Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th October 2018, 19:27   #53101  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
on my LG EF950 OLED my chain is as follows - AMD GFX 4:4:4 FULL RGB 8 bit - MADVR 0-255 - TV "HIGH" - pretty sure this is correct.

Should be the same for HDR and SDR content.
Yes, but Black Level = Low works well with my Panasonic UB820 bluray player with SDR and HDR content. Not sure why it is different with a PC connected.
__________________
My HTPC : i7 6900K @ 4.2 | nVidia GTX 1080Ti | TV : Samsung 75Q9FN QLED
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 19:35   #53102  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,294
I'm guessing you have the UB820 set to YCbCr Auto, yes? That COULD be part of the difference. Maybe.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 19:38   #53103  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betroz View Post
Yes, but Black Level = Low works well with my Panasonic UB820 bluray player with SDR and HDR content. Not sure why it is different with a PC connected.

your UB820 will be sending a limted signed to your TV where you PC will be sending FULL RGB, hence the difference.

SamuriHL - sorry missed your reply
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 19:42   #53104  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Because a dedicated player uses YCbCr and a PC uses RGB. YCbCr does not use 0-255. It uses 16-235. This is why smart displays have an 'auto' setting. To detect the input and adjust the output. This 'auto' adjustment defaults to 16-235 on my panel. I think panels are programmed around dedicated players. So are 'devices'. This introduces the havoc we PC users face.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 20:19   #53105  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,294
To deal with that issue on your PC, you could set madvr to 16-235 (limited), the GPU to RGB FULL, and the TV to auto. It SHOULD show correctly in that configuration.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 20:38   #53106  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
why should you even use auto if it doesn't work and just runs at limited.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blaubart View Post
0-255 - the half sample (0-10%) I see nearly nothing then at ~ 16% I can read the letters.
16-235 - even 2% appears as it should be. Maybe madVR is a bit broken?
if you mean with madVR your end device yes could be.
for what ever reason is looks like needs limited range for HDR.

Quote:
Ok only if I set to RGB output and then open the TV's picture menu the option "HDMI Black Level - Normal/Low" is switchable. "Normal" means 16-235 and the complete desktop now washed out. Nvidia output limited/full has no more effect cause TV's input is limited.
that'S not how it works.
if set your GPU to full range RGB it will send full range RGB if your end device like it or not.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 20:56   #53107  |  Link
blaubart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
On a Samsung - what you are using - "Normal" is not 16-235. Low is. Normal is 0-255.
Please open a grayscale and switch between Normal and Low. The darker one is 0-255.
Using RGB it is easy to double the effect (not recommended) - set GPU to RGB "full" and TV to "HDMI Black Level - Low" resulting in "blacker then black" and "whiter than white".

@ all
Unfortunately TV manufacturers give their HDMI levels randomly changing phantasy names. The one that sounds somehow lower, weaker is mostly 0-255. To find out which is which a grayscale is helpful.
Unfortunately2, if everything is set wrong some +/- ticks at TV's brightness/contrast and covered.

Only the differences remain - e.g. if madVR is playing 16-235 at non-HDR (although set to 0-255) and playing real HDR in real 0-255. Yes beat me but to my excuse - the differences are somehow tiny..
blaubart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 20:59   #53108  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
why should you even use auto if it doesn't work and just runs at limited.
I don't. I use RGB - 4:4:4 - 0-256 everything software and hardware.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 21:08   #53109  |  Link
blaubart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
that'S not how it works.
if set your GPU to full range RGB it will send full range RGB if your end device like it or not.
Ok but it seems to work. The upper/lower digits are cutted. TV playing everything 16-235. Even the desktop (washed out colors) and even madVR playing 0-255 HDR.
blaubart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 21:20   #53110  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Have a read.

