Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th September 2008, 12:21   #6101  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
...
+ DTS-Core
- DTS-ES +
- channelNo 6
- lfe 1
- channelDescr 6.1
...
@madshi
Standards DTS-ES (encoded with DTS PRO SERIES SURROUND ENCODER) are decoded by libav and Arcsoft like 5.1 (with Cs mixed in Ls-Rs). Maybe if you expect by 6.1 and only have a 5.1 ...
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 12:26   #6102  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
I tested tebasuna51's samples with Sonic. The updated list is below:
Thanks Nautilus7. I don't like install Sonic again.

Quote:
btw, tebasuna51, is that you on the samples?
Yep, I make myself the samples.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 12:39   #6103  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
@madshi
Standards DTS-ES (encoded with DTS PRO SERIES SURROUND ENCODER) are decoded by libav and Arcsoft like 5.1 (with Cs mixed in Ls-Rs). Maybe if you expect by 6.1 and only have a 5.1 ...
Do you mean Libav decodes DTS-HD(HR or MA) as well and both Arcsoft and Libav creates just 5.1? (even the source 6.1 or 7.1)

Last edited by rica; 7th September 2008 at 12:43.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 13:58   #6104  |  Link
odin24
Registered User
 
odin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Great North (the better half of North America)
Posts: 301
Using the command eac3to input.thd output.thd+ac3 make a BD compatible TrueHD stream, would a similar command work for a E-AC3 stream?

eac3to input.eac3 output eac3+ac3?

Thanks, O
odin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 15:43   #6105  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,498
No, it won't.

To use E-AC3 on BD you must have a 7.1 stream. And to make it BD compatible, you need an E-AC3 encoder. It 's not like TrueHD + AC3 (individual tracks), but 5.1 AC3 core with E-AC3 extensions for the additional channels. 5.1 E-AC3 tracks in HD DVD are replaced by 5.1 AC3 in BD.

Last edited by nautilus7; 7th September 2008 at 17:47.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 17:29   #6106  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by rica View Post
Do you mean Libav decodes DTS-HD(HR or MA) as well and both Arcsoft and Libav creates just 5.1? (even the source 6.1 or 7.1)
I say DTS-ES, not HD (HR or MA), 6 physical channels (5.1) but 7 logical channels (6.1) with Cs mixed in Ls-Rs
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 17:32   #6107  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebkell View Post
I asked earlier, but it probably got forgotten in all the posts
You got a reply to your question *directly* under your question. Put your glasses back on!

Quote:
Originally Posted by xkodi View Post
i know for only two problematic samples:

- Edward Scissorhands Blu-ray DTS-HD MA 3/1 track
- Q-tec Hi-Definition Reference Demo Disc DTS-HD MA track
Edward will work with the next eac3to version and all channels will have the correct volume, but the surround channel will not be bit perfect (the other 3 channels will be bit perfect) when decoding with ArcSoft. Decoding with Sonic will result in all channels being bit perfect with the next eac3to version.

Unfortunately there's nothing I can do about the Hi-Def demo DTS track.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastie Boy View Post
This doesn't work for me. If I specify a bitrate, eac3to errors with 'This audio conversion is not supported'.
Strange, it works for me. Please post your command line and the full eac3to log.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Standards DTS-ES (encoded with DTS PRO SERIES SURROUND ENCODER) are decoded by libav and Arcsoft like 5.1 (with Cs mixed in Ls-Rs).
I don't think that's right. DTS-ES Matrix is decoded as 5.1 by all decoders. DTS-ES Discrete 6.1 is correctly decoded to 6.1 by the ArcSoft decoder, I think (if you're sure that I'm wrong here I'd be happy about a sample). The Sonic decoder decodes DTS-ES Discrete 6.1 to either 5.1 or 6.1, depending on which channel extension is used. Sonic supports 6.1 XCh, but not 6.1 XXCh. libav DTS decoding is generally limited to 5.1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
Okay, I reran the thing again (adding -sonic, too). And this was the result:

+ DTS-Core
- frameSize 2012
- DTS-ES +
- channelNo 6
- lfe 1
- channelDescr 6.1
- samplingRate 48000
- bitDepth 24
- bitrate 1536000
- dialNorm 4
- extAudio XXCh
- samplesPerFrame 512
- copyHistory 1
Yeah, that explains the problem. The Sonic DTS-Decoder doesn't support XXCh. That's why this DTS track is decoded as 5.1, only, while eac3to thought it would be decoded as 6.1. I guess I need to make eac3to aware of that Sonic sometimes decodes 6.1 as 5.1 and sometimes as 6.1... <sigh>

If possible, a small sample of the DTS track would be a nice addition for my sample collection.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 17:34   #6108  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I say DTS-ES, not HD (HR or MA), 6 physical channels (5.1) but 7 logical channels (6.1) with Cs mixed in Ls-Rs
There is DTS-ES 5.1 (also called "DTS-ES Matrix") and DTS-ES 6.1 (also called "DTS-ES Discrete"). These are two very different things. For a decoder DTS-ES Matrix looks like normal 5.1 with just the "ES" flag set. But DTS-ES Discrete has an XCh or XXCh extension in the DTS stream which contains a full separate channel. You can use "eac3to some.dts -logdts" to get exact information about what extensions are contained in your DTS files.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 18:02   #6109  |  Link
rebkell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
You got a reply to your question *directly* under your question. Put your glasses back on!
Nautilus cheated, he edited his answer after I had already read it
rebkell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 18:19   #6110  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,498
Yes, that's true, but I hoped you would have a look in my post again.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 18:31   #6111  |  Link
rebkell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
Yes, that's true, but I hoped you would have a look in my post again.
No problem, I sub to the thread and it goes to the newest post and it works great, but if someone edits a post it doesn't show up as a new post, even though it has a later time/datestamp than the newest post.

