Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th August 2018, 23:05   #52181  |  Link
direxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
If you can't get this working, you can output from madVR at 10-bits Full and RGB 8-bit Full from the GPU and still get HDR passthrough. There is another conversion step (10-bits to 8-bits), but chroma upscaling is maintained.
Nice, this is working.

I always assumed that when I set my GPU to 8 bit I also need to set MadVR to 8 Bit, but with MadVR@10 Bit I get HDR passthrough - even though my GPU is set to RGB Full@8Bit. And the cool thing is that with anything below 30Hz MadVR/the GPU automatically switches to RGB@10Bit. Very nice.

Last edited by direxx; 24th August 2018 at 23:36.
direxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2018, 23:33   #52182  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,878
what ever madVR outputs is not the same to what the GPU outputs.

match bit deep is not wrong here and nvidia will gladly send 8 bit HDR.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2018, 08:03   #52183  |  Link
foobar2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 17
folks, I have a question, usually our monitors are set to 60hz, while watching 24fps movies, does madvr convert to 60fps since our monitors is 60hz? (monitor faster than the content)

what if, if someone uses Intel's built-in video output, which only supports 4k/24fps through HDMI 1.4, and he's watching 4k 24fps videos, does he get smooth motion, all in all the monitor itself supports 60hz but Intel makes his display stick for 24hz right now (monitor faster than the content, but monitor set to the same fps like the content does)
foobar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2018, 08:57   #52184  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,878
madVR does not convert to 60 HZ does not always produce a perfect 3:2 judder since his last statement. that's why madVR has smoothmotion to convert it to "60hz" well ~48 hz but what ever to simulate an output that looks like true 24 HZ.

if you are using an HDMI 1.4 limited GPU and you try to use it on a UHD screen that does not support 24 HZ it will not be able to send a signal and will just stay blank.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2018, 20:49   #52185  |  Link
mv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 15
Guys, what possibly could cause presentation glitches (both in statistics and visible by eye) in Full Screen Windowed mode once in a minute or two?
FSE with same settings (upscale and processing) works without issues. Tried changing almost all madVR settings (including processing, upscale, render queue length, DXVA), changed Nvidia driver version but glitches are still there and only in FS Windowed mode.
mv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2018, 22:12   #52186  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Windows 10 has a new "Focus Assist" feature that needs to be completely disabled. Also f.lux causes presentation glitches.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2018, 12:12   #52187  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 536
Basically any other application that uses the GPU can cause presentation glitches.
You can use Windows' performance monitor tool perfmon.exe to try and look for what is hogging the GPU at regular intervals.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2018, 21:52   #52188  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
I hope madshi is spending some time on those Photoshop plugins. I can already imagine how awesome it would be to have a de-noise tool that does not leave any or much ringing around objects...
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2018, 23:55   #52189  |  Link
mv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 15
Thanks for hints guys!
I've sorted out that remote control software was causing those glitches (even in standby mode with no connected clients). After switching to another software glitches are gone. Thanks again!

BTW
Some time ago I was asking about madvr playback freezes with unstable IPTV UDP streams by my local internet provider. I was able to avoid them by enabling UDP proxy on my router and forming new playlist with http streams instead of UDP. First few seconds of playback are still a painful spectacle with artefacts and glitches but at least it doestn't freeze now.
mv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2018, 17:57   #52190  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by mv View Post
Thanks for hints guys!
I've sorted out that remote control software was causing those glitches (even in standby mode with no connected clients). After switching to another software glitches are gone. Thanks again!

