Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th September 2008, 21:13   #6161  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,498
First, .thd+ac3 is only accepted for input. Just use .thd. Furthermore, why use nero? Libav is the default TrueHD decoder because it works better. Finally, you don't need any -24 or whatever switch. All source data will be present in the output wav file. If source is 24bit, the wav will be 24bit, if it is 16bit, the wav will be 16bit. You will get a report about the actual bitdepth at the end of the procedure.

So your command should be:

Code:
eac3to input.thd output.wav
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 21:21   #6162  |  Link
hdpete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
First, .thd+ac3 is only accepted for input. Just use .thd. Furthermore, why use nero? Libav is the default TrueHD decoder because it works better. Finally, you don't need any -24 or whatever switch. All source data will be present in the output wav file. If source is 24bit, the wav will be 24bit, if it is 16bit, the wav will be 16bit. You will get a report about the actual bitdepth at the end of the procedure.

So your command should be:

Code:
eac3to input.thd output.wav
Althogh my source thd is 24 bit and the wav says it's 24bit, tsmuxer only recognises it as a 16bit, either way the -24 bit didn't seem to make a difference.
I'm usimg nero with blu-ray plugin as I thought it was a reference decoder as opposed to libav.
I just want to be able to convert TrueHD to LPCM to mux with tsmuxer to get a BD25 (tsmuxer doesn't like TrueHD). Previous converts using eac3to have resulted in screaching audio when muxed onto a BD25
hdpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 21:28   #6163  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdpete View Post
Althogh my source thd is 24 bit and the wav says it's 24bit, tsmuxer only recognises it as a 16bit, either way the -24 bit didn't seem to make a difference.
That's tsmuxer's bug, I'm afraid.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdpete View Post
I'm usimg nero with blu-ray plugin as I thought it was a reference decoder as opposed to libav.
What you say is true for the lossy decoders (AC3, E-AC3). All lossless fortmat decoders have to output the same data. That's the case with nero and libav TrueHD decoders. In addition libav supports up to 7.1ch when nero doesnt.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdpete View Post
I just want to be able to convert TrueHD to LPCM to mux with tsmuxer to get a BD25 (tsmuxer doesn't like TrueHD). Previous converts using eac3to have resulted in screaching audio when muxed onto a BD25
Again tsmuxer's bug. It supports pcm in a weird format. Use pcm2tsmu to convert eac3to's pcm files to tsmuxer's compatible ones.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 21:38   #6164  |  Link
hdpete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 57
Quote:
Again tsmuxer's bug. It supports pcm in a weird format. Use pcm2tsmu to convert eac3to's pcm files to tsmuxer's compatible ones.
Thanks a lot for this, I can start backing up my TrueHD blu-rays/HD-DVD's now and keep lossless audio for my Onkyo amp.

Last edited by hdpete; 9th September 2008 at 22:19.
hdpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 16:14   #6165  |  Link
hdpete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 57
What file extenstion should I use to extract the 1080p blu-ray video using eac3to which will allow tsRemux to recognise and import it? Will it be a different file extention depending on the codec, i.e. H264 or VC-1?
Thanks for your help
hdpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 17:41   #6166  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdpete View Post
What file extenstion should I use to extract the 1080p blu-ray video using eac3to which will allow tsRemux to recognise and import it? Will it be a different file extention depending on the codec, i.e. H264 or VC-1?
Thanks for your help
I always change the container format to mkv and convert the audio to whatever format I fancy. So in my case the extension for the container wouldn't vary by video codec but the audio would. Clear?
rack04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2008, 17:56   #6167  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdpete View Post
What file extenstion should I use to extract the 1080p blu-ray video using eac3to which will allow tsRemux to recognise and import it? Will it be a different file extention depending on the codec, i.e. H264 or VC-1?
Thanks for your help
.h264 for H.264, .vc1 for VC-1 and .m2v for MPEG-2.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 00:51   #6168  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Hi,
BD which i have issues is "Welcome Jungle".

