Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th April 2019, 05:03   #55821  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
edit: it's me doing pan & scan - scale to 16x9

now if someone could help me with the gpu spike. It went from like 61% to 97/98% after upgrading to the 4k tv. is that normal?
then don't do that and it should be fine.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 12:53   #55822  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
It sounds like you need to change your settings, madVR can bring pretty much any card to 98% usage when upscaling 4K. Both the number of input pixels and number of output pixels matter when scaling so doing 2160 -> 2679 is going to be very hard. Downscaling or especially not scaling at all is much faster. If you are watching 4K going from downscaling to upscaling, when switching to full screen, is going require very different settings.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 13:00   #55823  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by toki View Post
ok, screwing around with it some more shows me that if I run mpc-hc with controls still up, not going into full screen, gpu usage is at about 76%, full screen gives me 97/98%. I swear this can't be right for a 1660ti.
Are you playing UHD movies? These use the HEVC/H.265 codec to highly compress the video, which puts a huge strain on the CPU if you're using software decoding.

The 1660ti has a dedicated video processing chip for encoding/decoding HEVC. Go into your LAV Video settings and choose hardware decoding. From the dropdown list, choose "NVENC". Once you do that, your CPU usage should drop way down.

As far as GPU usage goes, you shouldn't need to do any scaling for 4K UHD movies. With no scaling to do, madVR will not tax your GPU to the degree you're seeing. If you're upscaling 1080p movies with NGU, make sure you're ONLY doubling (not quadrupling then downscaling) and play around with the strength settings. Your GPU should do at least NGU High for luma upscaling with no problem.

Last edited by jkauff; 19th April 2019 at 13:21.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 13:12   #55824  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 57
well, taking scale to 16x9 drops down gpu from 98% to 76%, but the video still stutters and I really want to be able to watch these movies in full screen.

Also, the CPU barely has any load on it, it's all on the gpu side.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 13:26   #55825  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 433
Then I think you must be doing unnecessary scaling, either up or down or both. My GTX 1080 doubles 1080p to 4K fullscreen with much lower usage than you're getting--50% on average. I don't have any UHD movies, so I can't give you a comparison there.

Last edited by jkauff; 19th April 2019 at 13:36.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 13:42   #55826  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 57
I just tested with dsplayer and it has dropped gpu usage massively. I'm only getting 40% tops using it instead of mpc-hc

Edit: I also wanted to add that I haven't completely set up dsplayer again. I just tried to run it with fresh install and it dropped cpu usage by almost half. Will still have to see as I continue to set it up proper.

Edit Edit: it's definitely madVR. As soon as I switched to madvr profile it went right back to 97%

Last edited by toki; 19th April 2019 at 14:24.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 14:43   #55827  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,124
Post the settings you are using, either in screenshots or in a list. It's either the driver for the 1660 Ti or something you have checked in the control panel.

Are you at least outputting to the correct resolution?
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 15:59   #55828  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 57
it's the beta build of madvr doing it. I went from last public build, giving me 59% to last beta build giving me 97/98% I'm just going to start fresh with madVR. Since it's a new tv, just going to try and setup everything fresh and take it step by step.

Last edited by toki; 19th April 2019 at 16:04.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 16:10   #55829  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
That'll likely be the new tone-mapping settings which you don't require.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 16:23   #55830  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 57
now I have a problem of video stuttering when trying to pass through metadata with passthrough.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 16:51   #55831  |  Link
Charky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by toki View Post
it's the beta build of madvr doing it. I went from last public build, giving me 59% to last beta build giving me 97/98% I'm just going to start fresh with madVR. Since it's a new tv, just going to try and setup everything fresh and take it step by step.
Well if everything's fine with it just use the last public build...
Charky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 17:06   #55832  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 275
Do I still get calibrated picture with hdr to sdr 3dlut or it's just for tone mapping?
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 17:35   #55833  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
if you use an HDR-SDR 3D LUT it is only used for HDR nothing else is corrected and it replaces madVR tonemapping.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 18:05   #55834  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
Do I still get calibrated picture with hdr to sdr 3dlut or it's just for tone mapping?
This is not what you want.

Set your tv its widest gamut SDR mode.

Use that with madvr's dynamic tonemapping.



HDR only specifies the data spec, the actual Dynamic range in both HDR / SDR on the SAME tv is more/less the same.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 19:09   #55835  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 275
A bit confused.I have a BT.709 display and I am like this.
Is it suggested to create a gamma 2.2 BT.2020 3dlut(removing hdr to sdr 3dlut obviously) and put it in the calibration tab leaving madvr to do the tone mapping or am I doing the same thing?

Last edited by Damien147; 19th April 2019 at 19:13.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 19:18   #55836  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 130
Here's a very interesting conversation about 3DLUTs in madVR.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post55172290
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 20:16   #55837  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 57
this is being so finicky. I got it to 59%, I tinkered around checking different movies, that's all, just checking different movies, then I stop it for a second and when I go to check it again it's back up to 90%. I didn't even do anything with it.

Edit: I checked task manager and it's bringing up like 4 instances of madvrcontrolpanel. I click all but one and it goes back down in gpu usage.

Last edited by toki; 19th April 2019 at 21:07.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 21:26   #55838  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
A bit confused.I have a BT.709 display and I am like this.
Is it suggested to create a gamma 2.2 BT.2020 3dlut(removing hdr to sdr 3dlut obviously) and put it in the calibration tab leaving madvr to do the tone mapping or am I doing the same thing?

NO,

Put tv in its Widest gamut mode, @ whatever brightness you like, or the highest.

Then, run dispcal 3d lut for SDR, Source DCI-P3, 2.2gamma, relative, 98% black output offset. absolute colorimetric w/ white point scaling

Leave black point correction alone unless using plasma/oled/CRT.


Put that into the dci-p3 slot in madvr calibrations, under the SDR section.

In HDR section, set to use pixel shader for dynamic, And it will just use that lut after tonemapping..


It is recommended you watch hdr tonemapped movies in near pitch black conditions, room around 5-10cd. Because the relative lut makes it very dark.

If you use rec 1886 lut which is absolute tone, it will brighten black detail for a bright room, However it won't look very HDR-y because the contrast seems gone.


I also don't recommend using 100% black output offset, because it's just a little too much crush. I've compared dark images extensively against my CRT, 98% brings out just the right amount of detail, without eating into the contrast.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 19th April 2019 at 21:37.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 21:27   #55839  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by toki View Post
this is being so finicky. I got it to 59%, I tinkered around checking different movies, that's all, just checking different movies, then I stop it for a second and when I go to check it again it's back up to 90%. I didn't even do anything with it.

Edit: I checked task manager and it's bringing up like 4 instances of madvrcontrolpanel. I click all but one and it goes back down in gpu usage.
It shouldn't change that much unless your gpu was clocking up and down.

What is your entire movie chain detailed hardware spec and software .
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 21:34   #55840  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by toki View Post
this is being so finicky. I got it to 59%, I tinkered around checking different movies, that's all, just checking different movies, then I stop it for a second and when I go to check it again it's back up to 90%. I didn't even do anything with it.

Edit: I checked task manager and it's bringing up like 4 instances of madvrcontrolpanel. I click all but one and it goes back down in gpu usage.
You should check madVR's OSD to see what is different when you see lower/higher GPU usage. You do have your "Power management mode" set to adaptive in the Nvidia Control Panel?

Also, "madvrcontrolpanel"? Do you mean "mad* home cinema control"? I only ever see one of those, what is bringing them up?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.