Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st April 2018, 14:37   #50001  |  Link
tyrindor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
Masybe remove everything in registry i mean like whole string restart pc and see what is there, or maybe look trough there if there isnt anywhere:

ActiveSize.cx =
ActiveSize.cy =

with your dodgy native 480p resolution and change it to 3180x2160
I deleted that entire reg directory and restarted, the end result was 1 entry that was set to 3840x2160. I then played HDR, had it resize my windows, restarted again, and still only 1 entry. Editing those entries fixed my dual monitor woes in the past, but I think this issues is entirely different.

I feel it is caused by windows briefly losing HDMI handshake completely as the receiver or TV switches modes (HDR on to HDR off). Windows handles this very poorly, and seems to force a 480p signal while it waits for a display to be detected again. Windows lacks the ability to remember window size based on resolution, so all your windows just get resized to 480p. I removed all other resolutions but 4K from the EDID on my receiver/TV and it still didn't fix the issue, I don't know what else it could possibly be. Since I am not the only one with this happening, I can only assume it's a bug with NVIDIA or Windows, and the lack of reports might be because there aren't many people running 4K HDR displays yet.

I'll be setting up MadVR on a friend's computer soon, and I am interested to see if it happens on his too. Though, he has the same TV, graphics card, and receiver so I fully expect it to.

Last edited by tyrindor; 1st April 2018 at 14:51.
tyrindor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2018, 17:40   #50002  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
Ok will do

Can i use reclock with it or not ?
Don't bother using ReClock for custom modes. ReClock is for PCM output only. Just pick another custom mode that reports frame drops in a smaller number than you currently have. They are in yellow and green from the optimization screen. These are more compatible than the perfect clock optimizations.

I get one frame repeat every 19 minutes. In a two hour movie, that is six repeated frames. That is six repeated frames out of 172,800 total frames. You have to understand what you need to correct and don't need to correct.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2018, 17:45   #50003  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I get one frame repeat every 19 minutes. In a two hour movie, that is six repeated frames. That is six repeated frames out of 172,800 total frames. You have to understand what you need to correct and don't need to correct.
When running at 24 Hz, a frame drop/repeat can be quite visible because it lasts a long time (42 ms). If you're out of luck and you get one of these six repeats in the middle of a panning shot, it's going to be extremely noticeable.

A good discontinuity interval is 2 hours or more, so that it is unlikely to happen in the span of a movie (or if it does, no more than once). Anything less than that is unacceptable for serious video playback.
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2018, 17:56   #50004  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
Do you mean in mpc-hc : options -> playback -> output -> audio renderer : Direct Sound -> internal filters -> Audio renderer -> Device : Direct Sound Exclusive mode : check Allow bitstream : check ??
Yes, this one.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2018, 19:32   #50005  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by e-t172 View Post
When running at 24 Hz, a frame drop/repeat can be quite visible because it lasts a long time (42 ms). If you're out of luck and you get one of these six repeats in the middle of a panning shot, it's going to be extremely noticeable.

A good discontinuity interval is 2 hours or more, so that it is unlikely to happen in the span of a movie (or if it does, no more than once). Anything less than that is unacceptable for serious video playback.
Ok, it's unacceptable to you, but not me. If I could do better, I would. That was the only custom mode that was compatible with my equipment. Do the best you can with the limitations of the custom mode option and live with the results.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 09:15   #50006  |  Link
zaemon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 27
Hey guys!

I have two questions/problems and I'm pretty sure someone has some answers for me:

- Following an Nvidia driver update (GTX 1080), once I launch a video in fullscreen (exclusive mode), the screen blinks/flashes green/pink with the video playing on the background. Solution: exiting fullscreen and reentering fullscreen. I gotta do this everytime I play a new video. I'm using latest LAV with DXVA copy-back (see below) but I have the same problem with MPC-HC internal filters
- I recently installed latest LAV to activate D3D11 instead of DXVA copy-back. With D3D11 and 4K 10-bit HEVC videos, the video never starts and the screen stays black. Play/pause is unresponsive. With HD H-264 8-bit videos, play starts normally.

