Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th November 2016, 18:43   #21221  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,729
you should select the subtitle filter of your choice under mpc-be-> options -> subtitles.

1. there is no need to disable anything if you set the external filter as preferred.

3. should be fine.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 19:08   #21222  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 216
Thanks

So i've to delete xysubfilter from external filters? I've it setted in subtitle options yet.

1. yes, i set them as preferred. I have to turn back selected internal filters or i can leave them deselected? asking just to be sure :P
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 19:19   #21223  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by steakhutzeee View Post
So i've to delete xysubfilter from external filters? I've it setted in subtitle options yet.
you can you don't have to. i personally would remove the external filter so it is easier to change the subtitle filter if needed.
Quote:
1. yes, i set them as preferred. I have to turn back selected internal filters or i can leave them deselected? asking just to be sure :P
doesn't matter i recommend to change as least options as possible.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 19:44   #21224  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 216
Ok, thanks.

Removed it from ex. filters. So i'll leave internal disabled.

What about difference between lav splitter and lav splitter source? But it automatically download subs too?
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM

Last edited by steakhutzeee; 11th November 2016 at 21:13.
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 23:17   #21225  |  Link
strumf666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 94
What is the difference between splitter/source?
strumf666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2016, 08:49   #21226  |  Link
Magik Mark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 538
Hi nevcairiel!

I just need to be clarified if lav supports hardware acceleration on a video that is is 4:2:2 10bit x265?

Experimented on one today. It seems the "GPU" icon doesn't show in MPC-BE which is an indicator that GPU is being utilized. Lav icons are no where to be found as well in the task bar. Is it a bug?
__________________
Asus X99 Sabertooth - Xeon E5 2695 - Asus Strix GTX 960 4G - DDR4 16GB Predator - Pioneer KRP 600M (isf calibrated) - Yamaha A3030 - Windows 10 x64 - Kodi with DSplayer - Lav - MadVR - XYsubtitle
Magik Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2016, 08:50   #21227  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,759
4:2:2 is generally not hardware accelerated. Only 4:2:0.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2016, 10:53   #21228  |  Link
Magik Mark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
4:2:2 is generally not hardware accelerated. Only 4:2:0.
May I ask why? Is this a lav limitation or GPU?
__________________
Asus X99 Sabertooth - Xeon E5 2695 - Asus Strix GTX 960 4G - DDR4 16GB Predator - Pioneer KRP 600M (isf calibrated) - Yamaha A3030 - Windows 10 x64 - Kodi with DSplayer - Lav - MadVR - XYsubtitle
Magik Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2016, 10:57   #21229  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magik Mark View Post
May I ask why? Is this a lav limitation or GPU?
Its a hardware limitation.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2016, 15:19   #21230  |  Link
uneedme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 41
pretty strange......

I have got a second-hand display card

when i use this one to play movies it is causing tearing of the screen......

when i chose filters other than lavfilter everything went well......

it never happened on my old card......

My card is amd hd 6700 series (asus 6750)

drivers are all the latest......









only when use "lavfilter" filter could have this issue so i could be sure it is lavfilter's problems.......

wish it could be fixed in the later version......

Thx for all your greatwork
uneedme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2016, 15:33   #21231  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,881
I can't see your images inline, because PhotoBucket wraps them in an ad-bloated website... so here as links:

^ These artefacts are not what people would usually mean by the term "tearing" (which is instead an asynchronity between frame rate and screen refresh rate, and you won't be able to capture that in a screenshot).

In your case, it seems to be either a decoding error or a rendering error. Regarding the amount of issues and their pattern in the 4th image, probably the latter.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Last edited by LigH; 12th November 2016 at 15:36.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2016, 18:48   #21232  |  Link
uneedme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
I can't see your images inline, because PhotoBucket wraps them in an ad-bloated website... so here as links:



^ These artefacts are not what people would usually mean by the term "tearing" (which is instead an asynchronity between frame rate and screen refresh rate, and you won't be able to capture that in a screenshot).

In your case, it seems to be either a decoding error or a rendering error. Regarding the amount of issues and their pattern in the 4th image, probably the latter.

