Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd November 2008, 18:08   #6841  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
eac3to v2.74 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

Code:
* "-demux" failed to work for DTS-HD and "TrueHD/AC3" tracks in v2.73
* fixed: DTS-HD tracks could make processing abort at the very end of the movie
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 18:13   #6842  |  Link
nwg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 819
Thanks for the new version.
nwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 18:18   #6843  |  Link
odin24
Registered User
 
odin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Great North (the better half of North America)
Posts: 301
Conversion concern/question

Would converting a TrueHD (48/16) track from an HDDVD to PCM (for BD playback) sound the same as the same movie on Blu-ray with with the audio already as PCM (48/16)?

All of this done with eac3to of course.
odin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 18:53   #6844  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,698
Seems the link to eac3to v2.74 is still the v2.73
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 19:47   #6845  |  Link
J0nThn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
eac3to v2.74 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

Code:
* "-demux" failed to work for DTS-HD and "TrueHD/AC3" tracks in v2.73
* fixed: DTS-HD tracks could make processing abort at the very end of the movie
Thanks
Just to be sure that's the expected behavior (last DTS frame incomplete) ?
Code:
[a07] Remapping channels...                                                    
[a07] Encoding AC3 <640kbps> with libAften...                                  
[a07] Creating file "Total.Recall.Blu-Ray.23.976fps.DTS.FRENCH_2.dts"...       
[a07] Creating file "Total_Recall.DD5.1.French_2.ac3"...                       
[s13] Creating file "French_2.sup"...                                          
[a07] The last DTS frame is incomplete and thus gets skipped.                  
[a07] The last DTS frame is incomplete and thus gets skipped.                  
Video track 2 contains 163366 frames.                                          
eac3to processing took 26 minutes, 37 seconds.
J0nThn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 20:18   #6846  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
eac3to v2.74 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

"-demux" failed to work for DTS-HD and "TrueHD/AC3" tracks in v2.73
did this generally affect demuxing those tracks, or only when explicetely using the '-demux' command (as indicated "")? because afaik I've demuxed each of those 2 tracks today together with flac conversion and video remux and I didnt encouter such a message.

another thing, this is old already, but after not thinking about it for some time I got confused again -.-
when having a movie of which eac3to reports +57ms delay for the AC3 track, what eac3to then does is adding 2x -32ms = -64ms delay to it, so that the least possible delay remaining is then -7ms, right? so in case I want to have it perfectly I'd have to add +7ms at playback then in mpc (I know this is imperceptible, but just for perferction)?

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 3rd November 2008 at 20:51.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 21:20   #6847  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Thanks! That should help me adding DD-EX detection sooner or later....
To detect DD-EX the header must have:

Bsid = 6 (Alternate syntax)
Xbsi2e = 1 (Exist Extra BSI #2)
Dsurexmod = 2 (Dolby Surround EX encoded)

Remember the Table D2.1 (pg. 132) from a52b pdf to locate the fields in header, or see this seudo-code.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 21:21   #6848  |  Link
lithiumus
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
However, I'd strongly recommend that you reconsider your transcoding method. The "clean" 5.1 core will result in worse audio quality than the eac3to produced 7.1 downmix because the 7.1 source has a higher quality in every single channel compared to the core 5.1 track. Even if you're afraid that eac3to's 7.1 -> 5.1 downconversion is worse compared to what the studio did, still the front channels and LFE will have a higher quality if you use the full DTS-HD track. So IMHO using only the core is a bad idea.
Hey madshi,

Does this logic apply also to say 5.1 DTS-HD/TrueHD > 5.1 DTS 1536 or 5.1 AC3 640? i.e. instead of using the available 5.1 DTS 1536 or 5.1 AC3 640 track, to transcode a new track from the DTS-HD or TrueHD tracks?

Or is that only relevant when talking about a core+data situation instead if there was separate tracks available i.e. DTS-HD (core+data) and a separate DTS 1536 track or TrueHD (core+data) and a separate AC3 640 track.

