if there is a 64 bit version of x264.exe? I'm using Ripbot264 in a 64 bit Vista environment and was wondering if this would speed up processing at all?
topsham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 12:05   #2005  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,240
Quote:
i apologize if this has already been covered...i'm converting 1080p .m2ts files to .bluray to make avchd discs. I am getting between 7-9 fps on the second pass. Is there a file i can manually edit (x264 encoder settings) to speed the encodes w/o loosing too much quality?

i'm using a q6600 @ 3ghz.
7-9 fps is very fast for 1080p. I have only 3-4 fps on Core 2 Duo 3Ghz
Do not change anything because quality will suffer. Only agressive changes will give you higher speeds but it also means lower quality!

Quote:
It would be nice if RipBot could display a progress bar while it's waiting there.
Not possible!

Quote:
Now tested with 1.10.1 and size output not ok. total size 2GB no 4480.
Do you really think I care for older versions??? You should always use the latest.
Check if you have the same problem with audio during preview in ripbot

Quote:
I'm using Ripbot264 in a 64 bit Vista environment and was wondering if this would speed up processing at all?
Use google. 64bit version should speed up to up 10 %

Quote:
Atak-

Any chance of Ripbot supporting Hi-res audio output in the future? ie:True-HD/DTS-MA
I need sample amigo!

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 16th July 2008 at 12:12.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 17:49   #2006  |  Link
womble2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 17
Will it be possible to choose which audio stream will be used when handling with an .avi file ?
As far as I know, now the first audio stream is used.
I have a lot of .avi files with at least 2 audio streams and it would be nice if I could tell ripbot, which to take in the final file
womble2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 17:56   #2007  |  Link
fib0by
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
7-9 fps is very fast for 1080p. I have only 3-4 fps on Core 2 Duo 3Ghz
I've a slightly slower Core 2 Duo (it's a 2.6GHz IIRC) and I get around 2...3 fps in Pass 2. Yes, it's pretty slow.

Does RipBot scale up with the number of cores? Will it be able to use more than 2 cores efficiently?

E.g., my motherboard supports (after a BIOS update) the Phenom quad cores. If I upgrade to a quad at the same clock speed, will the fps go up significantly? (I'm hoping for a double speed, but I'll take any improvement at this point)
fib0by is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 18:09   #2008  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,240
x264 encoder scales very well with number of cores. Look
Quote:
7-9 fps is very fast for 1080p. I have only 3-4 fps on Core 2 Duo 3Ghz
He has two times more cores and speed is also two times faster

Quote:
I have a lot of .avi files with at least 2 audio streams and it would be nice if I could tell ripbot, which to take in the final file
I didn't know that avi supports 2 and more audio streams! Sample please
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 18:47   #2009  |  Link
slow4mula
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
x264 encoder scales very well with number of cores. Look

He has two times more cores and speed is also two times faster


I didn't know that avi supports 2 and more audio streams! Sample please
i'll just build a dual xeon/skulltrail setup to 2x-2.5 increase encoding speed. atak for the awesome program man! all of us really appreciate it's simplicity and usefulness!
slow4mula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 18:48   #2010  |  Link
womble2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 17
http://uploaded.to/?id=lni3wc

2 audio streams

I don't know if it is non-standard, but I have a lot of these...
womble2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 18:54   #2011  |  Link
slow4mula
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by fib0by View Post
I've a slightly slower Core 2 Duo (it's a 2.6GHz IIRC) and I get around 2...3 fps in Pass 2. Yes, it's pretty slow.

Does RipBot scale up with the number of cores? Will it be able to use more than 2 cores efficiently?

E.g., my motherboard supports (after a BIOS update) the Phenom quad cores. If I upgrade to a quad at the same clock speed, will the fps go up significantly? (I'm hoping for a double speed, but I'll take any improvement at this point)
this will give you a good idea of how your setup/potential setup will compare...

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=135923
slow4mula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 19:03   #2012  |  Link
fib0by
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 78
Is there a way to use RipBot with x264farm to do distributed (cluster) encoding?

