Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th January 2015, 20:27   #27961  |  Link
dbcooper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 43
Hi Madshi, the problem seemed to start with 0.87.11 - it was not present in 0.87.10.

The problem is when I am using a second display (e.g. my Samsung UE40H6400 TV, via HDMI, and an AMD HD7790 GPU). I can force film mode on the primary display, but not when the MPC-HC window is on the secondary display. When I toggle through modes, it just goes through auto and video, and skips film.
dbcooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2015, 00:53   #27962  |  Link
shaolin95
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
yep, but you can always try DXVA and CUVID:
But that is odd because on LAV Video filter I see CUVID selected. I guess is not a big deal since we are shooting for best IQ and that is what I understand madvr is doing after all.
shaolin95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2015, 02:49   #27963  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,782
DXVA and CUVID decoding (it's the same any way) doesn't have an effect on this.

these settings effect madVR when DXVA scaling is used.

next thing is deinterlacing. madVR uses DXVA deinterlacing with a interlaced input stream. and again there is no difference between CUVID or DXVA deinterlacing (CUVID HQ is deinterlacing with inverse telecine checked in the driver). you can change the type of deinterlacing at least with AMD but the sharpening settings and so on doesn't have an effect on this (just tested with amd).

there is "nothing" to gain from CUVID any more it only forces your GPU in a high powerstate. and with active deinterlacing you can't use madVR IVTC for telecine streams any more. which can be easily trigger with a hot key.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2015, 14:51   #27964  |  Link
mandarinka
Registered User
 
mandarinka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 732
http://www.pcper.com/news/Displays/C...esync-Monitors

FreeSync monitors finally out (almost). It appears that at least some will hit the shelves this month?
mandarinka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2015, 20:56   #27965  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,630
That is very good news but not relevant for madVR as it is currently. It would be interesting to have madVR be G-sync (or FreeSync) aware, it seems like it would be possible to have the audio and video sync be very exact without smooth motion, basically like Reclock but adjusting the video frame timing instead of re-sampling the audio. This would also be great for bit-streaming without smooth motion.

I have been playing with G-sync (PG278Q) and madVR. If madVR goes into full screen exclusive mode G-sync activates but the image flickers quite often which does not happen in games. Also, as expected, it does not refresh at the move frame rate but at 143.5 Hz (I have "use fastest mode available" enabled). If I don't have g-sync enabled or don't use FSE madVR reports a refresh rate of 144 Hz. I believe madVR would need to not present frames in advance but instead only present new a frame when it should be displayed.

As it is now I cannot use full screen exclusive with G-sync enabled but this is not a problem.
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2015, 23:10   #27966  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
Without looking it up, I'm assuming G-Sync and Freesync have fluid refresh rates where you can update the screen at any time (with a minimum time between updates of course, which'd translate to a maximum refresh rate). If so, that is pretty damned cool and I'm surprised it's taken so long to happen. I came up with the idea about a decade ago.

In terms of video playback, it's probably most useful for mixed telecined/interlaced content in 60 Hz regions.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 00:38   #27967  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 568
This article, which unfortunately is in French, contains the following information, which I'm translating:

Quote:
One should note that FreeSync is not usable on the Windows desktop and needs fullscreen exclusive mode to work, which makes it incompatible with most video players. That said, the video player bundled with Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 is FreeSync compatible and the refresh rate will adapt to the video format, thereby ensuring perfectly smooth playback.
The last bit about video playback is quite interesting, maybe it could apply to madVR as well if madshi decides to support it.
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 09:57   #27968  |  Link
kalston
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 164
I think the old fullscreen exclusive mode should in theory work with G-Sync but I couldn't get the old FSE to work with my GTX 970 and latest drivers. Might give it another try when I get the chance.
kalston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 13:54   #27969  |  Link
Toco
Registered User
 
Toco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 10
How should I configure devices - calibration and devices - color & gamma settings if I am using Samsung S24D590PL display with color profile from this review (direct link to .icm file)?
Toco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 15:51   #27970  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,782
there are multiply ways to do this
option 1 (low quality):
load the icm in windows color management. (there is a well known bug in windows where calibrations are not loaded at all the work around is a different program or run the windows calibration program 1 time picture(just press next and down't change anything))
in madVR:
set calibration to: "this display is already calibrated"
don't check "disable GPU gamma ramps"
optional set color & gamma to pure power curve 2.4.

option 2 /high quality): create a 3d lut from the icm and load it with madVR.
set madVR to "calibrate this display by using external 3DLUT files"
load the file in bt 709.
check "disable GPU gamma ramps"

i crated two 3d lut from the icm file samsung_s24d590pl.icm for you: http://www.file-upload.net/download-...3d-lut.7z.html

i can't check them because i don't have that screen.

one is bt 709 gamma 2.2 an old standard the other one is a bt 1886 3d LUT the new way to do it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 16:50   #27971  |  Link
Warlock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
there are multiply ways to do this
option 1 (low quality):
load the icm in windows color management. (there is a well known bug in windows where calibrations are not loaded at all the work around is a different program or run the windows calibration program 1 time picture(just press next and down't change anything))
in madVR:
set calibration to: "this display is already calibrated"
don't check "disable GPU gamma ramps"
optional set color & gamma to pure power curve 2.4.

option 2 /high quality): create a 3d lut from the icm and load it with madVR.
set madVR to "calibrate this display by using external 3DLUT files"
load the file in bt 709.
check "disable GPU gamma ramps"

i crated two 3d lut from the icm file samsung_s24d590pl.icm for you: http://www.file-upload.net/download-...3d-lut.7z.html

i can't check them because i don't have that screen.