Thanks in advance if you have any input.
zaemon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 09:35   #50007  |  Link
RainyDog
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaemon View Post
Hey guys!

I have two questions/problems and I'm pretty sure someone has some answers for me:

- Following an Nvidia driver update (GTX 1080), once I launch a video in fullscreen (exclusive mode), the screen blinks/flashes green/pink with the video playing on the background. Solution: exiting fullscreen and reentering fullscreen. I gotta do this everytime I play a new video. I'm using latest LAV with DXVA copy-back (see below) but I have the same problem with MPC-HC internal filters
- I recently installed latest LAV to activate D3D11 instead of DXVA copy-back. With D3D11 and 4K 10-bit HEVC videos, the video never starts and the screen stays black. Play/pause is unresponsive. With HD H-264 8-bit videos, play starts normally.

Thanks in advance if you have any input.
This sounds like the issue I had which I fixed by manually selecting my GPU in the Hardware Device to use section of LAV video's properties.

This forces D3D11 to use copy-back mode otherwise it defaults to native if left set to Automatic.
RainyDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 09:44   #50008  |  Link
zaemon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by RainyDog View Post
This sounds like the issue I had which I fixed by manually selecting my GPU in the Hardware Device to use section of LAV video's properties.

This forces D3D11 to use copy-back mode otherwise it defaults to native if left set to Automatic.
Doesn't it defeat the purpose if I force LAV to use copy-back instead of native?

It works though (thanks) but performance is horrible, got dropped frames now.

Last edited by zaemon; 2nd April 2018 at 09:49.
zaemon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 09:51   #50009  |  Link
RainyDog
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaemon View Post
Doesn't it defeat the purpose if I force LAV to use copy-back instead of native?
No as you'll still be using D3D11 as the hardware decoder (if selected obviously) but in copy-back mode instead of native.
RainyDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 09:55   #50010  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
Nevermind. I've been doing it wrong >.<

Last edited by ryrynz; 2nd April 2018 at 10:15.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 17:09   #50011  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaemon View Post
Doesn't it defeat the purpose if I force LAV to use copy-back instead of native?

It works though (thanks) but performance is horrible, got dropped frames now.
Try going back to DXVA2 copy-back. Does it get any better? If so, forget about D3D11 as it's unnecessary and native mode doesn't work for you.

There may be a bottleneck with your GPU (only 8 lanes) combined with a lack of PCIe express bandwidth (v2.0 or lower) in copy-back mode. I've run into one other user with this problem. I don't know how he installed his graphics card. He may have installed it in a x4 slot. Native and copy-back shouldn't have radically different performance.

Last edited by Warner306; 2nd April 2018 at 17:17.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 19:14   #50012  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
I did bitstream but without using reclock, just direct audio device and lav filters, nothing else.

I will watch some movie tomorrow without bitstream just PCM but i gave a tried alrdy for few minutes and still had some occasional drops.
Fascinating. With JRiver's video option turned on my issues went away using PCM. I think it's similar to how ReClock works afaik. In any case I've watched a few movies now with this setup and it's working extremely well for me.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 20:15   #50013  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Fascinating. With JRiver's video option turned on my issues went away using PCM. I think it's similar to how ReClock works afaik. In any case I've watched a few movies now with this setup and it's working extremely well for me.

For now i droped reclock and im checking internal wasapi in mpc hc, after few quick checks i didnt notice any difference between PCM and bitsream with wasapi, but tbh i didnt had time to watch movie from start to end, i just base my opinion on switching movie to FSE and compare frame repeat time, in both situation it's oscilate around same time.
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 22:08   #50014  |  Link
zaemon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 27
madVR - high quality video renderer (GPU assisted)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Try going back to DXVA2 copy-back. Does it get any better? If so, forget about D3D11 as it's unnecessary and native mode doesn't work for you.

There may be a bottleneck with your GPU (only 8 lanes) combined with a lack of PCIe express bandwidth (v2.0 or lower) in copy-back mode. I've run into one other user with this problem. I don't know how he installed his graphics card. He may have installed it in a x4 slot. Native and copy-back shouldn't have radically different performance.


