Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th February 2010, 16:46   #6961  |  Link
beb7089
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by prettyboy85712 View Post
Obviously you didn't search this thread very hard.
I've read over the thread quite a bit for the last couple days. Tried a lot of the "here is what fixed my problem" resolutions with no success.

I'm asking for help...not criticism.
beb7089 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2010, 17:16   #6962  |  Link
beb7089
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
OK...Here's a real head scratcher..

Took [Base3.0] iPod profile and lowered level to 2.1 and double checked that ref = 1

Set video output to 480x272
Birate set to 512 and AAC to 128


iTunes still will not sync this file to my iPod but will play it fine in iTunes.
beb7089 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2010, 21:35   #6963  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by prettyboy85712 View Post
Obviously you didn't search this thread very hard.
this thread is ~350 pages....it takes years to sort through
you could at least give him a link to the post or something
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2010, 22:18   #6964  |  Link
prettyboy85712
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by beb7089 View Post
OK...Here's a real head scratcher..

Took [Base3.0] iPod profile and lowered level to 2.1 and double checked that ref = 1

Set video output to 480x272
Birate set to 512 and AAC to 128


iTunes still will not sync this file to my iPod but will play it fine in iTunes.
What's your source?
prettyboy85712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2010, 22:30   #6965  |  Link
beb7089
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by prettyboy85712 View Post
What's your source?
MPEG2 720x480 .vob file
beb7089 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2010, 22:38   #6966  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,159
http://www.mediafire.com/file/znzi5jgijiw/[BASE 1.3] iPOD 5.5.txt
copy this file to profiles folder
also use 320x240 resolution

BTW you don't need itunes to copy files to your ipod. http://www.floola.com/

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 24th February 2010 at 22:40.
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2010, 22:38   #6967  |  Link
beb7089
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
The problem appears to be with mp4box itself. If you look inside the job1_MuxFile.cmd you'll see variable "-IPOD". This variable is to ad an "atom" for ipods. It appears to be not working.

After search through other resources, I came across "nicMP4Box" and used it to wrap my 480x272 video and aac audio that were encoded with Ripbot. It would now sync to my ipod but due to the 480 resolution it would not fill the screen on the ipod display.

Testing a 640x480 resolution now and using the nicMP4Box.exe to wrap it up instead of MP4Box.exe that came with RipBot 1.15.0
beb7089 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2010, 23:05   #6968  |  Link
beb7089
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
http://www.mediafire.com/file/znzi5jgijiw/[BASE 1.3] iPOD 5.5.txt
copy this file to profiles folder
also use 320x240 resolution

BTW you don't need itunes to copy files to your ipod. http://www.floola.com/
I downloaded the profile file and reduce resolution to 320x240 and bitrate to 512. Still the file would not sync to my ipod.

I use iTunes on my MacBook to sync with since I have purchased TV and Movies. I encode on my Windows machine and then transfer the file to my Mac to add to iTunes.
beb7089 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2010, 23:17   #6969  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,159
wouldn't be easier windows -> floola ?
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2010, 02:21   #6970  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
I use winamp for ipod stuff. I don't know if it'll do video though
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2010, 04:39   #6971  |  Link
beb7089
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Found the issue.

RipBot264 uses MP4Box to wrap up the video and audio streams into a MP4 container. MP4Box uses variable -IPOD in the job1_MuxFiles.cmd file to add the uuid atom for iPod 5.5G models (aka iPod Classic). Unfortunately mp4box is not adding this special atom into the mp4 file. This atom tells iTunes that H.264 video, up to 1.5 Mbps, 640 by 480 pixels videos can be played on iPod 5.5G

Could not get mp4box to work for nothing.

Then I found nicmp4box.exe and it was "tweaked" to import this special atom automatically. nicmp4box.exe works great. It wraps up my video and audio into an mp4 container and will sync from iTunes to my iPod.

nicmp4box.exe
beb7089 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2010, 05:51   #6972  |  Link
stinman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 54
I read somewhere that I could use 64bit x264 with your gui?

Is this true?Do I just replace the x264 with the 64bit x264 in the tools?Or what.Thanks for a great program Atak_Snajpera
Oops,I just seen it was in the x264 folder,I guess it will use it automatically.Sorry about the n00b question,still gave me the chance to say thanks for your program.

stinman

Last edited by stinman; 25th February 2010 at 06:39.
stinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2010, 20:28   #6973  |  Link
J33pman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
I have run into an issue while ripping my Star Trek Original Series BDs. Season1 went fine, but 5 disks of Season 2, and now several of Season 3 fail to rip the first episode in the drop down. All subsequent eqpisodes rip and encode fine. I also tried ripping the disk to the hard drive first, with the same result: DirectShowSource: couldn't open file D:\Temp\RipBot264\job4\video.mkv: The system cannot find the file specified. (D:\Temp\RipBot264temp\job4\getinfo.avs, line2)

I looked through the site for a while, but didn't see a similar error. As I said, it's only the first "track" and the rest of the disk rips without incident.

Thoughts?