https://pcmonitors.info/articles/cor...-and-amd-gpus/
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 21:24   #53111  |  Link
nussman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaubart View Post
Please open a grayscale and switch between Normal and Low. The darker one is 0-255.
Using RGB it is easy to double the effect (not recommended) - set GPU to RGB "full" and TV to "HDMI Black Level - Low" resulting in "blacker then black" and "whiter than white".
The darker one should be 16-235 ...
nussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 21:41   #53112  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
I'm guessing you have the UB820 set to YCbCr Auto, yes? That COULD be part of the difference. Maybe.
Under HDMI settings menu :
- 4K(50p/60p) 4:4:4
- Colour Mode : YcbCR (Automatic)
__________________
My HTPC : i7 6900K @ 4.2 | nVidia GTX 1080Ti | TV : Samsung 75Q9FN QLED
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 21:42   #53113  |  Link
blaubart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
Because a dedicated player uses YCbCr and a PC uses RGB. YCbCr does not use 0-255. It uses 16-235. This is why smart displays have an 'auto' setting. To detect the input and adjust the output. This 'auto' adjustment defaults to 16-235 on my panel. I think panels are programmed around dedicated players. So are 'devices'. This introduces the havoc we PC users face.
Obviously my 'device' does not have this feature which would be the solution. At the moment no money here to buy an other. Hoping for madshi to realize the "16-235 only playing HDR" Button or so..
blaubart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 21:45   #53114  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
To deal with that issue on your PC, you could set madvr to 16-235 (limited), the GPU to RGB FULL, and the TV to auto. It SHOULD show correctly in that configuration.
I have to rename HDMI 1 to "PC" in my TV port settings, then Black Level can be set to Auto. But in PC mode, I can't enable TruMotion at all, and I need that. So I have to have "HDMI 1" set for that port - and then the Black Level option is only Low or High...

Edit : typos and stuff
__________________
My HTPC : i7 6900K @ 4.2 | nVidia GTX 1080Ti | TV : Samsung 75Q9FN QLED

Last edited by Betroz; 10th October 2018 at 21:48.
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 21:51   #53115  |  Link
zapatista
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 16
HI Madshi,

i just replaced my old ati 5770 with a gtx 1060 (3gb) , but i have major dropped frames in madvr when playing video since i installed this card (about 10/sec). this is even with default madvr settings, and using mpc-hc (64 bit).
pc = i7-4770k cpu, 32 gb ram, ssd 500 gb, and new 1060 3gb gfx card on a win7 64 bit system

other video players work fine, eg cyberlink powerdvd, vlc, mplayer without madvr is also ok, etc
i have tried several gfx drivers (latest whql, version on the install dvd, best recommended by other users for similar video card etc..), all no solution. also checked for mb driver & bios updates etc (all are up to date). gfx card has no alternative bios release to try.
i did search for other users w madvr reporting similar problems but the main suggestions (from yourself earlier in this thread for ex) was to turn flux off and not use gpu-z, didnt seem to help in my case


https://ibb.co/eQ0VZU

when i first installed the new 1060 gfx card i thought it was working correctly, even was able to play some 4k HEVC files smoothly(downscaled to my 1080 tv over hdmi) and was really impressed with the quality of the video image (as i was expecting from madvr from my old ati card use in previous yrs), but then further testing with 1080p and 720p files (mp4 and HEVC) over the following days all started to have similar severe dropped frames (tried lots of settings in madvr options, but now even default settings with all enhancements off now cause dropped frames 10/sec approx)

i have reset madvr to defaults, uninstalled and reinstalled mpc-ht etc, sadly no solution found so far. cpu usage stays low @ 30% approx, and gpu load is also low @ approx 30% with only 900 mb of the 3 gb vram used (as reported by gpu-z)

any idea what i should look at ?

Last edited by zapatista; 10th October 2018 at 22:05. Reason: jpeg upload
zapatista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 22:25   #53116  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
your presentation times are terrible try windows 7 overlay.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 23:12   #53117  |  Link
blaubart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betroz View Post
I have to rename HDMI 1 to "PC" in my TV port settings, then Black Level can be set to Auto.
Here renaming HDMI 1 to "PC" results in completely different (2 instead of 4) Picture modes, Black Level is grayed out and set to Auto. But unfortunately madVR playing HDR still black-ish.
blaubart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 23:15   #53118  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
a profile should be able to fix this for you.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 23:27   #53119  |  Link
famasfilms
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 17
Has something changed recently with Windows 10 updates/New nvidia drivers?

None of my HDR movies triggering "HDR on" with my LG OLED
famasfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2018, 23:36   #53120  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,294
Yes, either roll back to 399 or use FSE with HDR content.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.