Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd September 2003, 10:23   #21  |  Link
M_Micky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 4
Another small problem with language DLL :D

Thank you for "kick", it's working perfect, but I have another small problem, probably I'm stupid...
I try translate into Czech language and after compiling of resource and running of VirualDubMod I see on places with the special characters another characters, probably used another code page. Where I can say, what code page I want use?
M_Micky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2003, 15:21   #22  |  Link
Belgabor
VDubMod Devel
 
Belgabor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 826
You have to modify the VirtualDubMod.rc file for that. Pretty much at the start there are usually the lines
Code:
LANGUAGE LANG_ENGLISH, SUBLANG_ENGLISH_US
#pragma code_page(1252)
If i remember correctly you'll have to change those.
__________________
VirtualDubMod [SourceForge : Tracker/DL] (FAQ, Some rules)
Be sure to also download the latest DLL package or get the all inclusive package!
Before you post questions, please read the VirtualDub and/or VirtualDubMod FAQ.
If you have a bug report or feature request for VirtualDubMod, be sure to read the rules first.
We give 100% of your donations to the Open Source community
Belgabor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2003, 16:44   #23  |  Link
M_Micky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 4
Thank you very much, you're right, it's working perfectly.
For information, if I want use czech language, I must use these lines:
Quote:
LANGUAGE LANG_CZECH, SUBLANG_DEFAULT
#pragma code_page(1250)
M_Micky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2003, 09:40   #24  |  Link
yakuza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 19
about Virtual Dub

complete and utter newbie when it comes to Virt.Dub.
can someone simply explain the different steps for compressing a 200mb movie file to 140 mb ? it didnt say how to do this on the Virt. Dub FAQ BTW ...
yakuza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2003, 15:11   #25  |  Link
echooff
Hi Everyone
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Two Rivers
Posts: 762
Doom9 Guides

Step by step instructions
__________________
Live like there is no tomorrow!
Plan for your 100th birthday.
echooff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2003, 19:02   #26  |  Link
yakuza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 19
cofferscuffs, you forgot this question in your notorious faq :
i got the avi, but no sound with it. how do i "put" it in ?
yakuza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2003, 15:02   #27  |  Link
Belgabor
VDubMod Devel
 
Belgabor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 826
This is a FAQ for people with frequent problems, not a shortcut for those too lazy to look up info in the excellent guides on the doom9 main page.
__________________
VirtualDubMod [SourceForge : Tracker/DL] (FAQ, Some rules)
Be sure to also download the latest DLL package or get the all inclusive package!
Before you post questions, please read the VirtualDub and/or VirtualDubMod FAQ.
If you have a bug report or feature request for VirtualDubMod, be sure to read the rules first.
We give 100% of your donations to the Open Source community
Belgabor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2003, 20:47   #28  |  Link
yakuza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 19
and u dont consider what i wrote as a frequent problem ? right ...
yakuza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2003, 05:28   #29  |  Link
Belgabor
VDubMod Devel
 
Belgabor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 826
Well, you're actally the first one... (thats not very frequently )
__________________
VirtualDubMod [SourceForge : Tracker/DL] (FAQ, Some rules)
Be sure to also download the latest DLL package or get the all inclusive package!
Before you post questions, please read the VirtualDub and/or VirtualDubMod FAQ.
If you have a bug report or feature request for VirtualDubMod, be sure to read the rules first.
We give 100% of your donations to the Open Source community
Belgabor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2003, 05:08   #30  |  Link
seiryu
Registered User
 
seiryu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1
I tried to opened a avi file but I get a "Couldn't locate decompressor for format 'XXXX' (unknown)" error, although it plays fine with my movie player. What's the matter?
This is another facet of the vfw/dshow trouble. You seem to only have a DirectShow filter installed for the respective codec, but VirtualDub needs a vfw codec. This happens e.g. with xvid when you have only ffdshow installed.

With regards to the above FAQ, i would like to know how then do i solve the prob?

Where can i get the VFM compatible codec or how can i made my Virtualdub work ?
seiryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2003, 09:59   #31  |  Link
Belgabor
VDubMod Devel
 
Belgabor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 826
Convinced, I updated the FAQ.
__________________
VirtualDubMod [SourceForge : Tracker/DL] (FAQ, Some rules)
Be sure to also download the latest DLL package or get the all inclusive package!
Before you post questions, please read the VirtualDub and/or VirtualDubMod FAQ.
If you have a bug report or feature request for VirtualDubMod, be sure to read the rules first.
We give 100% of your donations to the Open Source community
Belgabor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2003, 17:46   #32  |  Link
shevegen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 413
hehe u gonna hate me but
is there a FAQ only webpage ?

and also, how about you make a wiki page for the faqs here, and set it that only some of the older guys and admins can change the content of these faqs? (btw these two suggestions are independent from each other!)

wiki rulez
virtualdub also!
shevegen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2003, 01:48   #33  |  Link
Belgabor
VDubMod Devel
 
