Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th March 2019, 22:48   #321  |  Link
AMED
Registered User
 
AMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 426
@qtwigg
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...51#post1868551
__________________
A Man Eating Duck
AMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 22:49   #322  |  Link
Revan654
Registered User
 
Revan654's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonrodrigos View Post
Hello friends, I have come to ask for the help of everyone with a problem that I try to solve for months and I can not find a way to solve it.

I already activated the HDR in windows 10 and QLED55q6fn TV and everything seems to work normal, since in games the HDR activates normally and stays show.

I use staxrip to convert my videos, usually movies I down in 1080p remux h264 (.mkv) or 4k h265 all without HDR.

But all the videos I try to convert with the staxrip using x265 10bit adding HDR settings does not look good, it looks like the image is too red, and with too much contrast or gamma I can not say for sure what it is exactly.
I also used the Nvidia h265 10bit configuration with HDR configuration and it conforms to the phitos.
already tried to convert the video with commands ffmpeg adding HDR commands and the same thing happens.
already tried all kinds of configuration and nothing.
What can I be doing wrong?
follow images below and images of the current staxrip, use version 2.0.0.0 - x64.

Setting the video after conversion

mediainfo

Video
ID: 1
Format: HEVC
Format / Info: High Efficiency Video Coding
Commercial name: HDR10
Format profile: Main 10 @ L6.2 @ High
Codec ID: V_MPEGH / ISO / HEVC
Duration: 2 h 29 min
Bit rate: 5 883 kb / s
Width: 1 920 pixels
Height: 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio: 2.40: 1
Frame rate mode: Constant
Frame rate: 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS
Color space: YUV
Chroma subsampling: 4: 2: 0
Bit depth: 10 bit
Bits / (Pixel * Frame): 0.118
Stream size: 6.14 GiB (91%)
Language: English
Default: Yes
Forced: No
Color range: Limited
Primary color: BT.2020
Transfer characteristics: PQ
Matrix coefficients: BT.2020 non-constant
Mastering display primary color: BT.2020
Mastering display luminance: min: 0.0001 cd / m2, max: 1000 cd / m2
Maximum Content Light Level: 1000 cd / m2
Maximum Frame-Average Light Le: 1 cd / m2

Resize your images, if your going to post them in 4K.

Picture color for this has nothing to do with the encoder but the filters. Anytime HDR is stripped from the source you have to make the change so it can be viewable on normal displays.

Tonemapping must be applied to the source file or 3d lut file(aka cube filter).

NVEnc doesn't contain all HDR Settings to start with for HDR10 / HDR10+.

Did you try using the Built in HDR Function? It will tweak the Colors according to the HDR Metadata(It must contain the HDR Metadata).
Revan654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 16:06   #323  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,269
Hey everybody, a few days ago I released my Open with++ shell extension for the first time 12 years later it was built, I use my launcher and this 100 times a day. I use it for instance to integrate StaxRip's media info GUI into the win file explorer. It does pretty much the same as Open++.

The macros in the options dialog don't have a default value yet, so far there aren't any default values and no documentation, I've use the following macros:

Quote:
%video% = mpg avi vob mp4 d2v divx mkv avs 264 mov wmv part flv ifo h264 asf webm dgi mpeg mpv y4m avc hevc 265 h265 m2v m2ts vpy mts webm ts m4v part
%audio% = mp2 mp3 ac3 wav w64 m4a dts dtsma dtshr dtshd eac3 thd thd+ac3 ogg mka aac opus flac mpa
%subtitle% = sub sup idx ass aas srt
%image% = png jpg gif bmp
The definition for StaxRip's media info GUI is:

args: -mediainfo %items%
File Types: %audio% %video% %subtitle% %image%

mpv.net and other players:

args: %items%
File Types: %audio% %video% %subtitle% %image%

It needs some work to make it easer to use for new users. I Hope you find it usefull.

The project is located here:

https://github.com/stax76/OpenWithPlusPlus

Last edited by stax76; 14th March 2019 at 16:14.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 16:20   #324  |  Link
jonrodrigos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revan654 View Post
Resize your images, if your going to post them in 4K.

Picture color for this has nothing to do with the encoder but the filters. Anytime HDR is stripped from the source you have to make the change so it can be viewable on normal displays.

Tonemapping must be applied to the source file or 3d lut file(aka cube filter).

