Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th November 2015, 20:53   #34421  |  Link
Francois76l
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: France - Paris
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by e-t172 View Post
By "i1d3" I assume you mean Eye-One Display Pro? If so, you're probably doing it wrong. I regularly measure very deep black levels with that color sensor with no issues. Even if there were issues, it would most likely result in noise near black, as opposed to the sensor reporting a "perfect" black like you're suggesting. Are you sure your sensor is not faulty? What software are you using for the measurements?
Hello e-t172,
It's symply because you are calibrating monitors with the probe in contact of the screen. Try calibrate a projector and you will have the same problem. We all have this problem with i1d3 (i1 display pro).
It's why a gamma editor under madvr would be great.
__________________
HC:Onkyo TX-SR875+Boston VR2+CR8+VRC+Subwoofer MJ Acoustics Ref1 MKII
DISPLAYS:Panasonic P50ST50E/JVC DLA-X35+Lumene 240C
HTPC: i7 3770k@4.5Ghz+GTX660Ti+LAV+Avisynth+Madvr
==My Home Theater==
Francois76l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 22:07   #34422  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Im about to start using madvr with Jriver. Im only needing it for up to 1080p (no higher scaling) and wonder what the best settings I should be using for 1080p. I have a Sony 4k projector yet I don't want to scale to 4k as Im about to sell the projector for a new JVC which is still only 1080p. Im only using the system for ripped BDs on MKV 1:1 copy and a number of video files. Im using the Nvidia GeForce GTX 970 with 4GB ram card.

Many thanks!
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 22:15   #34423  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
Im about to start using madvr with Jriver. Im only needing it for up to 1080p (no higher scaling) and wonder what the best settings I should be using for 1080p. I have a Sony 4k projector yet I don't want to scale to 4k as Im about to sell the projector for a new JVC which is still only 1080p. Im only using the system for ripped BDs on MKV 1:1 copy and a number of video files. Im using the Nvidia GeForce GTX 970 with 4GB ram card.

Many thanks!
Try that (I assume this is 1080p -> 1080p):
  • Chroma: NNEDI3 128 neurons
  • Image: Jinc3 + AR
  • Image doubling: Off
  • Upscaling refinement: Off
  • Artifact removal - Debanding: Medium/High
  • Image enhancements: sharpen edges (0.5), thin edges (0.5)
  • Dithering: Error Diffusion 2
The value for image enhancements could vary widely based on preference and your display equipment. If your version of JRiver does not have these shaders yet, go without.

Without image upscaling, the subsampled chroma layer still has to be upscaled to the luma resolution (which requires chroma upscaling). Y'CbCr 4:2:0 is converted to Y'CbCr 4:4:4 and then to RGB. This high bit-depth RGB value must be reduced to the output bit depth (which requires dithering).

Post-processing includes possible debanding of the source, which is often present in an 8-bit source, which includes 1080p Blu-ray. Even if it is not, madVR's debanding is very slight and hardly noticeable but can make the overall image smoother.

Image enhancements (or image sharpening) brings out detail in the image by sharpening its contours. This can make the image appear more "surgical" but also more artificial in some cases. So, the use of image enhancements largely comes down to preference, especially if you are not replacing softness lost by upscaling. But it can replace some of the softness lost in the source when it was captured or compressed.

I may have conversed with you earlier at AVSForum. This is a long way of saying you can't do a lot to a 1080p source at that resolution, but madVR can still do something to improve it.

Last edited by Warner306; 27th November 2015 at 22:42.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 22:18   #34424  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
I think it's very safe to use SuperRes strength of 3 with 1080p content. It should be closer to ground truth than 1 when having scaling factor of 2x.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 22:44   #34425  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
I think it's very safe to use SuperRes strength of 3 with 1080p content. It should be closer to ground truth than 1 when having scaling factor of 2x.
I think he is outputting at 1080p.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 23:02   #34426  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Try that (I assume this is 1080p -> 1080p):
  • Chroma: NNEDI3 128 neurons
  • Image: Jinc3 + AR
  • Image doubling: Off
  • Upscaling refinement: Off
  • Artifact removal - Debanding: Medium/High
  • Image enhancements: sharpen edges (0.5), thin edges (0.5)
  • Dithering: Error Diffusion 2
The value for image enhancements could vary widely based on preference and your display equipment. If your version of JRiver does not have these shaders yet, go without.

Without image upscaling, the subsampled chroma layer still has to be upscaled to the luma resolution (which requires chroma upscaling). Y'CbCr 4:2:0 is converted to Y'CbCr 4:4:4 and then to RGB. This high bit-depth RGB value must be reduced to the output bit depth (which requires dithering).

Post-processing includes possible debanding of the source, which is often present in an 8-bit source, which includes 1080p Blu-ray. Even if it is not, madVR's debanding is very slight and hardly noticeable but can make the overall image smoother.

