Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th March 2010, 08:58   #11221  |  Link
zummi
Registered User
 
zummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 15
Hi there,

I too are having some trouble with MediaControl and ffdshow DXVA. In short, with DXVA enabled I can't switch audio streams or subtitles by using MediaControl. MediaControl detects and displays all streams and subs, but nothing happens when i click them. I can still right-click the ffdshow tray icon and switch.

This only happens when I use DXVA. With "regular" ffdshow MediaControl works as intended.

running x64 and MPC-HC splitter (haali gives me DTS-HD bitstreaming issues), MediaControl 6.0.4 x64 and the latest x64 ffdshow from xvidvideo.ru (build 3336). Any ideas...?
zummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 11:35   #11222  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 4,961
ffdshow_rev3337_20100329_sse_icl11 from xvidvideo.ru flickers while decoding AVC. It looks like the deblocking at edges does not work correctly and differently for most frames. Happens with both libavcodec and ffmpeg-mt decoder.

ffdshow_rev3304_20100304_sse_icl11 does not show this effect.

Look at the following images (they are carefully web-optimized JPEGs, compression doesn't harm the effect too much), especially compare the borders around the cyan color bar, the near-bottom left blue field and the bottom-center dark blue field.

http://www.ligh.de/pics/ffdshow/50p_Frame0000.jpg
http://www.ligh.de/pics/ffdshow/50p_Frame0001.jpg
http://www.ligh.de/pics/ffdshow/50p_Frame0012.jpg
http://www.ligh.de/pics/ffdshow/50p_Frame0025.jpg
http://www.ligh.de/pics/ffdshow/50p_Frame0026.jpg

The MP4 file contains all relevant details about the x264 encoding.

http://www.ligh.de/pics/ffdshow/50p.mp4 (160 KB).
__________________

German doom9 / Gleitz board
MediaFire shares: x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Rémoulade is spoiled
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 12:27   #11223  |  Link
rsd78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by zummi View Post
Hi there,

I too are having some trouble with MediaControl and ffdshow DXVA. In short, with DXVA enabled I can't switch audio streams or subtitles by using MediaControl. MediaControl detects and displays all streams and subs, but nothing happens when i click them. I can still right-click the ffdshow tray icon and switch.

This only happens when I use DXVA. With "regular" ffdshow MediaControl works as intended.

running x64 and MPC-HC splitter (haali gives me DTS-HD bitstreaming issues), MediaControl 6.0.4 x64 and the latest x64 ffdshow from xvidvideo.ru (build 3336). Any ideas...?
Check the Keys/Input section in ffdshow dxva and make sure it matches regular ffdshow. I don't think Media Control's configuration command affects dxva yet. Basically this was my issue, because the remote control settings weren't configured properly.
rsd78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 13:11   #11224  |  Link
zummi
Registered User
 
zummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 15
Oh crap...i'm so stupuid i shouldn't be allowed to live. Well, thanks a lot, mate :-)

Ah, just one question...is there a way to set prefered stream/sub languages either in MediaControl or the MPC-HC splitter - like you can in Haali?
zummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 18:49   #11225  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Yes, I have to fix this

@Ikarad : here is a test build with better management of bluray subtitltes
Thanks to supread author I was able to do a better implementation.
Issue #3 may not be fixed yet (I haven't tested it)

http://damienbt.free.fr/ffdshow_rev3...libs_beta9.exe
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 20:11   #11226  |  Link
ikarad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
Yes, I have to fix this

@Ikarad : here is a test build with better management of bluray subtitltes
Thanks to supread author I was able to do a better implementation.
Issue #3 may not be fixed yet (I haven't tested it)

http://damienbt.free.fr/ffdshow_rev3...libs_beta9.exe
I try and it crash many times with rgb32 output.
When it works subs are not displayed. In the first 35 secondes the only sub displayed is "abandon ship" at 29 second.

I can't test if the problem that I speak before are corrected
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikarad View Post
With 3326 and rgb32 output I find several problems with blu rays subtitles (I can't test with YUY2 because It crash).
1)first problem: some subs are cut (Same problem with 3306 and other ffdshow version untill 3326)
For example there is this sub at 8min33
"Your back is heavy as I catch up to you"


In the video the "you" is cut


Same problem with this sub at 8min46
in the video
The original sub is



2) second problemThere is some problems with the time of displaying of subtitles.
For example in this video (that I also give you) The first sub :


is well displayed.
Although the second sub:


is displayed and is removed immediately. There is no time to read it and it's not normal.

Same problem with this sub

In the movie it disappeared at 00:08:41 and not at 00:08:44,272

There many other examples in the sample that I give you.

3) Third problem: If I use resize function (lanczos) of ffdshow: the display of subs is very very bad. All subs are displayed in the high left corner instead of the middle of screen and many subs are cut. Sound is cut at some moments.
ikarad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 21:10   #11227  |  Link
DMD
Registered User
 
DMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 181
Interference with programs that do not work with ffdshow

ffdshow is coupled with other applications except PowerDVD, then
launching PowerDVD because I see this message?