I have a different scenario than the majority in this thread(I suppose). I record with the HD-PVR, then reencode with x264(to get some better IDR frames for scenecut purposes) and then mux it back into a ts with tsmuxer, then I cut out commercials with h264ts_cutter and I used to occasionally get some a/v sync problems. So there is no telling what kind of audio overlaps and gaps end up in the cut file.
rebkell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 19:49   #6112  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Why do you use another cutter while TSMuxer exists?
Cut while remuxing and merge the files with eac3to. (another tip, btw there is no VC1 cutter except TSMuxer afaik.)
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 19:54   #6113  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,214
@madshi, you are right, I was talking about DTS-ES "Matrix" (with Cs mixed in Ls-Rs) encoded with DTS PRO SERIES SURROUND ENCODER, well detected by eac3to -logdts like:
+ DTS-Core
- frameSize 2013
- DTS-ES +
- channelNo 5
- lfe 1
- channelDescr 5.1
...

I don't have samples "DTS-ES Discrete"
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 19:55   #6114  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I don't have samples "DTS-ES Discrete"
You can create them with that Pro encoder you mentioned, I think.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 19:58   #6115  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,909
eac3to v2.61 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

Code:
* added read/write support for Sony wave64 (*.w64) format
* added read/write support for RF64 wave64 (*.rf64) format
* added write support for AGM format
* true bitdepth (e.g. 18 bits) is written to extensible wav header now
* when reading 16/24 (true/storage) WAV files, zero bytes are stripped now
* added HDCD detection for WAV and FLAC files
* added HDCD detection for PCM tracks in VOB/EVO/m2ts containers
* added HDCD decoder written by Christopher Key
* added new option "-decodeHdcd" to decode HDCD information
* HDCD track -> lossy format: HDCD decoding is automatically activated
* when DTS-MA and TrueHD tracks are decoded, a check for HDCD is done
* fixed some incorrect DTS channel masks
* added automatic libav DTS channel remapping
* added automatic ArcSoft DTS channel remapping
* added channel map manipulation to make funny DTS tracks decode with Sonic
* added channel map manipulation to make funny DTS tracks decode with ArcSoft
* added channel volume modification to undo ArcSoft mono surround splitting
* for TrueHD+AC3 creation AC3 delay and gap correction are disabled now
* fixed: DTSWAV and DTSAC3 readers reported too long runtime
* fixed: sometimes processing aborted with a "bitdepth reducer" complaint
Many thanks to Christopher Key for providing the HDCD decoder!
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 20:04   #6116  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,149
guess I might have missed, but what exactly is HDCD (good for)? according to wikipedia it seems to be some kind of technology for accounstic improvement for CDs and DVDs? does someone who just wants to convert the lossless tracks of movies to flac need this somehow?
thanks again for new!
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 20:07   #6117  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
eac3to v2.61 released
Many thanks to Christopher Key for providing the HDCD decoder!
And many thanks to you for all the new features and excellent support of this program.

Code:
* added write support for AGM format
One question though... Is this the 1st step for adding support for the official DTS encoder?

Last edited by nautilus7; 7th September 2008 at 20:11.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 20:13   #6118  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
guess I might have missed, but what exactly is HDCD (good for)? according to wikipedia it seems to be some kind of technology for accounstic improvement for CDs and DVDs? does someone who just wants to convert the lossless tracks of movies to flac need this somehow?
thanks again for new!
Some audio CDs are encoded with HDCD. On a normal CD player they play just like a normal CD in 16 bit. However, there are CD players which can detect and make use of the HDCD coding. Which results in the audio tracks being enhanced to something more than 16 bit (something between 16 bit and 20 bit). This technology is usually only used for audio CDs and not for movies. Now eac3to can detect HDCD tracks and decode them which basically means increasing the bitdepth from 16 bit to something a little bit higher than 16 bit. If you have hardware which supports HDCD you will not want eac3to to decode HDCD, but let the hardware decode it instead (that saves space). But if your hardware can't do HDCD and you do have some HDCD audio tracks, eac3to can now decode them to full bitdepth.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 20:14   #6119  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
Code:
* added write support for AGM format
One question though... Is this the 1st step for adding support for the official DTS encoder?
Maybe. Or maybe not.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 20:18   #6120  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Maybe. Or maybe not.
I see.

btw, that encoder can do DTS-ES Discrete 6.1 (and Matrix 6.1).

Last edited by nautilus7; 7th September 2008 at 20:22.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.