one is bt 709 gamma 2.2 an old standard the other one is a bt 1886 3d LUT the new way to do it.
huhn, this same process works in Benq XL2420T?
Warlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 17:17   #27972  |  Link
Toco
Registered User
 
Toco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
there are multiply ways to do this
option 1 (low quality):
load the icm in windows color management. (there is a well known bug in windows where calibrations are not loaded at all the work around is a different program or run the windows calibration program 1 time picture(just press next and down't change anything))
in madVR:
set calibration to: "this display is already calibrated"
don't check "disable GPU gamma ramps"
optional set color & gamma to pure power curve 2.4.

option 2 /high quality): create a 3d lut from the icm and load it with madVR.
set madVR to "calibrate this display by using external 3DLUT files"
load the file in bt 709.
check "disable GPU gamma ramps"

i crated two 3d lut from the icm file samsung_s24d590pl.icm for you: http://www.file-upload.net/download-...3d-lut.7z.html

i can't check them because i don't have that screen.

one is bt 709 gamma 2.2 an old standard the other one is a bt 1886 3d LUT the new way to do it.
Thank you. I followed "option 2" instructions and it looks like everything is ok(at least, colors are not broken). Btw, how to use "bt 1886 3d LUT"?
Toco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 17:42   #27973  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toco View Post
Thank you. I followed "option 2" instructions and it looks like everything is ok(at least, colors are not broken). Btw, how to use "bt 1886 3d LUT"?
you load it like a bt 709 3d LUt

bt 1886 is a different gamma the gamut is still bt 709.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 19:30   #27974  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,170
I'm jus thinking about something. Why do the video profiles have to be configured manually? Thinking about it, it could be auto-configured pretty easily.

Let's say I'm running with SVP and madVR has 16.6ms to render each frame. What I would manually do is open each resolution of video (288p, 360p, 480p, 720p, 1080p) in Widescreen, press CTRL+J and create a profile that brings the rendering time as close to 16.6ms as possible.

madVR could do these tests and build these profiles itself.

or... perhaps even better, it could try various settings until it gets close to its maximum allowed rendering time, and cache these results. If there are dropped frames, it would automatically lower the settings, if rendering time gets lower, it would automatically higher the settings.

Is something like this in the road-map?

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 06:19.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 21:18   #27975  |  Link
ikarad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalston View Post
I think the old fullscreen exclusive mode should in theory work with G-Sync but I couldn't get the old FSE to work with my GTX 970 and latest drivers. Might give it another try when I get the chance.
Why old? It's the also the current fullscreen exclusive mode.
ikarad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 21:21   #27976  |  Link
ikarad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by e-t172 View Post
This article, which unfortunately is in French, contains the following information, which I'm translating:



The last bit about video playback is quite interesting, maybe it could apply to madVR as well if madshi decides to support it.
Madvr support since long time fullscreen exclusive mode, then gsync must be compatible.

Last edited by ikarad; 7th January 2015 at 21:25.
ikarad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 21:48   #27977  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikarad View Post
Why old? It's the also the current fullscreen exclusive mode.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikarad View Post
Madvr support since long time fullscreen exclusive mode, then gsync must be compatible.
No. Fullscreen exclusive mode is a necessary condition, not a sufficient one. My understanding is that madVR's new presentation path cannot make use of G-Sync/FreeSync because it has no way of telling the display when to display a specific frame (the frames presented in advance are simply displayed at the display's nominal refresh rate). I guess maybe it could work with the old path, but since madVR relies on VSync information which is made meaningless in this scenario, I would be surprised if it did.

Most likely madVR needs to be made G-Sync/FreeSync aware for this to work. In the past madshi said he had no intention on working on this. Maybe he will change his mind considering that's where the PC monitor market seems to be heading full steam.
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 22:09   #27978  |  Link
kalston
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 164
There are two fullscreen exclusive modes in madVR, just like there are two different windowed modes.

I recall the old fullscreen mode being like the regular windowed mode, so a 24fps film would send 24 fps to the display (as reported by fraps), regardless of your monitor refresh rate, while the new presentation mode will send a number of frames corresponding to whatever your refresh rate is - and thus g-sync can't really do anything but run at the max refresh rate.

That is what I was referring to. But yes I'm not entirely sure it would work either.
kalston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2015, 22:13   #27979  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Does anyone have any programming documentations in regards to G-sync / freesync? In particular, I'm looking for a way to automatically detect if it's enabled, and what its lower limit is (30Hz at the moment for both I was told, but I'd hate to hardcode that into a player).
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2015, 03:33   #27980  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalston View Post
There are two fullscreen exclusive modes in madVR, just like there are two different windowed modes.

I recall the old fullscreen mode being like the regular windowed mode, so a 24fps film would send 24 fps to the display (as reported by fraps), regardless of your monitor refresh rate, while the new presentation mode will send a number of frames corresponding to whatever your refresh rate is - and thus g-sync can't really do anything but run at the max refresh rate.

That is what I was referring to. But yes I'm not entirely sure it would work either.
Testing both FSE modes they seem to behave the same with regard to G-sync, lots of flickering and Fraps reports ~143.5 Hz not 24 Hz in both modes. 24 Hz is too slow for G-sync anyway, even if madVR did send it.

Interestingly MPDN does not flicker when using G-sync with any of its D3D modes (9, 10, or 11).
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.