Image enhancements (or image sharpening) brings out detail in the image by sharpening its contours. This can make the image appear more "surgical" but also more artificial in some cases. So, the use of image enhancements largely comes down to preference, especially if you are not replacing softness lost by upscaling. But it can replace some of the softness lost in the source when it was captured or compressed.

I may have conversed with you earlier at AVSForum. This is a long way of saying you can't do a lot to a 1080p source at that resolution, but madVR can still do something to improve it.
Yes I was on AVSforums but thought it was best to move here and get the expert advice from the folk on here, thank you!

I will try these settings and yes I only are using 1080p in and 1080p out. Using JR I dont have any access to sharpening as they have sharpening turned off which is disappointing as I want it. Since I cant use the sharpening madvr offers I have to resort to the sharping on my VW1100 projector, which maybe isnt as good as marvr.
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 23:27   #34427  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
[*]Image doubling: Off
.
Warner I forgot to ask....

1. I havent used this forum in years but Im not getting any instant email notifications when someone posts on this thread even though Ive subscribed to it and have instant emails not ticked. Do you know whats might be wrong?

2. I have had all four image doubling sections turned on to always, is that why Im sure sometimes the BD images look at times to either skip or jump a tiny bit in places, something looks unnatural with the smoothness of the image?

3. What is image doubling for? As I also use a few files and trailers off youtube always trying to get 1080p/720p but sometime have to use 480, is image doubling good for these? If so can it be set so it doesnt play with the BD rips?

4. Also in the source section of madvr do I select projector since thats what I use?

Im running the HTPC via an HDMI splitter so one of the outs goes direct to the proj, the other out direct to the Marantz 8802 for audio only.
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2015, 23:49   #34428  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I think he is outputting at 1080p.
Oops, I just read "4k projector" and not further.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2015, 00:16   #34429  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Oops, I just read "4k projector" and not further.
Im only using 1080p > 1080p
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2015, 13:09   #34430  |  Link
Knight77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 54
After many many test I can confirm that the function to move the subs in the black bars



In both my PC works only if I use xysubfilter.dll 745 or previous . Why? Can anyone give me a solution about this? I'd like to use the last version :-(

I got that version by aracnoz in a post in Dsplayer thread and is the only one working (both in dsplayer and mphc)....

Last edited by Knight77; 29th November 2015 at 12:36.
Knight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2015, 19:54   #34431  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
Warner I forgot to ask....

1. I havent used this forum in years but Im not getting any instant email notifications when someone posts on this thread even though Ive subscribed to it and have instant emails not ticked. Do you know whats might be wrong?

2. I have had all four image doubling sections turned on to always, is that why Im sure sometimes the BD images look at times to either skip or jump a tiny bit in places, something looks unnatural with the smoothness of the image?

3. What is image doubling for? As I also use a few files and trailers off youtube always trying to get 1080p/720p but sometime have to use 480, is image doubling good for these? If so can it be set so it doesnt play with the BD rips?

4. Also in the source section of madvr do I select projector since thats what I use?

Im running the HTPC via an HDMI splitter so one of the outs goes direct to the proj, the other out direct to the Marantz 8802 for audio only.
1. I don't know anything about email updates and don't use this forum all that often. Someone else would have to help you with that one.

2-3. Image doubling and image upscaling are the same thing. Image doubling is a more sophisticated form of image upscaling. Its advantage is it's typically better in key measures of upscaling: sharpness, aliasing and ringing. But, its limitation is it can only double the image in both directions.

So, for image doubling to be useful, you need a scaling factor of at least 2x. When upscaling to 1080p, this represents a resolution of 960 x 540 (540 x 2 = 1080p). Image doubling + SuperRes(3) looks really great with SD content.

4. Yes, you want to set your device as a projector as this will open up a "screen configuration" option, which allows you to set the aspect ratio of your screen. Other devices assume you are always displaying the image at 16:9.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2015, 21:13   #34432  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
I'm using D3D11 in windowed fullscreen on Windows 10 for a few days now and so far there hasn't been a problem with playback jittering/tearing.
Either something has been fixed in the current Nvidia drivers (using 359.00) or it was the big Windows 10 November update.
However, instead now there sometimes is some graphical corruption on the desktop after leaving windowed fullscreen which disappers when moving a window over it or pressing F5. Probably either a NV driver or DWM bug, but it's very minor.

If the issue is really gone for good, madVR is totally bug-free for me in its current shape.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2015, 21:28   #34433  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
I need a helping hand again, if anyone can advice me.