Thanks for your help!
J33pman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2010, 21:25   #6974  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by J33pman View Post
I have run into an issue while ripping my Star Trek Original Series BDs. Season1 went fine, but 5 disks of Season 2, and now several of Season 3 fail to rip the first episode in the drop down. All subsequent eqpisodes rip and encode fine. I also tried ripping the disk to the hard drive first, with the same result: DirectShowSource: couldn't open file D:\Temp\RipBot264\job4\video.mkv: The system cannot find the file specified. (D:\Temp\RipBot264temp\job4\getinfo.avs, line2)

I looked through the site for a while, but didn't see a similar error. As I said, it's only the first "track" and the rest of the disk rips without incident.

Thoughts?

Thanks for your help!
demux the audio and video (if it's vc-1 mux back into an mkv instead of an m2ts)
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2010, 22:24   #6975  |  Link
beb7089
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by beb7089 View Post
Found the issue.

RipBot264 uses MP4Box to wrap up the video and audio streams into a MP4 container. MP4Box uses variable -IPOD in the job1_MuxFiles.cmd file to add the uuid atom for iPod 5.5G models (aka iPod Classic). Unfortunately mp4box is not adding this special atom into the mp4 file. This atom tells iTunes that H.264 video, up to 1.5 Mbps, 640 by 480 pixels videos can be played on iPod 5.5G

Could not get mp4box to work for nothing.

Then I found nicmp4box.exe and it was "tweaked" to import this special atom automatically. nicmp4box.exe works great. It wraps up my video and audio into an mp4 container and will sync from iTunes to my iPod.

nicmp4box.exe
UPDATE...

Well I thought NICMP4BOX.EXE would resolve my issue and it did about 25% of the time. Not a very good solution.

I took a video processed with RipBot using base3.0 640x480 1.5Mbps and gave it to my buddy to try on his iPod touch. It worked and synced with no issues.

I've decided that it was too much work and troubleshooting to get the iPod 5g atom applied to the mp4 file. Decided after 2 yrs of having my iPod 5G it was time to upgrade to an iPod touch.
beb7089 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2010, 02:08   #6976  |  Link
xantius
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
@xantius
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ffdshow-tryout/files/
BTW. I had the same problem some time ago. Problem disapeared when I installed newer ffdshow version.
Atak_Snajpera, I've tried installing newer and different versions of ffdshow, but unless the last step isn't going into the video properties (where you set resize, crop, etc options) and clicking ok, like pacaveli211 suggested, the video doesn't resize properly, and encodes very very slowly (10 fps max as opposed to 100+ fps). Would you mind giving me the info or link to the exact version of ffdshow that you're using? I would just like to eliminate any doubt about weather or not it's the filter.

Last edited by xantius; 26th February 2010 at 02:10. Reason: edit
xantius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2010, 14:13   #6977  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,159
Ok. I have the same problem. I didn't notice that before. I always check audio sync in preview so I always go to properties.

UPDATE: Ok I finally found the problem. It will be fixed in new version. New version will be released after NAL-HRD patch is 100% stable.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=152127

Temporary solution :
Usex264x64=0

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 26th February 2010 at 16:04.
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2010, 18:53   #6978  |  Link
J33pman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacaveli211 View Post
demux the audio and video (if it's vc-1 mux back into an mkv instead of an m2ts)
I guess I'm still a little confused, as I always choose MKV encoding. The app goes through the first "Demuxing selected streams" and goes to 100% on the first pass (they always go through this twice for some reason) but throws up the error on the second pass. Do I need to demux these with another app? If so, what do you recommend? Thanks!
J33pman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2010, 19:04   #6979  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,159
demuxlog.txt should tell you what went wrong
Atak_Snajpera is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2010, 20:00   #6980  |  Link
Arbelisk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by J33pman View Post
I guess I'm still a little confused, as I always choose MKV encoding. The app goes through the first "Demuxing selected streams" and goes to 100% on the first pass (they always go through this twice for some reason) but throws up the error on the second pass. Do I need to demux these with another app? If so, what do you recommend? Thanks!
I can confirm your error. I am trying to convert the same discs and the error shows up with the first episode but the rest work fine. Seems to be a problem with the Arcsoft Decoder or the Blu-Ray files themselves.

M2TS, 1 video track, 4 audio tracks, 4 subtitle tracks, 0:50:40, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 6 chapters
2: VC-1, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: DTS Master Audio, English, 7.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48khz)
4: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
5: AC3, Spanish, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: AC3, French, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: Subtitle (PGS), English
8: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
9: Subtitle (PGS), French
10: Subtitle (PGS), Portuguese
Creating file "D:\Temp\RipBot264temp\job1\chapters.txt"...
[s07] Extracting subtitle track number 7...
[v02] Extracting video track number 2...
[v02] Muxing video to Matroska...
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[a03] Decoding with ArcSoft DTS Decoder...
[a03] Reducing depth from 24 to 16 bits...
[a03] Encoding FLAC with libFlac...
[a03] Creating file "D:\Temp\RipBot264temp\job1\audio_English.dtsma.flac"...
[s07] Creating file "D:\Temp\RipBot264temp\job1\7_subtitles_English_1080.sup"...
[a03] The ArcSoft DTS Decoder reported an error while decoding. <ERROR>
Aborted at file position 7906023424. <ERROR>
Arbelisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
264, 265, appletv, avchd, bluray, gui, iphone, ipod, ps3, psp, ripbot264, x264 2-pass, x264 gui, x264_64, x265, xbox360

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.