Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th April 2019, 21:36   #28461  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 930
@worknstiff
Re Aquaman movie
448K is the core bit rate of the THD track, maybe the core is being extracted and the audio is not being converted
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2019, 23:31   #28462  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
@worknstiff
Re Aquaman movie
448K is the core bit rate of the THD track, maybe the core is being extracted and the audio is not being converted
Yep. There's only two ways it could happen. Either the core is kept at 448Kbs, in which case reencoding to 640Kbs would actually reduce the quality -- or the selection to encode at 448Kbs is selected in the AUDIO ENCODING OPTIONS checkbox of the SETUP dialog.

If the core is 448Kbs you should see the track PID and language followed by "Keeping original core audio" displayed in the log.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 6th April 2019 at 23:35.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2019, 13:37   #28463  |  Link
worknstiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 304
@ jdobbs; RE: "Keeping original core audio" displayed in the log.

These "ATMOS" TrueHD 7.1's are really becoming a real pain. This is what mediainfo says about the Crimes Grindelwald track is:

: D:\WORKING\WORKFILES\00018.track_4352.ac3
Format : TrueHD / AC-3
File size : 3.87 GiB
Duration : 2h 35mn
Overall bit rate : 448 Kbps

One is 8 channels / and the other 6 channels, BUT BOTH are only 448k. So much for high definition audio. I guess I am going to have to get a bigger disk, lol.

Thanks for the help, gonca, jdobbs.
worknstiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2019, 13:53   #28464  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,478
448 kbps is obviously only the core bitrate like jdobbs already said. 3.87 GiB for 2h 35mn is something like 3575 kbps (file size = bitrate * duration). 3575 kbps - 448 kbps core = 3127 kbps for TrueHD/Atmos part.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2019, 14:07   #28465  |  Link
worknstiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 304
Yes I understand that part but it seems like we are being short changed when it splits out the TrueHD 7.1 core out of the complete ATMOS stream, and it is only at 448, instead of the usual 640 core. Guess it is my irrational mind thinking it is less than what we used to get, lol.

As an after thought I can "process" this same disk with CloneBD and it will down convert to DD5.1 640k. Is it just playing with my head by changing it or does it magically get me the 640k out of thin air?

Last edited by worknstiff; 7th April 2019 at 14:11.
worknstiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2019, 14:20   #28466  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,478
TrueHD 7.1 isn't 448 kbps (except in edge cases), only the AC3/DD 5.1 core is 448 kbps. AFAIK as I know that's legal and simply a decision made be the authoring house.

You can of course convert the TrueHD to AC3/DD 640 kbps if you want to. Maybe that's what CloneBD does. If the quality of your AC3 encoder is much/any better at 640 kbps than the authoring house's AC3 encoder at 448 kbps is a different question. You probably won't hear a difference.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2019, 17:47   #28467  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by worknstiff View Post
Yes I understand that part but it seems like we are being short changed when it splits out the TrueHD 7.1 core out of the complete ATMOS stream, and it is only at 448, instead of the usual 640 core. Guess it is my irrational mind thinking it is less than what we used to get, lol.

As an after thought I can "process" this same disk with CloneBD and it will down convert to DD5.1 640k. Is it just playing with my head by changing it or does it magically get me the 640k out of thin air?
A free and very useful program to use to convert audio streams is UsEac3to (the GUI) just drop the movie file into it, select the 'True' stream, and choose your output. If you have the Surecode encoder installed, you can even convert it to DTS @1536 if you want
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2019, 18:02   #28468  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,358
I can probably add a hidden option that will force a new AC3 encode @640Kbs using the TrueHD as it's source if the core is 448Kbs. But, as sneaker_ger said, I'm not sure whether a reencode at 640Kbs would provide a noticeable improvement over the studio authored 448Kbs. Probably so, but I think few people could tell the difference.

A guess might be that they are using the 448Kbs audio that is used in their DVD authoring as their core (since that's the max rate for DVD).

Another guess might be that they are purposely trying to make the TrueHD sound superior to what it truly is by creating a core that would be less than perfect for comparison. Tests have shown that a DD AC3 encode at 640Kbs is indistinguishable from the a lossless original in double-blind tests. Tricks like that aren't unusual. What you typically see is the volume level increased in "HD" audio (compared to standard encode) so people think they are hearing a difference that really isn't there (at least to the human ear).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 7th April 2019 at 18:08.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2019, 18:39   #28469  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
What you typically see is the volume level increased in "HD" audio (compared to standard encode) so people think they are hearing a difference that really isn't there (at least to human ears).
WhaddaYuMean human ears...?!!


Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2019, 23:33   #28470  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 930
@Lathe
Is that a recent photo of yourself?
You look like you just soiled your undies
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2019, 00:43   #28471  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
@Lathe
Is that a recent photo of yourself?
You look like you just soiled your undies
Let's not jump to conclusions my Great Northern, Moose loving friend...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2019, 19:48   #28472  |  Link
Buckskin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
I am trying to import 27 files. BDRB gets to the 16th and bombs (no files on system to see why). Ahha you say, duff mkv files. Not so, because if I import either 1 - 15 or 16-27 everything works. There is also enough disc space ~700gb

Anyone have any ideas as to why I should get this error (note files 1 -15 generate the same log info);

- [19:05:43] Importing video file: (15 of 27)
- Preparing MKV for processing...
- Collecting audio/video streams from source...
- Converting subtitle, Track #3, ASS to SRT...
- Converting subtitle, Track #4, ASS to SRT...
- Integrating into pseudo-BD structure...
- [19:06:12] Importing video file: (16 of 27)
- Preparing MKV for processing...
[19:06:17]ERROR: Gathering source file information. Aborted.
[19:06:17]ERROR: Gathering source file information. Aborted.
[19:06:17]ERROR: Gathering source file information. Aborted.
[19:06:19]ERROR: Gathering source file information. Aborted.

I am sure that there is a simple explanation, I just can't think of it.

Many apologies. 16 of 27 has a problem and I must have messed up when importing 16-27 and actually missed 16. Still not sure what's wrong with it as it looks OK. I will have to recreate it.

OK I found the problem. BDRB does not like right single quotation mark (’) in the file name

Last edited by Buckskin; 13th April 2019 at 17:08. Reason: 2nd Update
Buckskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2019, 02:40   #28473  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckskin View Post
OK I found the problem. BDRB does not like right single quotation mark () in the file name
Not true, sort-of. I just imported a file with the ' character. I suspect that it is the ' character in the upper character set, not the ' in the lower character set.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2019, 04:44   #28474  |  Link
HandiA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Failed video encode

This Message when trying to backup Ready Player One 3D
HandiA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2019, 11:29   #28475  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by HandiA View Post
This Message when trying to backup Ready Player One 3D
and now post the entire logfile please. That message by itself means nothing and could have dozens of causes. We don't have a crystal ball to know which one and its magical solution.
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2019, 18:45   #28476  |  Link
Buckskin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Not true, sort-of. I just imported a file with the ' character. I suspect that it is the ' character in the upper character set, not the ' in the lower character set.
True. I suspect that it applies to the left single quote mark also. Probably a UNIX thing as Windows doesn't seem to have a problem
Buckskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2019, 08:22   #28477  |  Link
HandiA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Log File Ready Player One 3D

[04/12/19] BD Rebuilder v0.60.04
[19:34:46] Source: READY_PLAYER_ONE
- Input BD size: 46.53 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:30:38.654]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Quality: Good (Very Fast), ABR
- MVC 3D Output Mode enabled
- Decoding/Frame serving: FRIMDecode
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[19:34:48] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [19:34:48] Processing: VID_00018 (1 of 2)
- [19:34:48] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00018]
- [19:34:58] Reencoding video [VID_00018]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 8,159 frames
- Bitrate: 4,464 Kbs
- Using FRIMEncoder for MVC encoding
- [19:34:58] Reencoding: VID_00018, Pass 1 of 1
- [19:43:12] Video Encode complete
- [19:43:12] Processing audio tracks
- [19:43:12] Multiplexing M2TS
- [19:43:17] Scanning for 3D CLPI info...
- [19:43:19] Processing: VID_00042 (2 of 2)
- [19:43:19] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00042]
- [19:55:08] Reencoding video [VID_00042]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 201,357 frames
- Bitrate: 17,127 Kbs
- Using FRIMEncoder for MVC encoding
- [19:55:08] Reencoding: VID_00042, Pass 1 of 1
[19:56:11] - Failed video encode, aborted
HandiA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2019, 17:20   #28478  |  Link
LowDead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by HandiA View Post
[04/12/19] BD Rebuilder v0.60.04
[19:34:46] Source: READY_PLAYER_ONE
- Input BD size: 46.53 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:30:38.654]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Quality: Good (Very Fast), ABR
- MVC 3D Output Mode enabled
- Decoding/Frame serving: FRIMDecode
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[19:34:48] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [19:34:48] Processing: VID_00018 (1 of 2)
- [19:34:48] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00018]
- [19:34:58] Reencoding video [VID_00018]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 8,159 frames
- Bitrate: 4,464 Kbs
- Using FRIMEncoder for MVC encoding
- [19:34:58] Reencoding: VID_00018, Pass 1 of 1
- [19:43:12] Video Encode complete
- [19:43:12] Processing audio tracks
- [19:43:12] Multiplexing M2TS
- [19:43:17] Scanning for 3D CLPI info...
- [19:43:19] Processing: VID_00042 (2 of 2)
- [19:43:19] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00042]
- [19:55:08] Reencoding video [VID_00042]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 201,357 frames
- Bitrate: 17,127 Kbs
- Using FRIMEncoder for MVC encoding
- [19:55:08] Reencoding: VID_00042, Pass 1 of 1
[19:56:11] - Failed video encode, aborted
It runs for a minute.. Have you overclocked? How are the temps?

//LD
LowDead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2019, 19:33   #28479  |  Link
HandiA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Failed video encode

Haven't overclocked. Had no issues with other similar backups. Only with Ready Player One.
HandiA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2019, 02:54   #28480  |  Link
HandiA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Temps are low. Below 80.
HandiA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.