Here you will see it has an english thd:



And i can play it with TMT with my analog outputs to my A/V receiver and no problem:



But i can only see french thd when i open it with eac3to, i extract it to thd+ac3, remuxed to m2ts with TSMuxer and finally remuxed to m2ts with TSRemux using the file created by TSMuxer; it works but it is french:

Code:
 eac3to v2.60
command line: eac3to\eac3to.exe  "F:\RUNDOWN_P1_SPITASLA\BDMV\STREAM\00002.m2ts" 3: "C:\output.thd+ac3"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 5 audio tracks, 13 subtitle tracks, 1:44:15
1: Chapters, 16 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: TrueHD/AC3, French, 5.1 channels, 48khz, dialnorm: -30dB
4: TrueHD/AC3, German, 5.1 channels, 48khz
5: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -26dB
6: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -29dB
7: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
8: Subtitle (PGS), English
9: Subtitle (PGS), French
10: Subtitle (PGS), German
11: Subtitle (PGS), Dutch
12: Subtitle (PGS), Arabic
13: Subtitle (PGS), Modern Greek
14: Subtitle (PGS), Turkish
15: Subtitle (PGS), French
16: Subtitle (PGS), German
17: Subtitle (PGS), Dutch
18: Subtitle (PGS), French
19: Subtitle (PGS), German
20: Subtitle (PGS), Dutch
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[a03] Removing AC3 dialog normalization...
[a03] Removing TrueHD dialog normalization...
[a03] Creating file "C:\output.thd+ac3"...
Video track 2 contains 149977 frames.
eac3to processing took 20 minutes, 49 seconds.
Done.
The Q is where this english thd is hidden?




_ _ _ _

Last edited by rica; 11th September 2008 at 01:06.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 00:59   #6169  |  Link
woah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 435
umm number 7 is the english thd audio isnt it?? you are asking for 3: so you get the french audio...
woah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 01:02   #6170  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by woah! View Post
umm number 7 is the english thd audio isnt it?? you are asking for 3: so you get the french audio...
Thanks i didn't see it really

Looking but not seeing. How stupid i am



Edit:
OK, i got it in english:




_ _ _ __

Last edited by rica; 12th September 2008 at 09:58. Reason: mpc-mpa decoder just decodes ac3 core so removed graph.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 07:29   #6171  |  Link
JustABDFan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
2.54 works...2.55 doesn't

Madshi,

I did some checking by downloading old versions and it looks like it was working in 2.54 but broke in 2.55. I'm gonna take a guess that one of these changes from the 2.55 changelog did it. I made some guesses but i could be wrong.

* improved VOB/EVO audio delay detection algorithm
* detection and automatic skipping of invalid vob units
* options "-60i" and "-24p" are no longer supported for MPEG2 video
* improved detection of MPEG2 framerate / pulldown state / mode (my first guess)
* improved MPEG2 muxing warnings (3rd guess)
* several bugs in MPEG2 video muxing fixed (2nd guess)
* fixed interlaced VC-1 muxing with user data (Nine Inch Nails)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Encoder888 View Post
@madshi

I have trouble demuxing the MPEG-2 stream from VOB files. Here's what I get:

Code:
eac3to v2.62
command line: D:\eac3to\eac3to.exe vts_02_1.vob+vts_02_2.vob 2: Video.mkv
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
VOB, 1 video track, 4 audio tracks, 5 subtitle tracks, 0:43:15
1: Joined VOB file
2: MPEG2, 480p24 /1.001 (16:9) with pulldown flags
3: AC3, 5.1 channels, 384kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -25dB
4: AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -25dB
5: AC3, 5.1 channels, 384kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: Subtitle
8: Subtitle
9: Subtitle
10: Subtitle
11: Subtitle
[v02] This doesn't seem to be a valid MPEG2 stream.
Aborted at file position 1713938432.
I tried it with an earlier version of eac3to (I think it was 2.51) and it worked fine. Please, fix it if possible
JustABDFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 11:08   #6172  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
Try a much newer version as well.
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 14:00   #6173  |  Link
sehgal.v7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 93
Quote:
eac3to v2.62
command line: eac3to Rambo -check
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 1 subtitle track, 1:21:00
1: Chapters, 16 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: RAW/PCM, English, 7.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
4: Subtitle (PGS), English
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[s04] Extracting subtitle track number 4...
[v02] Extracting video track number 2...
[a03] Reading RAW/PCM...
[a03] Swapping endian...
[a03] Remapping channels...
[a03] Swapping endian...
[a03] Remapping channels...
[a03] This audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
Video track 2 contains 116523 frames.
eac3to processing took 46 minutes, 15 seconds.
Done.
This is log of Blu Ray Disc, i created last. In this Swapping & Remapping being done twice, is it alright? Or i had done something wrong while remuxing??

