Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > PC Hard & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th August 2018, 10:51   #41  |  Link
ShogoXT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 84
https://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/...90wx_review/11

Reviews are out. 2990wx is worse than the 2950x even in x264 and x265. In nearly every other workload it beats the core i9.

Edit: Actually I was hasty. Seems hit and miss. 2950 looks good though. People are blaming memory usage or thread utilization on Windows. Linux is a bit better.


https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pa...x-2990wx&num=5

Last edited by ShogoXT; 14th August 2018 at 11:01.
ShogoXT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 12:04   #42  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,527
Well you need 4 instances of x265 to saturate all those 64 threads. Those amateurs just run handbreak and expect to have full utilization.
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 17:26   #43  |  Link
ShogoXT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Well you need 4 instances of x265 to saturate all those 64 threads. Those amateurs just run handbreak and expect to have full utilization.
Does that x265 benchmark run multiple instances? Or is it just ripbot that does that? I post on a few tech forums so I could get at least one to consider updating their test setup.
ShogoXT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 18:01   #44  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,527
My x265 FHD Benchmark runs 5 instances at once.
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2018, 18:32   #45  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
Odd. I use Adobe Camera Raw (through Photoshop) for my Nikon raw files which is basically the same as Lightroom and it clearly uses all 4 cores of my i5 2500K, whether I make adjustments or convert a bunch of raw files to tif/jpeg.
Bulk exports, sure. Interactive editing is still heavily dependent on single threaded performance. This has been getting better, but it's still a big deal.
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:50   #46  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
Bulk exports, sure. Interactive editing is still heavily dependent on single threaded performance. This has been getting better, but it's still a big deal.
As I mentioned, whatever I do in ACR, be it adjusting exposure, sharpening/noise reduction, etc., all of the 4 cores are being used, quite evident by looking at the CPU usage in Task Manager.
Disabling all but 1 core in the BIOS makes interactive editing very slow and choppy, confirming the advantage of multiple cores.

However, after some research it seems that Lightroom/ACR fails to efficiently utilise more than 4 cores which means that the new, shiny ThreadRipper won't be of much use in this context.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 14:20   #47  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,527
Looks like there are some serious issues with scheduler in windows. 5 instances of x265 running and 2990WX just chokes


Source -> https://www.xfastest.com/thread-221870-1-1.html
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 14:22   #48  |  Link
ShogoXT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
My x265 FHD Benchmark runs 5 instances at once.
Im trying to bug some reviewers about it right now.

Question: How many does Ripbot264 usually do?

I hope to see more benchmarks made out of VPX and whenever AV1 encoders are finally stable. H265 patent problems have really slowed down the video compression world and we will have to catch up quick after AV1 gets around.
ShogoXT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 14:30   #49  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,527
Quote:
Question: How many does Ripbot264 usually do?
It is up to the user. You can run even 16 instances if you are working with some low resolution footage (DVD)
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.