I dont know how to describe it...... so i say tearing......

did some test on it after the post...

potplayer:


lavfilter decoder:

vmr9 -rare occasions
EVR(CP) -always
d3d9 -always
madshi randerer -never
opengl randerer -never


ffmpeg decoder:

vmr9 -rare occasions and less effect
EVR(CP) -rare occasions and less effect
d3d9 -rare occasions and less effect
madshi randerer -never
opengl randerer -never

Last edited by uneedme; 13th November 2016 at 08:45.
uneedme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2016, 17:11   #21233  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 216
I've to enable and prefer "File Source (Async)" using lav splitter?
In this page i read that lav splitter source is an old version of lav splitter, so which i've to use?
https://bypureland.wordpress.com/201...D%89%E8%BC%89/
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2016, 17:37   #21234  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,729
don't think to much about just add all 4 and you are fine the rest is automatic.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2016, 19:29   #21235  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 216
All right, thanks
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2016, 21:21   #21236  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,976
LAV Splitter Source = LAV Splitter combined with its own file source filter

Adding both is fine.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2016, 01:15   #21237  |  Link
Nintendo Maniac 64
Registered User
 
Nintendo Maniac 64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
No, thats not possible. Which hardware can handle 720p but not 1080p? and if you decode 1080p in software, why not lower resolutions as well?
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
That doesn't answer why you wouldn't just decode everything in software then, your CPU is clearly fast enough.

I'm not a fan of adding more options for rare/exotic use-cases.
Sorry for the delayed response; I had email notification set to "weekly".



My reason is simple - as I am on a laptop, I don't want to unnecessarily produce more heat/spin up the fans/consume more power than necessary when on battery.

In other words, I don't want to completely disable DXVA2 and deal with the according reduction in battery life (especially with 60fps 720p videos) just because I want to be able to watch 1080p videos when plugged in to the wall.

Last edited by Nintendo Maniac 64; 14th November 2016 at 01:18.
Nintendo Maniac 64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2016, 09:59   #21238  |  Link
VictorLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintendo Maniac 64 View Post
In other words, I don't want to completely disable DXVA2 and deal with the according reduction in battery life (especially with 60fps 720p videos) just because I want to be able to watch 1080p videos when plugged in to the wall.
Do your laptop not support 1080p hardware acceleration? Can you provide hardware (model of laptop, CPU, GPU if present) and software (OS and player with renderer you use or tried) configuration? Although in any case you have to manually switch from None to DXVA2 in settings of LAV Video Decoder depending on resolution of played video and on battery/on electrical line.
PS. You are lucky - you have this possibility - many people of the world who see artifacts with DXVA can not switch it of in LAV Video Decoder and they don't know about LAV CUVID Decoder. They have to switch off hardware acceleration because they have no choice (but sometimes with weak CPU it is impossible to decode smooth 1080p without hardware acceleration). I hope for them that nevcairiel will add possibility to switch off DXVA Processing in LAV Video Decoder.

Last edited by VictorLS; 14th November 2016 at 11:22.
VictorLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2016, 12:01   #21239  |  Link
TheShadowRunner
Registered User
 
TheShadowRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 399
Hi nev, I have a strange subtitle bug when using LAV splitter 0.68.1.
It's certainly related to the fact my htpc is still running XP 32bit, but I hope a fix is possible ^^;
In effect, when using LAV Splitter Source, some subtitles signs are missing:
http://videoff7.free.fr/samplecbbp_LAV.png
http://videoff7.free.fr/samplecbbp_haali.png
sample: http://videoff7.free.fr/samplecbbp.mkv
when using Haali, it displays just fine.
Absolutely everything else in the decoding chain is unchanged, I only alter the splitter source.
Can you make sense of it? I looked/tried everything and couldn't ^^;
Thanks.
__________________
XP SP3 / Geforce 8500 / Zoom Player

Last edited by TheShadowRunner; 15th November 2016 at 12:04.
TheShadowRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2016, 13:23   #21240  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,881
Interesting issue. Apart from the exclamation mark and double quotes being handled like "non-printable characters" and being substituted by empty placeholders (just a kind of space char, with a wider width than the excl.), all other alphanumeric characters appear to be quite identically rendered.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.