Workaround-
Extracted Video & Audio from Original Blu Ray// Converted Audio from DTSHD-MA to PCM

Quote:
eac3to v2.62
command line: eac3to Audio.dtshd Audio.pcm
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DTS Master Audio, 7.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
Decoding with ArcSoft DTS Decoder...
Swapping endian...
Remapping channels...
Creating file "Audio.pcm"...
This audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
eac3to processing took 25 minutes, 42 seconds.
Done.
After this command line: Pcm2Tsmu.exe Audio.pcm Audionew.pcm -i 24 -c 8 -s 48000
And atlast creating Blu Ray Disk with TSMuxer v1.8.4(b)
sehgal.v7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008, 18:02   #6174  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,192
Small request madshi.
Could you rename first analyzing process from "progress:" to "analyzing:"
So instead of two "progress:" I would like to have "analyzing:" and then when stream is really demuxed I would have "progress:"

Thanks

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 11th September 2008 at 21:04.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2008, 18:55   #6175  |  Link
K1ngp1ng
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 29
i found a bug: truehd 16bit -> flac 24bit
K1ngp1ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2008, 20:52   #6176  |  Link
xkodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by K1ngp1ng View Post
i found a bug: truehd 16bit -> flac 24bit
please, upload small sample somewhere, you can cut the first 5-10MB from the truehd track using hex editor.
xkodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2008, 21:39   #6177  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,380
Just a little quirk:

Quote:
eac3to v2.62
command line: eac3to.exe "G:\Unsorted\Click"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1) 00032.mpls, 00000.m2ts+00027.m2ts, 1:47:31
- MPEG2, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
- AC3, English, multi-channel, 48khz
- RAW/PCM, English, multi-channel, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz

2) 00031.mpls, 00027.m2ts, 0:58:11
...[snip]...
With a trailing \, :
Quote:
eac3to v2.62
command line: eac3to.exe "G:\Unsorted\Click"\
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 17 subtitle tracks, 1:47:31
1: Chapters, 16 chapters
2: MPEG2, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
4: RAW/PCM, English, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48khz
5: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz
6: Subtitle (PGS), English
...[snip]...
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 19:31   #6178  |  Link
n0mag!c
use 'r'
 
n0mag!c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 230
bug report

When appending several TS file with "+" eac3to can't process files properly.
For error reproduction I took working TS-file and splitted it (with TSsplitter) to 3221380 bytes chunks.
Here is log file:
Code:
eac3to v2.62
command line: D:\PROGRAMS\AUDIO\EAC3TO\eac3to.EXE Alien1.TSSplit.1-1434.ts+Alien1.TSSplit.2-1434.ts+Alien1.TSSplit.3-1434.ts+Alien1.TSSplit.4-1434.ts -demux
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TS, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 0:00:09
1: MPEG2, 1080i60 /1.001 (16:9)
2: AC3, 2.0 channels, 384kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
[v01] Extracting video track number 1...
[a02] Extracting audio track number 2...
[a02] Removing AC3 dialog normalization...
[v01] Creating file "Alien1.TSSplit.1-1434 - 1 - MPEG2, 1080i60.m2v"...
[v01] The pes parser received incomplete data.
[a02] The pes parser received incomplete data.
[v01] This doesn't seem to be a valid PES packet.
[a02] This doesn't seem to be a valid PES packet.
Aborted at file position 3237764.
Of course, If I join chunks back (with TSsplitter or with copy /b), resulting file is fine working.
n0mag!c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2008, 00:24   #6179  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by Encoder888 View Post
I have trouble demuxing the MPEG-2 stream from VOB files.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustABDFan View Post
I did some checking by downloading old versions and it looks like it was working in 2.54 but broke in 2.55. I'm gonna take a guess that one of these changes from the 2.55 changelog did it. I made some guesses but i could be wrong.