NVEnc doesn't contain all HDR Settings to start with for HDR10 / HDR10+.

Did you try using the Built in HDR Function? It will tweak the Colors according to the HDR Metadata(It must contain the HDR Metadata).
Hello, sorry for the photos without resizing, I'm newbie in the forum.
how do I apply Tonemapping or 3d lut? I use the final 2.0 staxrip.
jonrodrigos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 18:34   #325  |  Link
IbrahimKh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 48
Hi, how do I apply auto crop black border for batch project?
IbrahimKh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 19:05   #326  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,269
If I remember right then you only have to check the crop checkbox in the filter list of the main dialog.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 21:54   #327  |  Link
Natty
Noob
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 76
stax76, your latest version works without lags but revan's version lags while editing filters, dragging dropping source, clicking next etc. please take a look.
Natty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2019, 20:56   #328  |  Link
Revan654
Registered User
 
Revan654's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonrodrigos View Post
Hello, sorry for the photos without resizing, I'm newbie in the forum.
how do I apply Tonemapping or 3d lut? I use the final 2.0 staxrip.
It should be in Misc or Color Filter section.

3d luts are files you attach to filter, Which has to be created or obtained.

tone mapping, are basic filter like any other filter, you have to play with the settings to achieve what you want. There no set default that will work for all HDR sources.
Revan654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2019, 23:41   #329  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natty View Post
stax76, your latest version works without lags but revan's version lags while editing filters, dragging dropping source, clicking next etc. please take a look.
I tested a little bit, it was OK except for QTGMC avs not working, I do some further tests.

The tools number increased from 100 to 200 (mostly filters) which should have a impact since for every operation it checks for problems including if any of the tools report a problem.

What surprised me is how much code/comments where added.

Code:
PS C:\Users\frank\Daten\Projekte\PY> py .\count-lines.py C:\Users\frank\Daten\Projekte\VB\staxrip2

Enter the file extension: vb

71218

PS C:\Users\frank\Daten\Projekte\PY> py .\count-lines.py C:\Users\frank\Daten\Projekte\VB\staxrip17

Enter the file extension: vb

54817

Last edited by stax76; 15th March 2019 at 23:44.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2019, 02:11   #330  |  Link
Revan654
Registered User
 
Revan654's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
I tested a little bit, it was OK except for QTGMC avs not working, I do some further tests.

The tools number increased from 100 to 200 (mostly filters) which should have a impact since for every operation it checks for problems including if any of the tools report a problem.

What surprised me is how much code/comments where added.

Code:
PS C:\Users\frank\Daten\Projekte\PY> py .\count-lines.py C:\Users\frank\Daten\Projekte\VB\staxrip2

Enter the file extension: vb

71218

PS C:\Users\frank\Daten\Projekte\PY> py .\count-lines.py C:\Users\frank\Daten\Projekte\VB\staxrip17

Enter the file extension: vb

54817
Plus the System specs, the Resolution & Bitrate of the video all play a role on the performance. Place a SD video in the preview window it's smooth. You may experience issues once you hit 1080p+.

------

I wonder if creating a WPF file and using media element with the WinForm WPF host would improve anything.

of course it will not be a simple as plug and play.
Revan654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2019, 03:03   #331  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,269
I wasn't refering to the preview but operations in the main dialog that trigger the assistant routine. It's probably possible to speedup the preview but I don't have the required knowledge (DirectX drawing and possibly image data processing) and I'm not looking for a coding challenge at the moment. I hope you, me or somebody else will code it some day.

Quote:
I wonder if creating a WPF file and using media element with the WinForm WPF host would improve anything.
One problem here is that I don't think it's frame accurate (it uses probably Media Foundation), maybe a WPF picture box if it uses DirectX instead of GDI.

Last edited by stax76; 16th March 2019 at 03:21.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2019, 09:03   #332  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,269
@Revan654

I did some research on the slow preview drawing, there are .NET wrappers for DirectX which can draw .NET bitmaps, I've researched two and both had problems, SlimDX requires a installer and GAC assemplies. SharpDX supports NearestNeighbor and Linear for scaling which I'm not sure if it's good enough and I don't know if it would work and how fast it would be. The other other option is write something in C++ which would be a bit challenging for me though I should probably code something in C++ before I forget every thing.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hdr, staxrip, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.