Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd August 2019, 20:27   #57201  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
So is it not fixed with latest 19.8.1 ?

I have OLED LG C6 55"

It may will be, i'm running 19.2.2, i dont upgrade any more unless I have to, no point as there have been no major updates to MADVR, this issues are minor for me, happy to stay as is.

Note this problem goes back as far as 16.8.x.x so i dont hold out any hope of it ever gettting fixed but i'm just not bothered as my system is 100 % working no frame drops or banding.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 198.1
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.72.2 - FSE / 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2019, 21:21   #57202  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 801
i tried the latest, still not fixed, seems fine otherwise.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 198.1
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.72.2 - FSE / 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 09:18   #57203  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 49
5700/5700XT owners please check HDR passthrough at 8 bit in madVR devices->properties.
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 09:42   #57204  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 174
What issue are you looking for?

Update - HDR engages, but the image is washed out set at 8bit. Why would you want to set HDR at 8bit?
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.9.2) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M33i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 24th August 2019 at 09:52.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 10:44   #57205  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 49
To match the driver settings of the video card - UHD/8bit/RGB/60Hz. Nvidia has no problem with this.

Last edited by DMU; 24th August 2019 at 11:00.
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 10:49   #57206  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,778
if it is washed out you either set it up incorrectly or it doesn't work with AMD or your TV.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 10:51   #57207  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 174
Works fine with HDR set at 10 bit (Madvr device properties), so Im not sure I understand what you are saying?
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.9.2) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M33i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 11:06   #57208  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,778
AMD API need 10 bit input no matter what to trigger HDR.
you have to wait for madshi to update the AGS to even have a chance for 8 bit HDR.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 11:07   #57209  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 49
oldpainlesskodi thanks. You are correct. AMD still does not support 8 bit HDR from madVR.
huhn, are you think the problem is at madVR only?

Last edited by DMU; 24th August 2019 at 11:14.
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 11:16   #57210  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
AMD API need 10 bit input no matter what to trigger HDR.
you have to wait for madshi to update the AGS to even have a chance for 8 bit HDR.
Ok. With it set at 10 bit in Madvr device properties, 60hz HDR kicks in with correct colors fine (obviously at 60hz the output to the screen is 8bit using Full RGB).

So, I'll ask again, why would you want to set Madvr to 8bit to watch HDR? Isnt 10bit part of the HDR spec?
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.9.2) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M33i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 24th August 2019 at 11:22.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 11:19   #57211  |  Link
skydreamer888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
@madshi

Nowadays the bandwidth of DisplayPort 1.2 or 1.4 is not enough for monitors with combination of high resolution, high refresh rate and 10-bit. Those monitors require compromises like lowering refresh rate, lowering bit depth to 8-bit or chroma subsampling depending what target you want to achieve.

It is possible to implement an automatic switch of combinations of resolution, refresh rate, bit depth and color format in madVR?

Thank you.

Last edited by skydreamer888; 24th August 2019 at 11:22.
skydreamer888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 11:22   #57212  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,778
HDR is not 10 bit and clearly not RGB on UHD BD. your TV supports 8 bit RGB so it has to be a spec.
video encoding/presentation and processing are very different things. 8 bit panels in Tv are very common even in flag ships and that's fine if the processing is fine too.

and why would you want to set madVR to 8 bit why not? sending 10 bit to the driver so it will change it to 8 bit is clearly not good.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 11:25   #57213  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 174
Sorry, clearly I've lost the plot, as there I was thinking we were discussing HDR playback on a 4K TV that would, one way or another, by default have to support 10bit - my bad...
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.9.2) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M33i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 12:07   #57214  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 504
The TV supports 10-bit input but of course not with RGB at 60 Hz so you either have to send YCC 4:2:2 10-bit or RGB 8-bit. If you output YCC 4:2:2 obviously you lose chroma precision, but you also risk the graphics driver using lower quality conversion so many people using madVR prefer sending 8-bit RGB even with HDR, but as AMD insists on 10-bit for its HDR API it's the graphics driver that is doing the 10- to 8-bit dithering for output, and it would be better if madVR was doing it.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 12:18   #57215  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 174
Makes perfect sense, from a technical point, but given all UHD HDR movies are 23p or 24p (apart from a few), why is it an issue? I guess thats what I am failing to understand.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.9.2) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M33i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 24th August 2019 at 12:22.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 12:37   #57216  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,778
judder issues in TV where 60 hz is better and the movies you have named.

pretty much every Tv performances better with 8 bit then 10 bit.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 13:03   #57217  |  Link
mgermo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Little help guys. Amd card, oled c8. When I manually switch hdr in win10 (madvr set to choose), everything is ok (pic 1). If i want hdr passthrough by choosing d3d11 10bit, hdr passthrough, display shows hdr tag but blacks are crushed (pic 2). On hdmi front everything is set to full (0-255). Any ideas?

pic1

pic2
mgermo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 13:18   #57218  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 801
HDR may invoke a diffrerent preset for HDR, you may not have configured your black level, if your black level is set to "LOW", try changing it to HIGH.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 198.1
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.72.2 - FSE / 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 13:45   #57219  |  Link
mgermo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Thats the thing. OS HDR works as intended, AMD HDR is crushed. On tv (hdr settings) and gpu its on high, full, also madvr and lan video decoder. Dont know where else to set it.
p.s. Basicly it seems d3d11 is to blame, but dont know what i can do about it.

Last edited by mgermo; 24th August 2019 at 14:23.
mgermo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2019, 16:24   #57220  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Overlock your card, reduce chroma settings down, remove any unnecessary prost processing (more than one sharpener, debanding) change some trade quality for performance options.
Madvr needs only memory overclock? Or it needs both core and memory overclock?

Last edited by Siso; 24th August 2019 at 16:48.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.