Keep up the amazing work!
lithiumus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 22:35   #6849  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by odin24 View Post
Would converting a TrueHD (48/16) track from an HDDVD to PCM (for BD playback) sound the same as the same movie on Blu-ray with with the audio already as PCM (48/16)?
If the studio used the same master for PCM and TrueHD (which is not guaranteed, but probable) then yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Seems the link to eac3to v2.74 is still the v2.73
Not for me. If you can't seem to be able to get v2.74, please try emptying your browser cache.

Quote:
Originally Posted by J0nThn View Post
Just to be sure that's the expected behavior (last DTS frame incomplete) ?
Yes, that's ok.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
did this generally affect demuxing those tracks
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
when having a movie of which eac3to reports +57ms delay for the AC3 track, what eac3to then does is adding 2x -32ms = -64ms delay to it, so that the least possible delay remaining is then -7ms, right? so in case I want to have it perfectly I'd have to add +7ms at playback then in mpc?
When eac3to reports +57ms delay then a +57ms delay is needed and not a -57ms delay. So eac3to applies +64ms delay. So you will have to use -7ms delay in MPC. However, you know my point of view about this topic, right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
To detect DD-EX the header must have:

Bsid = 6 (Alternate syntax)
Xbsi2e = 1 (Exist Extra BSI #2)
Dsurexmod = 2 (Dolby Surround EX encoded)

Remember the Table D2.1 (pg. 132) from a52b pdf to locate the fields in header, or see this seudo-code.
Will keep that in mind, thanks...

Quote:
Originally Posted by lithiumus View Post
Does this logic apply also to say 5.1 DTS-HD/TrueHD > 5.1 DTS 1536 or 5.1 AC3 640? i.e. instead of using the available 5.1 DTS 1536 or 5.1 AC3 640 track, to transcode a new track from the DTS-HD or TrueHD tracks?

Or is that only relevant when talking about a core+data situation instead if there was separate tracks available i.e. DTS-HD (core+data) and a separate DTS 1536 track or TrueHD (core+data) and a separate AC3 640 track.
Generally it is BAD to do a transcode from a lossy codec to another lossy codec, because that means you'll have 2 losses which add up on each other. If you want to transcode audio you should always use the highest quality source you can get, which is (of course) lossless, if available. That's why I recommended to use DTS-HD Master Audio instead of only the core - for transcoding purposes.

The situation is different, if there already exists a core in the very format and bitdepth you're looking for. In that case transcoding is not necessary at all, but you can simply extract and use the existing core. But as soon as you need/want to transcode (which means: full decoding + reencoding) you should always choose the source with the highest possible audio quality.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 22:46   #6850  |  Link
odin24
Registered User
 
odin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Great North (the better half of North America)
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
If the studio used the same master for PCM and TrueHD (which is not guaranteed, but probable) then yes.
Thanks for the quick response.

It just seemed kind of strange that watching the bitrate (HDDVD THD remuxed to BD --> on the PS3) that it only peaked at around 1.7mb/s, even during high action scenes. Where on most BDs with THD they peak around 4.5mb/s. I know it's like "comparing apples to oranges", but it's not even close.
odin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 23:27   #6851  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
madshi, I have a problem with slowing down that skyHD movie I sent you the 10mb sample to fix the skyHD ac3 tracks. its 50i and when I use -slowdown then the video turns out to be about 2-3 mins longer than it should be (audio seems to be fine though). It has video gaps, but the problem stays the same after redoing the same command line. 50 mb sample:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/ypgilt