Thanks. Iím back to DXVA2 copy-back, works flawlessly.

My GTX 1080 is plugged in a very old motherboard (X58 chipset, PCIe 2.0) so it makes sense. MB upgrade is scheduled but not a priority ATM.
zaemon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 22:25   #50015  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 537
Motherboard upgrade shouldn't change anything to D3D11 Native problems. Sounds like an NVIDIA driver issue.
Can't you use the previous driver?
What's your OS? If it's Windows 10 you could also try Windowed D3D11 presentation mode, I've never had any issue with it and a 1050 Ti even when using D3D11 Native decoding in LAV at the same time.
Native D3D11 is nice for 4K (as long as you don't use black bar detection) because it gives you better performance than DXVA2 Copyback without the lower chroma quality of DXVA2 Native.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 23:00   #50016  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Motherboard upgrade shouldn't change anything to D3D11 Native problems. Sounds like an NVIDIA driver issue.
Can't you use the previous driver?
What's your OS? If it's Windows 10 you could also try Windowed D3D11 presentation mode, I've never had any issue with it and a 1050 Ti even when using D3D11 Native decoding in LAV at the same time.
Native D3D11 is nice for 4K (as long as you don't use black bar detection) because it gives you better performance than DXVA2 Copyback without the lower chroma quality of DXVA2 Native.
I thought the performance improvement was small at best? How big of an improvement are you getting?

So why doesn't D3D11 copy-back work for him? It sounds like a bandwidth problem but DVXA2 copy-back works fine.

Native doesn't seem to be selecting his GPU, but the two copy-back modes are wildly-different.

Last edited by Warner306; 2nd April 2018 at 23:10.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 00:05   #50017  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 56
So does D3D11 only works in win10 or win7 is fine too?
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 00:07   #50018  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I thought the performance improvement was small at best? How big of an improvement are you getting?
Its minimal over DXVA2-Native, but DXVA2-Native results in degraded quality, so its often not considered an alternative. If you're talking DXVA2-CB compared to D3D11 Native and 4K 10-bit content on a weak CPU with a weak memory system, it can make up the ability to even play it.
The improvements might be even better if madshi rewrites madVR in D3D11 eventually (its primarily still D3D9 on the inside).

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
So does D3D11 only works in win10 or win7 is fine too?
Only on 8.1 or 10. Not on 7.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 3rd April 2018 at 00:23.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 01:24   #50019  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
For now i droped reclock and im checking internal wasapi in mpc hc, after few quick checks i didnt notice any difference between PCM and bitsream with wasapi, but tbh i didnt had time to watch movie from start to end, i just base my opinion on switching movie to FSE and compare frame repeat time, in both situation it's oscilate around same time.
I hope you get it working! I was getting irritated with it and decided my time was better spent watching a movie without dropped frames than any continued effort. I'm a bitstreaming fan but ultimately the audio is going to get decoded somewhere and IMO it's not worth the aggravation for such little gain. If I could have made it work in the time I gave it I'd have been happy. I may give it another shot after I finish my current project of setting up a NAS for all my media storage. I need to revisit my madvr settings, too, at some point.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 02:01   #50020  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Its minimal over DXVA2-Native, but DXVA2-Native results in degraded quality, so its often not considered an alternative. If you're talking DXVA2-CB compared to D3D11 Native and 4K 10-bit content on a weak CPU with a weak memory system, it can make up the ability to even play it.
The improvements might be even better if madshi rewrites madVR in D3D11 eventually (its primarily still D3D9 on the inside).



Only on 8.1 or 10. Not on 7.
I was thinking more in terms of a user who is able to decode via DXVA2 copy-back (like the original poster) and wants to use D3D11 Native. What kind of performance improvements would be seen in madVR at 4K?

And what kind of CPU/RAM combination fails at copy-back with adequate VRAM? I thought it had to be an issue with PCIe speed with the GPU having to transfer so much data back-and-forth, rapidly? Some modern CPUs are not up to the task?
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.