I get random crashes (very often) when changing from normal to fullscreen, using right click and full screen, or alt+enter. The mpc-hc + madvr crashes, but windows does not crash. I wanted to ask, why this might happen, I will post a log file, if anyone can give me a hang on how to read the log file, or how to generate it.
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2015, 23:19   #34434  |  Link
truexfan81
Registered User
 
truexfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 138
i get a crash 1 out of every 3 times i launch a video lol and its only when using madvr, funny thing is the crash reports always point to the nvidia driver happens with absolutely every version of the nvidia driver too.
truexfan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2015, 06:47   #34435  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Try that (I assume this is 1080p -> 1080p):[list][*]Chroma: NNEDI3 128 neurons
.
I think I might still be getting dropped frames with my madvr set to 128 neurons, how to I test it, I believe there is a place in JRiver?

Also as I am actually running two monitors, the Sony VW1100 projector in the cinema and a 1080p monitor in the foyer, is madvr getting affected as its actually working on 2 display's?

The proj and the monitor at the same time...
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2015, 06:49   #34436  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
I think I might still be getting dropped frames with my madvr set to 128 neurons, how to I test it, I believe there is a place in JRiver?
Dropped frames are viewable in the OSD (CTRL-J)
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2015, 06:52   #34437  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
I think I might still be getting dropped frames with my madvr set to 128 neurons, how to I test it, I believe there is a place in JRiver?

Also as I am actually running two monitors, the Sony VW1100 projector in the cinema and a 1080p monitor in the foyer, is madvr getting affected as its actually working on 2 display's?

The proj and the monitor at the same time...
Reduce the number of neurons to 64.

This is taken from an online guide:

How Do I Measure the Performance of My Chosen Settings?

Once the settings have been configured to your liking, it is important madVR's settings match the capabilities of your hardware. To determine this, the menu below can be overlaid during playback by pressing Cntrl + J to provide feedback on your PC’s rendering performance. Combining several settings labelled Medium or higher will create a large load on the graphics card.

Rendering performance is dependent upon the average rendering and present time of each frame in relation to the movie frame interval. In the example below, a new frame is drawn every 41.71ms. However, at an average rendering time of 49.29ms plus a present time of 0.61ms (49.29 + 0.61 = 49.90ms), the computer is unable to keep up with the frame rate of the video. The result is dropped frames, presentation glitches and generally choppy playback. As such, settings in madVR will have to be dialed-down. Predicting the load placed on the graphics processor is factor of the resolution of the video and the display, as well as the frame rate and bit depth of the video. A video with a native frame rate of 30 frames/s will require madVR to work 25% harder than a video with a frame rate of 23.976 frames/s. It is advised to find a demanding source (SD or 720P) to test your settings, ensuring some headroom is left under the movie frame interval.

Display Rendering Stats:
Cntrl + J during full screen playback:
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2015, 15:21   #34438  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
madshi, could you add support for either arithmetic operators, or some more measures of throughput in the profile select rules? I ask because I'm pretty sure the amount of time it takes my GPU to apply a particular filter scales linearly with the amount of pixels it has to process. So if I know it can handle a particular profile for 720p30, I'd like to use that as an upper limit, so it uses the same profile up to 1280*720*30 = 27648000 pixels per second.

In a profile select rule, I imagine this would work like (srcWidth * srcHeight * deintFps <= 27648000), or (srcPixels * deintFps <= 27648000), or (srcThroughput <= 27648000), depending on what is available. Adding support for arithmetic operators (or at least multiplication) would generalize the rule selection nicely. In my case, I'd probably combine this with (srcWidth == targetWidth or srcHeight == targetHeight) to know when I only have to worry about chroma scaling.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2015, 20:10   #34439  |  Link
TheElix
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 236
What might be preventing Fullscreen Exclusive mode from activating on my computer? I have fresh-installed MPC-HC and madVR and it doesn't help.

Windows 10 x64
MPC-HC 1.7.10
madVR 0.89.17

Edit: Madshi, I uploaded log, bug report and DxDiag information in one archive: https://yadi.sk/d/8Y5cl6AAkyp5t Also, in this instance, the player also crashed. As it happens every single time now.

Last edited by TheElix; 4th December 2015 at 19:02.
TheElix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2015, 21:51   #34440  |  Link
Uoppi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 99
Hi, here goes first post! A little confused about madVR tags, so could someone please help and clarify which tags should be used in each of the following three cases:

1) Progressive segmented frame, i.e. 25 progressive frames divided/segmented into 50 fields. Meaning the video ought to be weaved into 25p. Does simply "deint=Off" do it? The auto deinterlacing seems to erroneously detect the material as interlaced, as per the container tag.

2) Progressive film stored on DVD as interlaced. Simply "deint=Off"?

3) Pal speedup removal of 25p content or film stored as interlaced on DVD (using Reclock). I'm guessing simply "frameRate=24" or "frameRate=23.976" (which one?)
Uoppi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.