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 3rd November 2008 at 23:55.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 23:32   #6852  |  Link
bmnot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Can you please upload the last 20-50MB of the problematic m2ts file for me to check?
get it here: http://www.sendspace.com/file/i8ak0o
bmnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 03:58   #6853  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
If (E-)AC3 tracks are decoded to 64-bit floating point, why is that when converting to WAV they're then reduced to 24-bit? Wouldn't it be best to reduce the depth to, say, 32-bit floating point?
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 09:40   #6854  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by odin24 View Post
It just seemed kind of strange that watching the bitrate (HDDVD THD remuxed to BD --> on the PS3) that it only peaked at around 1.7mb/s, even during high action scenes. Where on most BDs with THD they peak around 4.5mb/s.
If the TrueHD track is only 16bit then it's *MUCH* smaller (and has much lower peaks) compared to a track with full 24bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
If (E-)AC3 tracks are decoded to 64-bit floating point, why is that when converting to WAV they're then reduced to 24-bit? Wouldn't it be best to reduce the depth to, say, 32-bit floating point?
First of all it depends on the decoder. I patched libav so that it gives me the full floating point decode. But Nero and Sonic decoders internally downconvert to 24bit PCM. Now with libav eac3to by default downconverts to 24bit PCM if you ask it to create a WAV file. The reason for that is that 24bit PCM is usually plenty good enough. The main purpose of keeping things in floating point is if you want to do further processing on the data or if you want to feed the data to an encoder which wants floating point data. If that is the case, simply use the "-full" switch. Then eac3to will create floating point WAV files (if floating point data is available).

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmnot View Post
This one demuxes fine for me with v2.74. Can you please retest with v2.74?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
madshi, I have a problem with slowing down that skyHD movie I sent you the 10mb sample to fix the skyHD ac3 tracks. its 50i and when I use -slowdown then the video turns out to be about 2-3 mins longer than it should be (audio seems to be fine though). It has video gaps, but the problem stays the same after redoing the same command line. 50 mb sample:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/ypgilt
Thanks. Looks like a bug in eac3to. Will try to fix that in the next build. Might take a few days, though...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 19:53   #6855  |  Link
MichaelAnders
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I don't think that tsmuxer can reliably detect the number of channels in a DTS-HD file. AFAIK eac3to is the only freeware tool that can do that.

The DTS sample you uploaded is kind of strange. I don't have any problems with the channel order. However, the front left and front right channels seem to be plain broken if I decode the track to 7.1 with ArcSoft. I'm not sure if the track itself is broken or whether this is caused by a bug in ArcSoft. You can use the "-6" parameter to force ArcSoft into decoding the track as 5.1, only. I think this is the best you can do right now.
So you mean to say that the DTS sample IS 7.1, eac3to finds this properly and then, using 6 channels, I would of course loose the data for the other two channels Not your fault of course, just curious... And apart from ArcSoft there seems to be nothing that can decode 7.1 channels right? Libav/ffmpeg can just do 5.1 like Nero 7 as well
MichaelAnders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 21:22   #6856  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelAnders View Post
So you mean to say that the DTS sample IS 7.1, eac3to finds this properly and then, using 6 channels, I would of course loose the data for the other two channels Not your fault of course, just curious... And apart from ArcSoft there seems to be nothing that can decode 7.1 channels right? Libav/ffmpeg can just do 5.1 like Nero 7 as well
Correct.

Well, if you absolutely must have all 8 channels then you can do "eac3to source.dts 6.wavs -6" and also "eac3to source.dts 8.wavs". That way you will get 6 WAV files for the 6 channel decoding and 8 WAV files for the 8 channel decoding. You can then use the 8 WAV files - but replace the front left and front right channels with those of the 6 channel decode. The only problem then is to convert the 8 channels back into one WAV file. eac3to cannot do that currently. But I think wavewizard can.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 22:01   #6857  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
got a problem with the 'how the west was won' (smilebox) blu-ray:

Code:
eac3to v2.74
command line: G:\eac3to\eac3to D:\source 1) 2: G:\west.mkv 4: G:\west.flac 4: G:\west.thd
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 7 audio tracks, 16 subtitle tracks, 2:44:41
1: Chapters, 42 chapters
2: VC-1, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
4: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB)
5: AC3, French, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: AC3, German, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: AC3, Italian, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
8: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
9: AC3, Spanish, 1.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
10: Subtitle (PGS), Japanese
11: Subtitle (PGS), English
12: Subtitle (PGS), French
13: Subtitle (PGS), German
14: Subtitle (PGS), Italian
15: Subtitle (PGS), Italian
16: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
17: Subtitle (PGS), Dutch
18: Subtitle (PGS), Chinese
19: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
20: Subtitle (PGS), Portuguese
21: Subtitle (PGS), Danish
22: Subtitle (PGS), Finnish
23: Subtitle (PGS), Norwegian
24: Subtitle (PGS), Portuguese
25: Subtitle (PGS), Swedish
[a04] Extracting audio track number 4...
[a04] Extracting audio track number 4...
[v02] Extracting video track number 2...
[a04] Extracting TrueHD stream...
[a04] Extracting TrueHD stream...
[a04] Removing TrueHD dialog normalization...
[a04] Removing TrueHD dialog normalization...
[a04] Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
[a04] Encoding FLAC with libFlac...
[v02] Muxing video to Matroska...
[a04] Creating file "G:\west.thd"...
[a04] Creating file "G:\west.24bit.flac"...
[libav] Lossless check failed - expected 0, calculated 80
[a04] The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 16 bits.
[a04] The zero bytes were successfully removed.
Added fps value to MKV header.
Video track 2 contains 236898 frames.
eac3to processing took 43 minutes, 41 seconds.
Done.
So I guess there a chance now that my flac track is not 100% lossless in this case? But I'd still be on the save side when I just store the demuxed TrueHD track and then redo the flac again, when this problem is fixed?

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 4th November 2008 at 22:09.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 22:10   #6858  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
So I guess there a chance now that my flac track is not 100% lossless in this case?
If that warning appeared exactly once then there's a chance that 0.8333ms of your track are not lossless. The other 5-10 million milliseconds of your track are still lossless.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 22:44   #6859  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
allright, I stick with those other million ms then
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2008, 02:32   #6860  |  Link
flyingernst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Quote:
eac3to v2.74
command line: "F:\Download\Brennen\eac3to\eac3to.exe" "P:" 1) "E:\Hancock.m2ts"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 2 video tracks, 6 audio tracks, 19 subtitle tracks, 1:42:14
1: Chapters, 16 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: h264/AVC, 480p24 /1.001 (20:11)
4: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz
(embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz)
5: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -30dB
6: TrueHD/AC3, German, 5.1 channels, 48khz
(embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -29dB)
7: AC3, Russian, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -29dB
8: AC3, Ukrainian, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -29dB
9: DTS Express, English, 2.0 channels, 24 bits, 192kbps, 48khz
10: Subtitle (PGS), English
11: Subtitle (PGS), English
12: Subtitle (PGS), German
13: Subtitle (PGS), Dutch
14: Subtitle (PGS), Danish
15: Subtitle (PGS), Estonian
16: Subtitle (PGS), Finnish
17: Subtitle (PGS), Modern Greek
18: Subtitle (PGS), Hindi
19: Subtitle (PGS), Lithuanian
20: Subtitle (PGS), Norwegian
21: Subtitle (PGS), Swedish
22: Subtitle (PGS), Turkish
23: Subtitle (PGS), English
24: Subtitle (PGS), German
25: Subtitle (PGS), Dutch
26: Subtitle (PGS), Russian
27: Subtitle (PGS), Ukrainian
28: Subtitle (PGS), English
Track 4 is used for destination file "Hancock.m2ts".
This audio conversion is not supported.
is there any way else to join the big Hancock Playlist?
TSmuxer destroys some informations while joining and remuxing. I Want to play it in a PCH B-110. When I remux it with TXRemux again it is okay but buggy. The problem is the joing of the Playlistfiles. 1:1 copied full Mainmovie m2ts work fine after remuxing with TSRemux, so the joining and TSmuxer is the problem.

Can eac3to do that?! Joining multiple m2ts files (like it does with evos)?

Thanks, greetings Michael
__________________
Popcorn Hour B-110
Onkyo TX-SR 805
flyingernst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.