* detection and automatic skipping of invalid vob units
I think the skipping of invalid vob units is the problem. I've removed that as a test in the next eac3to build. Please retest whether DVD demuxing works again. Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by yonta View Post
eac3to v2.62 crashes on this dtswav file.
Thanks for the sample. Will be fixed in the next build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustABDFan View Post
1) I noticed that the libFLAC.dll that comes with Eac3to is 151,552 bytes and is dated 7/22/2007 while the one that comes in MadFLAC is 258,048 bytes and is dated 10/7/2007. I wanted to put Eac3to and Madflac into one "tools" folder so which I should use OR do I just make a folder for each and keep em separate?
To be honest, I'm not sure. You can try using the newer dll for both. If you run into no problems then it's fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustABDFan View Post
2) Any chance of Eac3to using arcsoft decoders for (E)AC3 instead of Nero 7?
Maybe some day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Thanks madshi for your new version, for me the standard dts is all ok decoded but:

2/2.1 - ArcSoft output is FL FR FC Empty LF BL, the BR channel is missing and need remap -0,1,3,4,2,5

And using -dtslog with Samples_dts-es encoded with DTS PRO SERIES SURROUND ENCODER (thanks Elektra999) seems there are a detect problem:
Code:
                     3/3.0 m   3/3.1 m   3/3.0 d    3/3.1 d
+ DTS-Core           -------   -------   -------    -------
  - frameSize        2013      2013      2013       2013
  - DTS-ES           +         +         +          +
  - channelNo        5         5         5   (?)    6
  - lfe              0         1         0          1
  - channelDescr     5.0       5.1       5.0 (?)    6.1
  - samplingRate     48000     48000     48000      48000
  - bitDepth         16        16        16         16
  - bitrate          1536000   1536000   1536000    1536000
  - extAudio         -         -         XCh        XCh
  - samplesPerFrame  512       512       512        512
  - copyHistory      1         1         1          1
With libav
3/3.1 DTS-ES 6.1 Discrete, output 5.1 with BC mixed in BL-BR, ok but need remap -1,2,0,5,3,4

And ArcSoft problems:
3/3.0 DTS-ES 6.0 Discrete, detected like 5.0 and decoded 5.0 with BC channel mixed in BL-BR like 6.0 Matrix.
3/3.1 DTS-ES 6.1 Discrete, all ok but FL and FR channels broken (missing 99% of samples)
Thanks for testing/reporting and for the new samples! The problems I could fix should be fixed in v2.63. However, ArcSoft seems to have problems with some 6.0 and 6.1 tracks. If I let ArcSoft decode them as 5.1, everything is fine. If I let it decode them as 6.0 or 6.1 the FL and FR channels are broken. Don't see how I could fix that. Funny enough Blu-Ray and HD DVD 6.1 tracks decode fine!! Because of that I can't simply block ArcSoft for 6.x decoding...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sehgal.v7 View Post
In this Swapping & Remapping being done twice, is it alright?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Could you rename first analyzing process from "progress:" to "analyzing:"
Changed to "analyze:" and "process:".

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1ngp1ng View Post
i found a bug: truehd 16bit -> flac 24bit
Will be fixed in the next build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
Just a little quirk:

With a trailing \, :
Will be fixed in the next build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0mag!c View Post
When appending several TS file with "+" eac3to can't process files properly.
For error reproduction I took working TS-file and splitted it (with TSsplitter) to 3221380 bytes chunks.
This is a problem. eac3to contains some extra code to handle Blu-Ray seamless branching correctly. Now if I make TsSplitter splitted TS files work that may eventually harm Blu-Ray seamless branching handling. Generally if you join some TS or m2ts files which were never stored in one file you'll want eac3to to do some extra checking/processing on these files. But if you join some TS or m2ts files which were once stored in one file and which you splitted with a tool like TsSplitter the extra processing makes joining fail. I'll have to think about how to handle this properly. For now you'll have to manually join the parts with TsSplitter first to make eac3to work...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2008, 00:28   #6180  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,909
eac3to v2.63 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

Code:
* fixed: incorrect detection of 6.0 DTS tracks as 5.0
* fixed: incorrect libav DTS channel remapping for 6.x or 7.x tracks
* fixed: incorrect ArcSoft DTS channel remapping for "6.0" and "2/2.1" tracks
* fixed: v2.61+62 incorrectly decoded 16bit TrueHD tracks to 24bit FLAC/WAV/RAW
* fixed: some DTSWAV files made HDCD decoder crash
* fixed: DTSWAV and AC3WAV samplerate and bitdepth were reported incorrectly
* improved DirectShow channel configuration reporting
* undocumented option -progressnumbers now outputs "analyze:" and "process:"
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.