Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th December 2009, 22:40   #10001  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,203
Quote:
Revision 3169 - Directory Listing
Modified Wed Dec 23 12:32:48 2009 UTC (7 days, 9 hours ago) by albain

H264 decoding fix with new Haali splitter
I really don't know why you did this? New haali does not see VC-1 streams in .m2ts container (I just tested). Also FFDshow is not used in Windows 7 during decoding AVC streams. Instead Microsoft decoder is used. Revision 3164 works without any problems and FFDshow is used.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2009, 00:21   #10002  |  Link
NiFa
Audio & video enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 74
I have AC3 encoding problem with revision 3171 my receiver doesn't get signal from my HTPC, I haven't changed any settings in ffdshow, with revision 3154 theres no problem at all.
Seems that in revision 3171 I can't choose which multichannel device to use for sounds.

Last edited by NiFa; 31st December 2009 at 00:28.
NiFa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2009, 11:03   #10003  |  Link
Gleb Egorych
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
I really don't know why you did this? New haali does not see VC-1 streams in .m2ts container (I just tested). Also FFDshow is not used in Windows 7 during decoding AVC streams. Instead Microsoft decoder is used. Revision 3164 works without any problems and FFDshow is used.
AFAIK it means ffdshow supports custom H.264 FOURCC introduced by new Haali splotter.
Gleb Egorych is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2009, 14:52   #10004  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
I really don't know why you did this? New haali does not see VC-1 streams in .m2ts container (I just tested). Also FFDshow is not used in Windows 7 during decoding AVC streams. Instead Microsoft decoder is used. Revision 3164 works without any problems and FFDshow is used.
There is a new media type in new Haali splitter for h264 streams.

This is intended to be used third party codecs instead of MS codec that are forced to be used in W7.

This is the trick Haali & coreavc team found to make use of 3rd party codecs

This new revision adds support to this new media type (FCC actually)
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2009, 15:58   #10005  |  Link
Nyquist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiFa View Post
I have AC3 encoding problem with revision 3171 my receiver doesn't get signal from my HTPC, I haven't changed any settings in ffdshow, with revision 3154 theres no problem at all.
Seems that in revision 3171 I can't choose which multichannel device to use for sounds.
Ok, looks like I'm not alone. It made me mad why there was no sound anymore.
Nyquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2009, 17:51   #10006  |  Link
_xxl
ffdshow user
 
_xxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 818
There is a regression in ffdshow audio part... If I seek in some avi files sound is lost.
EDIT:
Fixed by uninstall 3154 and then install 3178.

Last edited by _xxl; 6th January 2010 at 13:27.
_xxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2009, 18:35   #10007  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
There is a new media type in new Haali splitter for h264 streams.

This is intended to be used third party codecs instead of MS codec that are forced to be used in W7.

This is the trick Haali & coreavc team found to make use of 3rd party codecs

This new revision adds support to this new media type (FCC actually)
Well, ffdshow can't connect to haali on my pc. I'm running win 7 x64 and I've been using latest version of each program.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2009, 18:57   #10008  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
Well, ffdshow can't connect to haali on my pc. I'm running win 7 x64 and I've been using latest version of each program.
Weird, I have made some tests and sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't

About this regression, can you tell me from when it occurs (I remind that HD bitstream merges has been done in revision 3160) ?
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2010, 16:13   #10009  |  Link
crlorentzen
Audio Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: East Coast, USA.
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiFa View Post
I have AC3 encoding problem with revision 3171 my receiver doesn't get signal from my HTPC, I haven't changed any settings in ffdshow, with revision 3154 theres no problem at all.
Seems that in revision 3171 I can't choose which multichannel device to use for sounds.
I find that my DTS passthrough doesn't work correctly with the latest builds, for some reason it shows up as AC3 (DOLBY DIGITAL) on my receiver. Plus there is a cosmetic bug with the AC3 passthrough checkbox, it may look unchecked but it is still passing through. Reverted to 3154 just like you and the issue is resolved. No setting changes or anything.

Glad to see I am not alone.

Last edited by crlorentzen; 2nd January 2010 at 05:08.
crlorentzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 12:32   #10010  |  Link
iron2000
Questioning User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 163
Enabling the Deband filter makes the video stutter for me, the video lags behind the audio.
I have no problem with the x86 version back in Windows XP though.