Belgabor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 826
The VDubMod FAQ is on our homepage. The Wiki is actually a good idea. I'll think about it.
__________________
VirtualDubMod [SourceForge : Tracker/DL] (FAQ, Some rules)
Be sure to also download the latest DLL package or get the all inclusive package!
Before you post questions, please read the VirtualDub and/or VirtualDubMod FAQ.
If you have a bug report or feature request for VirtualDubMod, be sure to read the rules first.
We give 100% of your donations to the Open Source community
Belgabor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2003, 20:23   #34  |  Link
Raptus
heretic nuB
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 71
Re: [VirtualDub] *** FAQ *** <11/10/2003>

Quote:
Originally posted by cofferscuffs
VirtualDub is entirely vfw (Video for Windows) based, so it needs vfw compatible codecs for video and acm (Audio Compression Manager) compatible codecs for sound. To my knowledge there is neither a ac3 nor a dts acm codec (all are direct show and not usable by vdub).
The mpeg2 mod by fccHandler can handle (no pun intended ) ac3 sound, but only if the source is a mpeg2 file.
There is a ACM AC3 decoder, too by FccHandler:
http://fcchandler.home.comcast.net/AC3ACM/
Raptus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2003, 18:30   #35  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
error...

I have a litlle problem with vobsub+virtualdub
I was using the guide to put my avi into a svcd to play on my dvd

Abdul guide step 4

I did everything wat was explained but when get with this part , my computer just don't do anything .. it stays on 0 (after 10 minutes waiting and no activity of my hd I new there was something not working )

IU have downloaded the lastest virison virtualdub



File ---> start frameserver...
Je krijgt het volgende te zien, waarbij je op start moet klikken


In het volgende venster dat opent moet je een file naam opgeven
Geef het de naam film.vdr


Nu kom je in de frame-server mode


Dit venster moet je actief laten totdat je klaar bent met encoderen in tmpgenc.
(PS de waarden zullen allemaal nog 0 zijn; dit screenshot is gemaakt toen tmpgenc al bezig was met omzetten)




The avi file is cd 1 of this movie

File ---> start frameserver...
Je krijgt het volgende te zien, waarbij je op start moet klikken


In het volgende venster dat opent moet je een file naam opgeven
Geef het de naam film.vdr


Nu kom je in de frame-server mode

۲
P R O U D L Y P R E S E N T i N G : Lord of the Rings The Two Towers Extended Ed. ޲

THEATRE DATE : 12.05.02 [US] ޲
RELEASE DATE : 11.07.03
STORE DATE : 11.18.03
GENRE : Fantasy / Adventure
RUNTiME : 222 mins

# SCREENiNGS : 3,622 (Opening)
ViDEO : ~800kbps avg xvid
AUDiO : 128kbps VBR MP3
RESOLUTiON : 576x240
# DiSCS : 2 CD


Someone know what to do???? of what I did wrong

pc : win98 se
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2004, 20:12   #36  |  Link
cofferscuffs
uber-toddler!
 
cofferscuffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: munkee land whoosh!
Posts: 627
Re: Re: [VirtualDub] *** FAQ *** <11/10/2003>

Quote:
Originally posted by Raptus
There is a ACM AC3 decoder, too by FccHandler:
http://fcchandler.home.comcast.net/AC3ACM/
heh i havent visited these forums in ages, but people still seem to read what i originally wrote. oh well, i might edit it soon.
__________________
cC.
cofferscuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2008, 04:36   #37  |  Link
Honeyko
Registered User
 
Honeyko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 311
Quote:
It means your AVI contains VBR (variable bitrate) audio, usually mp3. Neither VDub nor AVI supports this, writing it into AVI is a hack that can lead to troubles (namely inconsistant desync and uncompressable video frames)....

I'm not sure if this is true anymore; when ripping to AVI, AutoMKV (for one) creates ABR (average bitrate) Lame audio by default. VdubMod can extract said audio, and AVImuxGUI can recombine it with video without sync issues.
Honeyko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 18:25   #38  |  Link
Wu-Tang
Registered User
 
Wu-Tang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg
Posts: 62
Hi
Can i fix it:
sample
Is it really?
__________________
There is time for everything and to everyone the hour.

If do you want to live-be able to twist.
Wu-Tang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2009, 21:38   #39  |  Link
EasyRider_
Registered User
 
EasyRider_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Greece
Posts: 16
Hi there..

Hey, since the 1,9x series i lost the "save job" option..

Is any new way to do this..?

(sorry for my English..)
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Use the defaults, Luke. Use the defaults."


> Obi-Web Kenobi
EasyRider_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2009, 21:53   #40  |  Link
Placio74
VideoAudio
 
Placio74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by EasyRider_ View Post
Hey, since the 1,9x series i lost the "save job" option..

Is any new way to do this..?
Yes. Look at Queue batch operation.


From mini-FAQ for VirtualDub 1.9.4 release:
Quote:
Q: What happened to the "defer this job" checkbox in the save dialogs?
A: I took it out because there were too many people who were checking it and then not realizing that it saved, and then thought the program was broken because it didn't do anything on a save operation. The batch commands have all been moved into a "Queue batch operation" submenu. Since this is less convenient than the previous location, 1.9.4 now allows you to configure keyboard shortcuts for any menu command in Options > Keyboard Shortcuts. This allows you to access the batch mode Save as AVI command directly.
__________________
VideoAudio.pl - Serwis o technologii wideo & audio
Placio74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
faq, virtualdub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.