THANKS
DMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 22:20   #11228  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,676
I shall add powerdvd10.exe to the default blacklist.

Choose "Don't use ffdshow (always)".
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 23:10   #11229  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastiii View Post
Hi, Can you provide a sample ?
Thanks,
Seb.
Sure: http://www.mediafire.com/?jmyyddtm0mi (153MB)

It'll start with the AC3 track if you use Haali. With r3334 and previous you can change to the THD track and hear it perfectly fine, but if you change back to AC3 you will get silence. After r3334 if you change to the THD track you'll get silence, but if you change back to the AC3 track you'll hear it. Tested with r3338.
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 07:22   #11230  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 602
Thanks, i'll try this evening
Did you test only with haali ?
Cheers,
Seb.
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 6Go Win10(x64) / Nvidia 1050Ti / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 08:01   #11231  |  Link
DMD
Registered User
 
DMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
I shall add powerdvd10.exe to the default blacklist.

Choose "Don't use ffdshow (always)".
Thanks!

I activated the list does not use

DMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 11:51   #11232  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
@Ikarad
@Stargazer

I have finally fixed this blackscreen problem with new ffmpeg libraries. The CPU optimizations weren't correctly taken into account and could cause weird issues (such as this one)

This build fixes it and fixes also the stability problems with bluray subs
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 13:06   #11233  |  Link
Casshern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
@Ikarad
@Stargazer

I have finally fixed this blackscreen problem with new ffmpeg libraries. The CPU optimizations weren't correctly taken into account and could cause weird issues (such as this one)

This build fixes it and fixes also the stability problems with bluray subs
Any news on the recently introduced bug that ffdshow only picks up the DTS core when files are played from the begining? If you directly seek and start playback in the middle ffdshow only decodes the DTS HD stream.
Casshern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 14:11   #11234  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 4,961
@ albain:

Does this also affect the issues mentioned in #11222?
__________________

German doom9 / Gleitz board
MediaFire shares: x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Rémoulade is spoiled
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 14:21   #11235  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,676
@LigH
I don't see those artifacts with the generic build. Could you test that?
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 14:47   #11236  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
@Ikarad
@Stargazer

I have finally fixed this blackscreen problem with new ffmpeg libraries. The CPU optimizations weren't correctly taken into account and could cause weird issues (such as this one)

This build fixes it and fixes also the stability problems with bluray subs
Hi,

The file is corrupt on my side ? i have down twice.
And you ?
Thx
Seb.
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 6Go Win10(x64) / Nvidia 1050Ti / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 15:01   #11237  |  Link
fastplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastiii View Post
Hi,

The file is corrupt on my side ? i have down twice.
And you ?
Thx
Seb.
Alternative download link
fastplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 15:57   #11238  |  Link
ikarad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
@Ikarad
@Stargazer

I have finally fixed this blackscreen problem with new ffmpeg libraries. The CPU optimizations weren't correctly taken into account and could cause weird issues (such as this one)

This build fixes it and fixes also the stability problems with bluray subs
I have no crash now with rgb32 output but with YUY2 there is crash like with other versions

But I have the same bug with 3336: many subs are not displayed. For example in the first 35 secondes the only sub displayed is "abandon ship" at 29 second. With 3326 there wasn't this problem.
ikarad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 18:15   #11239  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,242
I think it is time to get rid of some useless algos under Deinterlace section



Screenshots -> http://www.mediafire.com/file/zhm3it...ed_pictures.7z

You will see that most of them provide poor quality. The best in my opinion is TomsMoComp + Vertical . However it does not deinterlace to full frame rate. Second would be Yadif.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2010, 18:16   #11240  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikarad View Post
I have no crash now with rgb32 output but with YUY2 there is crash like with other versions

But I have the same bug with 3336: many subs are not displayed. For example in the first 35 secondes the only sub displayed is "abandon ship" at 29 second. With 3326 there wasn't this problem.
Ok for yuy2 but I think that the behaviour is correct in rev 3336

I know that rev 3326 displayed the first subs but it did not respect the PGS format

In the new revision I have to wait for the next subtitle to know if the current one is really finished to parse which explains why you can't see it during the first seconds of the video. But after the first subs it should be fine

Also note that the MPC splitter is buggy and does not detect the PGS streams early enough. But once the stream is detected and you have selected it, you can go back to the beginning of the video and the first subs should be displayed

Maybe this new behaviour could be improved but I would like to confirm first that the implementation is correct (YUY2 colorspace apart)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casshern View Post
Any news on the recently introduced bug that ffdshow only picks up the DTS core when files are played from the begining? If you directly seek and start playback in the middle ffdshow only decodes the DTS HD stream.
I'll take a look on it tomorrow. Don't hesitate to remind me it if I forget

Last edited by albain; 31st March 2010 at 18:19.
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.