Using ffdshow x64 (3164) on Windows 7 Pro x64 with MPC-HC x64 (1.3.1448.0) + EVRCP.
__________________
8 Pro x64 | i5-3470 | 8GB ram | GT430 | Xonar DX | MPC-HC x86
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 12:46   #10011  |  Link
Leak
ffdshow/AviSynth wrangler
 
Leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 2,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by iron2000 View Post
Enabling the Deband filter makes the video stutter for me, the video lags behind the audio.
I have no problem with the x86 version back in Windows XP though.

Using ffdshow x64 (3164) on Windows 7 Pro x64 with MPC-HC x64 (1.3.1448.0) + EVRCP.
Look at the player's CPU usage - I'm pretty sure there is no optimized 64 bit assembly code for DeBand, so it's CPU use will go through the roof, which in turn will cause exactly what you described...

np: Bibio - Bones & Skulls (The Apple And The Tooth)
__________________
now playing: [artist] - [track] ([album])
Leak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 13:35   #10012  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxl View Post
There is a regression in ffdshow audio part... If I seek in some avi files with mono mp3, sound is lost.
I have too many things in parallel, could you have a look or help me out on that one ?

The only part of code that I changed concerning analog audio is the waveformatex structures management in TsampleFormat class but I dont see how this could affect seeking.
The right method would be to compare debugview logs between working and non working build.

Thanks
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 13:38   #10013  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by crlorentzen View Post
I find that my DTS passthrough doesn't work correctly with the latest builds, for some reason it shows up as AC3 (DOLBY DIGITAL) on my receiver. Plus there is a cosmetic bug with the AC3 passthrough checkbox, it may look unchecked but it is still passing through. Reverted to 3154 just like you and the issue is resolved. No setting changes or anything.

Glad to see I am not alone.
Could you delete (after backing up) the ffdshow_audio registry key and retry with a recent build ?
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 16:13   #10014  |  Link
iron2000
Questioning User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leak View Post
Look at the player's CPU usage - I'm pretty sure there is no optimized 64 bit assembly code for DeBand, so it's CPU use will go through the roof, which in turn will cause exactly what you described...

np: Bibio - Bones & Skulls (The Apple And The Tooth)
Hmm, ok.
Its just as you say, it want up to 60+ on CPU with deband on.

By the way, what else is not x64 optimized yet?
__________________
8 Pro x64 | i5-3470 | 8GB ram | GT430 | Xonar DX | MPC-HC x86
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 16:26   #10015  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,526
I have noticed in the last couple of builds that I have to select the decoder for h264 after install. It seems to not remember the selected decoder when I install.
rack04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 18:00   #10016  |  Link
dev84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
I have noticed in the last couple of builds that I have to select the decoder for h264 after install. It seems to not remember the selected decoder when I install.
I have the same thing.
dev84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2010, 18:01   #10017  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,667
Will fix that asap.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2010, 02:38   #10018  |  Link
pdubau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leak View Post
0x80040207 means "VFW_E_NO_ACCEPTABLE_TYPES (There is no common media type between these pins.)" - did you enable "Raw video" on ffdshow's codecs page, i.e. set it to "all supported"?

np: Ricardo Villalobos - Dexter (Alcachofa)
I am tyring to use ffdshow raw video filter as a WME9 plugin and get the same error message. Is there a resolution to this issue, or is it just a dumb user error on my part?
pdubau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2010, 04:20   #10019  |  Link
crlorentzen
Audio Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: East Coast, USA.
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
Could you delete (after backing up) the ffdshow_audio registry key and retry with a recent build ?

DTS piano http://www.digital-digest.com/dvd/do...ilers.html#vob (1st column 3rd row)

ffdshow version - Receiver states (between each version I delete the entire GNU key under HKLM\SOFTWARE, install the new version, check Audio settings to ensure it has DTS Passthrough enabled.)

3154 - DTS (DTS SURROUND)
3164 - DD (Dolby Digital)
3175 - DD (Dolby Digital)

Return to 3154 - DTS

Windows XP (32-bit) SP3
ADI1985 on-board audio

Also tried full uninstall of ffdshow and re-install with 3175 after cleaning out all registry etc about ffdshow and got the same failure.
crlorentzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2010, 12:09   #10020  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Ok thanks I will test your sample
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.