Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th April 2011, 19:27   #6861  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Hmmmmm... No idea why the decoder queue doesn't move. It should. Unless your CPU is too slow.
It's not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Bilinear?
Yes.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 19:31   #6862  |  Link
fatboyz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post


Yeah, I don't understand that, either. On my secondary monitor similar things happen. It seems that *after* I switch to the correct refresh rate, Windows suddenly reports 60Hz. So madVR says: Ok, then I'll use that. Very weird. Should be solved once I implement the automatic refresh rate changing. Oh well, maybe I should stop being such a perfectionist and implement a crude automatic refresh rate changer soon instead of waiting for the perfect solution (which will take time).



I don't know if you are using ATI drivers, but this is a problem I reported way back.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...41#post1480241

I found when I updated my drivers that the full screen exclusive mode meant everything switched to 60hz.

The last working version of ati ccc drivers that didn't switch from 50hz to 60hz in exclusive mode is version 10.10.

Everything after that and exclusive mode switched to 60hz, no matter how many settings in catalyst you tweaked.
fatboyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 19:32   #6863  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 634
Just my quick report (only visual, I don't look at stats for now) :
- 0.49: ok
- 0.50 (new path): CPU heavy (dropped frames)
- 0.51: ok
- 0.52: CPU heavy (dropped frames)
- 0.53: ok
- 0.54, tomorrow: CPU heavy.

Last edited by pirlouy; 14th April 2011 at 20:56.
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 20:21   #6864  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Thanks!

Does this build fix the problem?

http://madshi.net/madVRcpu2.rar

If not, please another log with that build...
It's fixed, thanks a lot madshi!
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 20:26   #6865  |  Link
Razoola
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 454
everything is ok for me in 053 so far.
Razoola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 20:39   #6866  |  Link
Gleb Egorych
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gleb Egorych View Post
0.49 has a bit less dropped frames with CoreAVC software mode than 0.51 with default settings. Though these 2 versions drop frames differently. 0.49 drops frames more regularly while 0.51 with 4 pre-rendered frames drops more spiky.
And how does v0.52 behave? (out in a couple of minutes)
With 0.52 no dropped frames but presentation glitches appear while decoder, render, backbuffer queues are stable. I guess you fixed stats. Playback experience is the same as with 0.51 - with 14 or 16 frames pre-render playback is smooth, jerking with lesser number of frames.

0.53 is worse for me, even with 14 and 16 pre-rendered I have some glitches.
Gleb Egorych is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 20:46   #6867  |  Link
someone`
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I've tried to have a look at your log, but it's a mess really. In the beginning of the log you're switching between windowed and exclusive mode like 10 times or so. I don't even know where to look for the problem exactly in the log.
It because I reopen the file to make it play smoothly , i only reopen 2 times and pause 2-3 times . After the last reopen it works .
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
What I can see is that you're using a rather high refresh rate (72Hz) and a rather low number of pre-rendered frames. Try increasing the number of pre-rendered frames to 8. Maybe that helps a little?
I tested it before , it makes no different . But when i got smoothly playback , i could increase the number to 16 and it still smoothly .

I try the cpu2 build , it's fixed . But window mode is broken , same behaviour .
Also FSE --> pause --> window mode ---> black screen .
log :
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?ze4h382n38heula

Last edited by someone`; 14th April 2011 at 21:04.
someone` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 20:51   #6868  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
someone, which decoder are you using? HAM with MPC-HC or DXVA with potplayer? OR something else?
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 21:06   #6869  |  Link
someone`
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
I use PotPlayer , decoder : HAM and DXVA . HAM is faster than PotPlayer DXVA but it has bug cause artifact .
someone` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 21:09   #6870  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
I tried potplayer & DXVA with madVR and get horrible stuttering, even worse than MPC-HC with HAM.
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 21:10   #6871  |  Link
fiver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Madshi:

I'm the one with the ATI 6850M 120Hz issue.

Same problem in .53, log attached.

Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: zip madVR - log.zip (16.4 KB, 1 views)
fiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 21:15   #6872  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,362
MPC-HC with Cyberlink HAM for me works extremely well on both my main HTPC (5870) and my laptop (3450). W7SP1 x64 in both cases.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 21:31   #6873  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post
I tried potplayer & DXVA with madVR and get horrible stuttering, even worse than MPC-HC with HAM.
Well duh, madVR does not work with DXVA, whatever results you get, its really unpredictable - quite surprising that you get any image though. =)
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 21:37   #6874  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Well duh, madVR does not work with DXVA, whatever results you get, its really unpredictable - quite surprising that you get any image though. =)
PotPlayer's DXVA implementation is more like a decoder. They're copying the frames back into system memory after they're decoded on the GPU. As you're well aware, this could be extremely slow depending on the implementation. But, it's the wave of the future. LOL.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 21:39   #6875  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
MPC-HC with Cyberlink HAM for me works extremely well on both my main HTPC (5870) and my laptop (3450). W7SP1 x64 in both cases.
Well what do you know. madshi's "cpu2" debug version above, besides fixing the CPU issues, also fixed this. Only the new exclusive path though. The presentation queue doesn't dip to zero.

In windowed and the old exclusive path though, I still get major frame drops, but that's fine I guess.

So now only waiting for that non-debug version that doesn't create a huge txt file on my desktop!
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 21:43   #6876  |  Link
Andy o
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
PotPlayer's DXVA implementation is more like a decoder. They're copying the frames back into system memory after they're decoded on the GPU. As you're well aware, this could be extremely slow depending on the implementation. But, it's the wave of the future. LOL.
Yeah other people reported it worked (even "someone" above), so why not give it a whirl.
Andy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 21:46   #6877  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post
Well what do you know. madshi's "cpu2" debug version above, besides fixing the CPU issues, also fixed this. Only the new exclusive path though. The presentation queue doesn't dip to zero.

In windowed and the old exclusive path though, I still get major frame drops, but that's fine I guess.

So now only waiting for that non-debug version that doesn't create a huge txt file on my desktop!
That's awesome! madshi's been putting out new versions like a banshee so I'm sure you'll see a new version soon. I'm extremely happy with recent developments with LAVF/madVR/MPC-HC. We've come a REALLY long way in a short time. The fact that I can run it on my laptop is amazing!!!
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 21:52   #6878  |  Link
Qaq
AV heretic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Does this build fix the problem?
http://madshi.net/madVRcpu2.rar
If not, please another log with that build...
I did some tests with 0.53 (results are similar to previous), but they look useless now. I will test your madVRcpu releases tomorrow and report back. Thanks for your work.
Qaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 21:55   #6879  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post
Yeah other people reported it worked (even "someone" above), so why not give it a whirl.
I may. I'm not jazzed about using a new player, though. The ffdshow extension that was linked to earlier looks possible, though. I was going to check that out and apply the patch to my local ffdshow repository and build it. Don't know when I'll get to test it but I'm curious to see how it compares to Cyberlink HAM/LAVF CUVID with madVR.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 22:07   #6880  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Firstly, thanks for the switch to a green OSD, it's much easier to read now.

I'm getting a large number of presentation glitches in 0.53. I tried increasing the backbuffers to 16, but that only made things worse, almost 500 in a 10 minute video.

http://www.mediafire.com/?725le1n1ai6985p
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.