BTW
Some time ago I was asking about madvr playback freezes with unstable IPTV UDP streams by my local internet provider. I was able to avoid them by enabling UDP proxy on my router and forming new playlist with http streams instead of UDP. First few seconds of playback are still a painful spectacle with artefacts and glitches but at least it doestn't freeze now.
What is the name of the remote control software that caused glitches? Which one is the new software you use now that doesn't cause glitches?
Klaus1189 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2018, 12:29   #52191  |  Link
BluesFanUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldnebel View Post
madVR always puts a big smile onto my face. It's unbelievable nice what NGU (very sharp) can do to relative clean 1080p recordings upscaled to a 2160p screen. It's time to say thank you to madshi for such a nice video renderer. It looks like madshi is also the king of optimization. My 1080 GTX can do NGU doubling to 4k res in combination with edge sharpening, detail enhancement and error diffusion dithering in around 28 ms. That's enough for every 23 or 24 fps movie and even for 29 fps videos.


What is not working for me is the custom resolution functionality on Windows 10 1803.
Yeh, my 980ti can just about manage NGU High, it sounds like a aircraft though after a few mins though....
BluesFanUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2018, 12:37   #52192  |  Link
mv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
What is the name of the remote control software that caused glitches? Which one is the new software you use now that doesn't cause glitches?
I was using LiteManager and switched to RAdmin for now.
mv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2018, 11:56   #52193  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by BluesFanUK View Post
Yeh, my 980ti... sounds like a aircraft though after a few mins though....

noise is the biggest problem for me now with MADVR, its so bad on my RX 580 i've had to move back down to NGU Low from HIGH, have been getting high with sub 20ms rendering which is pretty good for polaris.

Thought about watercooling my card but to expensive and too much of a faff.

I've done as much soundproofing as I can, you can only go so far before you ambient temps get too high, my PC is now idling about 45 degrees which isnt great.

My previous card, RX 460 used to be very loud and could barely manage NGU LOW though so upgrading to the RX 580 was still a good buy for me as I can get NGU LOW on 40% GPU fan which is pretty much silent.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2018, 13:13   #52194  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,878
you should check benchmark to see how a card is performing in term of temps and noise.

i can't remember a card i brought that was even remotely loud.
if it was the r9 270, 760, rx 480 or my 1060 "all" where properly cooled and never good loud at all temp and not problems too.

and i don't even use a case fan...

there is no way other none reverence cooled mid range cards are that bad. try a custom fan curve and don't forget 80 degree is save for a modern GPU. or even lower the power target, under volt and/or under clock the cards.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2018, 13:25   #52195  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 402
Regarding chroma upscaling is this true? I saw it in a guide:
"The sharpness of the algorithm used in chroma upscaling section should not exceed the sharpness of the algorithm used in the image upscaling section. It could be the same, but not exceed it."
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2018, 13:32   #52196  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
Regarding chroma upscaling is this true? I saw it in a guide:
"The sharpness of the algorithm used in chroma upscaling section should not exceed the sharpness of the algorithm used in the image upscaling section. It could be the same, but not exceed it."
Its basically pointless to use a sharper chroma scaler then Luma. If you have processing power to spare, use a better Luma scaler instead.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2018, 13:39   #52197  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Its basically pointless to use a sharper chroma scaler then Luma. If you have processing power to spare, use a better Luma scaler instead.
Thank you for the info. In my case I can't use anything higher than Jinc for luma upscaling.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2018, 13:42   #52198  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,878
while i totally agree that you should not use processing intensive scaler on chroma if you have to scale luma. but i disagree on the sharpness.

i personally use super XBR 125-150 on chroma and super XBR 100 on image scaling.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2018, 13:44   #52199  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
while i totally agree that you should not use processing intensive scaler on chroma if you have to scale luma. but i disagree on the sharpness.

i personally use super XBR 125-150 on chroma and super XBR 100 on image scaling.
I guess you use image doubling, right? I'm on 2560x1080p monitor watching 1080p movies, and I see no point in using image doubling, image upscaling imho is enough.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2018, 14:00   #52200  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,878
even on a 1440p screen doubling can be cheaper.

ngu AA low and super xbr maybe cheaper and may give you better results.

but yes i'm doubling and without doubling i personally pref super xbr 100 for chroma.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.