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=117889
fib0by is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 19:22   #2013  |  Link
8ternity
Registered User
 
8ternity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: At Home
Posts: 403
Hi Atak

Quote:
Do you really think I care for older versions??? You should always use the latest.
Check if you have the same problem with audio during preview in ripbot
First, i have try with 1.10.4, with the latest ffdshow version, results, it's what i told you. I have try all my other version to be sure of what could be the trouble and have try until 1.10.1 to be sure that it is not the new version the trouble.

I always install the latest !! but i have just try something to try to understanding if it's ffdshow trouble, or the x264 version, so i try other older version.

My trouble is that:

Quote:
1.10.3 & 1.10.4 Troubleshooting when playing the AVCHD blu-ray conversion in ps3 and blu-ray players. Audio track, sounds goes on/off tested with 2 different blu-ray players, and 1 ps3.

Probably something wrong with the conversion?
Thanks!
__________________
PC; 7.5 on 7.9 (Windows Experience Rating) on the lower rating.
8ternity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 19:30   #2014  |  Link
slow4mula
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by fib0by View Post
Is there a way to use RipBot with x264farm to do distributed (cluster) encoding?

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=117889
that would be sweet

the thought of building a farm of cheap quadcore systems to do x264 encoding would be awesome instead of spending 2-3k to build one 8 core system...
slow4mula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 21:23   #2015  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,240
Quote:
I don't know if it is non-standard, but I have a lot of these...
I think it would be easier if you remuxed all avis to mkv. avi was not designed for multi audio streams.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 16th July 2008 at 21:26.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 21:31   #2016  |  Link
womble2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 17
Sure, that's not really a problem, because of just muxing it's lamost just copying the file.

So what I then would love to see is a button to play the demuxed Audio Files, even if it would just open my standard mp3 player.
Because now I have to check manually which is the stream (file) I want.

And have I already said that it would be a big save of time for me, if the resize option could be stored in the profile file ?
So that every file I add with a specifiec profile will be resized without hanging through the Properties ?



Thanks a lot again Atak




Btw.:
does anybody know a good way (batch) to remux a lot ov avi files, even in different folders, into mkv ? Till now, I use the MKVtoolnix, but I don't think, they have an batch option, better it HAS one, but a very easy toll, that walks through a folder and subfolder just remuxing every file would be nice.
[EDIT]
Ok, forget that, I wrote a little script using the mkvtoolnix command line
[/EDIT]

Last edited by womble2; 16th July 2008 at 21:46.
womble2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2008, 21:53   #2017  |  Link
Ajax_Undone
I dont care so should you
 
Ajax_Undone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In hell next to the boiling pit of Lava...
Posts: 989
Divx avi 2.0 is supportive of two audio streams... Still cant get the size past 4gb...

MkV is a better choice because it is more versatile as far as audio, size and subs are concerned...
__________________
My Installer's ||
Ajax_Undone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2008, 01:04   #2018  |  Link
turbojet
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,840
Speaking of the long wait in the beginning, out of curiosity is there a reason you chose frame indexing with dgavcindex and ffmpegsource over directshow haali->ffdshow libav ?
turbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2008, 05:42   #2019  |  Link
Mike_111
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 31
Great program! Just one tiny thing. It would be awesome if you could implement default audio profile and default resize settings (incl. custom or the ability to add a profile), just like the default video profile in the RipBot264.ini
Mike_111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2008, 15:21   #2020  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,240
Quote:
Speaking of the long wait in the beginning, out of curiosity is there a reason you chose frame indexing with dgavcindex and ffmpegsource over directshow haali->ffdshow libav ?
I chose that method because I wanted RipBot264 to be independet from DirectShow hell Simply I wanted to avoid conflicts in filters.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
264, 265, appletv, avchd, bluray, gui, iphone, ipod, ps3, psp, ripbot264, x264 2-pass, x264 gui, x264_64, x265, xbox360

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.