Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th January 2010, 13:22   #61  |  Link
roozhou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Sad. Hoped for an easy way to create vfr files from cfr input in linux (without needing wine and avisynth) by:
1. reencode input with x264 (creating a .264 and a timecode file)
2. convert audio (creating a bunch of .mp3, .aac, .ac3 files)
3. multiplex subtitles, audio, video with the timecode file and a bunch of tags

Would it be hard to output mp4 time code files?
You don't need it because we have ffmpeg. Timecodes are only needed when you are using outdated frameworks that does not correctly handle timestamps.(e.g. avisynth, vfw)

1. encode input with x264 and create a vfr mp4
2. convert audio
3. multiplex subtitle, audio and video using ffmpeg

I know there are several bugs in ffmpeg's muxers, but one day ffmpeg will handle all these things.
roozhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2010, 15:00   #62  |  Link
bob0r
Pain and suffering
 
bob0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,337
Patch used: "x264.LAVF.FFMS.input.public.beta.test.v2.2.diff", it's not public and probably not v2.2 eighter, i just saved it as 2.2 instead of 2.1 (laziness).
This patch was given to me by Dark to fix a x264 configure issue.

- pthreads, gpac, ffmpeg and ffmpegsource all compiled with gcc 4.4.2 aswell.
- upx --lzma --best x264.exe

x264.1376.LAVF.FFMS.gcc.4.4.2.make.exe
x264.1376.LAVF.FFMS.gcc.4.4.2.make.upx.exe
x264.1376.LAVF.FFMS.gcc.4.4.2.make.fprofiled.exe
x264.1376.LAVF.FFMS.gcc.4.4.2.make.fprofiled.upx.exe

What do we want to know? Are there any (encoding) speed differences?
Do they work at all? Compare them to Dark's .exe.
bob0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2010, 16:34   #63  |  Link
roozhou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob0r View Post
What do we want to know? Are there any (encoding) speed differences?
Do they work at all? Compare them to Dark's .exe.
I don't think we should care about speed atm but focus on fixing various bugs concerning ffmpeg input. Is there any improvement in v2.2?
roozhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2010, 16:44   #64  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
I don't think we should care about speed atm but focus on fixing various bugs concerning ffmpeg input. Is there any improvement in v2.2?
"2.2" is outdated, should wait on the current revision.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob0r View Post
- pthreads, gpac, ffmpeg and ffmpegsource all compiled with gcc 4.4.2 aswell.
and supply what options you gave to configure for your ffmpeg compile....
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2010, 17:27   #65  |  Link
bob0r
Pain and suffering
 
bob0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
I don't think we should care about speed atm but focus on fixing various bugs concerning ffmpeg input. Is there any improvement in v2.2?
Speed between the versions, not speed input wise.

And yeah the patch is outdated, just need to know if it runs at all. (If there are no GCC 4.4.2 issues.)
bob0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2010, 17:33   #66  |  Link
roozhou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemuri-_9 View Post
"2.2" is outdated, should wait on the current revision.
Where is the current version?
roozhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2010, 18:08   #67  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,666
A lot of the "bugs" at this point are bugs in FFMS and in LAVF. Most programs don't run into these bugs because they use constant framerate, or they hack around them in ugly fashion.

For example, we have issues with:

1) LAVF returning invalid PTS (duplicate PTS, and sometimes AV_NOPTS_VALUE)
2) FFMS returning wrong FPS and broken PTS on telecined files
3) FFMS breaking on raw video AVIs
4) FFMS breaking on .h264 files
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2010, 02:05   #68  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
I hope all the FFMS problems can be fixed and backported to the standalone FFMS2 plugin for Avisynth. Better FFMS2 source would be great
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2010, 15:08   #69  |  Link
popper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
You don't need it because we have ffmpeg. Timecodes are only needed when you are using outdated frameworks that does not correctly handle timestamps.(e.g. avisynth, vfw)

1. encode input with x264 and create a vfr mp4
2. convert audio
3. multiplex subtitle, audio and video using ffmpeg

I know there are several bugs in ffmpeg's muxers, but one day ffmpeg will handle all these things.
as i understand it <kierank> intends at some point to try and make a generic DVB-* style 'Stat Mux' capable TS (Transport Stream) framework for x264, so industrial Timecode capability and even New stat mux and related timecode insertion/editing apps if the need arises will be useful in the future for many AVC x264 things it seems, although its not clear exactly how he will impliment it yet!

BTW why dont you spend time on the #x264dev IRC roozhou ?,
http://gogloom.com/client2/index2?ma...nel=%23x264dev
your coding skills will help out there for review and patchs etc it seems.

Last edited by popper; 11th January 2010 at 15:16.
popper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2010, 21:31   #70  |  Link
SledgeHammer_999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
I hope all the FFMS problems can be fixed and backported to the standalone FFMS2 plugin for Avisynth. Better FFMS2 source would be great
I second that!

Also, (I haven't tested it) but does it handle subs too?(hardsubbing them mainly)
SledgeHammer_999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2010, 21:35   #71  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
as the avs plugin is a wrapper around the FFMS2 API, the same API that x264 uses, any issues found and fixed should also be fixed for the avisynth plugin.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SledgeHammer_999 View Post
Also, (I haven't tested it) but does it handle subs too?(hardsubbing them mainly)
no.
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 03:56   #72  |  Link
roozhou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by SledgeHammer_999 View Post
I second that!

Also, (I haven't tested it) but does it handle subs too?(hardsubbing them mainly)
I have improved vsfilter.dll's csri interface and hardsub works perfectly with my dshow x264 build under windows. As soon as ffmpeg input in x264 is finished, this can be easily port to lavf input. However hardsub requires true timestamp for each frame not fake cfr or average fps.
roozhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 08:17   #73  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
a request: could be added a --size XXX parameter ?

using this option x264 will compute the bitrate (on 2 pass encoding) to achive the size requested

thanks

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 21:04   #74  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
a request: could be added a --size XXX parameter ?

using this option x264 will compute the bitrate (on 2 pass encoding) to achive the size requested
I one sets --bitrate yyyyy --size xxxx: who will be the winner? The last parameter superseding the first one?
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 21:25   #75  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by roozhou View Post
I have improved vsfilter.dll's csri interface and hardsub works perfectly with my dshow x264 build under windows. As soon as ffmpeg input in x264 is finished, this can be easily port to lavf input. However hardsub requires true timestamp for each frame not fake cfr or average fps.
Can we expect this to be ported into FFmpegSource?
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 21:29   #76  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
a request: could be added a --size XXX parameter ?

using this option x264 will compute the bitrate (on 2 pass encoding) to achive the size requested

thanks

BHH
IMO a "--size" parameter would be kind of superfluous. All it would do is set "--bitrate" to "size/duration", which can be calculated easily before calling x264.

Also x264 doesn't always know the duration in advance! As far as I understood, it doesn't know the framecount in advance with the "lavc" demuxer, only with the "ffms2" demuxer. And of course with Avisynth.

It doesn't know the number of frames for sure when reading source from STDIN, unless the user passes "--frames" explicitly. So how should "--size" behave in those situations ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
I one sets --bitrate yyyyy --size xxxx: who will be the winner? The last parameter superseding the first one?
In that case, if "--size" really is added, x264 should abort with error, because the user has set contradictory options...
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 13th January 2010 at 23:59.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 23:49   #77  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
In that case, if "--size" really is added, x264 should abort with error, because the user has set contradictory options...
x264 doesn't abort at present if you do --bitrate x --crf y. The latter option would be used. Whether it should, I don't know.

But I agree, with your statement that it is pointless.
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 03:09   #78  |  Link
bnshrdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 103
In my opinion, the whole --size option shouldn't be part of the program that does the encoding, but part of a front-end, as it has been done in the past. (MeGUI, Staxrip, and others....)

But then again, I have the whole linux way of looking at things, one program should have one task. I don't want to see my media players turn into web browsers .
bnshrdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 04:44   #79  |  Link
roozhou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
It doesn't know the number of frames for sure when reading source from STDIN, unless the user passes "--frames" explicitly. So how should "--size" behave in those situations ???
--size should work in 2nd pass.
roozhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 07:58   #80  |  Link
kypec
User of free A/V tools
 
kypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SK
Posts: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnshrdr View Post
In my opinion, the whole --size option shouldn't be part of the program that does the encoding, but part of a front-end, as it has been done in the past. (MeGUI, Staxrip, and others....)
My words exactly. If someone is not able to calculate the most simple algebra of elementary school (Bitrate = Size / Duration hence Size = Bitrate * Duration) he shouldn't be using x264 at all.
It really goes beyond my comprehension why an author of multiple x264 GUI's [buzzqw] would have requested such useless option...
kypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
beta, ffmpegsource, libavformat, test, x264


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.